My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build - Stock Frame dyno results

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build-All Parts Aquired.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 26th, 2014, 7:38 pm

very nice

Postby turbosingh » January 27th, 2014, 10:08 am

What about clearances?

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » January 27th, 2014, 12:07 pm

Clearances was done using plasti gauge, will post results for crank bearing and rod bearings later.

Civic101

Postby Civic101 » February 1st, 2014, 8:15 pm

alllll dat n it stll cyah beat d civic...lol.....

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » February 2nd, 2014, 10:43 am

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 3rd, 2014, 9:07 am

Actually i have alot of respect for honda. Having own alot of them and even boosting them, the engines are very well built.

Onto the build
Clearances
Cylinder 1 PTW=0.0047"
Cylinder 2 PTW=0.0050"
Cylinder 3 PTW=0.0045"
Cylinder 4 PTW=0.0050"

Crank main clearance

Rods clearance

Was not happy with the ring clearance from Manley.

The rings came with really big gaps already. Was shooting for 17 thou top with 19 thou second and 15 thou oil but the gapping was too large from factory. So this is what i got

Top Ring 22 Thou
Second Ring 25 Thou
Oil Ring 22 Thou
Last Support Ring 25 Thou ( This ring comes with the stroker pistons, to support the oil rings)

Prepping the head

Cams installed (I believe these cams might be too small for this build Revolvers 264s with 11.5 lift, Will be ordering some GSC R2's soon)

Assembling BJS Intake with Precision 1000cc Injectors

Water pump, Oil pump and necessary brackets with pulleys in the process of being installed

Head Gasket installed, not using the cometic i bought, got a modified oem from AMS

Head Installed using ARP bolts and torque to 80 FT.LBS
Main Caps Installed using ARP bolts and torque to 60 FT.LBS
Rod Ends Installed using ARP bolts and torque to 50 FT.LBS (using 30W OIL)

Nice link for Torque on the evo
http://www.norcalmotorsports.org/users/ ... ings..html

EDora

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build-Build on the way

Postby EDora » February 3rd, 2014, 12:43 pm

Hope I not missing anything but what management urn going to be running ??? Or currently have wired??

What numbers u looking 2 make ??

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 3rd, 2014, 1:04 pm

EDora wrote:Hope I not missing anything but what management urn going to be running ??? Or currently have wired??

What numbers u looking 2 make ??

Hoping for 375whp to 425whp. I trying to accomplish this using our 92 oct with 50/50 water/meth

Also hoping to do this using stock ECU with SD.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 3rd, 2014, 7:32 pm

Received my Riced out valve cover today, sprinkles and all.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 3rd, 2014, 7:36 pm

y
e
s

s
i
r
Awesome

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 8th, 2014, 10:57 pm

Postby Morpheus » February 9th, 2014, 2:48 am

8-)8-)8-)8-)8-)

Coming to come.....

Postby 16 cycles » February 9th, 2014, 8:38 am

Everything will fit with that intake mani?

Looks huge...

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 10th, 2014, 11:17 pm

Installed the TOMEI Baffle and crank scraper

Postby Ted_v2 » February 11th, 2014, 5:18 pm

With the 4g64 block. You had to rebore the block? What crank?

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 11th, 2014, 10:19 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:With the 4g64 block. You had to rebore the block? What crank?

No,it's not advisable to re-bore or bore for that matter the 4G64 block. It doesn't have that much distance between cylinders, so i kept it at the stock 86.5mm

4g64 block is around 0.259" between the cyl walls when bored .020 over (87mm)

4g63 block is around 0.308" between the cyl walls when bored .020 over (85.5mm)

I used the stock crank, 100mm.

Finally installed the timing belt

Postby A172 » February 13th, 2014, 11:32 am

very nice best project thread in this forum

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 13th, 2014, 3:44 pm

beautiful

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 21st, 2014, 8:52 pm

Bought another O2 housing, Invidia, I think it the biggest there is, well except for the WORKS O2.
May have to lengthen the O2 Wire.
Difference in size
Previous (2.3") Outlet
This (2.88") Outlet

FID Cam Sensor Shield

SickSpeed Oil Drain Plug

STM Head Dress Up Kit

EDora

Postby EDora » February 22nd, 2014, 8:14 am

How far along is the engine work going ?!

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 23rd, 2014, 1:21 pm

Its complete, will be putting it in next week.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 24th, 2014, 6:46 pm

AMS Shift knob

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » February 27th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Kinugawa Upgraded wastegate.
Came with
14.5 PSI Spring
17.4 PSI Spring
21.7 PSI Spring

Construction looks good, Quality looks good

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » March 1st, 2014, 1:10 pm

Did the Timing of 3.75 Advance on both cams and all timing was perfect in alignment.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 3rd, 2014, 7:41 pm

A172 wrote:very nice best project thread in this forum

Mos def

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » March 5th, 2014, 10:59 pm

Decided the change the intercooler and remove the old OEM piping this carnival holidays
OLD VS NEW

My Very Short run piping
UICP and LICP mock-up

got it welded on carnival tuesday with bungs for my Water/Meth injection.
Will post pics tomorrow.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » March 8th, 2014, 9:15 pm

Steering Rack Bushings
They say it improves response

Postby Ted_v2 » March 9th, 2014, 10:41 am

Is the engine running right now?

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » March 9th, 2014, 1:44 pm

Engine is still on the engine stand. Not installed in car.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » March 11th, 2014, 7:32 pm

My new turbo came in today.