Trinidad and Tobago V8 projects

Re: Trinidad & Tobago V8 Car Club

Postby cinco » December 18th, 2011, 9:43 pm

wagonrunner wrote:wait, they take out a 13b, put in a V8, 3/4 tank of gas, and come up lighter than the original car?
and they eh message mazda, and show them the wasting time with that rotor business?

thoughi feel all that weight savings must be the circle cut out the aluminium bonnet. what yuh say cinco?
because we know it can't be some confused folk still attempting to pass off BS as fact.

all this beat up and quote
the first thing i said was IF IT WAS AN LS1
but that 3rd he posted i would like to see if it is an ls1
btw it looks like sheet with a big hole cut in the hood
and all this weight talk
if you didnt know the rotary is also mounted LOW to keep the COG down for tuning weight is not everything but where it is that matters

BTW a M20 engine is one of the smoothest you can find if you have to google what it is then start over

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 18th, 2011, 9:47 pm

man if u check, the rotary eccentric shaft center is higher than the v8's crankshaft c/l in the car. i took all the measurements before i did the swap. and my engine still has 2'' to move before reaching the firewall . i did it that way because i was using a distributor. but now that i've got a electromotive crank trigger system, when i'm finished building the other, other engine ,i will move it back. [1 engine in the car ,1 engine in my room]original swapped engine was sabotaged . when i move the engine rearward the rotary box will also move rearward the same amount. so provisions has already been made for a Magnum Tremec T56 transmission.and when that happens the engine has another 1.5 '' to lower.
Last edited by roadracer7 on December 18th, 2011, 9:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » December 18th, 2011, 9:58 pm

the ecc shaft yes
but what about all the weight ON TOP the crankshaft
like the heads???

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 18th, 2011, 10:00 pm

true ,next build is aluminum headed EFI

Postby wagonrunner » December 18th, 2011, 10:10 pm

"He enjoys the refreshing breeze on his face, while pissing into it" :lol: :lol:

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 18th, 2011, 10:17 pm

roadracer7 wrote:true but has a whipping motion at the crank.

too bad only the v8 knows how to lift it's own piston. :roll:

TRULY wrote a fantistic piece of crap. mis quoted myself on another straight 6 ,three main brg type sorry my....B/S....... INLINE 6 ,8 CYL ,FLAT 6,8,12,16 CYL V 12,16 CYL, W 16 SUFFER No INHERENT VIBRATION PROBLEMS.
Last edited by roadracer7 on December 21st, 2011, 12:22 am, edited 2 times in total.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 18th, 2011, 10:20 pm

wagonrunner wrote:"He enjoys the refreshing breeze on his face, while pissing into it" :lol: :lol:

man can't you all come up with a piece of refreshing info instead of smut crap, come on man ,you're much more intelligent than that. or are you?

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 18th, 2011, 10:20 pm

roadracer7 wrote:
Greenday wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
nigie wrote:hummmm there is always some super fast....mega horsepower..."import car" or jap swap car coming....always...and if u hear the talk and predictions for such..u would understand..there were a few on the boat to grenada last week.... :mrgreen:

The phorqe yuh talkin bout.... First time out with a new car, inexperienced crew & NA engine with baby boost and the man reeled off a few 9 second passes with major directional problems... Rug Ductor & Richie Rich around 15+ years now and dey still barely running 9's.. TALK NAH!! *Pastor Stewart's voice* :lol:

Project V8killa is coming soon.... Doh say ah didn't warn allyuh V8 men :lol:

I think we all need to understand that most V8 men are always broke and run with what they have.Most import guys have mega dollars and spend lot of wasted money on Horsepower ,some take months to get their car sorted out.V8 men run for fun these engines will keep on running and running. With an import u always have fiddle about with the engine via laptops,software boostcontrol ect. With a V8 all you need is a screw driver to adjust your Cab. A V8 will run all season while with import there always a problem.I think it all boils down to is how much cash u have to spend and down time at the race track.

for the price of a "soft parts Kit" for a rotary you could get a entire v8 rebuilt ,pistons the works and get a load more torque and horsepower.Rotarys expensive and I could understand the transplant but it still hurts

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 18th, 2011, 10:22 pm

NOMOSS wrote:
roadracer7 wrote:
Greenday wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
nigie wrote:hummmm there is always some super fast....mega horsepower..."import car" or jap swap car coming....always...and if u hear the talk and predictions for such..u would understand..there were a few on the boat to grenada last week.... :mrgreen:

The phorqe yuh talkin bout.... First time out with a new car, inexperienced crew & NA engine with baby boost and the man reeled off a few 9 second passes with major directional problems... Rug Ductor & Richie Rich around 15+ years now and dey still barely running 9's.. TALK NAH!! *Pastor Stewart's voice* :lol:

Project V8killa is coming soon.... Doh say ah didn't warn allyuh V8 men :lol:

I think we all need to understand that most V8 men are always broke and run with what they have.Most import guys have mega dollars and spend lot of wasted money on Horsepower ,some take months to get their car sorted out.V8 men run for fun these engines will keep on running and running. With an import u always have fiddle about with the engine via laptops,software boostcontrol ect. With a V8 all you need is a screw driver to adjust your Cab. A V8 will run all season while with import there always a problem.I think it all boils down to is how much cash u have to spend and down time at the race track.

for the price of a "soft parts Kit" for a rotary you could get a entire v8 rebuilt ,pistons the works and get a load more torque and horsepower.Rotarys expensive and I could understand the transplant but it still hurts

speaking with heart man ,respect to you.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 19th, 2011, 10:46 pm

roadracer7 wrote:when talking smoothness of an engine the rotary is the killer,multiple power pulsed per revolution & enhanced by the addition of more rotors.

I cant afford to run a rotary ,and I dont know where to find a v12 or even parts for one,but I do own a v8 and I never see a rotary ,v12 or 6 cylinder do 4.490-seconds at 327.19 mph on a quarter mile

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 19th, 2011, 11:02 pm

PERIOD , FULL STOP. let the rotors do the talk..ing. the V8 's do the now you see me , now you don't. VRVRVRVROOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMM

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 20th, 2011, 1:52 pm

Is this the one roadracer7?BTW check your messages

d spike

Postby d spike » December 20th, 2011, 5:25 pm

NOMOSS wrote:I cant afford to run a rotary ,and I dont know where to find a v12 or even parts for one,but I do own a v8 and I never see a rotary ,v12 or 6 cylinder do 4.490-seconds at 327.19 mph on a quarter mile

[/argument]

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 20th, 2011, 9:22 pm

NOMOSS wrote:Is this the one roadracer7?BTW check your messages

that's the one,thanks

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 21st, 2011, 12:24 am

Last edited by roadracer7 on December 21st, 2011, 12:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 21st, 2011, 12:39 am

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 21st, 2011, 1:02 am

stock LS3 = 450 hp @ engine. after headers, cold air intake = 492 hp @ wheels

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 21st, 2011, 1:11 am

seeing is believing

nigie

Postby nigie » December 21st, 2011, 12:59 pm

DESI'S WORLD

1968 MUSTANG.....FORD MUSCLE

Will keep u thousands of V8 lovers updated .. :mrgreen:

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 21st, 2011, 6:02 pm

taking his time to do it right the right way.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 21st, 2011, 6:17 pm

http://kb-silvolite.com/article.php?action=read&A_id=36
some compression do & don'ts eye opener.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 21st, 2011, 7:32 pm

Posted for Roadracer...concerning the V8 weight issues

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 22nd, 2011, 2:44 am

[vimeo]http://dreamer3000.wordpress.com/80-thermally-efficient-opposed-pistons-engine/[/vimeo]

nigie

Postby nigie » December 22nd, 2011, 7:49 am

hummm the Rand Cam engine is something else...

Postby MG Man » December 22nd, 2011, 9:30 am

good info there nigie
what V8 the local guys run in their RX7?
I saw it at the V8 boys Skinner Park show and was pretty impressed with it........the rotaty guys were probably annoyed but I thought it was a ballsy conversion :)

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 22nd, 2011, 10:30 am

roadracer7 wrote:[vimeo]http://dreamer3000.wordpress.com/80-thermally-efficient-opposed-pistons-engine/[/vimeo]

this video is pt4 of a 5 video series.this guy is an engine guy at the beginning of this video he said that todays engines are less efficent than the older engines because the older engines had to pull around a house for weight, and the new cars pull around feathers. when you take a new model auto ,put an old model powerplant it becomes more efficent than the engine it replaced. for instance '93 fd-3s r1 manual running arima to barataria & back everyday $43.00 premium per day.v8 swap same manual, approx $18-22.00 per day premiun .arima to gulf city & back $29-31.00 per run according to how many people ask to hear the engine rev. this was a test that i performed to know the actual performance between the rotary 13b tt & the v8 .i always knew rotarys had a fuel consumption problem as stated by the factory .i have a 81 caprice classic 350 chev 3 speed slipping th400 trans $20.00 premiun arima to st .john road to classes and back and still have fuel.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 22nd, 2011, 10:46 am

93 RX7 310 Chevy engine, Mazda 5 speed M/T,home made distributor,mazda p/s pump,a/c,4.10 differantial, abs,insufficient speedometer , radiator ,oil coolers.battery relocated to l/s behind passenger seat. the car is stable at speed 0 mph - back to 0 mph in clockwise rotation. so any body knows where there is a 305 kph or 320 kph speedo [working] for sale let me know. i am currently installing a 358 cid chev sb in the car approx 430+ hp.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 23rd, 2011, 12:01 am

MG Man wrote:good info there nigie
what V8 the local guys run in their RX7?
I saw it at the V8 boys Skinner Park show and was pretty impressed with it........the rotaty guys were probably annoyed but I thought it was a ballsy conversion :)

Yes they rotor boys were annoyed as was stated in the thread...but Actually i find it a excellent fusion...u get the torque and grunt of the v8 plus the styling and handling of the mazzy...and as exceptional as the rotarie is ..the problem is $$$$$ any conversation with a rotarie racer ....$$$$$ & $$$$$$$ & Panadol... :mrgreen:

nigie

Postby nigie » December 23rd, 2011, 12:46 am

"The 385-series 429/460ci Ford big-block started out as a sleepy, stodgy luxury car fat-block when it was introduced in 1968. It was a whisper-quiet big-block with abundant low-end torque for large sedans, and it did its job well. Ultimately, the 429/460 engine went on to power trucks, vans, and other types of Ford vehicles before production ended in the late '90s. The 429/460ci big-block had nothing in common with the FE and MEL series big-blocks of the era. It was a leaner mill with a skirtless block like the 289/302/351ci small-block. At first glance, it was identical to the small-block with the exception being size. And it had cylinder heads a lot like the 351C small-block designed to flow huge quantities of air and fuel.

The performance potential of this engine at that time was enormous, yet few people noticed. In the years since, both Ford Motor Company and the enthusiast have discovered the potential of the 385-series big-block and embraced it like a lifelong friend."

From the December, 2000 issue of Modified Mustangs & Fords

With that being said ...BEHOLD..... :mrgreen:

OUT CAME THE 302.....

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 23rd, 2011, 2:39 am

^ What's the plate number on that truck? My dad had one like that in the 80's and crashed it by Bamboo lights one night.. He sold it to a old man on the side of the highway somewhere around Charlieville who had another LHD truck.. I think the old fella repainted it brown IIRC