The Official Car Care Thread

Karim Khan

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby Karim Khan » October 16th, 2012, 9:03 pm

Pio- What color is the vehicle ?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 16th, 2012, 9:12 pm

Pioneer: clean it.That BS can do a lot of damage if it just sits there a long time. Also, as Silent said, least aggressive first. You're using a Megs DA polisher? If it's local paint the 3/10 cut might be more than enough for you.

Konartis : if you're not painting over, get someone who knows about detailing to inspect the job properly for you. Depending on the condition of your paint you may not be able to safely use compound or it may take the paint very close to it's end. Don't just go by someone who says they go compong it. At least that's what I'm getting from what you said. Either way, at least get a 2nd opinion and quote.

TRVS : Yes I have a Griot's machine. Works perfectly fine. PC is a good machine too, as is the Meg's. Reading reviews you'll notice they all work, just little things people prefer about the different machines. eg. The PC shut off with extra pressure, or that the Griot's vibrates less... If you're just going for basic use, buy one you get at a good deal. Actually I think Karim selling his Meg's if you're interested.

Postby pioneer » October 16th, 2012, 11:11 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Pio- What color is the vehicle ?

Black

trvs

Postby trvs » October 16th, 2012, 11:29 pm

Pioneer, was the car always black or you repainted it black? If so...go stock up on some pressure tablets lol.

Hey nemesis, I'll just be using it on a couple of my vehicles when time permits. I saw Karim's F.S thread with the Megs but I think I'll get the Griot's instead.

Postby pioneer » October 16th, 2012, 11:56 pm

Yeah it was always black, trust me I had my share lol

I "cleaned" off the bird chit as soon as it happened...well same day...POS pigeons I dealing with and we all know they eating ah setta chit all day so is stink long watery chit...however you can see the stains :(

I guess when it buffs it gonna come out?...or should I kill me some pigeons

Was really excited to SRP and EGP this weekend...guess that's a no...I have to wait....and I took a day off friday just to get it started :?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 17th, 2012, 5:03 am

I found some mothers cleaner wax, is it safe to use on my rims?; they are painted.

Also, what is a good lubricant to use with the clay bar? do I need the special quick detailer (red one), or can I use the black one I usually spray and wipe off from meguairs.

I tried out the mothers wash and wax; the carnuba one. It's much better than the megauirs IMO.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 17th, 2012, 5:52 am

Pioneer : If the bs region isn't too bad you may get off some, if not all of the marking with the SRP. If it is a case of acid damage, well, machining will help, but depending on how deep it got you may not be able to fix completely. Still try the SRP and see how much it improves.

trvs : the Griot's machine works great thus far. I've done quite a few cars with little problems so far. My most annoying issue thus far has been the switch not working at times. I personally will be trying the PC on my next machine purchase.

chinee : Yes you can use the cleaner wax. Won't last too long though. Are you talking about the Meg's ultimate detailer? If you use the Mother's clay lube it works fine.
I've tried both Mother's and Meg's Carnauba wash. Saw no diff in either. Only one I've seen a diff with so far is the Dodo Juice. And it's also the only one that hazed up those fussy waxes so I'm fairly certain it actually has some wax content in it.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 17th, 2012, 7:26 am

If I were to buy another machine, it would be a Flex. But my minimal use of a machine doesn't warrant the purchase.

Pioneer, there's also bird sheit removers you can keep in the car.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 17th, 2012, 8:07 am

Silent- The Flex is a very good machine. But i would not recommend you using it just yet. Master you dual action first. The Flex is a totally different machine and if you dont know how it use it, you may put yourself in some trouble. Mastering the DA takes sometime but it is rewarding.

Some of the top detailers in the US have indicated that they rarely use their rotary polishers for paint corrections and they lean towards the DA. This is due to advancements in pad and abrasive technology.

Pio- Due to the advancements in detailing products you do not need to use anything abrasive to remove bird lime and watermark from the paint.

Crazy- Do not use to much cleaner wax on the rims. the paint on your rims is thin and the cleaner wax contains mild abrasives and over use can compromise the clear coat over time, unless you want to upgrade to some nice AMG's as i recommended... The car just need some TLC and its over due for a service.

Remember proper care and maintenance is the key to having your ride shine !

Got me some nice vehicles to work on this week if you want to see the work have a look

here- Trintuner-http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=461422

or here Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150757769110323.713839.694235322&type=3

konartis

Postby konartis » October 17th, 2012, 5:30 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Konartis - have you ever painted over the vehicle ?

it was painted, but not to well, not to the point of running but just poor, according to my mech/painter

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 17th, 2012, 6:27 pm

Konartis - I did a car that was painted by the same company a while ago. The paint job was poor as hell, but i guess that's how it is

Postby pioneer » October 17th, 2012, 9:13 pm

Thanks for the advice

Ya'll know where I can get a bucket with grit guard locally?

trvs

Postby trvs » October 18th, 2012, 7:58 am

^ you might hada order the grit guard and buy a bucket here.

Nemesis, you making me feel to revert to the PC purchase now :shock:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 19th, 2012, 2:26 pm

Grit guard you can order on amazon cheaply.

As for the PC trvs, you should read as much as you can about them all and see which suits you best. If it's only for your personal use the Griot's should be fine, and is known to vibrate your hands less so is a bit more comfortable.

Postby pioneer » October 19th, 2012, 4:41 pm

Actually I got one at Lubetech...Meguiars - $80.73

Now I though I had an empty 5 gallon soap powder bucket outside...someone took it to put paint in it :?

:evil:

aidan

Postby aidan » October 20th, 2012, 2:44 am

^^You could tell me how to get there? I'll make a pass next week. I know is in Charlieville somewhere.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 20th, 2012, 7:14 am

i jes finish clay bar-ing meh car. d kinda shite does cling to yuh paint eh. and dat port of spain acid rain. sheesh.

but dat glassy feel is wifey rite there.

GLENN'S

Postby GLENN'S » October 20th, 2012, 9:18 pm

GSSL wrote:Some work I did today with the Shining Monkey Products.

Before:
Not many before pics. But the paint was scratched up pretty bad.

After:

Car looked great!

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 20th, 2012, 9:32 pm

should show the same trunk pic before and after or a 50/50
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on October 22nd, 2012, 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 22nd, 2012, 5:49 am

So my Meguairs wax and wash ran out, and the closest thing to purchase was Mothers Wash and Carrnuba Wax.

MAN! After using that I can never go back to any meguairs wash. I dont know if it is me alone, or because of my paint type but my car looked rich and wet afterwards, similar to when I try and wax it. The meguairs ultimate can't come close.

Mothers you have a new follower.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 22nd, 2012, 6:36 am

Ok guys did some detailing this weekend on a Ranger Rover Vogue Autobiography, there are not to many on the road here in TnT is to me its something special

Snow Foam

Before and After of the paint correction

All nicely done

Hope you guys enjoy !!
Last edited by Karim Khan on October 22nd, 2012, 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 22nd, 2012, 6:58 am

Good pics guys.
GSSL take note of Aaron's comment there. To really show what you achieved you need to do a before/after shot of the same area of paint.. preferably same lighting too.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 22nd, 2012, 6:12 pm

GSSL the car looks great. Keep up the good work!

Postby pioneer » October 22nd, 2012, 6:26 pm

Good news for me, xty buffin tomorrow...should be polished n waxed (autoglym) by weekend yayy me :D

trvs

Postby trvs » October 22nd, 2012, 7:36 pm

Great news pioneer. Take some before and after pics.

EGP is a beyotch to apply at night.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 22nd, 2012, 8:11 pm

Good to hear Pioneer. If you have the time try to apply the polish and wax the same day the vehicle has been buffed!

Postby pioneer » October 22nd, 2012, 9:29 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Good to hear Pioneer. If you have the time try to apply the polish and wax the same day the vehicle has been buffed!

I'm thinking about it...depends what time I get home

Kinda excited to do it :oops:

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 22nd, 2012, 10:11 pm

Dont worry, sometime ago i worked on my ride till next morning. It was a labour of love but very rewarding

Postby pioneer » October 22nd, 2012, 11:59 pm

If I'm using ultra deep shine, how long after can I use the EGP?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 23rd, 2012, 6:56 am

I would not recommended you use EGP with Ultra Deep Shine . They were not designed to be used together . You can use HD wax on top of the EGP only after the EGP has cured for at least 24-48 hours in our climate.