T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: T&T OFFICIAL new vehicle prices and discussion thread

Postby rspann » August 11th, 2018, 5:20 pm

The moral of the story is, know the cost of parts before you purchase a vehicle or make sure you have good insurance.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 11th, 2018, 8:34 pm

This is a wake up call for me. I don't have deep pockets for a vehicle so after analysing my capabilities, a roro March, Note, Latio or AD Van is the way to go. Much thanks...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 11th, 2018, 8:48 pm

rspann wrote:The moral of the story is, know the cost of parts before you purchase a vehicle or make sure you have good insurance.
Just buy generic....nobody will know the difference

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 12th, 2018, 10:28 am

Monk BANzai wrote:meanwhile...

That’s my signature on the estimate, this particular customer has a fully loaded Cerato HIDs full works, I can feel it for him due to the situation go to enjoy the game and come back to a vandalized vehicle but he’s going to require more things when they get into the repair they actually ripped out his bumper and whoever took the headlamps definitely did damage to the brackets of the lamps.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » August 12th, 2018, 12:39 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:

That’s my signature on the estimate, this particular customer has a fully loaded Cerato HIDs full works, I can feel it for him due to the situation go to enjoy the game and come back to a vandalized vehicle but he’s going to require more things when they get into the repair they actually ripped out his bumper and whoever took the headlamps definitely did damage to the brackets of the lamps.

So a regular pair of headlights (minus the damaged brackets) would cost less?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 12th, 2018, 1:49 pm

bess almera wrote:
kg494EJ-1 wrote:

So a regular pair of headlights (minus the damaged brackets) would cost less?

Not by much. Stealerships always jack up prices.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » August 12th, 2018, 2:12 pm

I'm almost sure you can import a new set of aftermarket headlights for the price of one from the company

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 12th, 2018, 2:46 pm

Stealerships gonna steal....who d hell gonna pay 31k for a kia cerato headlamp...a kia...that has no resale value....smh....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 12th, 2018, 2:49 pm

My Sportage got a lash from behind and the rim took some damage.. imagine they quoted 12k for one rim!
Southern sales mad with prices

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2018, 3:02 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:

That’s my signature on the estimate, this particular customer has a fully loaded Cerato HIDs full works, I can feel it for him due to the situation go to enjoy the game and come back to a vandalized vehicle but he’s going to require more things when they get into the repair they actually ripped out his bumper and whoever took the headlamps definitely did damage to the brackets of the

I wouldnt go blabbing about being part of a stearship in here....especially since 99% of tuner dislike the stealershiets

rebound

Postby rebound » August 12th, 2018, 4:13 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:

As the person who signed that estmate, do you think thats a fair price?

bess almera

Postby bess almera » August 12th, 2018, 6:14 pm

rebound wrote:
kg494EJ-1 wrote:

Come on...Even if he thinks it’s unfair, do you really think he’ll say something negative about his employer? Would you say something negative about your employer?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 12th, 2018, 6:17 pm

red bwoy wrote:I'm almost sure you can import a new set of aftermarket headlights for the price of one from the company

One can import new oem headlights for the price of one from the company. Some things you just don’t buy from the stealerships.

Postby Morpheus » August 12th, 2018, 6:24 pm

Original parts are very expensive.....yes even for a KIA.

Stealership prices are a different story.....

Get a part number, find it yourself and bring it in if possible.

Postby rspann » August 12th, 2018, 6:53 pm

The prices were without discount , you can get up to 25%.

Postby rspann » August 12th, 2018, 6:56 pm

Unless they unbolted them ,which is hardly likely, because the bumper is still partially on, the headlights will have to be repaired before they use them on the car they took them for. They might rather that than paying for new lights .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2018, 7:10 pm

rspann wrote:Unless they unbolted them ,which is hardly likely, because the bumper is still partially on, the headlights will have to be repaired before they use them on the car they took them for. They might rather that than paying for new lights .

Them thing prolly sell the same night...wonders how much they woda get doh

rebound

Postby rebound » August 12th, 2018, 9:29 pm

bess almera wrote:
rebound wrote:
kg494EJ-1 wrote:

Come on...Even if he thinks it’s unfair, do you really think he’ll say something negative about his employer? Would you say something negative about your employer?

Well, why should he feel compelled to mention that he was the one who signed it in a forum where everyone is saying its wrong, if he also thinks its unfair?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 12th, 2018, 9:58 pm

Man who take them probably wanted the optics and the ballast to convert his to hids from halogen.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 13th, 2018, 10:33 am

Kamakazi, is the ballast integrated into the head lamp assembly or is it separate? I'm thinking the owner can simply buy the regular non HID headlamps to reduce cost and then upgrade to LEDs which is presumably better than HIDs.

kg494EJ-1

T&T OFFICIAL new vehicle prices and discussion thread

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 13th, 2018, 10:49 am

Answering questions
HIDs are integrated normal lamps are far cheaper
Price for the lamp one reason lamps were air freighted and there is a special cost due to the bulb type (gas in the bulb)
In addition the customer would receive a discount on the part as Spann stated and in addition due to his insurance company his discount would be greater that 25%
We are not all a part of stealerships mentality in my case I try to work with customers. I can’t control the Cost price but I can try to assist to closer fit you pocket .

If you look back you would see where I let my opinions known I don’t keep them a secret but now that I work in the industry I now have a better understanding you won’t believe the taxes we have to pay on some of these items.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 13th, 2018, 11:13 am

agent007 wrote:Kamakazi, is the ballast integrated into the head lamp assembly or is it separate? I'm thinking the owner can simply buy the regular non HID headlamps to reduce cost and then upgrade to LEDs which is presumably better than HIDs.
I'm not sure, but as someone who has retrofitted HIDs before... And seen some headlight housings... It isn't difficult to convert the housings if they are similar

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 13th, 2018, 11:18 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:Answering questions
Price for the lamp one reason lamps were air freighted and there is a special cost due to the bulb type (gas in the bulb)
In addition the customer would receive a discount on the part as Spann stated and in addition due to his insurance company his discount would be greater that 25%
We are not all a part of stealerships mentality in my case I try to work with customers. I can’t control the Cost price but I can try to assist to closer fit you pocket .

If you look back you would see where I let my opinions known I don’t keep them a secret but now that I work in the industry I now have a better understanding you won’t believe the taxes we have to pay on some of these items.

The fact that such huge discounts can be offered in the first place while still turning a profit provides more reasons to call dealerships stealerships.

Also another reason dealerships are known as stealerships extends to how discounts are “offered”.

The same dealers abroad offer the same parts at significantly cheaper online. OEM at that. You guys must be paying more than just custom duties and VAT to justify such high prices pre and post discount.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » August 13th, 2018, 12:09 pm

Anyone with reviews on the 2018 Toyota Yaris? Seeing a lot on the road lately. Seems like a decent upgrade from the previous model.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 13th, 2018, 1:42 pm

Noted kamakazi thanks.
Bess almera the new yaris has 2 airbags and previous yaris with the factory spoiler and fog lights have 6 airbags. Retrograde step imo, providing that I'm right :)

bess almera

Postby bess almera » August 13th, 2018, 3:28 pm

Ok thanks

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 13th, 2018, 5:12 pm

2018 yaris kinda fugly

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 13th, 2018, 11:30 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:Answering questions

Why would I not believe 25% duty and 12.5% VAT? 25/12.5 still does not explain the high prices ...
please don't try any smart man tactics here ... we all know tax rates in T&T.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » August 14th, 2018, 2:58 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:2018 yaris kinda fugly

ok thanks

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 14th, 2018, 8:04 am

agent007 wrote:Noted kamakazi thanks.
Bess almera the new yaris has 2 airbags and previous yaris with the factory spoiler and fog lights have 6 airbags. Retrograde step imo, providing that I'm right :)

comes with a smaller engine as well, 1.3L I think.