T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby drchaos » September 28th, 2016, 4:03 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Well I def have to see dat to believe it...esp it being as fast as you say with a cvt and super gas...if ya race my jetta and beat me I would tune you for free

Boy I will have to pull out the doors, seats, spare tires, aircon system, infotainment system and loose some weight to even come close to that vw beast you mining in your garage.

EcoTune Trinidad

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » September 28th, 2016, 4:07 pm

drchaos wrote:
EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Well I def have to see dat to believe it...esp it being as fast as you say with a cvt and super gas...if ya race my jetta and beat me I would tune you for free

Boy I will have to pull out the doors, seats, spare tires, aircon system, infotainment system and loose some weight to even come close to that vw beast you mining in your garage.

Lol...shhhh

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 28th, 2016, 4:17 pm

Asian markets saying high 7 to low 8 seconds for 0 to 60 for the civic but American market saying high 6 to low 7 seconds.
The Asian market saying 170 HP and the US saying 174.
So you are probably right! There might be different tune/physical differences on the engine for different markets. Might just be tuned down to cope with the heat.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 28th, 2016, 4:34 pm

As y'all are talking about the new civic, can a bit of clarification be made? Went to classic POS yesterday and a sales rep told me the 1.6 was going for $229K and the 1.5T was going for 269K

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 28th, 2016, 5:19 pm

pablo_tt wrote:As y'all are talking about the new civic, can a bit of clarification be made? Went to classic POS yesterday and a sales rep told me the 1.6 was going for $229K and the 1.5T was going for 269K

That's the introductory prices. 244 and 275 is what it will go up to. But then again ansa has a schizophrenic pricing scheme so who knows what it will eventually be.
The old civic went through many different prices ... 244, 220, 210, 200, 194 are different prices I have heard at different times for the same civic over the past 4 years.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 28th, 2016, 9:45 pm

The fun part:

2016 Honda Civic 1.5Turbo with CVT
170hp; 220Nm torque 0-100kmph in 8.2s (Paul Tan)
174hp (USDM); 220Nm torque 0-60mph or 96kmph in 6.8s (Car and Driver)
That is a big difference there (1.4s to be exact)

2016 VW Jetta 1.4 TSI with 7DSG
158hp; 240Nm torque 0-100kmph in 8.3s (manufacturer claim VW Australia)

EcoTune, stock for stock it not looking like a win for the Jetta. Like I mentioned earlier, I feel Honda being very conservative with the actual output of their motor or that CVT is super efficient.

Just for kicks:

2016 Hyundai Veloster 1.6 turbo with 6AT
201hp; 265Nm torque 0-100kmph in 7.4s (manufacturer claim)

2013 Nissan Juke 1.6 turbo 6MT
188hp; 240Nm torque 0-100kmph in 8.3s (CARmag, SA)

Reason why I included the 6MT Juke is because that's how Massy imported them in the earlies. I for sure would like to see a 4-way race (bone stock) of these cars locally. Again, the Civic stands out with the least torque.

I wanna see chaos Civic vs a stock Jetta please someone organize this and post a YT vid.
Last edited by acesinghit on September 29th, 2016, 5:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Gladiator » September 28th, 2016, 9:51 pm

acesinghit wrote:The fun part:

148hp; 250Nm torque 0-100kmph in 8.6s (manufacturer claim VW UK)

EcoTune, stock for stock it not looking like a win for the Jetta. Like I mentioned earlier, I feel Honda being very conservative with the actual output of their motor or that CVT is super efficient.

Just for kicks:

Reason why I included the 6MT Juke is because that's how Massy imported them in the earlies. I for sure would like to see a 4-way race (bone stock) of these cars locally. Again, the Civic stands out with the least torque.

I wanna see chaos Civic vs a stock Jetta please someone organize this and post a YT vid.

How does power to weight ratio factor in.... Civics are usually alot lighter than the Euros due to build quality/materials etc.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 28th, 2016, 9:57 pm

Just putting it out there that if you gonna compare things on paper make sure you do better research. The U.K. Jetta no longer uses the twincharger so the specs you quoted don't apply locally.

Saint5

Postby Saint5 » September 29th, 2016, 1:45 am

cinco wrote:If it's any consolation the engine we get is actually listed in the sales brochure as an option so it's not just a "lewwe send this to dem third world people" there is a slightly refreshed facelifted 2017 model but no idea when we will get it locally.
Personally I will say the current version is more than adequate and I wouldn't wait on the skyactiv version because the only skyactiv engines listed for the 3 are the 2.0 and 2.5 while they would be mounds better due to our retarded mvt the price would be prohibitive

The facelifted 2017 models are out at the dealerships. Seen it first hand looks good not any great difference. They do also come in 1.5 skyactiv, a couple countries like the philippines carry these models. ahh well.

I saw about 2 roro companies selling the Mazda 3 (Axela) 2.0L Hybrid for like 156k 2014 model. Not sure how i feel about that lol.

Thanks for the advice tho. :)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 29th, 2016, 5:31 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Just putting it out there that if you gonna compare things on paper make sure you do better research. The U.K. Jetta no longer uses the twincharger so the specs you quoted don't apply locally.

I did not know that. I was like damn, I got concerned there for a bit that this may be the updated 1.4 but I guess you cleared up that. I removed the uk spec.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 29th, 2016, 11:18 am

Gladiator wrote:
acesinghit wrote:The fun part:

148hp; 250Nm torque 0-100kmph in 8.6s (manufacturer claim VW UK)

Just for kicks:

How does power to weight ratio factor in.... Civics are usually alot lighter than the Euros due to build quality/materials etc.

Civic turbo is around 2800 pounds. Anyone remember the weight of our 1.4 TSI jetta here?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 29th, 2016, 12:26 pm

I got 2899-2910lbs GVW for 1.5t according to American Honda.
Car and driver got 2924lbs.
Honda Australia posted 1331kg or 2934lbs.

The autoevolution site posted 3042lbs for the Jetta but VW Australia says 1335kg which is 2943lbs.

Appears the Jetta is marginally heavier.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 29th, 2016, 2:08 pm

My certified copy says weight of Jetta was 1360 kg but I don't believe any of the figures posted online weight wise. Too many variations with respect to equipment. Manual transmissions weigh less than automatic. 7 speed dsg less than 6 speed, diesel engines heavier than gasoline, dry weight vs wet etc but when the weights are posted no one posts the actual configuration of the vehicle. The manufacturers themselves even post conflicting info. I highly doubt my car was weighed locally to get that figure.

If I had to guess I'd expect the 1.5T civic to do 0-60 mph in 8 sec or around there. 0-62 mph in 8.3 sec.

Postby eliteauto » September 29th, 2016, 3:22 pm

you guys take life very seriously

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 29th, 2016, 3:53 pm

eliteauto wrote:you guys take life very seriously

Make this thread great again. Buy ah new car and tell us about it.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 29th, 2016, 4:52 pm

^^^ nobody have money to buy a new car

Postby Morpheus » September 29th, 2016, 5:04 pm

Worse yet after tomorrow lol

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 29th, 2016, 5:43 pm

Put up with a tuner you trust and buy a new car.

Postby eliteauto » September 29th, 2016, 7:33 pm

2.3L turbo and 5.0L

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » September 29th, 2016, 8:20 pm

Why buy a 2.3 'stang ewwww :/

That 5.0 price gonna be crazy tho

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 29th, 2016, 8:28 pm

eliteauto wrote:Image

2.3L turbo and 5.0L

Who is that Ansa or Maska?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 29th, 2016, 8:55 pm

drchaos wrote:

2.3L turbo and 5.0L

Who is that Ansa or Maska?

Someone posted in the Spotters Thread that it's Ansa.

Postby gastly369 » September 29th, 2016, 9:23 pm

eurotuner wrote:Why buy a 2.3 'stang ewwww :/

Red one passed me a day... sound like a Almera...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 29th, 2016, 9:30 pm

gastly369 wrote:
eurotuner wrote:Why buy a 2.3 'stang ewwww :/

Red one passed me a day... sound like a Almera...

Well if you driving an almera it only makes sense that you will hear almera noises.

baigan

Postby baigan » September 29th, 2016, 10:19 pm

2.3L turbo and 5.0L

Nice

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 30th, 2016, 7:36 am

Someone put on FB that the 5.0 is around 1.2 mil.

Postby gastly369 » September 30th, 2016, 7:40 am

Eh eh doh get wax izza qg18 eh orrr ..wood finish special edition

baigan

Postby baigan » September 30th, 2016, 9:44 am

drchaos wrote:Someone put on FB that the 5.0 is around 1.2 mil.

Wtf who would pay 1.2 mil for a mustang...lol

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2016, 9:48 am

baigan wrote:

A Govnt Minister with the Duty Exemptions would get of these for a good price though.
I could see Colm sitting on a Graco Booster seat going down the foreshore in one of these.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 30th, 2016, 10:12 am

baigan wrote:

A Govnt Minister with the Duty Exemptions would get of these for a good price though.
I could see Colm sitting on a Graco Booster seat going down the foreshore in one of these.