2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Which vehicle would you buy

Poll ended at October 27th, 2012, 5:49 pm

2012 Corolla
6%
2012 Elantra
94%

Total votes: 18

[X]~Outlaw

Re: 2012 Corolla vs 2012 Elantra

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 17th, 2012, 11:55 am

I would spend the extra and buy a Jetta. If I was limited to those two choices I would go with the Elantra. IMO the Corolla is the worst value for money right now..boring exterior, cheap interior and underpowered, if im paying 200K for a car I shouldn't want to pee on it then kick it up every time I lay my eyes on it.

I would also strongly consider the Impreza hatch 2.0, that should be a fun car for way less $$.

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2012, 11:56 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:I would spend the extra and buy a Jetta. If I was limited to those two choices I would go with the Elantra. IMO the Corolla is the worst value for money right now..boring exterior, cheap interior and underpowered, if im paying 200K for a car I shouldn't want to pee on it then kick it up every time I lay my eyes on it.

I would also strongly consider the Impreza hatch 2.0, that should be a fun car for way less $$.

new???

Postby gastly369 » October 17th, 2012, 11:59 am

just now toyota go offer the spare tire as a addon or "luxury upgrade" :|

Postby dougla_boy » October 17th, 2012, 12:00 pm

i think the yaris better than the rolla.....

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 17th, 2012, 12:12 pm

cinco wrote:
[X]~Outlaw wrote:I would spend the extra and buy a Jetta. If I was limited to those two choices I would go with the Elantra. IMO the Corolla is the worst value for money right now..boring exterior, cheap interior and underpowered, if im paying 200K for a car I shouldn't want to pee on it then kick it up every time I lay my eyes on it.

new???

Nah RORO...the price new is to ridiculous for a hatch. That may very well be the next car I purchase.

Postby Greypatch » October 17th, 2012, 12:39 pm

gastly369 wrote:just now toyota go offer the spare tire as a addon or "luxury upgrade" :|

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 17th, 2012, 12:41 pm

MG Man wrote:lol I have a local AE111 doing 213k
:P
..........but no wayI buyin that NZE kaka for 200k

You've just proven my point eh......

All that fanciness and pretty bling on the Elantra wouldn't mean much if the wrecker have to pick up your car when you by Econo guest house.

Yes the Elantra fancy looking. My dad has the new Sonata and it's a very pretty car. But I will take reliability any day. Drive the Elantra without oil and if it last I will admit defeat.

:evilbat:

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2012, 12:43 pm

toyota2nr wrote:

All that fanciness and pretty bling on the Elantra wouldn't mean much if the wrecker have to pick up your car when you by Econo guest house.

Yes the Elantra fancy looking. My dad has the new Sonata and it's a very pretty car. But I will take reliability any day. Drive the Elantra without oil and if it last I will admit defeat.

it hav a local mazda protege 1.3 workin taxi 13 years old with 320000km on it without ever burning oil or water so what is your point?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 17th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Also why would you want to drive the car without oil?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 17th, 2012, 12:55 pm

The drain bolt wasn't tightened and I didn't know the oil leaked out.

If you all are going for looks then choose the Elantra.
Reliability and fuel efficiency then choose the Corolla, simple as that.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » October 17th, 2012, 12:58 pm

The argument for Toyota reliability>ALL is a bit moot..ICE's are at the stage where mostly any vehicle you buy now once maintained properly should be reliable.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 17th, 2012, 1:14 pm

Jetta 1.4 TSI basic 230k
civic 1.6 exi 219k
cruze 1.8 loaded 215k
corolla 1.5 loaded 212k
elantra 1.6 gls loaded 209k
mazda3 1.6 basic 208k
octavia 1.6 mpi loaded 184k
cerato 1.6 loaded 180k
bluebird sylphy 1.5 basic 180k

The argument of this thread is Corolla vs Elantra well then consider this:

Corolla proposes:
- perceived reliability
- perceived resale value
- rear trunk mounted spoiler
- more expensive

Elantra proposes:
- just as fuel efficient
- more powerful
- 6-speed auto
- leather seats
- power driver's seat
- wicked no sheit stock stereo system with steering controls including bluetooth
- reverse sensors with camera
- 17" rims
- traction and stability control
- proximity/intelligent key with push button start
- fresh design
- much safer car
- less expensive

and some of you all saying the corolla still win?

I guess the reasoning on the preference for the corolla is:

1) you stick to what you know and now that you getting a 5 digits salary automatically the first car you got laid in (AE101) is now replaced with the new yawn in town
2) you are unable to explain your choices and preferences especially in the Friday night cookout if you pull up with the elantra as opposed to the corolla. You know in certain communities, despite having b14 features the corolla is still considered the shiz...and you made it by yanking out another hub cap laden automobile

I'll take the Elantra as said countless times before. I also drive an NZE Corolla and a VW Jetta and I am familiar with Toyota's for a number of years. Truth is, Toyota did establish a name for themselves back in the 70's to 90's but they got to laid back and comfortable quickly and it shows.
This allowed Hyundai to recapture the model that Toyota started in the first place. At the end of the day, they both want your money. How I look at it is, which automaker worked harder to protect you, your family and financial interests? To me the answer is, no one but Hyundai.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » October 17th, 2012, 1:46 pm

well said

Postby MG Man » October 17th, 2012, 1:52 pm

toyota2nr wrote:

what makes you think the elantra won't go 200,000+ kms?
What evidence do you have that the elantra will prove to be unreliable?
I also had a PBH hyundai accent that I used to beat mercilessly, and it never had as issue
My dad had a Datsun 720 pickup that saw the odometer roll over twice ina few short years........never failed us...........my 20+ year old B1600 mazda has no problems whatsoever. so what's yer point?

oh and btw you have still not told me where you bought an NZE for a MSRP of $73k................stop ducking and admit you comparing the price and depreciation you paid on a RoRo to the price and depreciation on a brand new car.......or you too shame to admit..........no shame in roro buddy

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 17th, 2012, 1:54 pm

^^ said...like a sir.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 17th, 2012, 2:04 pm

one must note...using ae80/ae92/ae101/ae111/nze's obvious superiority over its competition back then has nothing to do with actual comparisons of the 10th gen e140 series corolla with cars on sale now. Toyota was. Hyundai is.

Postby teems1 » October 17th, 2012, 2:09 pm

isn't the Corolla premium only, and the Elantra runs on super?

$250+ to fill up versus $130 adds up over time.

Postby sharkman121 » October 17th, 2012, 3:02 pm

well summarized acesinghit..

you've pretty much sold me a car there.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 17th, 2012, 3:06 pm

teems1 wrote:isn't the Corolla premium only, and the Elantra runs on super?

$250+ to fill up versus $130 adds up over time.

TTTL put out an ad last week and the Corolla is super.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 17th, 2012, 3:26 pm

VW jetta is a lot of car for the money and it blows past everything on the road at around the same price bracket.

karimjas

POLL

Postby karimjas » October 17th, 2012, 4:29 pm

This poll to see which vehicles are consumer most likely to buy
Last edited by karimjas on October 17th, 2012, 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: POLL between Corolla and Elantra (2012)

Postby sharkman121 » October 17th, 2012, 4:34 pm

dan yuh coulda just add in the poll in the existing thread.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 17th, 2012, 10:04 pm

i remember back in the 80s,90s when the elantra and accent came out they sold like hot bread until a few years later they began facking up and give hyundi a bad name. This new elantra i consider to be one of the best looking cars on the road today both exterior and interior bar none.
The price this car is offered at is amazing { i only hope the quality of materials used is just as amazing}. As for reliablity this takes a few years to establish not because it looking sexy, but then thats just me and my humble opinion amongst the car gods. At the end of the day none of us in here can testify on hyundi's reliablity AS A WHOLE {not i de ha ah acent doin 300000k plus an et neva change oil} so we rely on their track record and weeeelll.....
So if these cars are on the road 10 yrs from now trouble free like hondas and toyotas then kudos to them well done.

Dont get me wrong ill flex an elantra everyday all day once under warranty.....

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » May 12th, 2013, 6:56 pm

:bump:
Anybody here who have a new elantra experience that the car is pulling to the left? I was told that was a defect from new. Can anyone confirm this?

Postby sliderz1 » May 12th, 2013, 11:02 pm

the one i drove wasnt.

QC/QA wouldnt allow that

Postby sharkman121 » May 13th, 2013, 12:03 am

trini mk5 wrote::bump:
Anybody here who have a new elantra experience that the car is pulling to the left? I was told that was a defect from new. Can anyone confirm this?

gettin mih new elantra dis week..ah go let yuh know dan 0X

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 13th, 2013, 12:24 am

MadCrix wrote:i agree with you

6 AIR BAGS
color reverse camera integreated into car, not an add on
dual climate controls
leather interior
trunk huge enuff to hold yuh entire wardrobe
suspension firm but not evo stiff
price.. cah go wrong
looks well i doh hadda say anything
realistically the features u get in the elantra you can't get in any other manufacturer for such a low price.
my only issue is no HID headlights ( can buy out of malyasia as it came standard on those cars)
and i find the high beams a shine alittle too high.. so i never use it. the low beams bright enuff

my problem with this car is the indash setup and contours. u cant even install a custom stereo or dvd player. it is a flashy car, and alot of ppl buying it so i guess it will be like tiida with alot of replacement parts on the market easily available. the usb port for flash drives is cool but id rather an android tablet setup. it's a decent club stepper tho i guess. but it seems mostly women buying them that ive seen on the road. i guess if u just want a good looking car that takes u from point a to point b then it would work. as far as features and customizability.. leaves much to be desired imo. the body looks a little stronger than classic hyundai paper cars, but it's still a hyundai, so im sure it's still a paper car. anyone seen crash tests for it? im going on a hunch it doesnt do too well in that area.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 13th, 2013, 12:35 am

just did a quick search and i think that this is the problem. crash test shows the front totally destroyed. i feel once u bounce it have no amount of straightening and painting fixing it back how it was. the front will look like a patch up sore foot. so dont bounce ur elantra.. all them special contours in just the right place for a straightener to see hell. even looks like the engine might have push thru the dashboard. airbags aint saving u there.

Postby sharkman121 » May 13th, 2013, 12:50 am

turbotusty wrote:my problem with this car is the indash setup and contours. u cant even install a custom stereo or dvd player.
Dude, with a decent stereo system like that, why would you want to install a custom stereo, cars have evolved past that. This is the age of all in one seamlessly fully integrated entertainment setup in your vehicle. Leave the installation of your pioneer decks for b14s

it is a flashy car, and alot of ppl buying it so i guess it will be like tiida with alot of replacement parts on the market easily available.
Unlike the Tiida, this car is not available foreign used. Most of the tiidas you see on the road are foreign used. Secondly unlike the tiida also, Neal and Massy is almost never stocked on this vehicle, most ppl who got them had to wait months like me for the next shipment of new vehicles to come. There will NOT be tonnes of replacement parts flooding the market for everybody and their tanty.

the usb port for flash drives is cool but id rather an android tablet setup.
now you just nitpicking...its a usb, just jack in yuh flash drive and play yuh music.

it's a decent club stepper tho i guess. but it seems mostly women buying them that ive seen on the road. i guess if u just want a good looking car that takes u from point a to point b then it would work.
This is more than just a vehicle to take you from point a to point b, if it were so then ppl would just buy a corolla. This vehicle is stylish, sexy and classy inside and out. Fuel economy is terrific rated up to 40mpg highway and 28 innercity.

as far as features and customizability.. leaves much to be desired imo. the body looks a little stronger than classic hyundai paper cars, but it's still a hyundai, so im sure it's still a paper car.
Not sure if you realised but Hyundai or not, most all vehicles are made from the same alloy rendering this point virtually invalid. As for customization, do some research a lot can be done on this car. Trust me ive done the research.

anyone seen crash tests for it? im going on a hunch it doesnt do too well in that area.
Again you assuming without knowing, this car got a 5 star safety rating which along with its fuel economy is one of the reasons why it is so highly rated amongst buyers. Besides the front dual airbags, the fully loaded comes with side airbags all around, electronic stability control, brake assist, 4 wheel abs and traction control.

You need to stop going on what you THINK you know about Hyundai and do some research son

Postby sharkman121 » May 13th, 2013, 12:55 am

turbotusty wrote:just did a quick search and i think that this is the problem. crash test shows the front totally destroyed. i feel once u bounce it have no amount of straightening and painting fixing it back how it was. the front will look like a patch up sore foot. so dont bounce ur elantra.. all them special contours in just the right place for a straightener to see hell. even looks like the engine might have push thru the dashboard. airbags aint saving u there.

And this is the corolla...

Ofcourse im assuming you know what crumple zones are and how the help save lives right..
Last edited by sharkman121 on May 13th, 2013, 12:57 am, edited 1 time in total.