T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby cinco » September 25th, 2016, 3:49 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
warrenc_alexis wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Corolla

I would have strongly considered a corolla but I want bluetooth and no steel rims for my budget.

The new corollas still don't come with Bluetooth and alloys? I haven't checked the showroom in a couple years but the majority of corollas I see now have alloys at least.

How about Mazda 3 then? Looks great and I believe it comes with all that you asking for.

Only the loaded Mazda 3 has the Bluetooth and alloys last price was 189 don't know if the price went up

drchaos

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby drchaos » September 25th, 2016, 3:57 pm

My 2 cents is go with the new elantra

warrenc_alexis

Postby warrenc_alexis » September 25th, 2016, 4:09 pm

The basic Nissan Sentra has alloys?

baigan

Postby baigan » September 25th, 2016, 4:45 pm

warrenc_alexis wrote:The basic Nissan Sentra has alloys?

Not sure but just saw this on Facebook. Image

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 25th, 2016, 5:07 pm

Sentra is the last vehicle in its class to be sporting drum brakes at the back.

Postby Dave » September 25th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Base model Sentra has alloys. What is the problem with drum brakes if as effective as disc all round?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 25th, 2016, 5:35 pm

Its actually working better than disc but overheats faster and ends up with more brake fade.
Its really old tech and should cost significantly less than what that sentra is going for.

aidan

Postby aidan » September 25th, 2016, 5:47 pm

That elantra is good value for money. My padna buy one recently for his wife. I'm not a big fan of Korean cars,but the elantra take win for looks and value. Let's see how it holds up.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 25th, 2016, 5:53 pm

I might personally go with the Elantra if I had the choice... Looks decent.

Postby Dave » September 25th, 2016, 6:25 pm

The tech where pad material has reached there isn't a need for a disc combo on an econo vehicle.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 25th, 2016, 6:51 pm

Top choices for me in that price range are in my order of preference are:
1. Mazda 3
2. Corolla
3. Focus
4. Cerato/Elantra
5. Lancer/Sentra

Can't go wrong with either in terms of longevity.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 25th, 2016, 7:08 pm

Nah nah hoss you put the Focus as number 3? They drive really well But!

The DCT on them Focus is warranty work waiting to happen ... and the overall build quality of those Fords is a disaster. A driver at work owned one ... pieces kept falling off the thing, the ford logo, under-body plastic trim and plastics breaking on the inside.

scotty_buttons

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby scotty_buttons » September 25th, 2016, 7:19 pm

drchaos wrote:Nah nah hoss you put the Focus as number 3? They drive really well But!

The DCT on them Focus is warranty work waiting to happen ... and the overall build quality of those Fords is a disaster. A driver at work owned one ... pieces kept falling off the thing, the ford logo, under-body plastic trim and plastics breaking on the inside.

Lol. Colleague did 80k km with a focus so far and DCT going strong.
I agree with the plastic interior and trim. Nothing broke though. Neither in my sister's fiesta with almost 65k km on it. And she abuses that thing. Nothing broke in the interior either. And that has more plastic than the focus!
Only reason I have it as no. 3 there is the driving experience and personally haven't come across anyone having problems with them.. *shrug*
Plus I not totally sold on Korean company counterparts. Not Yet at least.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 25th, 2016, 7:31 pm

drchaos wrote:Nah nah hoss you put the Focus as number 3? They drive really well But!

My partner's girlfriend has a Focus..less than 15,000km on the dash, and it mysteriously shut down the other day..refused to restart..not sure if the problem was resolved yet. I'm guessing that why McEnearney has incorporated free labour or free parts I think when you purchase their vehicles because they anticipate problems..the new Rangers (2.2L especially) were chock full of somewhat minor issues, and the sad thing is, a hardware issue is relatively easy to troubleshoot (I heard 'so and so' noise before so and so took place) ad opposed to a software issue that causes you to randomly shut down in less than desirable places..

neexis

Postby neexis » September 25th, 2016, 8:46 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Top choices for me in that price range are in my order of preference are:
1. Mazda 3
2. Corolla
3. Focus
4. Cerato/Elantra
5. Lancer/Sentra

Can't go wrong with either in terms of longevity.

I might actually take that Elantra over the Corolla. Not sold 100% on the Koreans, but that Corolla is just overpriced for what it is. Plus TTTL service.. meh

Saint5

Postby Saint5 » September 25th, 2016, 9:12 pm

So i have been skimming through the trend looking for do's and don't in buying vehicles. I am looking for a new vehicle and so far i have boiled down to:

1. Mazda 3 (supposedly 2017 models)(fully loaded)
2. Elantra 2017 (high grade)

Not sure if you guys know but recently i spoke with the Mazda sales rep and she mentioned the cars are now 195k fully loaded (think you guys need to update the price tag on the front page. lol). The Elantra high grade models are 215k.

Really want at least 5-7 years out of it.

You guys seems really knowledgeable in here so want some advice on which i should decide on. Has anyone had experience with the new Mazda 3 and how they perform. I was told that the previous versions felt sluggish also want some clarification and with regards to maintenance (any problems) and availability of parts and so on. Mazda brand over the years? Also with regards to Elantra's how they perform and maintiance and so on. Maintenance of 2 vehicles after the warranty is over?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 25th, 2016, 9:16 pm

Go test drive both yourself.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 26th, 2016, 9:19 am

drchaos wrote:Sentra is the last vehicle in its class to be sporting drum brakes at the back.

The majority of new Lancers (and there are quite a lot on the roads) have drum brakes in the rear.

Postby Morpheus » September 26th, 2016, 9:30 am

That "new Lancer" is new since 2007 eh.....
Gotta take that into account.

baigan

Postby baigan » September 26th, 2016, 12:48 pm

Saint5 wrote:So i have been skimming through the trend looking for do's and don't in buying vehicles. I am looking for a new vehicle and so far i have boiled down to:

Not sure if you guys know but recently i spoke with the Mazda sales rep and she mentioned the cars are now 195k fully loaded (think you guys need to update the price tag on the front page. lol). The Elantra high grade models are 215k.

You guys seems really knowledgeable in here so want some advice on which i should decide on. Has anyone had experience with the new Mazda 3 and how they perform. I was told that the previous versions felt sluggish also want some clarification and with regards to maintenance (any problems) and availability of parts and so on. Mazda brand over the years? Also with regards to Elantra's how they perform and maintiance and so on. Maintenance of 2 vehicles after the warranty is over?

Get the Mazda 3

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » September 26th, 2016, 1:22 pm

Saint5 wrote:So i have been skimming through the trend looking for do's and don't in buying vehicles. I am looking for a new vehicle and so far i have boiled down to:

I got myself the 2016 Mazda 3 a few months ago , I opted for the hatch for 210 at the time fully loaded. No complaints/ problems at all it and it doesn't feel sluggish in the slightest to me.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 26th, 2016, 1:45 pm

pyromaniax wrote:

I got myself the 2016 Mazda 3 a few months ago , I opted for the hatch for 210 at the time fully loaded. No complaints/ problems at all it and it doesn't feel sluggish in the slightest to me.

What did you drive before? If your last vehicles was around 110 HP then yeah would feel normal.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » September 26th, 2016, 2:10 pm

drchaos wrote:
pyromaniax wrote:

What did you drive before? If your last vehicles was around 110 HP then yeah would feel normal.

2012 Tucson, but I mean the mazda 3 felt as it should for that class range of car imo.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 26th, 2016, 6:14 pm

drchaos wrote:Sentra is the last vehicle in its class to be sporting drum brakes at the back.

The majority of new Lancers (and there are quite a lot on the roads) have drum brakes in the rear.

Saw em in the showroom today, the low end model has drum but the high end one has disc's all round.

Postby cinco » September 26th, 2016, 6:35 pm

The Mazda 3 is solid and personally I find it sluggish. The chassis is superb a larger engine would be perfect. The engine and transmission are largely unchanged since the first gen Mazda 3 so basically you have around 13 years of history in a solid engine and tranny.
Unless they started bringing the skyactiv engines which I doubt

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 26th, 2016, 7:14 pm

Yup still that 1.6 with a 4 speed. The Skyactiv 1.5 is not that much different in terms of HP but with 2 more gears, less internal friction and a lighter engine and tranny should feel a little bit peppier.

Postby cinco » September 26th, 2016, 7:58 pm

drchaos wrote:Yup still that 1.6 with a 4 speed. The Skyactiv 1.5 is not that much different in terms of HP but with 2 more gears, less internal friction and a lighter engine and tranny should feel a little bit peppier.

It's a handful in the 2 I can tell you that

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 26th, 2016, 8:22 pm

What new car in that bracket isn't "sluggish"? They all pretty much come with the same size engine, hp and torque.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 26th, 2016, 8:30 pm

cinco wrote:
drchaos wrote:Yup still that 1.6 with a 4 speed. The Skyactiv 1.5 is not that much different in terms of HP but with 2 more gears, less internal friction and a lighter engine and tranny should feel a little bit peppier.

It's a handful in the 2 I can tell you that

How is the experience so far with that Mazda 2?

Postby cinco » September 26th, 2016, 8:31 pm

So far so good with the 2 zippy engine and handling