The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby Rainman » October 3rd, 2012, 7:21 am

pioneer wrote:Ohhh what ya'll use to clean pads?...wax can be a pita to clean off a pad

lol, i do it lazy man style...throw it in the washing machine with my microfiber applicator pads and some laundry detergent...we use Purex at home. No bleach or fabric softener!! Works well enough for me,

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 3rd, 2012, 8:03 am

I'm looking for a good sealant, my thoughts are (in order) Autoglym EGP or Klasse Sealant Glaze or even Griot's Paint Sealant.
What's the forum experience?

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2012, 8:50 am

Rainman does the washing machine affect the velcro on the pad?

Postby Rainman » October 3rd, 2012, 8:57 am

pioneer wrote:Rainman does the washing machine affect the velcro on the pad?

Never had any problems with it, been using this method for the past three years. Like i said, don't use too much laundry detergent or too harsh a detergent.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 3rd, 2012, 1:45 pm

silent_riot wrote:I'm looking for a good sealant, my thoughts are (in order) Autoglym EGP or Klasse Sealant Glaze or even Griot's Paint Sealant.

Silent, because i know what products you use and where the vehicle is parked i recommend you use the Autoglym EGP. (Full Stop)

Postby Rainman » October 3rd, 2012, 3:42 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
silent_riot wrote:I'm looking for a good sealant, my thoughts are (in order) Autoglym EGP or Klasse Sealant Glaze or even Griot's Paint Sealant.

Silent, because i know what products you use and where the vehicle is parked i recommend you use the Autoglym EGP. (Full Stop)

Autoglym aside...what is your personal choice of sealant with regards to Acrylic v.s Carnauba?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 3rd, 2012, 4:30 pm

Leaving detailing brand out. For my personal vehicle i usually do 3-4 major details a year . (wash clay, correct, polish, protect etc)When i do this i usually use a synthetic sealant as the base and then top it off with a carnauba wax on my next wash. At least 2-3 coats.

Now i have a OCD to shine, so every time i wash my car i apply a Carnauba wax.

Now i always buy or get free stuff to tryout and review, both synthetic and carnauba and i usually use it on my personal vehicle before i use it on customers. Aside from that, for a minimum i wash and hand wax my car at least once a week, so that is four times a month so lets do the math( 4 X 12= a minimum of 48 times a year).

Now i usually don't apply only one coat of wax. i do 2-3 coats when i am waxing on my personal ride and also on customers.

Now for the rational - I apply the synthetic for the greater protection and as a good base in the event something happens. I use the Carnauba more so for gloss and to add protection and also i just have so much products that keeps on pilling up and just want to use it out.

This is what i do for my ride. It does not mean you have to do it too. One layer of wax or sealant is good enough.

Recommendation

1. If you don't have time to protect your ride and want good protection and good shine i recommend you go with the synthetic sealant. SOME are designed to last longer than natural wax.

2. If you have the time and want high gloss and good protection go with the Carnauba Wax.

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2012, 4:41 pm

Where sells the extreme gloss protection?

Also, my cars parks in the sun all day. What can I do?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 3rd, 2012, 5:45 pm

I know Glens and car plus sells it. There are probably other places that sell it but i dont know. These two places have very good customer service and you tend to get what you want most of the time.

Also Pioneer if you know that you are going to maintain the vehicle just get any quality wax and use it often, like once a month or once every 2-3 months.

With respect to brand, get what you can afford and use it often.

For me i tend to shop online cause i am just too busy and cant handle the traffic on the roads and most shipping agencies tend to deliver right to your doorstep.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 3rd, 2012, 5:52 pm

Thanks Karim, AG EGP it is.

Here's some new products I got a few weeks ago with some of the old.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 3rd, 2012, 7:37 pm

Nice pics, where you got your AG products? Tried to go Car Plus but could never get a park.

Postby DVSTT » October 3rd, 2012, 7:48 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Rainman wrote:
DVSTT wrote:HHmm so it's between collinite and meguiar's? I like the glossy look so I think I'd try the collinite wax. Do they have a polish as well? Also where in South do I get it? Usually buy car care stuff at bel air in marabella

You won't find collinite 845 locally. http://Www.autogeek.net has it at a great price.

Oh, so meguiar's NXT wax and polish?

Mr Karim, is this a good combo? Gonna use it with ultimate compound on a black triton to remove some swirl marks

Postby equipped2ripp » October 3rd, 2012, 7:52 pm

silent_riot wrote:Thanks Karim, AG EGP it is.

how does the Lexol work? I was thinking of bringing in some...

Postby DVSTT » October 3rd, 2012, 8:00 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
silent_riot wrote:Thanks Karim, AG EGP it is.

how does the Lexol work? I was thinking of bringing in some...

Was wondering as well, how does it compare to meguiar's cleaner and conditioner?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 3rd, 2012, 8:02 pm

DVSTT wrote:
Rainman wrote:
DVSTT wrote:HHmm so it's between collinite and meguiar's? I like the glossy look so I think I'd try the collinite wax. Do they have a polish as well? Also where in South do I get it? Usually buy car care stuff at bel air in marabella

You won't find collinite 845 locally. http://Www.autogeek.net has it at a great price.

Oh, so meguiar's NXT wax and polish?

Mr Karim, is this a good combo? Gonna use it with ultimate compound on a black triton to remove some swirl marks

It should be a great combination. Make sure and post some pics when you are done

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 3rd, 2012, 8:14 pm

DVSTT : Paste works better. Not particularly difficult to use for what it is I'd imagine. Still think you should just stick it out with the SRP though. But if you really can't, try something else.

Pioneer : In Silent_riot's picture above you'll notice he has DP polishing pad rejuvenator(btw, nice collection there Silent). This coupled with a hypoallergenic laundry detergent(so it'll have less stuff in it) and a stiff brush (like the orange in the same pic) should be enough to clean your pads. For slightly more difficult waxes I also use the Blackfire advanced pad cleaner. And if it needs something stronger than that alone, I do a few washes with the BF pad cleaner and follow with a stronger detergent like Tide. All that failing, I'd suggest you apply that wax with a small foam hand pad and throw away after each use.

eq2rip+DVSTT : My personal experience with the Lexol is that the cleaner does work well. Conditioner not anything too special, and doesn't quite have a nice leathery scent after, but the feel is about good. Neither have discolored or stained any leather I've worked on and those have been various shades of beige, black and red. I personally favor the mild scent of the Griot's products and hence even if I use the Lexol cleaner (it is stronger than the griot's so sometimes I need to), I always follow with the griot's leather care, or the lexol conditioner and then leather care spray. If you ever use those Poppy air fresheners or like overly strong scents in your vehicle though, the griot's ain't for you.

Karim : Yuh does wax your car too much! But anyway, which wax you managing to put on with so many layers and not have problems with the look? 2-3 layers might be ok, but then 2-3layers per week? won't it get a bit spotty after 2 weeks? Unless it has a very low Carnauba content right?
Also, I've found myself thinking exactly the opposite about sealants/waxes on my car. I find the sealants and acrylic based products give a higher surface looking shine while the carnaubas tend to darken and look more like gloss with depth rather than an extremely shiny surface. Only happens on dark cars though. Silvers/whites I eh seeing much diff.

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2012, 8:18 pm

Hmm so carplus parking sticky?...glenn's it is then

I can't remember seeing EGP by him though?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 3rd, 2012, 8:23 pm

Oh, and agreed on the EGP. Easy to use, can't be too hard to find.
Carplus you could just park on the road in front of Maritime's car park. I've been there quite a few times and only once or twice I couldn't get a park.
Could also try Bhola's in Gasparillo. He has EGP.

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2012, 8:25 pm

Where exactly is Bhola's?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 3rd, 2012, 8:31 pm

I just have an OCD to shine lol, I am trying to use up all the ends of stuff i have here. these days i tend to reach for the Surf City Barrier Reef wax. Easy on Easy off especially for the weather we are having.

As for the 2-3 layers - when i wax my ride it takes all the stress away. I like to stand back and watch my ride shine! I am a car guy and i love my car!!!

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 8:34 pm

^ hahaha i remember how hard it was to wipe off the wax from dad's ride lol

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 3rd, 2012, 8:37 pm

Yeah boy that was a pain, but it looked really good after

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 9:40 pm

^^ definitely....

how is the surf city compared to the AG and meg?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 3rd, 2012, 10:16 pm

If you are comparing the waxes of the three different brands

The Autoglym is on top.

Between the Megs and the Surf City Waxes, I prefer the Surf City because of its ease to use and final finish. I am not saying the Megs is not good but i just like the finish of the Surf City.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 4th, 2012, 9:06 am

I haven't really used that much of any other products to do a comparison, but I find that the Lexol products do what they say. Everything Autoglym in that picture also works excellent, and does what it says. Everybody should have a bottle of Super Resin Polish in their garage.
I bought them all from Montrose Paint centre, Mungroo's in couva has Super Resin Polish too.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 4th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Pioneer, they're in Gasparillo. Just call them for exact location if you want.

I agree that AG stuff all work pretty well. Some of their products are just things every detailer should have on hand I think. eg. SRP, Rubber&Vinyl care and glass polish.
Just a few things that are so easy to use, and work so well there's no real reason to use something else for those same applications I think.

Aaron the Surf City is by far the easiest to use of those 3. I'd still put the finish of the Megs&Surf City under the AG based on what I like, but Surf City might edge out the Meg's based on how easy it is to use.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » October 4th, 2012, 1:18 pm

silent_riot wrote:I haven't really used that much of any other products to do a comparison, but I find that the Lexol products do what they say. Everything Autoglym in that picture also works excellent, and does what it says. Everybody should have a bottle of Super Resin Polish in their garage.
I bought them all from Montrose Paint centre, Mungroo's in couva has Super Resin Polish too.

Ever tried the AG leather care balm? I find that works pretty well also.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 4th, 2012, 2:33 pm

Never tried it, but I'm sure its good.
I've never been disappointed by any of their products yet.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 4th, 2012, 8:54 pm

The Surf City and Smart Wax Leather conditioners are also nice and they have a nice leather scent to it.

Aside from the AutoGlym Leather balm. A top of the line leather conditioner is the Gliptone Leather Conditioner. The Gliptone has win numerous awards throughout the world. I have used it and was fully satisfied with the results.

Postby DVSTT » October 4th, 2012, 8:58 pm