T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

car

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby car » May 11th, 2017, 12:00 pm

drchaos wrote:I know this has been probably been beaten to death on this thread but need a quick answer. Does the new FORD ranger with the 2.2 turbo diesel need a class 4 permit? Or would a class 3 permit work?

Check the mgw.
2955kg and over class 4

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 11th, 2017, 12:10 pm

Class 4

Iirc, the 2wd lower to the ground models are class 3.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2017, 12:28 pm

Thanks!
Looking to either Lease or purchase for the business, means ranger would be out as multiple people would be driving and they don't have class 4's.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 11th, 2017, 7:27 pm

Postby RedVEVO » May 14th, 2017, 4:14 am

Again and again .. :)

Are there any 2016 Amarok owners in TT that are willing to give a review ?

And a detailed review .

Did anyone purchase the 2017 Amarok V6 as yet ?

Can you give a review ?

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » May 14th, 2017, 6:47 am

We wont getting be getting the V6 due to our diesel quality

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2017, 8:04 am

RedVEVO wrote:Again and again .. :)

Are there any 2016 Amarok owners in TT that are willing to give a review ?

And a detailed review .

Did anyone purchase the 2017 Amarok V6 as yet ?

Can you give a review ?

Seen quite few on the road but so far everyone is mum on their experiences. Probably tuners to scared to head towards the VW light after the jetta fiasco.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 14th, 2017, 11:39 am

Not just the Jetta... The diesel emissions cheat fiasco

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 14th, 2017, 12:06 pm

As if tuners or trinis care about the diesel scandal. Weirdest thing for me is to see all the negative things the company did and yet still become global no. 1 in sales after all the bad press.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 14th, 2017, 12:33 pm

I think drivers doh really cAre about thAt emissions scAndal

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 14th, 2017, 1:09 pm

We should have all bought VW stock after diesel gate.

Heard rumors and whisperings that BA trying to get the Golf GTE.

Remark

Postby Remark » May 15th, 2017, 9:10 am

Anyone know if the series has changed as yet??

Postby eliteauto » May 15th, 2017, 2:06 pm

no it has not

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 15th, 2017, 9:16 pm

drchaos wrote:We should have all bought VW stock after diesel gate.

They were forced to buy them back (if the owner wished) and were not allowed to resell in other markets

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 15th, 2017, 10:25 pm

worksux101 wrote:
drchaos wrote:We should have all bought VW stock after diesel gate.

They were forced to buy them back (if the owner wished) and were not allowed to resell in other markets

Not the vehicles, the stock on the stock market.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 16th, 2017, 6:54 am

Nice to see VW having a fanboy or two in here but sorry to crash that gloat, currently for the period Jan to March 2017 in terms of global production (not sales), Toyota regains #1 followed by Renault Nissan then VW. I wish them the very best though as I like competition and I find that all major manufacturers make many exceptional products today. To be a fanboy of a particular brand in this day and age is so old school. Still would take an EK4 Civic over most new cars anyday :mrgreen:

See article here:
https://www.forbes.com/sites/bertelschm ... 07ac472b97

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 17th, 2017, 12:36 am

Global sales and not production tends to be a better marker, man could be building car fast and furious but if it park up and nuh selling.

My father got Inshan ( ROC ) to bring down one of those EK4 civic's for my brothers and I, a Ferio. Everything was sweet except for that CVT transmission, had a serious delay and was jerky when taking off from a standstill. I think the guy who bought it from us still running it, been 19 years since it land RORO.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 17th, 2017, 8:02 am

Never saw a roro EK4 branded as a Ferio. ASAIK, roro EK4 sedans were badged Civic Si and local EK4's were badged Civic SiR. Those came with the B16A whereas regular EK3 and EK3 Ferios got some D15 and D16's in them. Doesn't matter though, EK4's continue to be special cars. Together with that era of Integras, Preludes and NSXs, they represented the epitome of great engineering. I miss the pureness of NA power at its best from switchover to engagement and your revs reaching its peak delivering a joker like smile on your face. Now I'm all nostalgic. I've owned all sorts of cars from my Chevy to a former Hyundai and too many Japs to mention and nothing compares to VTEC.

If possible, can you do me a favor and check to see if your ECU is supported with the Hondata FlashPro? Link is below, thanks:
https://www.hondata.com/products/flashpro

Here is my dilemma, if I head the Civic turbo route that's $275k plus installation of accessories like rear lip spoiler, front and rear mud guards, front and rear parking sensors, 18x8 wheels and the hondata flash pro. Total cost is now around $300k and that is without insurance.

On the other hand, I give LSM and Chevy another try and get the Cruze turbo @ $209k + whatever accessories I want to add from there.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 17th, 2017, 9:38 am

agent007 wrote:Never saw a roro EK4 branded as a Ferio. ASAIK, roro EK4 sedans were badged Civic Si and local EK4's were badged Civic SiR. Those came with the B16A whereas regular EK3 and EK3 Ferios got some D15 and D16's in them. Doesn't matter though, EK4's continue to be special cars. Together with that era of Integras, Preludes and NSXs, they represented the epitome of great engineering. I miss the pureness of NA power at its best from switchover to engagement and your revs reaching its peak delivering a joker like smile on your face. Now I'm all nostalgic. I've owned all sorts of cars from my Chevy to a former Hyundai and too many Japs to mention and nothing compares to VTEC.

If possible, can you do me a favor and check to see if your ECU is supported with the Hondata FlashPro? Link is below, thanks:

Here is my dilemma, if I head the Civic turbo route that's $275k plus installation of accessories like rear lip spoiler, front and rear mud guards, front and rear parking sensors, 18x8 wheels and the hondata flash pro. Total cost is now around $300k and that is without insurance.

On the other hand, I give LSM and Chevy another try and get the Cruze turbo @ $209k + whatever accessories I want to add from there.

My bad probably was a EK3!
I did'nt pay that price for the new civic, they do negotiate so remember that! Also fully comprehensive with Tatil on the Civic is super low, can't remember the exact figure but was north of 6000K.
But at 209k that price is ridiculously low vs the civic. I say go for it and with your contacts in Lifestyle if there are any warranty problems you should get it sorted without hassle.

Wife out with car today, so when she comes back will check it and post up the result.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2017, 1:33 pm

agent007 wrote:Never saw a roro EK4 branded as a Ferio. ASAIK, roro EK4 sedans were badged Civic Si and local EK4's were badged Civic SiR. Those came with the B16A whereas regular EK3 and EK3 Ferios got some D15 and D16's in them. Doesn't matter though, EK4's continue to be special cars. Together with that era of Integras, Preludes and NSXs, they represented the epitome of great engineering. I miss the pureness of NA power at its best from switchover to engagement and your revs reaching its peak delivering a joker like smile on your face. Now I'm all nostalgic. I've owned all sorts of cars from my Chevy to a former Hyundai and too many Japs to mention and nothing compares to VTEC.

The Civic at $275k doesn't come with mudguards or parking sensors?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 17th, 2017, 1:53 pm

Nah no mudguards , but has reverse camera that has 3 different viewing angles + guidelines and no parking sensors.

zando

Postby zando » May 17th, 2017, 2:01 pm

drchaos wrote:Nah no mudguards , but has reverse camera that has 3 different viewing angles + guidelines and no parking sensors.

That civic is over priced and featureless.

Sent from my E6833 using TriniTuner mobile app

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » May 17th, 2017, 2:08 pm

zando wrote:
drchaos wrote:Nah no mudguards , but has reverse camera that has 3 different viewing angles + guidelines and no parking sensors.

As is every new car in Trinidad

zando

Postby zando » May 17th, 2017, 2:11 pm

triniboi49 wrote:
zando wrote:

As is every new car in Trinidad

Except the ioniq, that car is amazing, I checked it out and for 180 the amount of features are amazing, great buy.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » May 17th, 2017, 2:13 pm

Yes I agree with that!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 17th, 2017, 2:13 pm

Y'all consider performance a feature? Cuz the ioniq missing that.

zando

Postby zando » May 17th, 2017, 2:16 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Y'all consider performance a feature? Cuz the ioniq missing that.

It doesn't actually, with the electric motor and the 1.6 it's actually pretty quick, at leaat quicker than all the other 1.6's in the class, the only cars that perform better would be the jetta, new cruze turbo and civic turbo but all of those are a lot more money and u don't get anywhere near the amount of features.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 17th, 2017, 4:05 pm

What do you consider "features" though.

The tuner in me wants the following features.
More horsepower
LSD
ABS
Better brakes
Air bags
Torque vectoring
Stiffer chassis
Reliability

The safety officer in me wants
More airbags
Better brakes
Electronic stability control
Collision avoidance system
ABS
Power steering
Stiffer chassis
Reliability

The la-z-boy in me wants
Air condition
Power steering
Decent stereo
Steering wheel controls
Adaptive cruise control
Stiffer chassis
Reliability.

Everyone wants something different. I don't need or even consider keyless entry a feature

On another note..The ek3 with the 3 stage vtec is a beast. I think it better than the ek4 auto. I think the EK requires some driving knowledge and skill when you are pressing it. New drivers beware. It isn't easy dealing with a vehicle that has neutral steering characteristics

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 17th, 2017, 4:28 pm

zando wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Y'all consider performance a feature? Cuz the ioniq missing that.

It doesn't actually, with the electric motor and the 1.6 it's actually pretty quick, at leaat quicker than all the other 1.6's in the class, the only cars that perform better would be the jetta, new cruze turbo and civic turbo but all of those are a lot more money and u don't get anywhere near the amount of features.

0-100 km/h in 11 seconds doesn't seem like anything special even when compared to other 1.6 vehicles out there.

Anyways I was playing devil's advocate with the argument that the civic offers nothing but the ioniq does. Unless one doesn't value power then the ioniq falls short regardless of the price.

Would be nice to see all the features each one comes with in one post.

zando

Postby zando » May 17th, 2017, 4:42 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
zando wrote:

0-100 km/h in 11 seconds doesn't seem like anything special even when compared to other 1.6 vehicles out there.

Anyways I was playing devil's advocate with the argument that the civic offers nothing but the ioniq does. Unless one doesn't value power then the ioniq falls short regardless of the price.

Would be nice to see all the features each one comes with in one post.

Well, I've driven the ioniq and it feels quick, the cruze will Def. Be quicker, I think that's 8.3 to 100 km which is good for the power it has.