Trinidad and Tobago V8 projects

Re: Trinidad & Tobago V8 Car Club

Postby MG Man » November 21st, 2011, 12:13 pm

nigie's idea of quality

vs this (also local eh)

and is not me alone eh
Bezman wrote:Image

just AWFUL :!:

I really hate fast and furious :fist:

this says a lot
nigie wrote:Aye ..this is the TTV8CC thread..club members average age bout 50....yes we crave attention....what do u expect.......its called middle age crisis....

and the prize winner is from south..so i guess he is chugging along the southern roadways..

Midnight_Demon wrote:^ this is wat i was saying to some of the owners down at the show. u want a "show car" well put all the effort into it and do it right, dont have the outside looking pretty and when u open the bonnet and doors its like :sick:

more like this please
:D :D :D :D
nigie wrote:Image

sweet
see nigie? I eh a 100% hater :mrgreen:

like sex, only louder :evilbat:
nigie wrote:Mudboys project 240z

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 21st, 2011, 12:20 pm

nigie wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:How come the V8 projects that nigie posts (with the exception of the Cobra replica) hardly ever look like the DiY V8 projects in the US? To me, they seem to feature lots of cars and engines that look REALLY old. Aren't there any well kept offerings in T'dad?

1. Cause the Cobra replica was brought in from the US of A

2. DiY ers in t he US have access to an abundance of parts and expertise especially in the machine shop department. We still depending on the man with hammer.

3. No.. there arnt much well kept offerings..our engines and cars come from bush no. 2

4. Domestic parts in the US are extremely cheap, we have 2 face unscrupolous business men here who when the done with us we often end up walking sideways.

5.Plus men like mg who have $$$ and knowledge resources keep the information for the obscure Euro car comunity here...rather than fully support the V8 ters.... :mrgreen:

WRONG
the said cobra replica is a DAX
it was from the UK not the US.
see here :- http://www.daxcars.co.uk/

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 21st, 2011, 12:21 pm

That PM camaro (is it? Sorry if I'm wrong) is more like what I was talking about MG. That car looks awesome - and the engine bay looks like something I'd see on TV!

And it's local too!

Postby cinco » November 21st, 2011, 12:24 pm

DSM_05 wrote:That PM camaro (is it? Sorry if I'm wrong) is more like what I was talking about MG. That car looks awesome - and the engine bay looks like something I'd see on TV!

if you eh realise the V8 club is just like the anyjapaneseengineinanoldcar club
they stick in the "fastest" engine they can find in the oldest car and proclaim its a winner
nothing is done to add appeal

Postby MG Man » November 21st, 2011, 12:25 pm

mah boi nismoid
like u eh know orr? anything V8 is 'merekin

d spike

Postby d spike » November 21st, 2011, 12:27 pm

DSM_05 wrote:^^Ok, so even if we forget about the Hemi engine. Take the body of the car alone. That 'cuda is a 1971 model. Isn't that old too? But then, so is the Cortina.

Of course you could talk about the cost of the 'cuda vs the Cortina! But then, you of all ppl (MG) should know about some of the restos that are done on old muscle cars to get them from where they were (rusted, old in a barn somewhere) up to restored / resto-mod status. Those cars end up looking better than when they left the showroom! Will these local offerings end up the same way?

Yes I know I'm going to get flamed - but I'm honestly asking, from the perspective of someone who knows NOTHING about this sort of thing.

Bear in mind that ther good ol' US of A is a continent...
We are a small island that has the NE Trade winds farting across overhead, bearing salt-laden moisture...
How come galvanized roofs rust so easily in certain parts of the island?
What a redneck calls "rusted" is a "light patina" for many of us.

Nigie, us n' nomoss are putting a Ford 302 in a Mark III Cortina... (Ford car = Ford engine... he considers a Chevy in a Ford almost as bad as a rice-burner :lol: :lol: :lol: )
...Looking for a pair of (good) cylinder heads for this engine... any leads?
Last edited by d spike on November 21st, 2011, 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nigie

Postby nigie » November 21st, 2011, 12:28 pm

WRONG
the said cobra replica is a DAX
it was from the UK not the US.
see here :- http://www.daxcars.co.uk/[/quote]

ok sorry guys.....nigie corrects himself....

The said cobra is from the UK

nigie

Postby nigie » November 21st, 2011, 1:03 pm

and as for $$$$$ nigie can't tell me them fellas broken when some of those cars have expensively garish paintwork, expensive crims, expensive hydraulics, etc
my gripe has always been, if you gonna do a resto-mod, oh for heaven sakes, run your wiring properly, hide the aftermarket deck, do some proper upholstery etc[/quote]

Nigie...... and most of dem fellas broken...
and after u put the pedal down with your V8 ..all of a sudden wiring and upholstery becomes secondary...all u want to do is enjoy the rhythm and rumble of 8 dogs barking with aggression..ostensibly you are thrown into your own world.....a place of utmost pride and contentment …..a place where u r in control….and that compressed bitumen is subjected …to your might....people its heavenly...join us and u will become new men and women....come ye all I say... :mrgreen:

Postby cinco » November 21st, 2011, 1:57 pm

nigie wrote:
MGMan wrote:and as for $$$$$ nigie can't tell me them fellas broken when some of those cars have expensively garish paintwork, expensive crims, expensive hydraulics, etc
my gripe has always been, if you gonna do a resto-mod, oh for heaven sakes, run your wiring properly, hide the aftermarket deck, do some proper upholstery etc

Nigie...... and most of dem fellas broken...
and after u put the pedal down with your V8 ..all of a sudden wiring and upholstery becomes secondary...all u want to do is enjoy the rhythm and rumble of 8 dogs barking with aggression..ostensibly you are thrown into your own world.....a place of utmost pride and contentment …..a place where u r in control….and that compressed bitumen is subjected …to your might....people its heavenly...join us and u will become new men and women....come ye all I say... :mrgreen:

man just prove my point yes
cinco wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:That PM camaro (is it? Sorry if I'm wrong) is more like what I was talking about MG. That car looks awesome - and the engine bay looks like something I'd see on TV!

if you eh realise the V8 club is just like the anyjapaneseengineinanoldcar club
they stick in the "fastest" engine they can find in the oldest car and proclaim its a winner

nigie

Postby nigie » November 21st, 2011, 2:56 pm

you eh realise the V8 club is just like the anyjapaneseengineinanoldcar club

.......The Appeal is...........

......THE V8 ENGINE......

it need not be fast, noisy, making a annoying belching noise, whinning or poping as if its popcorn..... :mrgreen:

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 21st, 2011, 5:10 pm

V8 aint what it used to be.
Back in the 80's a couple friends of mine built a very nice Cortina with a V8, the car was nicknamed "formula" and if anyone here remembered it, it was VERY NEAT, if you looked at it parked you would never know it was "modified".
At the time this car was the fastest thing on the road, it ate everything and then spat it out.
Then came another buddy of mine with a home built toyota 2TG, actually he built the engine here and he wasnt a mechanic.
This engine was in a PAT Charmant, and well what "formula" did to other cars, the charmant did to him.
V8 aint what it used to be,well the ones here that is.
Im sure some of the "older" heads remember those days

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 21st, 2011, 5:12 pm

MG Man wrote:mah boi nismoid
like u eh know orr? anything V8 is 'merekin

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » November 22nd, 2011, 12:13 am

General Formula, was built by Awong's garage,292 crane cam, smog heads,performer intake manifold,points ignition & low compression.Come run against mine 8 minutes + south to north.Till I get a toyota V10

nigie

Postby nigie » November 22nd, 2011, 12:47 am

nismoid wrote:V8 aint what it used to be.
Back in the 80's a couple friends of mine built a very nice Cortina with a V8, the car was nicknamed "formula" and if anyone here remembered it, it was VERY NEAT, if you looked at it parked you would never know it was "modified".
At the time this car was the fastest thing on the road, it ate everything and then spat it out.
Then came another buddy of mine with a home built toyota 2TG, actually he built the engine here and he wasnt a mechanic.
This engine was in a PAT Charmant, and well what "formula" did to other cars, the charmant did to him.
V8 aint what it used to be,well the ones here that is.
Im sure some of the "older" heads remember those days

yes and u herd the combination...smog heads....so i guess the v8s now r much better.... :mrgreen:

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 22nd, 2011, 6:28 am

roadracer7 wrote:General Formula, was built by Awong's garage,292 crane cam, smog heads,performer intake manifold,points ignition & low compression.Come run against mine 8 minutes + south to north.Till I get a toyota V10

Then show up at Camden:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=406612

And before you ask if I will, I don't think they have a 20 second category, so a Nissan Tiida has basically no chance there :'(

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » November 24th, 2011, 10:21 am

TOP SPEED,MANUVERABILITY,AGIILITY, CONFIDENCE AT HIGH SPEED & STOPPING ,THAT'S WHAT I GOT.NORTH TO SOUTH THAT'S MY CAMDEN FIELD.TOCO ROAD,THAT'S MY CAMDEN FIELD,GRANDE TO RIO, THAT'S MY CAMDEN.

Postby MG Man » November 24th, 2011, 10:35 am

so basically your camden is reckless abandon on public roads and general disrespect / disregard for human life?

Postby wagonrunner » November 24th, 2011, 10:49 am

a whole "8 minutes + south to north"??
not that i saying "the thing" should be encouraged, but what's your start and end points (out of curiosity nah)?

Postby cinco » November 24th, 2011, 11:46 am

MG Man wrote:so basically your camden is reckless abandon on public roads and general disrespect / disregard for human life?

he fuss name musee issaac

well yuh know wah he lass name go be

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 24th, 2011, 11:52 am

roadracer7 wrote:General Formula, was built by Awong's garage,292 crane cam, smog heads,performer intake manifold,points ignition & low compression.Come run against mine 8 minutes + south to north.Till I get a toyota V10

dude I aint know where yuh gettin yuh info from nah but let me steer you in the right direction.
"formula" was not built by Gerald Awon. It was built at Peake's coumpound by a few guys, Peter Peake being one of the people there at that time.
However the "formula" was subsequently BUTCHERED by Awon whenthe original owner sold it to that guy who lived on the diego martin main road.

nigie

Postby nigie » November 24th, 2011, 2:03 pm

"However the "formula" was subsequently BUTCHERED by Awon whenthe original owner sold it to that guy who lived on the diego martin main road."

Mr Nis could u defined your use of the term "butchered" ??????

dic meaning...."Kill (someone) brutally"

and wasnt it "That guy who lived on Diego martin main road" that elevated the car to champion status..?????? :?

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 24th, 2011, 5:59 pm

nigie wrote:"However the "formula" was subsequently BUTCHERED by Awon whenthe original owner sold it to that guy who lived on the diego martin main road."

Mr Nis could u defined your use of the term "butchered" ??????

dic meaning...."Kill (someone) brutally"

and wasnt it "That guy who lived on Diego martin main road" that elevated the car to champion status..?????? :?

Butchered as in destroyed the original look of the car when it was first completed.
All wires were neatly wrapped and "looking" original The engine bay was painted properly and still looked original, not altered.. The rear end was machined and the original cortina wheels were used, the car had the same height all round, so when you looked at the car, you couldn't tell it had an 8 in it, only when it started and revved.
When Kenneth got his a$$ handed to him by Sean's Charmant thats when he (kenneth) went on a rampage and started stripping the car to lose weight to beat the little 4 banger (non turbo and no nitrous eh), thats when it went to Awon to make it faster.

But really, I was really going down the line of having a very nice street/track car that is reliable, after formula was butchered it became very unreliable and soon lost the identity it had as being one of the fastest reliable street/track cars back then.
But as MG Man was trying to show you, its not about having a big (stinking :lol:) V8 in any old car but its about having the car finished properly.
see why I said the car was butchered?

And while the car may have gained championship status, it soon lost the 'aura' of formula because it would breakdown most of the times and began to look very old and beat up unlike other cars of the time that still to this day retain a certain aura about them like Cowboy's chevy,
Sherrif's Kingswood Brian's Galant, all of these cars were properly built and were never butchered to race.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » November 25th, 2011, 1:55 am

Douglas or "white boy" or "honky boy" was the original owner of General Formula.Albert & Gerard Awong built & tuned the engine.Douglas sold the car to Kenneth, and that was the beginning of the end for General Formula.I said this as I worked for Gerard while rebuilding Adnan Hadeed's or "Slabs" "Dirty Harry" "Outlaw " Camaro for some friends of mine.Before General there was Dirty Harry the first 10 sec. car in T&T 10.002 @ 127 mph.When there is a proper circuit in T&T the "Bastard" will run.There is control firstly in the mind then the feet then the hands. As Kenny Rogers said "You gotta know when to..............

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » November 25th, 2011, 2:22 am

Top of highway extension to G.Bazzar Timed to 8:17. 10:26 pm to 10:34,17 pm.

Postby MG Man » November 25th, 2011, 8:45 am

you are a fcuking as$hole

nigie

Postby nigie » November 25th, 2011, 9:52 am

:shock: Mg go wash out your dirty mouth with soap and water.... :shock:
Last edited by nigie on November 25th, 2011, 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

nigie

Postby nigie » November 25th, 2011, 10:01 am

Anyways roadracer im hearing all this talk about beginning of the end for general formula...
did the fist owner race the car?....cause 2 many formula only came into being when the guy from deigo had it....and with regards to the "big S stinking v8 in a cortina...the reason any 1 would do that is to experience the "real" power and torque in a small lightweight package and as i was saying after that first hit...u r addicted to the drug...so things like wiring, painting, buying toothpaste to brush your teeth...becomes secondary.... :mrgreen:

Postby wagonrunner » November 25th, 2011, 1:36 pm

as i said. slow. had to outrun the curfew once MT to La romaine 17mins. And normally made it from Diego Martin (lil bit deeper than FCB) to Palmiste in under 15 when the car had (a little more oomph - Lil GA15 that could), and that was with traffic lights all along wrightson road to grand bazaar before the over pass. So... thankfully i'm reformed. Let's if he ever does.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 25th, 2011, 7:17 pm

nigie wrote::shock: Mg go wash out your dirty mouth with soap and water.... :shock:

Yes, I agree that MG's language is somewhat crass - but he is describing most crass behaviour...

Nigie, you might be shocked by MG's response, but let me hear what you would say if:
You are nursing a slipping clutch homeward... You deliberately wait for traffic to lessen in order to not be a nuisance...
You find yourself behind an elderly fellow driving an even more elderly Bedford... you could swear that if he drove any slower he would be going backwards...
You wait until the highway is completely clear of ANY vehicle before you bring your revs up to overtaking mode...
You draw alongside Pops, checking your rearview mirror constantly, making sure no vehicles are approaching... As you are about to pull ahead of Pops, some asinine fool comes screaming out of the distance behind you, moving so quickly that by the time he sees you, it is too late for him to slow down quickly...

Will you then describe this driver as a "rather unaware and unthinking chap"? I think not.
Personally, I find MG was most restrained in his choice of words.

A public road is for the public to use freely, in a safe matter so as to not endanger other users.

I think as far as being an intelligent, considerate and mature human being where that sort of driver is concerned, de blood he mudda did waste makin' he, is better she did make pudding an sell...

Postby MG Man » November 25th, 2011, 10:11 pm

oh good grief waggy............now u goin an make the man kill himself (and hopefully nobody else)