T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

agent007

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby agent007 » August 17th, 2017, 9:31 pm

Sales rep told me 9 as well but it ain't so, it's actually 7. 3 on the dash, 2 on the front seats and 2 full length curtains for a total of 7. Surprised it didn't have passenger power seat and rear air conditioning controls. The transmission is CVT with 7 speed tiptronic similar to the Xtrail. The engine output seems weak at 143hp and 187Nm.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 17th, 2017, 10:49 pm

Tucson Looks better, equipped better, priced better, drives better (according to some reviewers, right up there with the CX-5). etc ....etc...etc

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » August 18th, 2017, 12:00 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:In that case put some Ron 87 in your car and see if the knock sensor helps you out indefinitely.

RON 87? Like you move to Pakistan?

We only taking bout trini fuels here 92 and 95.

So you used to put Ron 92 in your Jetta? If no why not? 87 is an exaggeration, obviously.

Nah jed ... Turbo just different ... De NA subies, Nissan, Hyundai and mitsu taking dat zupah normel normel!

Advertised and tested Emissions/Economy could have a big part to play in them recommending RON 95 in them NA engines. You can lose up to 10% of the official fuel economy figures if you use the lower octane rating fuels.

I wouldn't be surprised if these cars all said premium recommended but Ron 91 minimum. Not from the sales man eh but from the manual. So it wouldn't surprise me if they run on super normal.

According to Dave you should have been fine running super in your Jetta cuz your knock sensor would fix everything. LOL.

Sure way to do an engine rebuild on a jetta!!!

Postby Morpheus » August 18th, 2017, 8:28 pm

assassin wrote:"special features for your country"
Less features is more like it

Most accurate...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 18th, 2017, 10:31 pm

Now while i do not believe that Toyota designed the vehicle just for Trinidad... manufacturers do have differences in their vehicles built for different markets.
Cause not every country has 95 RON fuel available and fewer still have 98 RON and above.
The diesel side of the equation is no different... Not every country has high quality diesel available ; like euro 4 or greater and or cetane greater than 52.

So for those that purchase vehicles designed for different markets... You accept the risks and or additional costs that go along with the incompatibilites.

Iirc, my foreign used ek4 Civic had a tag suggesting 98RON. That isn't available at the pump.

Np300 that massy sells, comes with the yd25 instead of the ys23

TTTL sells the 1kd while the other dealers sell the 1gd.

Have to ask the question of those that bought their sylphy from massy... How many had dashboard issues...I know of at least one person whose dashboard is unaffected and it was among the earliest batches sold by the dealer.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 21st, 2017, 11:00 am

Same goes for Mitsubishi. We still get the older 2.5 4D56 in our Sporteros since I was told the new 2.4 4N15 is not approved for our market at least not yet.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » August 21st, 2017, 2:19 pm

My Dad, has one the newer Rav4's. Before buying, he also checked out the Tucson and Sportage. I was with him when we test drove each vehicle and I can explicitly and unequivocally state that both the Tucson and Sportage left a lot to be desired. The Sportage in particular was so soft, it felt like driving a big marshmellow or a stick of butter. The steering feel on both the Tuscon and Sportage were benign and lacked any sort of driver positive feedback. The Rav4 was much more direct in and sharp in its driver inputs and road handling. The Sportage came loaded with a lot of features, like the reverse camera in the rear view mirror and the panoramic sunroof. But under the fluff, the driving experience felt poor and disengaging.

Another factor he considered was build quality. Have a friend who bought a Tucson from the firm and in less than a year it was calling for suspension parts.

He has had his Rav4 for over 2 years and not a single problem to report. He did have to wait for months (almost an entire year) before Toyota could get him his vehicle though. His has 9 airbags.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 21st, 2017, 3:12 pm

Thing is resale value. You could hold on to your Toyota for longer and still get a decent figure. Hyundai/Kia, if yuh don't sell in 4 years, the value just slides straight down like a avalanche.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 21st, 2017, 4:23 pm

Capleton wrote:My Dad, has one the newer Rav4's. Before buying, he also checked out the Tucson and Sportage. I was with him when we test drove each vehicle and I can explicitly and unequivocally state that both the Tucson and Sportage left a lot to be desired. The Sportage in particular was so soft, it felt like driving a big marshmellow or a stick of butter. The steering feel on both the Tuscon and Sportage were benign and lacked any sort of driver positive feedback. The Rav4 was much more direct in and sharp in its driver inputs and road handling. The Sportage came loaded with a lot of features, like the reverse camera in the rear view mirror and the panoramic sunroof. But under the fluff, the driving experience felt poor and disengaging.

Another factor he considered was build quality. Have a friend who bought a Tucson from the firm and in less than a year it was calling for suspension parts.

He has had his Rav4 for over 2 years and not a single problem to report. He did have to wait for months (almost an entire year) before Toyota could get him his vehicle though. His has 9 airbags.

Agreed, I test drove the Korean twins which aided alot in my decision to buy the Rav4.....its very true that you don't get close to half of the "bells and whistles" on the Toyota but, more than likely the features you do get, continue to function way past 5 years....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 21st, 2017, 5:04 pm

Really? Most international reviewers claim the opposite to your experience.
Example drive.com.au

Rav4 : "It's the least engaging car here to punt along a twisty road, and the least comfortable on coarse surfaces."

Tucson : "Looking sharp inside and out, the Hyundai's style lends a feeling of precision that extends to its driving experience. The Tucson has significantly less body roll than some rivals, and sharp - if a little numb - steering that responds crisply to driver input.
Hyundai's locally-tuned suspension exhibits fine body control over challenging surfaces, making it one of the more "car-like" choices in its class."

Lastly they added "But one car has to finish fourth, and that's the Toyota. It doesn't cater to drivers or passengers well enough, lacking the appeal of of its more polished rivals."

http://www.drive.com.au/what-car-should ... mzwsc.html

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 21st, 2017, 5:15 pm

I like the suspension of the Tucson more in terms of firmness and handling but I like the steering sensitivity and feedback more on the RAV4 which also has a softer ride. I would say the Tucson is for the younger driver and the RAV4 is for the more mature driver. Cut the RAV4 some slack, it's an older design where much of its downfalls will be addressed in the upcoming 5th generation model. Is the Toyota really worth that price premium because of reliability and resale value? I guess to some people it is!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 21st, 2017, 6:04 pm

Boy it hard for me to cut them some slack ... Other smaller companies with much lower R&D budgets put out better offerings. Also Reliability does not take alot in terms of R&D it just means using older tech (which ends up being cheaper as well) that has been proven.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 21st, 2017, 7:33 pm

Thats just my point, those reviews talk mostly about sport attributes that an average Small SUV driver would not really be interested in or consider. As for me, my daily driver is a pickup and when I drive the Rav its very relaxing and easy....So its really about what works for you I guess.... At the time of purchase (2014), the Mazda CX5 was the top performer but, lets face it, that would have been dead money in Trinidad.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » August 21st, 2017, 8:28 pm

Great reviews.
Let's not be so quick to fault the Koreans.
I have owned a 2013 Sportage and in 3 yrs of ownership I have racked up 120,000kms. North south everyday including trips to galeota.
Never had any down time. Only mtce was routine service oil/ filter/brake pads.

Everyone has a story based on their experience but for me the mtce on the Kia was very economical. I eventually sold it at 130,000kms after 3 plus years for $160k. Yes I did purchase a 2017 Sportage and
No regrets.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 21st, 2017, 9:15 pm

Everyone has a story where they have a car for 2 years and had no problems and they have a friend who has a car from another brand that gave trouble from the get go, so they say is a good ting I buy from dat brand.

Once you don't buy a Jetta or a Cruze :lol: I think anything else should be more or less have excellent reliability in the long term unless you have some serious bad karma or some dred generational curse on yuh back.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » August 21st, 2017, 9:21 pm

True. Most brands have reached a high level of reliability.
It sometimes comes down to personal budget and brand preference.
Regardless of brand it will be nice for a company to really lead the way regarding customer service.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 22nd, 2017, 9:58 am

I find that the plastics inside the Korean twins feels cheaper and appears to degrade faster than almost every other brand

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 22nd, 2017, 9:37 pm

With the money you save from buying Korean you can buy a sun shade and still have plenty money left over.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 22nd, 2017, 11:20 pm

It doesn't even have to be exposed to the sun...I initially saw the plastics in the trunk of a Tucson and then in a Santa Fe

car

Postby car » August 23rd, 2017, 12:03 am

The Korean vehicle is supposed to come with the 3 front glass as solar glass and the back 3 as privacy glass. Sun and heat shouldn't be an issue. Has to be inferior plastic.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 23rd, 2017, 12:43 am

Have not seen any plastic issues myself except on an elantra 4 generations ago ... The two last gen tucson's in the extended family still have interiors that holding up pretty well.

Postby Gladiator » August 24th, 2017, 8:33 pm

agent007 wrote:Well crossovers/SUVs are selling well and fast both new and used! I notice we don't ever talk about the RAV4 which is now in its 4th generation. So you may not want a van but you can probably buy the vehicle that practically created the segment! Currently going for $385k but act soon and you can get yourself a nice $10k discount on that price. This is the 2.0 2WD model with 7 airbags, sunroof, leather seats, power driver's seat and tailgate, Blaupunkt double DIN deck with BT, 17" rims, fog lights, front and rear parking sensors etc etc etc
IMG_5707.jpg
You decide if it's worth $73k more than a Sportage GT Line.

I honestly think that the toyota fan club is what has the RAV4 selling so. I have one for the past 4 years. Pretty normal vehicle, solid engine and okish CVT (noisy and revvy) but other than that very sub par when it comes to build quality, ride quality and handling.

It moves like a boat on the highway... motions in all different directions. Suspension is soft and balanced well enough for an SUV. Vehicle is light and does not have a sturdy feel. It is noisy on the highway. Interior material feels cheap and buttons and controls are shaky and creaky. Not worth the current 300k+ price tag.

The entertainment system sucks big time. There is a good bit of compartmental space to store nick nacks though. The rear folding seats is a neat feature and you get a privacy screen and grocery net which comes in handy.

Toyota Trinidad is the #1 criminal. Just called them for the 40K service and they quoted $6450.00 I ask them what you getting for that they say

Oil change
Oil Fuel and Air filter
Check fluids
Check Battery
Rotate tyres (which they never do, marked them last service and nothing was done)
Tighten brakes and suspension

On my way to find an outside mechanic... LOL

For buyers, i think there are better options. Not sure what they may be but Toyota quality seems to be dropping and their prices only go up and up... I for one not brave enough to take the Korean dip... the Tucson however is one mean looking machine.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 24th, 2017, 8:40 pm

6.4K for a oil change and a new filter????

WT flying F

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 24th, 2017, 8:41 pm

LMAO

car

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby car » August 24th, 2017, 8:45 pm

Gladiator wrote:
agent007 wrote:Well crossovers/SUVs are selling well and fast both new and used! I notice we don't ever talk about the RAV4 which is now in its 4th generation. So you may not want a van but you can probably buy the vehicle that practically created the segment! Currently going for $385k but act soon and you can get yourself a nice $10k discount on that price. This is the 2.0 2WD model with 7 airbags, sunroof, leather seats, power driver's seat and tailgate, Blaupunkt double DIN deck with BT, 17" rims, fog lights, front and rear parking sensors etc etc etc
IMG_5707.jpg

I honestly think that the toyota fan club is what has the RAV4 selling so. I have one for the past 4 years. Pretty normal vehicle, solid engine and okish CVT (noisy and revvy) but other than that very sub par when it comes to build quality, ride quality and handling.

It moves like a boat on the highway... motions in all different directions. Suspension is soft and balanced well enough for an SUV. Vehicle is light and does not have a sturdy feel. It is noisy on the highway. Interior material feels cheap and buttons and controls are shaky and creaky. Not worth the current 300k+ price tag.

The entertainment system sucks big time. There is a good bit of compartmental space to store nick nacks though. The rear folding seats is a neat feature and you get a privacy screen and grocery net which comes in handy.

Toyota Trinidad is the #1 criminal. Just called them for the 40K service and they quoted $6450.00 I ask them what you getting for that they say

Oil change
Oil Fuel and Air filter
Check fluids
Check Battery
Rotate tyres (which they never do, marked them last service and nothing was done)

For buyers, i think there are better options. Not sure what they may be but Toyota quality seems to be dropping and their prices only go up and up... I for one not brave enough to take the Korean dip... the Tucson however is one mean looking machine.

The RAV4 is the most expensive vehicle to maintain by Toyota. More expensive than the Camry, Prado and fortuner. Next time you go watch the prices on the tv screen in the waiting area and compare.
Last edited by car on August 24th, 2017, 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » August 24th, 2017, 8:45 pm

I personally found the Tuscon and the Sportage in GT trim to be very nice. The Rav is very expensive. My choice would be a nicely loaded Turbo Tuscon.

carluva

Postby carluva » August 24th, 2017, 9:37 pm

Gladiator wrote:
IMG_5707.jpg

Oil change
Oil Fuel and Air filter
Check fluids
Check Battery

As a rav4 owner, i disagree with the majority of what is stated here. I find the drive quality quite good and far superior to its korean counterparts. Drove in a sportage, tuscon and sorento and found the ride quality just average. And the materials used in those have that plastic feel although there are average attempts to display them in a luxurious flowing manner.

Agree that the infotainment in the rav4 is bleh at best, but for me who personally finds the radio plays alot of crap, the radio and speaker work for me listening to BBC world.

The service and parts are expensive for toyotas on the whole, so no argument there but fwiw i consider my customer service experience in sando very good and ive developed a good rapport with many folks in there, especially my service advisor.

There are always options for any buyer, and the rav4 is suitable for a particular buyer, just like the hyundai and kia are suited to a particular buyer. At the end of the day its what tickles your pickle and i think that often folks are buying cars to tickle other people's pickle rather than what is best suited for them.

The rav4 works for me and got my attention when i was in the market three years ago. And knock on wood, i am satisfied with the purchase and therefore can say that for me, the koreans didnt cut it.

carluva

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby carluva » August 24th, 2017, 9:45 pm

Btw, my 40k rav4 service in February of this year was $4530 which included oil and filter change, retorque of suspension, change air filter, injector service, wheel alignment, replacement of cabin air filter.

And heres a breakdown of my service costs

45k - $1400
40k - $4530
35k -$895
30k - $2675 this included a replacement of brake pads at front
25k - $926
20k - $2754
15k - $922
10k - $1341
5k - $909

That doesnt seem so steep does it? How does that compare to other vehicles in this segment?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 24th, 2017, 9:56 pm

carluva wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
IMG_5707.jpg

Oil change
Oil Fuel and Air filter
Check fluids
Check Battery

As a rav4 owner, i disagree with the majority of what is stated here. I find the drive quality quite good and far superior to its korean counterparts. Drove in a sportage, tuscon and sorento and found the ride quality just average. And the materials used in those have that plastic feel although there are average attempts to display them in a luxurious flowing manner.

Agree that the infotainment in the rav4 is bleh at best, but for me who personally finds the radio plays alot of crap, the radio and speaker work for me listening to BBC world.

The service and parts are expensive for toyotas on the whole, so no argument there but fwiw i consider my customer service experience in sando very good and ive developed a good rapport with many folks in there, especially my service advisor.

There are always options for any buyer, and the rav4 is suitable for a particular buyer, just like the hyundai and kia are suited to a particular buyer. At the end of the day its what tickles your pickle and i think that often folks are buying cars to tickle other people's pickle rather than what is best suited for them.

The rav4 works for me and got my attention when i was in the market three years ago. And knock on wood, i am satisfied with the purchase and therefore can say that for me, the koreans didnt cut it.

I have a cousin with a last gen corolla and he swears it is the best car he has ever driven. He even test drove my jetta a few years ago ... Called it slow, said his corolla was more responsive in terms of acceleration, he did say the jetta felt more stable at highway speed but preferred the floaty feel of the corolla at 140 KPH something about feeling like flying. Lastly he loved talking about his 4 wheel disc breaks on the corolla, claimed it was sporty AF.

I don't think it have anyway back once you drink that Toyota kool aid. :drinking:

rebound

Postby rebound » August 24th, 2017, 10:03 pm

^^^LOL....but d kool aid tastin good.....