T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 12th, 2011, 3:46 am

acesinghit wrote:it have people out there who buying new vehicles and can't afford the following:

-movie date with spouse/gf
-eat out
-go tobago
-spend 3k on groceries
-have cable/internet/post-paid cellular plans
-buy new tyres for said vehicles
-no fixed deposits invested
-no retirement plan
-no medical or life insurance
-mortgage for house (worse yet the downpayment for said house)
-masters degree
-new appliances/furniture/power tools
-can't even afford kids...

The reality is, buying a new vehicle is bling today. It's a sign of job stability and success. You look good at the school re union but when you in the teller line @ the bank....you have 5k per month employees laughing at your stupid lifestyle...I suppose this includes the crowd of people who REQUIRES a 5% increase in salary so they could make johnnie walker richer and flood the market with more bb's.

My wife has the better car. I will stick to my 5yr old 1NZ-FE Corolla and put $120. in super every 8 days with 600kms per tank and $1600. for a set of brand new tyres once every 2yrs, loan free.

some real good sense here.....BUT its headache when these older cars start to act up....

had to edit this.......realise its a 5 yr old NZE u have so u ent got no problems there in a hurry...... :D

Postby Stephon. » October 12th, 2011, 5:54 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
norstar2k wrote:I've realized that brand/model prices 'seem' to increase upon receipt of each new shipment. No feature or spec improvements, just more $$$$ to the consumer. They just blame the value of the Japanese yen or the South Korean won.

The MVT is the second killer - Ex. The 'mid-spec' CRV 2.0L is $375K and the 'fully loaded' CRV 2.4L is $406K!! A difference of $31K!! Why??!!

Subcompact SUVs have crossed the $300K line, and quite a few subcompact cars have hopped over the $200K line with relate ease!

This isn't KFC folks, we've comfortably accepted 'stealth' increases in the 2/3-pc combos for years. We're talking $300,000.00 dollars for vehicles that still aren't fully loaded - all this crap about basic, mid-spec and hi-spec/fully loaded? Even the fully loaded missing features. Imagine handing over a cheque for $349K and you've just bought yourself a 'basic' model? WTH?!

I think I'm going to agree with acesinghit, and pull my 'FOR SALE' sign on my SGV and wait and see what 2012 brings! Cuz I don't like what I'm seeing now. :?

Bro...I have agreed to all your comment is the past and well to this one I FULLY ENDORSE ALSO....

prices are tooo high......I was gonna place my 2002 model car up for sale but I am thinking twice.....since it works well and i just drive about 10km per day with it so why the heck should I spend so much money on a new car that will do the same job for me.....

once my a/c pumping....music rocking and i getting a smooth comfortable ride for my 10km journey each day...then I kool with that....

btw this 2002 model car is only doing 70 000 KM due to my short trips...lol...so its still is relatively new to me.....interior exterior and engine......

removes 4 sale sign.......

WOW 2002 car with only 70k? That car may possibly last you forever! :lol:
My father has a PCB that is over 200k :lol:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 12th, 2011, 9:33 am

yeah stephon...its true.......only to work and back..10-20 km per day.....use another car to lime......

Postby Stephon. » October 12th, 2011, 11:27 am

Just came from N&M.

The first guy I spoke to was unenthusiastic, I didn't even want to check out the cars much after how bored he looked lol.

Anyways.

The Elantra is sold out until Jan next year, the accent impressed me, I'm not gonna lie.

The prices are:

150k 1.4 GL
160k 1.4 GLS
180k 1.4 GLS Diesel

Didn't bother checking out anything because I was afraid the guy would fall asleep while giving me a tour of the Subarus

Not here for crappy customer service.

Postby Habit7 » October 12th, 2011, 12:04 pm

Stephon. wrote:180k 1.4 GLS Diesel

You sure that is Elantra, the is the price of a diesel Accent

Postby Stephon. » October 12th, 2011, 12:07 pm

Oops, I need to work on how I use my commas and full stops. I mentioned that they were the accent prices, but the way I wrote it made it look like I was talking about the Elantra :lol:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 12th, 2011, 12:15 pm

sales reps are funny yes....I remember I went N&M and told the sales rep I have an approval for only $140k and he was dragging his feet to show me anything, he even went on to say I could get a good used car in nealco at the back....

Toyota is the worse...within a few seconds of meeting a sales rep there, they want to know if you buying or not (after all they don't sell, they're order takers) and when he realize like I just looking, he leave me right there and went to a new couple walking through the door.

Lifestyle motors sales reps disgusting....as soon as u walk in and say you heading to the chevy section they quick to bombard you and say the sx4 better and blah blah blah....they have the nerve to say the sx4 better than the cruze :lol:

SS well they in a mess on a whole. You walk in their tiny unimpressive showrooms and its either the car in the back and it cleaning for a customer or the car sold, it not available or this is all we have in the showroom....

The greatest is when I went Honda a time, I was inside nearlly every vehicle in that showroom and no one attended to me and on my way out passing the parts counter, a gentleman asked me if I was getting through and I said nope but Best Auto is.

No customer service or proper buying experience in this land. The cars already expensive plus we have attitude to get. STEUPS....flush dem

Postby Stephon. » October 12th, 2011, 12:35 pm

:lol: Wow, well when I went to SS, I experienced the same with the vehicles not being in stock (the Kias)

At Mazda, I was treated like a king considering the fact that I knew the sales rep, :lol: so we were basically talking crap while looking through the Mazda 3 (which is worth the 200k+ price tag imo, buy from Kelly-Ann, shameless promotion lol) She is generally a nice person though, she would treat everyone the same if they were to come in and look at a vehicle.

I agree a little with Lyfestyle Motors, I went in and asked the guy to see the Chevy Sedans, he asked "which one" I said, I just wanna see the chevy sedans, he said "you need to tell me which one" I said ok "I wanna see them all" then he proceeded to show me through the vehicles, it gradually got better though except his introduction failed.
After walking out of Chevy, if you're interested in seeing anything in the Suzuki section, good luck, they automatically disown you one thy see you've been in the Chevy section, with good reason though, the Cruze is amazing! :lol:

The good thing about my experience in Mazda, Hyundai (N&M) and LSM was that they all looked at me as a potential buyer and gave me a quote to take home. Kia was like ok here is what we have, but they're sold, sucks 2 be you, bye :?

Postby Habit7 » October 12th, 2011, 2:36 pm

I dont blame them, they face many men like yourselves who just go from showroom to showroom with champagne taste and beer budget. Men does organise test drives, specify which options they want and take all the literature, just for the bragging rights to say that I drove that car.

When I was car hunting LSM was rel bad too, I was looking to buy a Chevy Aveo (dont judge) and I organise with the rep for a test drive and everything and the man stood me up! Strangely enough when I went Sterling Service the rep was forward came directly to me and was really helpful and it was not because he was very gay. I went ANSA McAl open day a couple months ago and I was really dress down, not gunta-ish but plain, and the most they did was point out the cars esp the BWMs, Minis and Hondas, while the intently explained the cars the older family men and mothers.

When I was shopping with the wifey at Best Auto there was like no one to help, no one. I finally saw the head rep, an Asian guy, and he too was angry that everyone was missing and he showed me the VWs. Recently I went back and no one was there again except Chin and he couldn't care for me as he was dealing with a middle-age woman (someone a rep could easily chain up). N&M was fairly good like about a month ago, they combed the showroom offering assistance.

I try not to waste their time if I just looking around at what on the market, but when I buying I wait a rep begging me for the commission.

Postby Stephon. » October 12th, 2011, 2:46 pm

Many men like myself? :?

Postby Habit7 » October 12th, 2011, 2:56 pm

yip like you, glad to know that you found out that I directed that post especially to you

Postby Stephon. » October 12th, 2011, 3:18 pm

If you read the last page you would see why I'm currently looking around @ sedans. The same way I stumbled into Mazda, and I fell in love with the Mazda 3, I could have probably fell in love with a Hyundai this morning, but I didn't, and I think the attitude of the salesman had a part to play in that, most likely I would be buying the Mazda 3 from the showroom, or even the cruze, but then again people in tt don't know the difference between getting value for your money and budgeting.

I for one was always against the idea of paying more than 200k for a car after seeing the new civic and the new lancer and the budget for me for a sedan was LESS than 200k, but the Mazda 3 fully loaded @ 211k is well worth the price, and I'm willing to pay that price for the car. I'm actually just tired of car dealers selling their cars above what it's worth and blaming some random reason in Japan. So it's not about going in with "a dollar expecting something worth a million dollars" it's about what car I think I would sit in for the next year and still think that my money was worth it.

Honestly, most cars today are so similar, that it would have been easy for any company to sell me their cars, not my fault that everyone else in showrooms aren't up to par with the great treatment I got at Mazda and eventually at chevy.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 12th, 2011, 4:45 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
norstar2k wrote:I've realized that brand/model prices 'seem' to increase upon receipt of each new shipment. No feature or spec improvements, just more $$$$ to the consumer. They just blame the value of the Japanese yen or the South Korean won.

When I was looking at the Rangers last month, they told me that the stock that coming in October and November gonna raise by 20-30k because of "Strikes in thailand"

you should have told them you'll come back next year; by that time the strikes should subside, and based on the firm's reasoning, the prices should follow suit and decrease :lol: .

Postby Habit7 » October 12th, 2011, 11:10 pm

Stephon In kit, value for money, reliablity and comfort, Skoda Octavia beats the Mazda 3. And I own a Mazda 3

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 13th, 2011, 12:07 am

Octavia for the win. Japanese cars right now are too expensive compared to euro cuz the yen is strong and keeps getting stronger unfortunately.

Postby Stephon. » October 13th, 2011, 3:34 pm

You own two sedans?

Yodins

Postby Yodins » October 13th, 2011, 3:38 pm

how cme i not seeing the prices for the cayman, carerra or boxter in the OP?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 13th, 2011, 4:22 pm

Habit7 wrote:Stephon In kit, value for money, reliablity and comfort, Skoda Octavia beats the Mazda 3. And I own a Mazda 3

could you expand some more on this for me? My champagne taste on a beer budget mentality led me to a car that gives me more power and safety features than a 300k accord and teana worse yet for a mazda 3..

Postby S_2NR » October 13th, 2011, 4:44 pm

mazda 3 looks better tho.
mazda 6 better yet..the new mazda 6 is hawt!

Postby Habit7 » October 13th, 2011, 5:18 pm

They more or less have the same engine but the Skoda has a 6 speed and the Mazda a 4 speed transmission. Off the line the Mazda might beat the Skoda, but the Skoda has a sport setting which might change the outcome. The Mazda has a 6 CD in dash player. Both have moonroofs but the Skoda has factory front and rear parking sensors that brings up a display showing you how close you are to objects (very cool, impossible to scratch your car). Both have Euro NCAP 5 star safety ratings. Skoda has rear A/C vents and a cooled glove box and centre console compartment, the Mazda doesnt. Both have power side view mirrors but the Mazda has an auto dimmer on the rear view. The Mazda has auto headlights and wipers, the Skoda has a rear fog light function. All this Skoda stuff is off the top off my head as it was last year I drove the Skoda, the Mazda 3 I'm talking about is higher spec one, the other doesnt have some of the features.

Plus the Skoda is $30,000 cheaper.

Postby Stephon. » October 13th, 2011, 5:19 pm

The Mazda 6 is almost 300k.
NOT HERE FOR THAT!
Not to mention I have a friend with one and the maintenance is almost the price of the car if you plan to keep it for 5 years.
I could buy another Flawless Grand Vitara with that money, or even a Rav4.

No thanks Mazda.

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 15th, 2011, 11:46 am

Habit7 wrote:They more or less have the same engine but the Skoda has a 6 speed and the Mazda a 4 speed transmission. Off the line the Mazda might beat the Skoda, but the Skoda has a sport setting which might change the outcome. The Mazda has a 6 CD in dash player. Both have moonroofs but the Skoda has factory front and rear parking sensors that brings up a display showing you how close you are to objects (very cool, impossible to scratch your car). Both have Euro NCAP 5 star safety ratings. Skoda has rear A/C vents and a cooled glove box and centre console compartment, the Mazda doesnt. Both have power side view mirrors but the Mazda has an auto dimmer on the rear view. The Mazda has auto headlights and wipers, the Skoda has a rear fog light function. All this Skoda stuff is off the top off my head as it was last year I drove the Skoda, the Mazda 3 I'm talking about is higher spec one, the other doesnt have some of the features.

Plus the Skoda is $30,000 cheaper.

ya forget the 700km+ on $200 premium and the conditional extended maintenance intervals such as 2yrs/30,000km engine oil replacement and 4yrs or 80,000km tranny oil intervals...these itself save the buyer more on money,albeit cheaper also

Postby Stephon. » October 15th, 2011, 12:46 pm

The only thing the skoda has that the Mazda doesn't have is the 6 speed transmission.
I really like the auto wipers on the Mazda 3.

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 15th, 2011, 3:22 pm

and don't forget the superior braking,more interior leg room and trunk space,beter sounding stereo on the skoda,plus what I indicated in my previous post about better service intervals/gas mileage etc . :D ...just saying eh bai Stephon :lol: .....love it or hate it the skoda is more car for ya money and better buy...ya cant deny that

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 15th, 2011, 3:56 pm

I drove the 2012 Jetta 1.4L TSI and Passat 1.8L TSI 'Confortline' today. All I can say is I'm converted!!!!

The acceleration is quick, the ride smooth, the cabin is ultra-quiet. The 1.4 Jetta was quicker off the line than the 1.8 Passat, but the Passat had the higher top end. Achieving 100mph was an effortless feat in both. I especially like the touch screen head-unit which manages music (6CD/MP3/AM/FM), the front/rear parking sensors, Bluetooth and feature programming. The fabric upholstery is rich, even though I prefer leather.

I really can't complaint about anything in these cars. Even though I found the rear-view mirror in the Jetta to be a bit small, but that's just me.

Both cars are are quite similar in size but the Passat has a few more bells and whistles, including electric driver's seat. The Jetta has carbon fibre paneling whilst the Passat has the simulated wood-grain paneling. The rear seats and trunk are huge in both.

IMHO if you want sport sedan - Jetta, if you want luxury sedan - Passat.

BTW, the US reviews about all plastic economy interior just ain't true, except for the door paneling. The dash is soft to the touch. The TT models are UK spec models.

Sylphy @ $210K, Corolla @ $208/239K, Civic @ $222/239K, Lancer @ $210, 255, 267K, Mazda6 @ $280K, etc??? Not for my money!!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 15th, 2011, 4:18 pm

all these features and best value for money, no one said anything about their maintenance?

i've heard so many bad stories of skoda owners (2006 model) and high maintenance for previous model jetta/bora..

i guess that's one of the main reasons why ppl still go Japanese?

Postby Stephon. » October 15th, 2011, 5:41 pm

Ugh, I want to test drive a passat, but I KNOW I won't be able to get one because of the price. I know that if I test drive one, I'll be angry when I have to come out of the vehicle. :lol:

So norstar2k have you decided on what your next buy will be?

Postby noshownogo » October 15th, 2011, 6:40 pm

how many airbags does the new jetta come with?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2011, 7:15 pm

Jetta coming wid 6 airbags. Two front, two curtain and two side impact. All these are for front passengers. Not sure if we even getting the option to order rear curtain airbags.( e.g. option in UK VW website)

Postby Habit7 » October 15th, 2011, 7:43 pm

Stephon. wrote:The only thing the skoda has that the Mazda doesn't have is the 6 speed transmission.
I really like the auto wipers on the Mazda 3.

If after all that I and others said, you say that...doh ask meh no more questions