Pirate wrote:Can't u still download the app through a 3rd part site, or use a VPN to look like ur in the US to download it.
If a US traveler come here and the rental has Android Auto, won't the app still work?
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:In that case put some Ron 87 in your car and see if the knock sensor helps you out indefinitely.
agent007 wrote:Congrats on the new car Zando. My gen1 Cruze held up pretty well especially the steering system and suspension. The 6T30 transmission in my car was the disappointment as it giving trouble again. Interior trim and leather seats held up well. Fuel economy was over 500kms per tank for an engine doing over 107k kms. I hope the new EPS system, 6T35 transmission, and 1.4T DI engine holds up well with this new gen2 model. I was told the new Cruze 6T35 and Trax 6T40 are better than the 6T30 found in the 1.6 and 1.8. At this time I wish all other gen1 1.6 and 1.8 owners the very best with their 6T30 transmissions cause I give up.
My sales and service experience with LSM went well but take a little piece of advice from me, don't take God out of your thoughts and void the warranty on that car. Ensure you service at LSM only and on time. Do not miss any intervals and please take your time. You do not want transmission headache down the road.
drchaos wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:In that case put some Ron 87 in your car and see if the knock sensor helps you out indefinitely.
RON 87? Like you move to Pakistan?
We only taking bout trini fuels here 92 and 95.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:drchaos wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:In that case put some Ron 87 in your car and see if the knock sensor helps you out indefinitely.
So you used to put Ron 92 in your Jetta? If no why not? 87 is an exaggeration, obviously.
agent007 wrote:Hey guys, I have a question concerning 3 cars sold brand new in the showrooms and they are the Sentra 1.6, Lancer 1.6 and Mazda3 1.6. Based on a past discussion, am I to conclude that it is confirmed all those cars as prescribed by the manufacturers require 95RON premium petrol and that some owners were told not to worry as 92RON super can also work fine? I am no engine expert but wouldn't it be like a ticking time bomb to put super in a vehicle designed for premium in this road climate such as ours?
So why do I ask?
I made some observations when I could about the owners of these vehicles especially at gas stations and the majority of them put super in their tanks and when I politely asked on a few occasions (concerning the premium fuel requirement info I have), the owners generally never knew this and said thanks for sharing the info and they will call and verify with their sales rep. Another said nah it's fine cause they doh race up d engine or go up hills and they does put a treatment every so often and lastly I met another who said this is a regular basic car, regular cars take super and premium cars and dem does take premium gas like Benz and anytin 2.0 and above so we safe lol. But isn't this wrong and setting the customer up for future trouble?
Guy in class with me had a hard time believing that his 1.6 Lancer required premium and a 2.0 Lancer could take the super.
drchaos wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:drchaos wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:In that case put some Ron 87 in your car and see if the knock sensor helps you out indefinitely.
So you used to put Ron 92 in your Jetta? If no why not? 87 is an exaggeration, obviously.
Nah jed ... Turbo just different ... De NA subies, Nissan, Hyundai and mitsu taking dat zupah normel normel!
Advertised and tested Emissions/Economy could have a big part to play in them recommending RON 95 in them NA engines. You can lose up to 10% of the official fuel economy figures if you use the lower octane rating fuels.
Dave wrote:I believe we were speaking about NA engines in that piece of the post. For turbos use at your own risk. I do BTW but my driving and tuning allows me to do so. I will never tell a turbo engine owner use super.
agent007 wrote:A couple things here guys:
1. I actually had a Lancer and the owners manual indicated that a lower grade fuel can only be used in the absence of 95RON as a temporary measure.
2. I have no reason to doubt that the sales persons are telling customers that it's fine to use super because they just want the sale and many people are still not aware of how engines work and why manufacturers have different fuel octane requirements especially through varying markets.
3. I also have no reason to doubt that manufacturers can change the ECU mapping or CR to suit a market such as ours but my gut feeling is telling me that Mitsubishi wouldn't have done that.
4. At this time, for personal reasons I would not trust putting our grade of super into any MPI or DI turbo engine. I didn't mind going back LSM to take a Trax or gen2 Cruze but judging by how weak the 6T30 transmission was for me, I won't be gambling twice with any of their turbo offerings despite the different 6T35 and 6T40 units.
Drchaos you did well by filling with premium instead of the super, it means you're trying to mitigate any potential risks down the road.
A general note to all new vehicle shoppers on this thread, please do your own research and don't take sales persons word as final. See the thing is, after they sell you the car and get their commissions, if you're having any problems, that's not a problem for sales dept anymore, that's a problem for service dept now. Believe me, no dealership in this country is perfect and all have treated customers badly at some point. There are the lesser of the evils out there but sadly, it's a risk as well to buy a new vehicle. I understand now why some will never purchase a new vehicle and I understand why our roro and local used car industry will continue to flourish.
Wish I never sold my ae111 yes, sigh.
agent007 wrote:3. I also have no reason to doubt that manufacturers can change the ECU mapping or CR to suit a market such as ours but my gut feeling is telling me that Mitsubishi wouldn't have done that.
agent007 wrote:Gundeleroy, personally I find that to be a bit high but that's just me. The new Corolla Axio E160 is different to the Corolla we know them to be in terms of line successorship and different from the one sold by TTTL which is the E170. This new Axio is smaller than the previous E140 models. So in an effort to bring more constructive discussion and to be a little more aware for new car purchasing, to all my fellow tuners, please see the below information flyer which came directly from TTTL. Something to think about:
IMG_5712.jpgIMG_5710.jpg
IMG_5711.jpg
agent007 wrote:Wasn't there some discussion right here in this thread that talked about the 3.0 Hilux better equipped to handle our diesel as opposed to the Revo 2.8?
Anyhow check this pic guys I must admit, it sweet!
zando wrote:agent007 wrote:Wasn't there some discussion right here in this thread that talked about the 3.0 Hilux better equipped to handle our diesel as opposed to the Revo 2.8?
Think I like the Amarok better, how alyuh does handle that inspection thing every year? I could barely muster enough courage and stamina to go once every 7 years to transfer, farless every year to inspect....
car wrote:zando wrote:agent007 wrote:Wasn't there some discussion right here in this thread that talked about the 3.0 Hilux better equipped to handle our diesel as opposed to the Revo 2.8?
Think I like the Amarok better, how alyuh does handle that inspection thing every year? I could barely muster enough courage and stamina to go once every 7 years to transfer, farless every year to inspect....
Sold my van because of that. Is real dramas.
agent007 wrote:Well crossovers/SUVs are selling well and fast both new and used! I notice we don't ever talk about the RAV4 which is now in its 4th generation. So you may not want a van but you can probably buy the vehicle that practically created the segment! Currently going for $385k but act soon and you can get yourself a nice $10k discount on that price. This is the 2.0 2WD model with 7 airbags, sunroof, leather seats, power driver's seat and tailgate, Blaupunkt double DIN deck with BT, 17" rims, fog lights, front and rear parking sensors etc etc etc
You decide if it's worth $73k more than a Sportage GT Line.