Old School Projects

nigie

Re: Old School Projects

Postby nigie » January 21st, 2012, 1:30 pm

king bob wrote:lol. hey peeps, i'm contemplating making a custom dash and center console any ideas

This is a console fabricated from aluminum channel and pop rivets...the center section which will be redone in aluminum was done with plyboard and speaker matting

zdeternal

Postby zdeternal » January 21st, 2012, 1:59 pm

roadracer7. Glad to see you online.... Thinking about selling my project (the alterantor wukkin!) to finish the home... this is XXXX from central...

king bob

Postby king bob » January 21st, 2012, 6:19 pm

nigie wrote:
king bob wrote:lol. hey peeps, i'm contemplating making a custom dash and center console any ideas

This is a console fabricated from aluminum channel and pop rivets...the center section which will be redone in aluminum was done with plyboard and speaker matting

cool, i drew out my design, and i in ah gear.
an i have nuff space for my fridge

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 21st, 2012, 7:02 pm

king yuh in the game.
build it ,then refine it.

king bob

Postby king bob » January 21st, 2012, 8:41 pm

bt for d finish i want will i have 2 use fiber glass or level paste, cus paste holds on wood like a stripper to a pole,

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 21st, 2012, 9:40 pm

you can use aluminum, bending & moulding to the shape you wany .
remember i told you about adhesives instead of welding.
well this is what i did ,i bent the metal to the appropriate shape then bonded the 2 pieces together .
result + peeps could not believe how it came out.no rivets no welding.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 21st, 2012, 9:41 pm

no fiberglass no putty. just pretty

king bob

Postby king bob » January 22nd, 2012, 8:04 am

cool thxx

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 24th, 2012, 1:19 am

also a crude method

king bob

Postby king bob » January 24th, 2012, 9:17 pm

i knw some ppl may cuss bt aww hell,
found my self a blue bird engine

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 24th, 2012, 10:04 pm

potential,potential,potential.

nigie

Postby nigie » January 24th, 2012, 10:36 pm

WHAT DE MUDDER @#$%*^$....!

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 25th, 2012, 12:18 am

king bob wrote:i knw some ppl may cuss bt aww hell,

dont underestimate that engine bob they used to kick butt in their day

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 25th, 2012, 12:23 am

Blue bird power

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 25th, 2012, 12:25 am

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 25th, 2012, 12:31 am

And it appears they still doing so

king bob

Postby king bob » January 25th, 2012, 3:33 am

nigie wrote:WHAT DE MUDDER @#$%*^$....!

nigie u never seem to disappoint

nigie

Postby nigie » January 25th, 2012, 9:46 am

Bob block your ears from Moss...we are in a age of multiple valves and intricate ignition systems...yes the L series was great "back in the day" but if u have choices..and u do...I would go with a sr20/Ca 18 over a bluebird anyday.....if u want 2 really rock old school well thats the hot ticket..but there are many cheap offerings now that out engineer the L18/L20...yes i was joking with the expletives... :lol:

Postby MG Man » January 25th, 2012, 9:54 am

a bluebird 1.8 on a pair of webers and a good exhaust manifold gives decent performance, and sounds awesome...if you can get a good Kent or Crane cam, better yet......you won't be able to gyallery-up yuhself with idiotic burnouts, but who cares...I say go for it

in any event nigie, going modern means not just engine swap, but electronics and fuel delivery system as well........the cost adds up

nigie

Postby nigie » January 25th, 2012, 10:04 am

Mr MG ..this is what people do with cars that look like this.....

The concept was a "Trini Car"

Postby MG Man » January 25th, 2012, 10:20 am

when ah could send mine?

nigie

Postby nigie » January 25th, 2012, 10:32 am

MG Man wrote:when ah could send mine?

:D :D :D :D

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 25th, 2012, 6:44 pm

nigie wrote:

Bob block your ears from Moss...we are in a age of multiple valves and intricate ignition systems...yes the L series was great "back in the day" but if u have choices..and u do...I would go with a sr20/Ca 18 over a bluebird anyday.....if u want 2 really rock old school well thats the hot ticket..but there are many cheap offerings now that out engineer the L18/L20...yes i was joking with the expletives... :lol:

nigie the man ask my opinion on something he has access to ,If he asked me about an sr or ca 18 i would have told him the same thing you are telling him but the man now starting and the budget tight and a l18 or l20 knocking dog its a start plus a hell of a lot gheaper and easier to install for a DIY newbie
You forget the sr20turbo hunter from my earlier post

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 25th, 2012, 7:20 pm

nigie wrote:

Nigie, glad you said "back in the day" cause I had an L18 with a ported SSS head, "zigskindarian :lol: cam with triple valve springs ", Janspeed tri-Y headers and a pair of side-draughts for the saturday night limes.
One night at the cross (back in 1985) Shamo (sherrif lobo) got to see the back of my 120Y for the entire race :lol:

those were the days

king bob

Postby king bob » January 25th, 2012, 8:24 pm

i'm getting it at cheap price ( i honestly contemplated a sr20 non turbo bt i doh have 7 g's just yet)
so bluebird it is 4 nw.
and i highly appreciate all opinions that i get from you guys and NEVER FORGET that

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 25th, 2012, 9:48 pm

king bob wrote:i'm getting it at cheap price ( i honestly contemplated a sr20 non turbo bt i doh have 7 g's just yet)
so bluebird it is 4 nw.
and i highly appreciate all opinions that i get from you guys and NEVER FORGET that

Bob horses and zebras hit the ground running humans creep first .Try the l20 get the car painted,interior done and then as time goes by look around for another power plant if you so desire ,the l20 is decent .cheap reliable and it is a do it yourself-er and it will be drivable in a short space of time an it can take real abuse.i started small and grew from one power plant to another nothing wrong with a little patience especially when financial commitments makes spending-money tight

king bob

Postby king bob » January 25th, 2012, 10:25 pm

i couldn't have said it better

nigie

Postby nigie » January 25th, 2012, 10:33 pm

i wonder how much Bob paying 4 the L20 because im seeing a lot of engines going for small $$$ i guess the only bug bear would b the wiring..im surprised its 7 gs 4 a non turbo sr20...there r sr18s that would b cheaper..... rite now there is a excellent 1 going 4 2500..thing is.... i kinda think futuristic sometimes if the over all goal is 2 have a powerful (non V8 car..as hard as it may be... :D ) then i would of tried at least a sr 18 so the transition 2 the sr20 turbo would b easier...many times ive seen and tried the temporary engine route with regrets($$$ spent wise)..so i hope Bob u dont have my luck

king bob

Postby king bob » January 25th, 2012, 11:01 pm

sr 18?? rwd???
since when O_o

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 25th, 2012, 11:39 pm

"nuff said" respect