Ratsun 1200 Sedan - SOLD - New Photo added 08/12

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 30th, 2010, 9:00 am

Nice thread.

This brings back memories for me, I had a 1200 back in the early 80's, had konis front and back and a modified carbuerettor.

That was one Sweeeeeet car. Used to fly down the highway from beginning to end at 100mph, consistently. Handled really well too. I really missed that car when It was sold.

My brother bought one of these brand new from the firm back in the 70's, he still has it parked up in his garage just collecting dust now. It was one of the fastest 1200s on the road back in those days. Very modified, original engine, Bilstein struts, big valve head, twin SUs, race cam, lightened bottom end etc etc, was one very wicked car. He used to be quite an expert modifying these cars. Won a lot of street races with it.

I will try and get some pics of it and post it here.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 30th, 2010, 9:48 am

would love to see it dhaggs!! is ti local?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 30th, 2010, 9:54 am

Jason, thankfully, color is the last thing I am worried about.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 30th, 2010, 10:52 am

Bezman wrote:would love to see it dhaggs!! is ti local?

Yeah, its parked up in gasparillo.

moti

Postby moti » April 30th, 2010, 1:10 pm

djaggs wrote:
Bezman wrote:would love to see it dhaggs!! is ti local?

Yeah, its parked up in gasparillo.

gasparillo just got a lot more traffic flow :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 30th, 2010, 5:31 pm

run the photos..

Fellas i looking all around for some old school 13" wheels to roll on for now.. I went in the bamboo and its only new style wheels or i didn't look in the right places

Anyone know where to get some nice dished old school 13 inch 4x114 wheels??

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 30th, 2010, 6:27 pm

Tried Hyperfast and Mahadeos? D&D may have but 13" would be hard.

Probably link with Mini owners...don't know if they do a popular conversion to that PCD.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » April 30th, 2010, 8:13 pm

saw some old school rims by seenaths a few weeks ago, the minilite replicas. it was 15" tho.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 4th, 2010, 4:37 pm

Some updates from yesterday

Cleaned up the engine bay a bit, removed all the ridiculous white and green wire loom. re wrapped most of it in black tape and will buy a black loom kit and eventually hide everything when i repaint.

I also took out the gas tank as the fittings were leaking badly, and as the battery is in the trunk, that's not such a good idea to be driving around with. (esp as the battery is not in a battery box!!!)

I also poked around and found some rust under the rust proofing, luckily this will be where I am cutting out to fit the fuel cell.

So i removed the gas tank and sanded it and wire-brushed it down, not to bare metal, but clean enough, I was lazy because i plan on replacing it with a plastic 40L Fuel cell later on. but for now i wanted it at least looking cleaner. I also wanted to bolt down the GIANT Fram fuel filter that was just dangling around the trunk :P

Here is the tank painted waiting to go back into the car, I am thinking of welding on some AN fittings to it, but i think i will just get the new tank and do it once.

next up is fitting the intercooler, new radiator & fans, battery box, new front brakes (from S13 Silvia) and seat belts :shock:

lots and lots of other stuff to do to!

rx80

Postby rx80 » May 4th, 2010, 5:49 pm

Bezman,
Good progress with the build.
What suspension you planning to use? you can try making some adjustable coilovers up front like what the ae86 guys do with some koni strut inserts, then choose your spring rate. Very simple procedure.
And a set of camaro rear adjustable shocks.

Be sure to use a sealed battery box, (i have one for sale if interested) :mrgreen:

djaggs, which part in Gasparillo? is it for sale?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 4th, 2010, 9:03 pm

well the original plan was to run S13 coil overs in front and rear, but that adds allot of unwanted track and will force me to run close to fwd offsets in front esp.

the plan as of today is to run S13 (in my case R32 4x114) Rotors and Calipers (2 piston) for now and keep the B110 hub/spindle and strut

I have a wide range of strut insert to choose from for the original 1200 strut, believe it or not, a popular insert is the VW rabbit insert from Bilsteins:

Datsun Front Strut Data
the Datsun struts inserts are 45mm OD
318 body length / 511 Extended / 352 Collapsed

VW Rabbit Front Strut Data
324 body length / 511Extended / 359' Collapsed

Stroke: 158mm (6.25 in)
Bilstein part number W0133-1604944

OE style "Touring
Bilstein part number F4PNE3033BE / 171412031J USA Made With Internal Threads

stiff "Sport"
Bilstein part number F4P300032M0 / 171412031J USA Made With Internal Threads

softer "heavy duty"
race: 270/100 for rebound/compression

Bilstein Race & Rallye (gas)

Strut Part Number V36-0059 (but just buy the inserts) 270/100 damping

The plan then is to use Ground Control Coilover Sleeves welded on to the Struts with the original spring perch cut off. and the strut shortened a pit to prevent hitting the bump stops, I'll be using a very narrow coilover kit to get as much wheel clearance as possible, along with the Datsun 1200 spring cups on top with Ground Control Camber plates up top.

]
Ground control has a spring kit for the 1200 and you can get spring rates from 150lbs-250lbs, I am getting 200lbs, not too stiff, but i do have the CA18 up front

I also want to get a sway bar as the car doesn't have one installed now, I can get this out of australia. but thats $$$$

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » May 4th, 2010, 10:20 pm

^^ You could also try sr20ve. He can get anything from anywhere. 8-)

southside crew

Postby southside crew » May 5th, 2010, 7:28 am

Bezman wrote:some photoshop dreaming:

dare i say the red/brown growing on me

wasn't this PR 2024 Terrance car that used to run high 11's back in wallers with a sr20 under nos? first it was pink i think with a A14 under nos doin bout 14's.. then paint white or pruple.... ?

madaz

Postby madaz » May 5th, 2010, 8:06 am

Bezman wrote:run the photos..

Fellas i looking all around for some old school 13" wheels to roll on for now.. I went in the bamboo and its only new style wheels or i didn't look in the right places

I've got the right option for you!
Wanted it for myself but its a little too much trouble for me right now
Don't mind helping out a tuner who's going to use it!

Its on an old circuit car (ford laser hatch)

Deep dish 5 to 6"
On some slicks right now

But i see you're going with bigger brakes?
Last edited by madaz on May 5th, 2010, 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » May 5th, 2010, 8:06 am

btw in terms of paint
3 letters
B R E

madaz

Postby madaz » May 5th, 2010, 8:25 am

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 5th, 2010, 10:25 am

madaz wrote:
Bezman wrote:run the photos..

I've got the right option for you!
Wanted it for myself but its a little too much trouble for me right now
Don't mind helping out a tuner who's going to use it!

Its on an old circuit car (ford laser hatch)

Deep dish 5 to 6"
On some slicks right now

But i see you're going with bigger brakes?

thanks, I am going wiht silvia brakes which 'should' fit under some 13"

(I have some 14"x6" that I will be replacing the 13" and 15" wheels on the car with for now that I will run some 185 kunhos)

Let me see some photos and maybe how much they want for them??

but I have kinda decided that eventually after talking with a shipping consolidator that I will be bringing in my own wheels (Rota 15x7 w/ 4mm Offsets) at some time in the future

wasn't this PR 2024 Terrance car that used to run high 11's back in wallers with a sr20 under nos? first it was pink i think with a A14 under nos doin bout 14's.. then paint white or pruple.... ?

don't see any evidence of it being pink, but it was white, then red, then blue, then finally this red/brown from what i can see.. It definitely was a race car at soem point, the front bumper was cut for a front mount, the rear diff has a 4 link welded diff from god knows what... Thank god they didnt cut the firewall or radiator support to fit the SR and intercooler if it is indeed this car

If you have a contact for terrance I would love to find out more about the car and especially the diff!!

- Bez

madaz

Postby madaz » May 5th, 2010, 11:19 am

Bezman wrote:
Let me see some photos and maybe how much they want for them??

- Bez

Actually It's free!

And it's exactly like the post before

just picture the dish on the rim! (remember 5 to 6" dish)
don't have any photos right now!
just come with a wrecker!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 5th, 2010, 11:40 am

a wrecker?? how big is them wheels?? :lol: :lol:

_moti_

Postby _moti_ » May 5th, 2010, 1:38 pm

Bezman wrote:a wrecker?? how big is them wheels?? :lol: :lol:

southside crew

Postby southside crew » May 5th, 2010, 2:49 pm

http://www.trinituner.com/drags/2002/drags03-03-02.php

some pics of the car...

I will try and get the contact...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 5th, 2010, 3:25 pm

THANKS southside crew :!: :!:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 7th, 2010, 7:14 am

At the Suzuka Circuit,

madaz

Postby madaz » May 7th, 2010, 8:05 am

Bezman wrote:a wrecker?? how big is them wheels?? :lol: :lol:

Yea is not pick up and run!

You will have to get rid of the old shell and strip the wheels off them!

i think its worth it!(If yuh have access to ah wrecker)

Car even has a bolt in roll cage(ford laser)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 7th, 2010, 9:54 am

arm, that sounding like you tricking me into clean up some junk ;) I'll pass thanks

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 7th, 2010, 10:21 am

Haha ent.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 7th, 2010, 10:32 am

Jason like YOU trying to trick me into buying the white 1600 in the classifieds?? If it showed up a few days earlier maybe ;)

But secretly I think I have figured out the paint scheme ;) but i have lots of time to change my mind imbetween

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 7th, 2010, 10:44 am

Harder to find 1200s, so I just throwing up some nice schemes.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 7th, 2010, 10:51 am

Reading your post on Datsun1200 now nice stuff man.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 7th, 2010, 12:48 pm

Glens super shop in montrose has some nice ole school rims 13s and 14s
check them i think they have what you are looking for. :roll: