T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

PariaMan

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby PariaMan » August 31st, 2017, 10:54 am

Going by experience without adjusted rear brakes the hilux feels sometimes that it cannot stop properly . Once the rear brakes is adjusted the problem goes away. This was even when the van was new. So I always adjust my rear brakes and even in emergency situation it holds fine

Postby Dave » August 31st, 2017, 12:52 pm

You are essentially putting the shoe closer to the drum so pedal effort would see less than if they had to travel from further away.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 31st, 2017, 12:53 pm

zando wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:
PariaMan wrote:When I adjust my rear brakes I get a better brake response which means less stress in the front brakes

From my experience properly adjusted rear drums always affect pedal height and therefore braking.

I don't think it affects braking, it affects brake feel, all vehicles use a proportioning valve which divides braking effort between front and rear, 70/30 I think, it moves the pad or shoe closer to the disk or drum so when u press the brake pedal there is less travel between the pad or shoe and the disk or drum which gives better feel, based on the design of the car I think the braking effort or how well the brakes work would remain constant, unless you upgrade pads or change disks, I could be wrong with a few points however.

Response time is based on the pedal height and distance between drum and shoe...simple logic.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 31st, 2017, 1:07 pm

Tru simple. My question though is wether it means that when you do this if the back brakes is now providing more stopping power . My brother claims that if he does not so this on a maxi the brakes and bearing heats up more and has to be changed more often

Postby gastly369 » August 31st, 2017, 1:22 pm

Any wrd on the vw amarok v6 price etc?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 31st, 2017, 5:28 pm

Didn't want to start a discussion about brakes... All I was alluding to was my experience that Wagner brake pads do not have good initial bite when cold. (When used on a car with disc brakes on all corners). It gets better after it heats up.

You do not want your rear brakes to be too strong cause it will have a similar effect to pulling the handbrake. Not ideal in a pickup with almost no weight in the rear.

One final thing.. The oem brake shoes in the hilux last about 3 times longer than the oem brake pads... To give you an idea of just how much, or little braking force comes from the rear setup on the van

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 31st, 2017, 7:25 pm

gastly369 wrote:Any wrd on the vw amarok v6 price etc?

Thought they said they not bringing in that model?

Postby gastly369 » September 1st, 2017, 12:13 am

drchaos wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Any wrd on the vw amarok v6 price etc?

Thought they said they not bringing in that model?

Postby RedVEVO » September 1st, 2017, 4:52 am

. ... " The 2017 Volkswagen Polo is a stylish and dependable compact car with superior handling and the most advanced technology at your fingertips. Enjoy the safety of dual airbags, the comfort of a larger cabin and a luxuriously stylish finish all at an affordable price.
Now available at Massy Motors.
Starting at $149,900

1.6 Engine with Automatic Transmission
Dual Airbags with ABS
Reverse Sensors
15” Alloy Rims
5 Star Asean NCAP Crash test rating
60/40 Folding rear seats
Large Trunk capacity 454L
Touch screen audio
Keyless Entry
Engine Immobilizer with interior motion sensor .. "

[BestAuto Facebook]

Any reviews on the New VW Polo Sedan ?

Price looks good for a VW .

And too much discussion on brakes - Disc New Vehicles Ched :roll:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 1st, 2017, 8:22 am

Dual airbags??? Dem serious up in here?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 1st, 2017, 8:24 am

RedVEVO wrote:. ... " The 2017 Volkswagen Polo is a stylish and dependable compact car with superior handling and the most advanced technology at your fingertips. Enjoy the safety of dual airbags, the comfort of a larger cabin and a luxuriously stylish finish all at an affordable price.
Now available at Massy Motors.
Starting at $149,900

1.6 Engine with Automatic Transmission
Dual Airbags with ABS
Reverse Sensors
15” Alloy Rims
5 Star Asean NCAP Crash test rating
60/40 Folding rear seats
Large Trunk capacity 454L
Touch screen audio
Keyless Entry
Engine Immobilizer with interior motion sensor .. "

[BestAuto Facebook]

Any reviews on the New VW Polo Sedan ?

Price looks good for a VW .

And too much discussion on brakes - Disc New Vehicles Ched :roll:

Previous polo was better then. These specs do not inspire moistness.

Postby RedVEVO » September 1st, 2017, 3:24 pm

Nah !

It is an improved Polo - It is bigger etc.

khandman

Postby khandman » September 2nd, 2017, 3:58 pm

Guys a question. Going through the process and buying a new city for the wife. Sales rep is offering me a demo unit doing less than 2k mileage for 10k less than price of new. Plastic still in seats like new condition basically. Same warranty etc. would u all consider it?

Postby j.o.e » September 2nd, 2017, 4:04 pm

khandman wrote:Guys a question. Going through the process and buying a new city for the wife. Sales rep is offering me a demo unit doing less than 2k mileage for 10k less than price of new. Plastic still in seats like new condition basically. Same warranty etc. would u all consider it?

Moooost definitely I would

car

Postby car » September 2nd, 2017, 4:13 pm

khandman wrote:Guys a question. Going through the process and buying a new city for the wife. Sales rep is offering me a demo unit doing less than 2k mileage for 10k less than price of new. Plastic still in seats like new condition basically. Same warranty etc. would u all consider it?

How old? Is it licensed already? Hoo paying the transfer fee and tax?

car

Postby car » September 2nd, 2017, 4:14 pm

How old? Is it licensed already? Hoo paying the transfer fee and tax?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 2nd, 2017, 5:08 pm

Why would a demo vehicle need to be transferred ?

Postby aaron17 » September 2nd, 2017, 6:19 pm

Do the have the hatch version?gti?

car

Postby car » September 2nd, 2017, 7:46 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Why would a demo vehicle need to be transferred ?

They usually license the demo vehicle so they wouldn't have to keep paying for a demo plate.

khandman

Postby khandman » September 2nd, 2017, 7:55 pm

car wrote:

They usually license the demo vehicle so they wouldn't have to keep paying for a demo plate.

Car is not registered as yet. It will be register to the buyer on new plates. If I buy it I would be the first owner.

car

Postby car » September 2nd, 2017, 7:56 pm

khandman wrote:
car wrote:

Car is not registered as yet. It will be register to the buyer on new plates. If I buy it I would be the first owner.

Then take it. It's a bess deal.
If you don't want it I get first dibs on it.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 2nd, 2017, 8:21 pm

I say ask for a further discount. Dem demo vehicle does real get mash out and no proper engine break-in procedure is followed.

I know this cause I does real mash out demo vehicles when test driving.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 2nd, 2017, 8:44 pm

^^^ agreed. Demo vehicles tend to get some more abuse, especially by potential customers and definitely the sales people who use the vehicle for their dotish runs.

Tell the salesman you want a 20k off and if you buy it, make sure you get the first service record and perhaps ask for the full treatment that you would get prior to delivery, if one was done already.

car

Postby car » September 2nd, 2017, 9:49 pm

So how does the dealership knows if the vehicle was broken out properly?
I know men that brought new vehicle and was flooring the x all the time to ensure if anything goes wrong it would happen during the warranty period.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » September 2nd, 2017, 10:10 pm

I took a demo Forester around 10 years ago. Got a $30k discount. But it had only 800 miles on it. That was on a $360k vehicle so a decent discount. I wouldn't say the car was problem free but nothing I think related to it's demo life. I'm not sure if $10k is good for a car with 2k Millage though. That seems kind of high.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 2nd, 2017, 10:21 pm

Not sure anyone can know with any immediacy. Any piece of equipment needs breakin and a vehicle is no different. That is why the vehicle manual will tell you that for the first xxxx km, no hard acceleration, no hard braking, no,towing etc. All of that is to help with the proper breakin of components and the overall vehicle. So its only with time, one can see if breakin will or will not cause long term damage.

These men you know who flooring x probably just forcing unnecessary component failure within warranty period as opposed to ensuring component longevity by doing whats recommended.

khandman

Postby khandman » September 2nd, 2017, 10:23 pm

carluva wrote:^^^ agreed. Demo vehicles tend to get some more abuse, especially by potential customers and definitely the sales people who use the vehicle for their dotish runs.

Tell the salesman you want a 20k off and if you buy it, make sure you get the first service record and perhaps ask for the full treatment that you would get prior to delivery, if one was done already.

Tried to negotiate a further discount but salesman said that's the best offer. Not even negotiating anything off on the new units either. Saying that it's already being sold at the best price possible and that demand for them is very high. Basically saying pay 170k or F off, plenty people want them

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 2nd, 2017, 11:42 pm

Tell him where to stick it then ... Any car that you buy and try to sell back after 2000 km you will take a 15 to 10% hit on the showroom price.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 3rd, 2017, 9:32 am

So the man offering you a discount with attitude as well? Man take your business elsewhere. And what demand is he talking about? I rarely see new citys on the road so he just bs-ing you.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 3rd, 2017, 10:12 am

Sales people are there to sell... First and foremost