T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » October 15th, 2011, 7:52 pm

I'll go see the Skoda next week, but it's going to have to be really good for me to change my mind from my two choices right now. The Cruze and the Mazda 3

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2011, 8:37 pm

only thing the mazda 3 has goin for it over the octavia is looks (me not liking the facelift) and that debatable. Fully loaded octavia for 184k vs 211k fully loaded mazda 3. Ok maybe you can get parts in d bamboo as an option for the 3 which not possible for the octavia but if u buyin brand new why consider used parts in the first place.

Throughout this thread we all complain about value for money. Yen is strong and that's no joke. You are essentially paying more for the same car just because of currency. Not because you getting more car.

Octavia basic servicing in general is $1000 (every 10000 km) according to an octavia owner of a 2008 model. Every 30000 km interval servicing is avg $2000 to $3000 from the firm.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 16th, 2011, 12:14 am

octavia pros:
-6-speed automatic with TIPTRONIC
-148Nm of peak torque
-8-speaker sound system
-front and rear parking sensors
-rear mud guards
-anti-skid regulation (ASR)
-cooled center console for drinks
-zero probability of theft
-$184k

mazda 3 pros:
-better handling (suspension more tuned for sport)
-more precise steering feel (tuned for sport)
-excellent braking system (could be superior to Octavia's)
-auto HID head lights
-auto wipers
-auto climate control
-6CD changer
-DOHC 16valve SV-T engine with slightly more HP
-better resale value
-steering wheel mounted controls

verdict?
IMHO, the $27k difference in price means the octavia is the better buy over the mazda 3.
If we throw in the Chevrolet Cruze 1.8 for $189k then that to me is a better buy than the octavia.
Last edited by acesinghit on October 16th, 2011, 10:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » October 16th, 2011, 6:36 am

People steal the new Mazda 3s? I know it's Japanese and anything is possible with Japanese vehicles but I didn't think they would be targeting the new model ones. It's not exactly a bamboo car after all.

rawCpoppa

NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby rawCpoppa » October 16th, 2011, 8:13 am

Man just say u want a Mazda 3 nah. And which entry level Japanese car doh eventually become a bamboo car?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 16th, 2011, 10:38 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Jetta coming wid 6 airbags. Two front, two curtain and two side impact. All these are for front passengers. Not sure if we even getting the option to order rear curtain airbags.( e.g. option in UK VW website)

It comes with the full curtain airbags - front/rear passengers.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 16th, 2011, 10:45 am

Stephon. wrote:Ugh, I want to test drive a passat, but I KNOW I won't be able to get one because of the price. I know that if I test drive one, I'll be angry when I have to come out of the vehicle. :lol:

So norstar2k have you decided on what your next buy will be?

I was pretty close to a final decision, but after yesterday's flooding, and the number of cars I saw shutdown, it makes me appreciate a 4WD SUV a whole lot more (still don't like pickups). :)

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 16th, 2011, 11:24 am

The Jetta's 1.4 TSI's twin charged engine puts out 160hp @ 5800rpm; 177 Lbs.ft/240 Nm @ 1500rpm
The Passat's 1.8 TSI's twin charged engine puts out 160hp @ 5000rpm; 185 Lbs.ft/250 Nm @ 1500rpm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 16th, 2011, 4:29 pm

norstar2k wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Jetta coming wid 6 airbags. Two front, two curtain and two side impact. All these are for front passengers. Not sure if we even getting the option to order rear curtain airbags.( e.g. option in UK VW website)

It comes with the full curtain airbags - front/rear passengers.

I stand corrected. This makes the car even better 8-)

norstar2k wrote:The Jetta's 1.4 TSI's twin charged engine puts out 160hp @ 5800rpm; 177 <a href="http://Lbs.ft/240" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">Lbs.ft/240</a> Nm @ 1500rpm
The Passat's 1.8 TSI's twin charged engine puts out 160hp @ 5000rpm; 185 <a href="http://Lbs.ft/250" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">Lbs.ft/250</a> Nm @ 1500rpm

One thing to note. The 1.8 TSI in the Passat is turbocharged alone. No additional supercharger. Hence the small increase in figures between that and the 1.4 TSI found in the Jetta.

Postby Habit7 » October 16th, 2011, 4:46 pm

acesinghit wrote:octavia pros:
-148Nm of peak torque
-8-speaker sound system
-rear mud guards
-$184k

mazda 3 pros:
-auto HID head lights
-auto wipers
-auto climate control
-6CD changer
-better resale value

verdict?
IMHO, the $27k difference in price means the octavia is the better buy over the mazda 3.
If we throw in the Chevrolet Cruze 1.8 for $189k then that to me is a better buy than the octavia.

the Mazda doesnt have HID headlights or auto climate control. They both have similar braking systems, both are tiptronic. The Skoda has chilled glove box and centre console. Although the Mazda is a JDM, bamboo parts are still not available, the older Mazda 3 doesnt share a lot of parts with it (trust me I have looked), but the Skoda shares a lot of parts with older models and with VW's and Audi's (who come to Sterling for cheaper Skoda parts), so strangely parts with the Skoda are better.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 16th, 2011, 11:47 pm

I like this: turbocharged, fuel economic, 4WD, its a German designed SUV (CUV), and it's less than $300K.

2012 Hyundai Tucson 2.0L GL CRDi 4WD
- 2.0L R-eVGT CRDi I-4 DOHC 16V engine
- Maximum Power: 177hp @ 4000 rpm
- Maximum Torque: 392Nm @ 1800-2500rpm
- 6-speed automatic transmission with SHIFTRONIC
- Electronic 4X4 with Lock Mode
- 4-Wheel Independent Suspension
- Gas Shock Absorbers
- Front/Rear Disc Brakes
- 17" 5 Split Spoke Alloy Wheels - 225/60/R17
- Full sized Alloy Spare Wheel
- In-Dash 6 CD Changer/Radio/MP3/USB/AUX/iPod Cable/6 Speakers
- ABS | EBD | ESP | BA
- Keyless Entry System
- Factory Immobilizer
- Active Front Head Restraints
- Factory Air-condtioning
- Front Fog Lamps
- LED Repeater Lamps on Side Mirrors
- Dual Front SRS Airbags
- Steering Wheel Audio Controls
- Roof Rack
- Front/Rear Mud Guards
- Rear Spoiler w/High Mount LED Stop Light
- Fabric Interior
- Powered Windows/Locks/Mirrors/Steering
- Driver power window with auto up/down
- Variable intermittent front windshield wipers, Rear wiper with washer
- Trip Computer

This would've been perfect if it came with the leather package, Sachs Amplitude Selective Dampers (ASD) , 6-airbags, Bluetooth, Downhill Brake Control (DBC) and Hillstart Assist Control (HAC). If only we got the GLS Diesel model in TT, that would've been great.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 17th, 2011, 6:49 am

Tuscon has some nice tq figures :shock:

Anyone have thoughts on the Mazda 2?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 17th, 2011, 8:32 am

Stephon. wrote:Just came from N&M.

The first guy I spoke to was unenthusiastic, I didn't even want to check out the cars much after how bored he looked lol.

Anyways.

Not here for crappy customer service.

The rep name wasn't Marlon by chance? Went there in April and get the same kinna treatment from him. When I asked for a test drive to be arranged he couldn't care less. Told me he would call back with a test drive appt. which he never did. Changed rep and when he saw I came in for the test drive 4 days later he come up and ask if I eh buying from him anymore.

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2011, 8:46 am

DSM_05 wrote:Tuscon has some nice tq figures :shock:

Anyone have thoughts on the Mazda 2?

170k for a yaris competitor
i would take the cerato

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 17th, 2011, 8:47 am

acesinghit wrote:octavia pros:
-148Nm of peak torque
-8-speaker sound system
-rear mud guards
-$184k

mazda 3 pros:
-auto HID head lights
-auto wipers
-auto climate control
-6CD changer
-better resale value

verdict?

though you are hardly ever wrong with previous posts,you are here about the braking cuz the Octavia's have the Audi B6/B7 braking system...so to claim the mazda 3 has better braking?I highly doubt....don't get me wrong the braking is positive and similar in feel at lower moderate speeds with the M3,but the difference here is the Octavia inherited the A4's braking setup which enables it to slow down at a faster rate from higher speeds due to its superior dual rate vacuum assisted brakes...plus its a heavier car

In the Octavia's defence, lets compare the OEM sport package to the M3,instead of the rough road package they get - apples with apples homey :o ...remember the Octavia is more car and caters for luxury and,a more mature fan base than the younger generation M3 who want some degree of sportiness and appeal...

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 17th, 2011, 9:00 am

Allergic2BunnyEars, what's not to like here?I find them on par in terms of appeal..besides the Octy not bad looking at all....

not as good looking as this?

I find they both sexy,but the skoda has a more upmarket look and feel,guess it boils down to what you like I suppose :D

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 17th, 2011, 9:31 am

One thing the Jetta has that neither the Octavia or Mazda 3 has (or at least wasn't mentioned here) is Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS), that unlocks the doors, turns on the hazards and turns off the fuel pump if it detects the airbag about to go off.

Postby noshownogo » October 17th, 2011, 10:25 am

The Jetta looks fresher than the Octavia IMO. That Skoda design has been around for at least a decade and it's showing.

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 17th, 2011, 10:44 am

a decade =10yrs ...just saying :| ...the 2006+ MKII was face-lifted to the picture above from 2009.....also the outgoing jetta is about the same age 2006-2011 give or take some months

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 17th, 2011, 12:33 pm

The Passat's 1.8 TSI's twin charged engine puts out 160hp @ 5000rpm; 185 Lbs.ft/250 Nm @ 1500rpm

The 1.8 Passat is not twincharged AFAIK. Just a single turbo.

TSI = turbo

TFSI = twin charged.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 17th, 2011, 1:02 pm

DSM_05 wrote:

TSI = turbo

TFSI = twin charged.

Yeah, Allergic2BunnyEars already pointed that out earlier. Its strange though that the Jetta has the TSI badge on the rear, even thought its twincharged.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 17th, 2011, 1:30 pm

Well, I've heard some jettas come with a 135 or so hp 1.4 turbo as well (as opposed to the twincharged 1.4). Maybe lower power version is the TSI?

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » October 17th, 2011, 1:41 pm

noshownogo wrote:The Jetta looks fresher than the Octavia IMO. That Skoda design has been around for at least a decade and it's showing.

I don't mind the front of the Skoda, however the back - especially the lights :?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 17th, 2011, 2:07 pm

DSM_05 wrote:Well, I've heard some jettas come with a 135 or so hp 1.4 turbo as well (as opposed to the twincharged 1.4). Maybe lower power version is the TSI?

2011 Jetta specs available here in TT.

* 1.4 Turbo Super Charged Engine (160 Horsepower)
* 7 Speed DSG Tiptronic Transmission
* Bluetooth Handsfree with Control on Steering
* Electromechanical PowerSteering
* Semi-Auto Airconditioning - Climatic with Rear Vents
* All One-Touch Power Windows
* Remote Central Locking
* Front, Side & Curtain Airbags (Front Passenger with deactivation)
* 4 Wheel Disc Brakes
* ABS with Electronic Stability Programme
* Telescopic adjustable Steering
* Height Adjustable Driver & Front Passenger Seat
* Split Fold Rear Seat 60/40
* 6 Cd/Mp3 Touch Screen In Dash Stereo with SD Card Slot
* 10 Speaker Stereo System
* Fog Lights
* Rear Map Reading Lights
* Multi-Function Steering
* Speed Control Door Locks
* Front & Rear Optical Parking Sensors (Display on Radio)
* Keyless Entry
* 16" Alloy Rims with Wheel Locks (Navarra Rims)
* Anti-Theft System & Immobilizer
* Side Impact Door Beams
* Power Side View Mirrors
* Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS)

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 17th, 2011, 2:09 pm

2011 Passat specs available here in TT.

* 1.8TSI (Turbo) 160 Horsepower
* 10 Speaker Stereo System
* In dash touch screen 6 CD Changer/Mp3/SD card/AUX input
* 7 Speed DSG Transmission with Tiptronic and Sport mode
* Wood Trim with Brushed Aluminum
* Fabric Interior with 6 way Electronically & Manually Adjustments
* Dual Zone Climatronic Airconditioning
* Front, Side & Curtain Airbags (Front Passenger with deactivation)
* Multifunction Leather steering
* Adjustable steering wheel coloum (Height and reach)
* ElectroMechanical Power Steering
* Full Chrome package
* 60:40 rear seats with load through feature in centre seat
* Automatic headlights with Fog Lamps
* Rain sensing wipers
* Auto Dim Rear view mirror and side mirrors
* Multifunction display in colour
* All One Touch Power Windows
* 16" Sao Paolo Alloy Rims
* Front and Rear Optical Parking sensors (Display on Radio)
* Factory Installed Alarm & Immoblizer
* Push button Hand brakes with Auto Hold feature
* 4 wheel Disc brakes with ESP(Electronic Stability Program)
* Speed control door locks
* Halogen Headlights with Static Cornering Headlights
* Side Mirrors Electronically Adjustable, Foldable & Heatable
* Tyre Pressure Monitoring

Added Features to the Highline:

* LED Daylight Running Lights
* Bi-Xenon, Auto Leveling with Bending Light and Cornering Headlights
* LED Tail Lights
* Leather Interior with 12 way Electronically Adjustable with Memory (Driver)
* 17" Minneapolis Alloys Wheels
* Tyre Pressure Monitoring

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 17th, 2011, 2:32 pm

nes123 wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars, what's not to like here?I find them on par in terms of appeal..besides the Octy not bad looking at all....

not as good looking as this?

I find they both sexy,but the skoda has a more upmarket look and feel,guess it boils down to what you like I suppose :D

I was actually comparing the facelift Octavia to the previous model Octavia. I'm not a fan of the widening of the headlights a la 2009+

DSM_05 wrote:
The Passat's 1.8 TSI's twin charged engine puts out 160hp @ 5000rpm; 185 <a href="http://Lbs.ft/250" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">Lbs.ft/250</a> Nm @ 1500rpm

TSI = turbo

TFSI = twin charged.

TSI can be either twincharged OR single Turbo. Jetta carries TSI badge yet has a supercharged and turbocharged engine here in Trinidad. The TSI badge is actually confusing as it doesn't really say whether an engine comes twincharged or not. The same goes for TFSI. VW owns AUDI and many of the engines are shared between manufacturers. Audi A1 comes with options for twincharged 1.4 or single turbo 1.4 TFSI engines for example.

DSM_05 wrote:Well, I've heard some jettas come with a 135 or so hp 1.4 turbo as well (as opposed to the twincharged 1.4). Maybe lower power version is the TSI?

There are two 1.4 TSI engines. One comes twincharged = 160hp or 170hp in some models while there is another 1.4 TSI with a single turbo making 122hp. The latter is to replace 1.6 na engines found in previous models as it creats more torque and has better fuel economy.

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 17th, 2011, 2:51 pm

to add...TSI=turbocharged whereas TSI with the (T) being red means twin charged

additionally there are (5) versions of the 1.4TSI engines....122hp (octavia), 140HP Turbo only & 160HP twin charged (Red "T") Jetta, 170HP GOLF GT ,and 180HP in the Skoda Fabia VRS
Last edited by nes123 on October 17th, 2011, 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 17th, 2011, 2:55 pm

I'll take a RORO Legacy GT SPEC B for $180K (approx).... 280hp, symmetrical AWD, SI drive, McIntosh sound system, Brembo Brakes, Bilstein Shocks, 18" Alloys ... yuh could keep all them new dead arse cars.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 17th, 2011, 2:56 pm

Eh heh? Well look how man gonna start swapping dey normal TSI badge for a red T!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 17th, 2011, 2:58 pm

6 year old RORO Legacy Spec B for 180K?