T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

NorStar2K

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby NorStar2K » September 29th, 2011, 9:44 pm

The cost is one thing, but its what we're expected to accept for said cost!!

- CRV $349 - Only 4-airbags? No even Curtain WTH? I'll get a power driver's seat, but no curtain airbags to protect the kids.

- Santa Fe - $380K fully loaded, yet no ESP, BA, Traction control, hill start/descent control, etc. The reply from the rep? Yuh could get it, but yuh have to pay for it and wait 4 mths.

Imagine Compact SUVs priced at $300K +++ still severely lacking in features - safety, performance, etc., and we have no choice but to accept this.

Imagine spending over $345K and you're still told you bought the 'BASIC' model. To add insult, they keep raising the price every few months for no apparent reason. And yet somehow, we're back to this 1980s styled 'waiting lists', and the BS that comes with it!!

Postby Habit7 » September 30th, 2011, 9:20 am

The VW Polo 2012 is here, I popped in Best Auto yesterday and saw it on display.
$170,000

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 30th, 2011, 9:44 am

no polo gti, no care.

Postby Habit7 » September 30th, 2011, 10:34 am

personally I would pay $170,000 for a Golf but for a Polo...a Swift or Fiat Punto would be much cheaper, same crash ratings and reliability.

Postby cinco » September 30th, 2011, 12:00 pm

all the volkswagen love and hyundai hate
take in this video

http://jalopnik.com/5844809/watch-volks ... r-interior
Top Stories

frankfurt auto show
By Raphael Orlove Sep 28, 2011 4:00 PM
27,404 218

Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter

Watch Volkswagen’s CEO complain about Hyundai’s superior interior

The world got treated to some old-school car business back at the Frankfurt show when VW CEO Martin Winterkorn inspected the competition at the Hyundai stand. He was not pleased.

Life got a lot more difficult for Winterkorn's underlings when their boss started to adjust the steering wheel of the i30 on display. "There's no rattle!" In some fairly colloquial German, Winterkorn put his whole staff on notice. He calls first one man by name, Klaus Bischoff, head of Volkswagen Brand Design and gives his blunt analysis. Glancing around he asks, "How'd he pull it off?" Bischoff is in some disbelief, and one of the VW suits around quickly comes to explain, sounding fairly rattled himself. There was a solution, he says, but it was too expensive. Witnerkorn wasn't having any of it. "Why can he do it? BMW doesn't know how, we don't know how. Rattling!"

Winterkorn beckoned for more underlings, immediately summoning a tape measure to check the sight lines around the Hyundai's a-pillars. When the employee next to him is having some trouble, Winterkorn, the head of what may soon be the biggest car company in the world, takes the tape measure himself, does his measurements, and gruffly compliments the Hyundai's interior. The nervous VW people around him could only offer excuses, trying to keep their boss happy, but Winterkorn remained stoic as ever. He stepped out of the car, looking deep in thought and his entourage quickly filed in, looking all the more agitated themselves after the episode.

Aside from how incredibly German it is that Winterkorn takes charge with a nearby tape measure, this is just one of those great looks into the hard as nails upper strata of the auto industry. I now imagine that meetings at the VW boardroom look suspiciously like the scenes where Darth Vader chokes that guy in the Death Star. What really wouldn't surprise us is if Hyundai themselves were the ones who shot and uploaded this video, just don't expect them to admit it.

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » September 30th, 2011, 12:15 pm

I'm glad you posted that up. I'm going to buy a hyundai right naow.

Postby Stephon. » September 30th, 2011, 1:09 pm

No1Curr about Hyundai and their tryhard vehicles. Anyways, the VW Polo vehicle is ugly as hell, I won't waste 170k on that. Will quicker save more to get the Jetta, the flawless sedan.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 30th, 2011, 1:19 pm

Yo VW, I'm really happy for you, I'ma Let you finish, but Hyundai has one of the best interiors of all time! Of All Time!!

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » September 30th, 2011, 1:32 pm

For VW's sake I hope they close the doors next time and only have their people in the car.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 30th, 2011, 3:54 pm

I test drove the 2012 VW Tiguan Sport & Style today. All I can say is....WOW!

I couldn't time it, but I got up to 100mph in 'no time at all'. LOL! Again....WOW!

The speedometer maxes out at 160mph, but I didn't have the road available to find out.

The tiptronic was smooth, no road noise, very little body roll on corners, she just wanted to run.

Prices went up though. Steups!!

Postby Stephon. » September 30th, 2011, 3:55 pm

Hyundai could never!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 1st, 2011, 4:56 am

norstar2k wrote:I test drove the 2012 VW Tiguan Sport & Style today. All I can say is....WOW!

I couldn't time it, but I got up to 100mph in 'no time at all'. LOL! Again....WOW!

The speedometer maxes out at 160mph, but I didn't have the road available to find out.

The tiptronic was smooth, no road noise, very little body roll on corners, she just wanted to run.

Prices went up though. Steups!!

160 MPH?! really??..that's about 250km/hr! with the 2.0tdi motor?

O_O

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 1st, 2011, 9:24 am

ok so my steering column makes noises.....big deal.
Let's see which passengers would be making noises after an accident. Certainly not from the VW vehicle and this is what is more important folks......LIFE! not steering column noises.

Postby Stephon. » October 1st, 2011, 9:48 am

Actually dead people can't make noise, so there will be no noise from the hyundai vehicle. :lol:

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » October 1st, 2011, 10:09 am

ah wonder if back in the day ppl was sayin d same sheit bout toyota...vw bug for life corolla gonna keel you..lol

lenzomaru

Postby lenzomaru » October 2nd, 2011, 11:11 pm

S_2NR wrote:
lenzomaru wrote:i wonder if prices would drop next year?

prices dont drop in trinidad bro.
dont get ur hopes up.

damn, ya'll aint hadda be pessimistic so

Postby S_2NR » October 2nd, 2011, 11:56 pm

i wish it was pessimism but its the sad truth in this country.

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » October 3rd, 2011, 10:47 am

norstar2k wrote:The cost is one thing, but its what we're expected to accept for said cost!!

- CRV $349 - Only 4-airbags? No even Curtain WTH? I'll get a power driver's seat, but no curtain airbags to protect the kids.

- Santa Fe - $380K fully loaded, yet no ESP, BA, Traction control, hill start/descent control, etc. The reply from the rep? Yuh could get it, but yuh have to pay for it and wait 4 mths.

Imagine Compact SUVs priced at $300K +++ still severely lacking in features - safety, performance, etc., and we have no choice but to accept this.

Imagine spending over $345K and you're still told you bought the 'BASIC' model. To add insult, they keep raising the price every few months for no apparent reason. And yet somehow, we're back to this 1980s styled 'waiting lists', and the BS that comes with it!!

THIS!!...i totally agree, its amazing how there is a price increase with almost every new shipment, i am hoping and waiting for the day when the market reaches a saturation point, a point where Trinis would stop and really think about paying close to 500, 000 for a CRV, Rav 4, new X trail, after the insane mark up and bank interest and fees for five years, all for for a basic unit that knocking dog in all developed countries around the world, yet here its supposedly a status item. Its the same story with all these economy cars, but suddenly civics, mazda 3's, corollas etc.. are "luxury high end vehicles" commanding over 200,000 price tags...total crap

To add insult to injury, we pay these ridiclous prices and your neighbour who buy the foreign used version to your brand new dealership ride has so many more standard features and options on his vehicle, you could only smile cuss in your mind cuz you know you got ripped off.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 3rd, 2011, 11:57 am

Its the same story with all these economy cars, but suddenly civics, mazda 3's, corollas etc.. are "luxury high end vehicles" commanding over 200,000 price tags...total crap

ent! New Civics and corollas seem to be the choice of execs these days. These are of course, perhaps the choice of uni students everywhere ELSE.

The main problem stems from ridiculous taxes, does it not? That, and of course, dealer markup. :?

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2011, 9:23 am

DSM_05 wrote:
Its the same story with all these economy cars, but suddenly civics, mazda 3's, corollas etc.. are "luxury high end vehicles" commanding over 200,000 price tags...total crap

ent! New Civics and corollas seem to be the choice of execs these days. These are of course, perhaps the choice of uni students everywhere ELSE.

The main problem stems from ridiculous taxes, does it not? That, and of course, dealer markup. :?

I saw this last night on Top Gear. At 5:36 it shows the same thing that happens here is not so unique. When you live on an island far away from the factory the car is being produced we get these problems.

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2011, 9:30 am

So what sedans are university students able to afford/drive today in Trinidad? Doesn't look like they have much options, I genuinely feel bad for people that needs cars but can't because of the crazy prices, showroom AND used. People with used cars for sale sometimes overdo it even worse than the showroom dealers.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 4th, 2011, 10:15 am

I really think the options you guys are getting for the korean and Jap cars are very bad.
the things that are pointed out as missing are they even options? I have to wondr why the dealer/region gets stuck with these de-trimmed cars.

I drive a 2010 Mazda 3 and it's loaded with features both safety and convenience and it's not even the tier 3 model.
I looked at the 2012 Sonata 2.0T and it has out classed the IS in almost every way.

Postby Stephon. » October 8th, 2011, 10:38 pm

So I went to Toyota's open house whatever they had today, the Rav4 is really nice, I have been in one before but this is the first time I've seen EVERYTHING. I normally bash SUV prices over 350 grand but the rav 4 @ 360,000 fully loaded, I must say would be worth it. It's really comfortable, you wouldn't think it had that much room from looking on the outside. It's a nice family vehicle. Now I'm wondering if to wait on the SGV 3G/4G or if to get my hands on a Rav4.

In-case anyone was wondering, the 2x4 rav4 is 290,000.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 8th, 2011, 11:47 pm

Stephon. wrote:So I went to Toyota's open house whatever they had today, the Rav4 is really nice, I have been in one before but this is the first time I've seen EVERYTHING. I normally bash SUV prices over 350 grand but the rav 4 @ 360,000 fully loaded, I must say would be worth it. It's really comfortable, you wouldn't think it had that much room from looking on the outside. It's a nice family vehicle. Now I'm wondering if to wait on the SGV 3G/4G or if to get my hands on a Rav4.

In-case anyone was wondering, the 2x4 rav4 is 290,000.

Actually the RAV4 2WD comes in 3 Fabric versions and 1 leather version:
$290K Basic Alloy Fabric (Lo Spec)
$302K Basic-Mid Spec Fabric
$313.5K. Hi Spec Fabric
$344K Fully Loaded Leather

If you're not into leather or need a 4WD, the $313.5K. Hi Spec Fabric is the sweet spot. Fully loaded expect for leathers seats (w/front heated), powered driver's seat and sunroof.

Test drove one today actually. The 2.4L @AZ-FE 16 Valve 2.4 Litre 4 cylinder engine w/VVTi produces 166hp @ 6200 rpm; 224Nm @ 4600 rpm gives it much improved performance over the former 2.0L. It's also a foot longer and a few inches wider, than the previous model. It's bigger than the Grand Vitara from all aspects. Its got lots of rear cargo space and the rear seats slide fwd/aft/recline allowing for more cargo or rear passenger space.

And its got safety, safety, safety (subject to model) - 9-airbags, Vehicle Stability Control, Traction Control, Electronic Stability Control, Active Braking with intelligence (AB-i) incorporating Anti-skid Braking System (ABS), Electronic Brake-Force Distribution, Brake Assist, Whiplash Injury Lessening (WIL) front seats, 3-point seat belts front/rear with pre-tensioners/force limiters.

The four speed tranny is dated with newer SUVs having 6/7-speed trannys. The engine-cabin noise intrusion is somewhat high, especially during heavy acceleration. The ride is smooth, it is a cross-over after all. Did cornering and incline ascent tests using the new Aranguez overpass. There was very little body roll it as it wrapped the curves at the round-a-bouts and climbed the incline with three on-board effortlessly.

Some complain about the swing-out tail-gate door but its not an issue for me.

There's descent audio from the stock six speakers (no amp/sub). The single CD (Clarion) head-unit has USB, SD card reader, Bluetooth, Aux port and supports MP3/WMA. There's also steering wheel audio-controls. Esthetically though, the head-unit is quite boring (see below).

Overall, an excellent SUV.

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2011, 12:21 am

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 9th, 2011, 12:27 am

Nice review there. Looks like your mind is almost made up.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 9th, 2011, 1:17 am

hope they fixed that tailgate rattle problem the previous (2007) model has though. up to now Toyota can't find the problem or fix it. resorted to wrapping electrical tape around the area where the door latches on..works temporarily to eliminate it but overall, it's really a nice family vehicle no doubt. only thing missing in this model for me is that USB input for the deck!

Postby Stephon. » October 9th, 2011, 8:19 pm

@norstar2k thanks a lot for the review. I haven't been able to get the Rav4 out of my mind since I left the showroom, thanks for letting me know the other prices, they didn't even mention the one priced @ 313.5k when I was there, I'll be sure to ask the next time I'm there. The swing out rare isn't really an issue and the safety features were impressive indeed.

I do hope that you can change the deck through Toyota though, its extremely boring to look at :lol:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 9th, 2011, 10:17 pm

I agree the Tiguan is nice. It's actually one of the best SUVs I've driven in recent times. I drove the 'Sport & Style' model. It's well appointed with everything you could think of; Tyre Pressure Monitoring, powered seats, Xenon Auto-Leveling Headlights with LED Daylight Running Lights, Optical Rear Parking Sensors, Rain Sensitive Wipers, etc. The features vary by model. Tiptronic shifting was smooth and that VW moved!

The 'Sport & Style' and 'Track & Field' models both come with a 7-Speed DSG Transmission 2.0 Turbocharged Gasoline (TSI) @210HP and the Trend & Fun is rated @ 170HP.

Issues? The rear boot is small, very small, as well as the cabin, especially the rear. The cabin has a tighter feel than the SGV and RAV4. One reason for this is the Tiguan has much thicker doors and a sloping rear roofline, which negatively impacts on hip, head, shoulder and leg room. The result, 'comfortable' seating for four adults, not five. Those were the only two faults I could find.

It's expensive at $380, $340 and $325 respectively, but if you have the cash and don't mind the limited cargo space, ans small cabin, then it may certainly be worth considering.

But for practical everyday use with a guaranteed high resale value, the RAV4 gets my nod.

Also, quite frankly, I've always found whatcar.com to very biased towards Euros. I guess cuz they're English. They always compare with the Peugeot 3008 or the Vauxhall Insignia, etc. Different market to us.

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2011, 11:27 pm

My coworker has a TDI Tiguan and I wont say that the back seat room is small, we have fitted 3 adult men in there. I havent seen the RAV4 boot to compare it with the Tiguan but to me paying +$300,000 for a Toyota mid size SUV puts me in euro territory. I guess whatcar.com is biased to euros but so am I. A euro just always has those little features and accessories that a techie like me wants, plus Toyotas are the most bland of JDMs.