T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

nes123

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby nes123 » October 17th, 2011, 2:59 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars....I completley understand where you're coming from,but the face lifted Octavia is more aerodynamic than the MKII...the widening of the headlamps channel air over the corners of the headlamps and between the door mirrors and the door,thus making it have a lesser drag co efficient than the MKII which just cuts the air

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 17th, 2011, 3:03 pm

ek4ever wrote:I'll take a RORO Legacy GT SPEC B for $180K (approx).... 280hp, symmetrical AWD, SI drive, McIntosh sound system, Brembo Brakes, Bilstein Shocks, 18" Alloys ... yuh could keep all them new dead arse cars.

Those cars dyno at 170-180 whp. 100 whp loss? I think not....so I'm not too sure about the 280 hp :?

Last I checked a Spec B does NOT have brembo brakes.

rawCpoppa

NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby rawCpoppa » October 17th, 2011, 5:15 pm

Man say he will take a 6 year old Subaru legacy for 180k with a side of magically low mileage oui. If you have money to burn fix up.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 17th, 2011, 5:31 pm

The one I was looking at probably had a brake conversion ... the calipers had Brembo stamped on it. It was a 2007 model though ... so yeah 5 yrs old and just 40,000kms .... there's nothing in the showrooms that can match a RORO LGT Spec B for the price

http://www.modified.com/roadtests/0306s ... index.html

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 17th, 2011, 5:35 pm

Which dealer selling this spec b?

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 17th, 2011, 9:59 pm

But ek4ever talking bout buying used legacy for 180k, ya can use 150k outta that and bring in a E92 BMW 330i yourself which is lower maintenance and flogging that leggy on the 1/4mile....so ya point bout buying that over a "slow" showroom euro is null and void...

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 18th, 2011, 7:01 am

The one I was looking at probably had a brake conversion ... the calipers had Brembo stamped on it. It was a 2007 model though ... so yeah 5 yrs old and just 40,000kms .... there's nothing in the showrooms that can match a RORO LGT Spec B for the price

Cuz it's a used car.

There's nothign wrong with that (I drive a RORO car also, I see no need to bash them), but you have to compare apples to apples.

An FD2R costs more than a Spec B (doubt me, I dare you), and isn't as powerful. Does that mean the vaulted FD2R is crap? HELL NO. It's a car with a different OBJECTIVE. I'm willing to bet you'd buy the FD2R over the Spec B given the money - correct?

The fact is, it comes down to what the END user wants from their car. Some people want luxury. Some only care about how fast the car is in a str8 line. Some want handling. Some want a NEW car, and some will buy used.

You CANNOT compare cars across these different classes, and certainly not between new and used while you're at it.

That's just stupid....a new car is a new car. Take it or leave it.

And if you're comparing a Spec B to otehr euros which are mainly offered new, look at the Spec B in "new showroom" pricing - about what....550K or more? Compare that to say, a 123d BMW, and I think we have a problem (the 1 series diesel has torque that makes the Spec B look like it's on VTEC).

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 18th, 2011, 12:37 pm

nes123 wrote:But ek4ever talking bout buying used legacy for 180k, ya can use 150k outta that and bring in a E92 BMW 330i yourself which is lower maintenance and flogging that leggy on the 1/4mile....so ya point bout buying that over a "slow" showroom euro is null and void...

How is an E92 BMW 330i even close to $180K??? A 2006 325i is U$28000 before S&H and duties and taxes. I'm sure a 330i will cost a lot more than that. Maybe I just buy the 400whp LGT on Tuner for $125K .... Are you saying that there is a showroom Euro that can match a RORO SpecB on price and performance? I think not. My post was to show that I would buy a used RORO because I'm getting more value and bang for the buck than buying new from the showroom.

Put another way, which car sitting in any showroom right now is going to offer more performance and equipment for $150K than a RORO SpecB? There's no advantage to buying a new car in TT. If you say warranty ... that's the weakest argument.

@ DSM ... I agree with you it's all about what the person buying the car wants. I would take the FD2 over the SpecB hands down if I wanted to spend 1/4 mil on a car. For instance I would never buy an Impreza from N&M for $188K for the sh1tty basic version when I could get an SG-T for that same price.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 18th, 2011, 1:26 pm

ek4ever, while you have some good points you can't come in the new car thread and just say you'd buy a used car as easily as you make it seem. It is well known that used car dealers here roll back mileage on vehicles. Yes you may be able to purchase a Legacy cheap but what happens IF you encounter big problems?

Financing on a used car isn't as easy as it sounds even though the car itself is cheaper. Financial institutions finance 80% of the price of a used car that is 1 to 4 years old. 70% of a used car that's 4 to 5 years old and 60% of a car that's 5+ years old. The bank won't even take your 5 year old used car as collateral.

This is vs 90% financing (sometimes 100%) for a new car and believe it or not peace of mind for new car owners is part of the price they pay.

The price you're quoting for a legacy seems like pre earthquake weak yen price at that. I'd love to know which dealer selling a Legacy Spec B at that price considering if you import one yourself from Japan you'd be paying about 144K yourself (not thru a dealer) for one from july 2006 (zulfiqar pricelist, grade 4 car, mileage 43000km).

JPCtrade has 2007 Legacy 2.0 GT for 22K US (2007 Grade 4.5, mileage: 21000km). If you bring that in yourself it'll cost at least 246K. Even more thru a dealer.

A grade 4 Legacy 2.0 GT will average about 17K US and up. That's TT$ 196K if you bring it in yourself. These aren't even spec B cars!

If you come across a steal of a deal then fix up but to act like the general population will see a spec b at the price you're quoting you gotta be kidding.

Also 30% of 180K is 60K for deposit if you going the financing route and that's higher than the downpayment for a new car by far. I could go on about other little things but you catch the drift about how "easy" it is to just go the new car route.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 18th, 2011, 1:59 pm

So wait, none ah allyuh eh find the Tucson diesel spec I posted is a very good option too?

Enough about the Skoda Octavia already! :lol:

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 18th, 2011, 2:32 pm

ek4ever wrote:
nes123 wrote:But ek4ever talking bout buying used legacy for 180k, ya can use 150k outta that and bring in a E92 BMW 330i yourself which is lower maintenance and flogging that leggy on the 1/4mile....so ya point bout buying that over a "slow" showroom euro is null and void...

How is an E92 BMW 330i even close to $180K??? A 2006 325i is U$28000 before S&H and duties and taxes. I'm sure a 330i will cost a lot more than that. Maybe I just buy the 400whp LGT on Tuner for $125K .... Are you saying that there is a showroom Euro that can match a RORO SpecB on price and performance? I think not. My post was to show that I would buy a used RORO because I'm getting more value and bang for the buck than buying new from the showroom.

Put another way, which car sitting in any showroom right now is going to offer more performance and equipment for $150K than a RORO SpecB? There's no advantage to buying a new car in TT. If you say warranty ... that's the weakest argument.

@ DSM ... I agree with you it's all about what the person buying the car wants. I would take the FD2 over the SpecB hands down if I wanted to spend 1/4 mil on a car. For instance I would never buy an Impreza from N&M for $188K for the sh1tty basic version when I could get an SG-T for that same price.

:lol: :lol: ...allyuh fellas feel is only Japan does sell RORO ent?well u go ahead and pay US$28k for a 325i then...I will spend $7-8k sterling for a used 2006/7 330i and license it mihself for de TT$150k give or take...

but I get your point loud and clear...its just that to some folks,it makes no financial sense spending TT$180k for a used 5yr old car or whatever versus a new low maintenance ni99a proof car...alot of folks who never owned a WRX or legacy, don't understand these cars are very high maintenance and burn alot of gas until they actually own one.Why do you think there are alot of legacy and WRX's for sale on trinicarsforsale.com?they enjoy it for a while,then sell afterwards..unless ya can afford the costly maintenance and still have morney for movietowne,while paying ya mortgage and feeding ya chirren :)

Postby Habit7 » October 18th, 2011, 3:10 pm

nes123 wrote:but I get your point loud and clear...its just that to some folks,it makes no financial sense spending TT$180k for a used 5yr old car or whatever versus a new low maintenance ni99a proof car...alot of folks who never owned a WRX or legacy, don't understand these cars are very high maintenance and burn alot of gas until they actually own one.Why do you think there are alot of legacy and WRX's for sale on trinicarsforsale.com?they enjoy it for a while,then sell afterwards..unless ya can afford the costly maintenance and still have morney for movietowne,while paying ya mortgage and feeding ya chirren :)

Thats why I like the Fiat Bravo. 1.4 turbocharged engine, 30,000km service interval and +40 mpg.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 18th, 2011, 9:06 pm

why buy a used legacy when you can get a local 2007 Accord V6 which will smoke the legacy? Anyway, both are very sweet and the owners have taste. Coming back to brand new vehicles, just take a Jetta TSI and where those Legacy's top-out @ 180, the Jetta is now going into 7th gear for a 220+ top end. Best new car right now for safety and performance is the Jetta.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 18th, 2011, 10:44 pm

acesinghit wrote:why buy a used legacy when you can get a local 2007 Accord V6 which will smoke the legacy? Anyway, both are very sweet and the owners have taste. Coming back to brand new vehicles, just take a Jetta TSI and where those Legacy's top-out @ 180, the Jetta is now going into 7th gear for a 220+ top end. Best new car right now for safety and performance is the Jetta.

Talk done! 8-)

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » October 19th, 2011, 1:17 am

does classic bring in the accord coupe?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 19th, 2011, 6:47 am

Coming back to brand new vehicles, just take a Jetta TSI and where those Legacy's top-out @ 180, the Jetta is now going into 7th gear for a 220+ top end

Actually local and SDM Legacy GT's top out at 255 or so kph (the dash goes up to 260 I believe). They don't come with a speed cut. Only the JDM ones do.

But, top speed is for kiddies.

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 19th, 2011, 10:26 am

DSM_05 wrote:
Coming back to brand new vehicles, just take a Jetta TSI and where those Legacy's top-out @ 180, the Jetta is now going into 7th gear for a 220+ top end

Actually local and SDM Legacy GT's top out at 255 or so kph (the dash goes up to 260 I believe). They don't come with a speed cut. Only the JDM ones do.

to add, as does the new Jetta (260km/h) on dash..just saying

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 19th, 2011, 10:32 am

nes123 wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:

to add, as does the new Jetta (260km/h) on dash..just saying

280km/h actually.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 21st, 2011, 4:38 pm

Here's the real bad boy right here..............

2012 VW Tiguan Sport & Style 2.0TSI

210hp @ 4200 rpm; 280Nm @ 1700 rpm; 207Lbs.ft @ 1700 rpm

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 21st, 2011, 9:25 pm

Up until now haven't seen any small suv to match the power generated by the sr20vet from the xtrail gt (280ps)

That tiguan just got a little more appealing. Looks are a huge upgrade as well..hated the previous model

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.636906,-61.402993

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » October 22nd, 2011, 9:44 am

it looks stumpy like they just chop the back

dbhertz

Postby dbhertz » October 23rd, 2011, 3:51 pm

I am thinking of importing a brand new prado from http://www.batfa.com/new_car_toyota_lan ... _prado.htm
Do you know if this is a reputable web site? I can possibly save 180K instead of buying local.
Also, can anyone point me to a dealer who can import the new model (either used or new) for me?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 23rd, 2011, 4:54 pm

DevilZ wrote:it looks stumpy like they just chop the back

Dat is the only issue. Wifey wants to know where the TruValu, PriceSmart, HiLo and beach cooler would fit! LOL! It doesn't seem to fit the 'family SUV' profile. :cry:

To give you a better perspective, checkout the cargo area in these mainstream compact SUVs vs the Tiguan:

Grand Vitara: Cargo capacity, all seats in place: 28.4 cu.ft. Max. 70.8 cu.ft.
RAV4: Cargo capacity, all seats in place: 36.4 cu.ft. Max 73.0 cu.ft.
Tucson: Cargo capacity, all seats in place: 25.7 cu.ft. 55.8 cu.ft.
CRV: Cargo capacity, all seats in place: 35.7 cu.ft. Max 72.9 cu.ft.
Tiguan: Cargo capacity, all seats in place: 23.8 cu.ft. Max 56.1 cu.ft.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 24th, 2011, 1:45 am

never realized the rav was so spacious!!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 24th, 2011, 11:45 am

imagin for $99k you getting the below which has more boot space and cabin space than suv's costing more than 3x the price...the price we gotta pay for higher ground clearance and awd eh?

Postby Stephon. » October 24th, 2011, 4:25 pm

Yeah but that car is behind on the times to be honest, but I see what you mean, people who need mobile room will make a saving on buying one of those wingroads, not my cup of tea though :lol: .

Anyways I came from checking out the Skoda today, it was impressive on the inside, but it's hard to look at from the outside. :lol:
They kept telling me to come tomorrow for a test run, so I may wait on their call and go check it out, going to test drive the Godzda 3 on Wednesday :D

Postby equipped2ripp » October 24th, 2011, 6:24 pm

acesinghit wrote:imagin for $99k you getting the below which has more boot space and cabin space than suv's costing more than 3x the price...the price we gotta pay for higher ground clearance and awd eh?

if you say so.

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2011, 10:33 am

Any info on the chevy captiva? I'm reading two airbags here :? Wtf is up with that.
Is maintainence expensive on these chevy suv vehicles?

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 25th, 2011, 1:39 pm

I will never understand how allyuh fellas find de new Octavia ugly nah...de same guy who designed the veyron designed this version so surely he must knw what he doing....but to me I find it distinguishable from the usual aggressive look from lets say Civic, cerato et al

Postby cinco » October 25th, 2011, 1:49 pm

buh d veyron ugly tooo