T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby drchaos » September 20th, 2016, 5:28 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote::| Do people know that you should drive a dual clutch transmission in a similar manner to a conventional manual transmission and NOT like an automatic transmission? For example, don't creep along in traffic with a DCT as that slips the clutch leading to increased clutch wear.

What problems are being encountered locally with the DCTs?

Even with seasoned men like Allergic doing right by his DCT it still failing. So yes the advice in that video should increase the lifespan of your DCT and its consumable parts but it should not be failing within 4 years of ownership, thats a major design flaw.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 20th, 2016, 5:53 pm

carluva wrote:
neexis wrote:
carluva wrote:Keep your money and keep your van. Dont Waste on a new vehicle just because. 300 k is alot of money for a car and u seem to have one already. Be content and dont be tempted by these car salesmen.

Whats the price on the B8 Passat?
I was at VW this morning but there was none in the showroom.

They probably park up in the service bay :D :D :D

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby kamakazi » September 20th, 2016, 9:33 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote::| Do people know that you should drive a dual clutch transmission in a similar manner to a conventional manual transmission and NOT like an automatic transmission? For example, don't creep along in traffic with a DCT as that slips the clutch leading to increased clutch wear.

What problems are being encountered locally with the DCTs?

That example isn't smart... Slowly moving forward in traffic in a manual is a lot easier as 1st gear is pretty short and it can usually be engaged fully in traffic.
I would say a DCT transmission is similar to driving an older Honda automatic (with the electronically controlled shifting). It has a clutch pack per forward gear and it tries to predict what the driver is doing and as such can be "caught out" in the wrong gear.

Really thought Audi might have been able to sort out the DCT in the VW group

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 20th, 2016, 9:47 pm

Just be aware that you want to avoid the dry clutch DCT's in general. Not all DCT's are bad.

The wet clutch DCT's are amazing and reliable from VW group. Know a few people with tiguans with the 6 speed DQ250 and nil problems, one of them has a 7 year old tiguan and without any warranty/goodwill claims.
Drove a A5 for a week with a 6 speed wet clutch and it was bess! Responsive and so much smoother than the dry clutch system. In heavy traffic though with enough stop and go you start to feel the engagement of the clutch get rougher.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 21st, 2016, 8:08 am

Allu fellars will be able to hold off the Koreans for only so long. They working on their sportiness, the elantra will have a warm/hot version with a 1.6 turbo, revised suspension and some other cool stuff by the end of the year for the american market then later on for the world.

I remember when Trini's used to frown at samsung electronics and only running down Sony, now its the reverse.

Postby Dave » September 21st, 2016, 2:18 pm

Take it easy fellas....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 21st, 2016, 8:02 pm

Not bad at all

carluva

Postby carluva » September 21st, 2016, 8:30 pm

Weeeee papa!!!!!!!

Gad oye!!!!!!

Allyuh biting Jed! Dese a real soap opera here.... Better dan choti bahu! All we missing is some dramatic music.

Lemme ask sumpin dat might pull us back onto the caption of dis forum... Anyone have any experience with a Honda stepwgn or know any details bout it? I saw one on the road; looks cool but I don't know much about it? Any thoughts?

neexis

Postby neexis » September 21st, 2016, 9:24 pm

drchaos wrote:Allu fellars will be able to hold off the Koreans for only so long. They working on their sportiness, the elantra will have a warm/hot version with a 1.6 turbo, revised suspension and some other cool stuff by the end of the year for the american market then later on for the world.

I remember when Trini's used to frown at samsung electronics and only running down Sony, now its the reverse.

Allu better wait for da 1.6T Elantra instead of that Civic then

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 21st, 2016, 10:53 pm

neexis wrote:
drchaos wrote:Allu fellars will be able to hold off the Koreans for only so long. They working on their sportiness, the elantra will have a warm/hot version with a 1.6 turbo, revised suspension and some other cool stuff by the end of the year for the american market then later on for the world.

Allu better wait for da 1.6T Elantra instead of that Civic then

Nah boy need another car now so will probably go with the civic.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 21st, 2016, 11:09 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:

Not bad at all

Yes just like how the A3 is not bad as well.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 24th, 2016, 7:24 pm

Saw the new civic on the road today. Sorry no pics. Looked like the turbo model judging from the wheel style.
Exterior is polarizing for sure. Not sure how I feel about it. Somehow it's not what I expected from the pics. It's either you love it or hate it . Wheels too small for the body.. but definitely not a subtle looking thing.

Postby cinco » September 24th, 2016, 8:03 pm

The rear lights on the civic confuse me. Why it so high up over the trunk for no reason?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 24th, 2016, 8:06 pm

Any particular reason why they should not be high up over the trunk?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 24th, 2016, 8:48 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Saw the new civic on the road today. Sorry no pics. Looked like the turbo model judging from the wheel style.
Exterior is polarizing for sure. Not sure how I feel about it. Somehow it's not what I expected from the pics. It's either you love it or hate it . Wheels too small for the body.. but definitely not a subtle looking thing.

Honestly I love the look, but I agree ... both models get 16 inch wheels and that's too small in this segment.

What I don't like as well is the headlights ... yellow halogens with very white LED DRL's look incomplete and like they cheaped out.

Besides those two things rest is pretty good!

scotty_buttons

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby scotty_buttons » September 24th, 2016, 9:14 pm

cinco wrote:The rear lights on the civic confuse me. Why it so high up over the trunk for no reason?

I totally agree. In pictures i thought it looked great. In person, meh.

Otherwise the lines look good. Definitely more dynamic than the last three models.

warrenc_alexis

Postby warrenc_alexis » September 25th, 2016, 11:57 am

I've been reading this thread off and on trying to learn what to look out for when buying a vehicle. I've read that Korean vehicles have more features for cheaper, Jap vehicles have less features for price but may last more years etc. Now i'm reading about cvt giving trouble.

So to cut a long story short the wife and I looking to buy a new sedan <190K hopefully. We need something with good leg room because I'm tall, if the rear seats can fold down it would be a plus, i want factory bluetooth, I would really prefer it not to come with steel rims and we may keep this vehicle for 10 years so it needs to be easy to maintain beyond the warranty period.

Does this mean I have to buy an Elantra or Cruze (no SS cerato)?? Which ones should we check out???
Last edited by warrenc_alexis on September 25th, 2016, 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 25th, 2016, 12:01 pm

Corolla

Postby j.o.e » September 25th, 2016, 12:10 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Corolla

This especially with regards to 10 year ownership

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 25th, 2016, 12:55 pm

Stay far away from the Cruze. The ones we are getting are from South Korea.

baigan

Postby baigan » September 25th, 2016, 1:01 pm

warrenc_alexis wrote:I've been reading this thread off and on trying to learn what to look out for when buying a vehicle. I've read that Korean vehicles have more features for cheaper, Jap vehicles have less features for price but may last more years etc. Now i'm reading about cvt giving trouble.

So to cut a long story short the wife and I to buy a new sedan <190K hopefully. We need something with good leg room because I'm tall, if the rear seats can fold down it would be a plus, i want factory bluetooth, I would really prefer it not to come with steel rims and we may keep this vehicle for 10 years so it needs to be easy maintain beyond the warranty period.

Does this mean I have to buy an Elantra or Cruze (no SS cerato)?? Which ones should be check out???

Does it have to be brand new or would you consider roro ?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 25th, 2016, 1:59 pm

warrenc_alexis wrote:So to cut a long story short the wife and I to buy a new sedan <190K hopefully. We need something with good leg room because I'm tall, if the rear seats can fold down it would be a plus, i want factory bluetooth, I would really prefer it not to come with steel rims and we may keep this vehicle for 10 years so it needs to be easy maintain beyond the warranty period.

Does this mean I have to buy an Elantra or Cruze (no SS cerato)?? Which ones should be check out???

From personal experience, Hyundais will last 10 years easily with no real issues. You can easily import most OEM parts from the USA at a much lower cost than what Massy Motors sells the same parts for.

At a 10 year base line, my 10 year old Mitsubishi Lancer cost me more to maintain than my 10 year old Hyundai Accent. Both cars were purchased new from the respective local dealers and serviced by the dealers during the warranty period. My Hyundai Coupe, again purchased new from the local dealer, will be going on 10 years this year and the only recurring problem I have had is the ABS sensor mounted on the wheel hub. I have had to change that a couple times since I have had the car. All you have to do is follow the manufacturer's maintenance schedule and reliability should not be an issue.

If you are keeping the car for 10 years, re-sale value of a Japanese brand would not be all that greater than the Korean brand. When I sold the Accent after 10 years of ownership and 343,000km of running it, I got $22,000 for it after paying $69,000 for it new. That wasn't too bad for a Korean car.

The only advantage with the Japanese brand is the re-sale value based on the false perceptions people have about reliability with the Korean brands (I could give enough horror stories about my personal experiences with having to maintain Mazdas and Mitsubishis). Look at the life cycle cost of owning the car rather than the initial capital cost when making your decision.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 25th, 2016, 2:37 pm

Koreans offering 5,7 and 10 year drive train warranties in some markets and its more or less the same cars we are getting, same assembly lines in Korea.

warrenc_alexis

Postby warrenc_alexis » September 25th, 2016, 2:59 pm

baigan wrote:
warrenc_alexis wrote:I've been reading this thread off and on trying to learn what to look out for when buying a vehicle. I've read that Korean vehicles have more features for cheaper, Jap vehicles have less features for price but may last more years etc. Now i'm reading about cvt giving trouble.

So to cut a long story short the wife and I to buy a new sedan <190K hopefully. We need something with good leg room because I'm tall, if the rear seats can fold down it would be a plus, i want factory bluetooth, I would really prefer it not to come with steel rims and we may keep this vehicle for 10 years so it needs to be easy maintain beyond the warranty period.

Does it have to be brand new or would you consider roro ?

I may only buy roro if the budget cant buy new. And if so Im only considering a fielder or sentra.

warrenc_alexis

Postby warrenc_alexis » September 25th, 2016, 3:03 pm

I would have strongly considered a corolla but I want bluetooth and no steel rims for my budget.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 25th, 2016, 3:09 pm

warrenc_alexis wrote:

I would have strongly considered a corolla but I want bluetooth and no steel rims for my budget.

The new corollas still don't come with Bluetooth and alloys? I haven't checked the showroom in a couple years but the majority of corollas I see now have alloys at least.

How about Mazda 3 then? Looks great and I believe it comes with all that you asking for.

warrenc_alexis

Postby warrenc_alexis » September 25th, 2016, 3:17 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
warrenc_alexis wrote:

The new corollas still don't come with Bluetooth and alloys? I haven't checked the showroom in a couple years but the majority of corollas I see now have alloys at least.

How about Mazda 3 then? Looks great and I believe it comes with all that you asking for.

I can't confirm about the Corolla features either. I will try to find out.

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » September 25th, 2016, 3:18 pm

I'm certain mid spec & fully loaded Corolla comes with BT & alloys

kjaglal76v2

Re: RE: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 25th, 2016, 3:47 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
cinco wrote:The rear lights on the civic confuse me. Why it so high up over the trunk for no reason?

I totally agree. In pictures i thought it looked great. In person, meh.

Otherwise the lines look good. Definitely more dynamic than the last three models.

Saw it yesterday heading east, front looks good, side & back is fugly

baigan

Postby baigan » September 25th, 2016, 3:48 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
warrenc_alexis wrote:

^ I agree with bunny
The Mazda 3 seems like a nice option
Both the sedan and the hatch.