T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

EcoTune Trinidad

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » September 19th, 2016, 8:58 pm

Its also waay bigger than outgoing model...interior design is up market and now has 180hp

carluva

Postby carluva » September 19th, 2016, 9:12 pm

Looks aight, but a bit like lipstick on a pig, with that transmission and all... Or more like a good looking woman with a std - good to look at but you eh wanna go poking round with her.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 19th, 2016, 10:34 pm

carluva wrote:Looks aight, but a bit like lipstick on a pig, with that transmission and all... Or more like a good looking woman with a std - good to look at but you eh wanna go poking round with her.

What if that STD was curable with a course of some good antibiotics? Would you go poking around then?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 19th, 2016, 11:01 pm

I gave up on VW a year ago but this Passat speaking to me like that calm inner voice saying "come to me". When comparing this sedan to the likes of a starter 318i, C180 and the A4 1.8T you get a lot of power, equipment and interior space for the price but damn that transmission. Sales reps saying VW improved it but not sure if it worth the risk. Is it worth adding another 110k for a customized C180 with AMG kit and panoramic roof etc? I leave that up to you all to decide. If I were sedan shopping now I'll take my chances with a loaded Kia Optima for less than $300k and see if this latest science from South Korea can satisfy those champagne taste and mauby budget people like myself lol. Meanwhile I am somewhat enjoying this np300.....despite being an otherwise very lackluster vehicle my fuel bill got cut in half and I'm aging so I'm thinking just screw it and leave alluh young professionals to buy them fancy car. Meanwhile I'm focusing on increasing my savings for retirement and then you hear people like my Pastor which on Sunday gone saying well the world almost over and prepare for the 2nd coming. If that's the case then the little I have saved including my annuity plan would be worthless in apocalyptic times. So back to square one.....say screw it and buy or hush and keep meh 4x2 van. Decisions :|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 19th, 2016, 11:29 pm

Stopped reading at Kia

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 20th, 2016, 12:10 am

Does anyone know how/why Audi automatic transmissions seem to last longer than their VW counterparts. How similar are they and has Audi revised them after observing its shortcomings. I bring this up as in the past Audi has retuned VW mills to produce more power than everyone else in the group. I also hear less complaints from Audi owners... It could be that there are less of them but I want to believe Audi worked some trickery here or it could be a different type of transmission altogether

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 20th, 2016, 12:42 am

Bunny I hate to swallow my words but it appears that HKAG can school the VAG on product quality now as seen in some JD Power ratings. Take a look at this Camry killer below and you all be the judge:

Postby Morpheus » September 20th, 2016, 2:53 am

Plenty people sleeping on Hyundai/KIA......

I myself won't buy one brand new just yet. But I won't just write them off.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 20th, 2016, 5:46 am

kamakazi wrote:Does anyone know how/why Audi automatic transmissions seem to last longer than their VW counterparts. How similar are they and has Audi revised them after observing its shortcomings. I bring this up as in the past Audi has retuned VW mills to produce more power than everyone else in the group. I also hear less complaints from Audi owners... It could be that there are less of them but I want to believe Audi worked some trickery here or it could be a different type of transmission altogether

My guess is Audi implemented the DCT's a bit later than VW. When VW were sending DSG's down here, Audi was still using Multitronic CVT; even so when they started using the S-Tronic, it was mostly a 6 speed wet clutch.
They use some DQ200 as well, but it's probably a newer revision.

I dunno bout you, but I've still heard of and read about transmission problems (non DCT) from some older model Audi's.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 20th, 2016, 6:18 am

drchaos wrote:
carluva wrote:Looks aight, but a bit like lipstick on a pig, with that transmission and all... Or more like a good looking woman with a std - good to look at but you eh wanna go poking round with her.

What if that STD was curable with a course of some good antibiotics? Would you go poking around then?

maybe... But dais for the std. I doubt they could cure that dq200 transmission. Lol

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 20th, 2016, 6:18 am

kamakazi wrote:Does anyone know how/why Audi automatic transmissions seem to last longer than their VW counterparts. How similar are they and has Audi revised them after observing its shortcomings. I bring this up as in the past Audi has retuned VW mills to produce more power than everyone else in the group. I also hear less complaints from Audi owners... It could be that there are less of them but I want to believe Audi worked some trickery here or it could be a different type of transmission altogether

It's not that they use the same transmission. You have to look specifically at what version each car comes with. Audi A3 comes with a dq200. The A1 comes with a dq200. They don't sell in large numbers here so chances of you hearing an Audi owner with these transmissions is lower but if you check forums abroad they have the exact same issues because it's the exact same transmissions.

A4 used cvt up until very recently but it's not like they were spotless years ago. Transmission control unit in the b6 has a known fault that caused misery for many owners. The issue was subsequently fixed in the b7 but it's the same cvt they been selling for years so it's possible the exact same scenario will occur with the newer dq200 with the b8 passat...or not. Only time will tell.

Audi generally uses their engines in a longitudinal orientation and thus they generally use different dsg versions altogether. Engines tuned to put out more power too so they usually also go with wet clutch dsg or use tried and trusted normal automatic transmissions e.g. 8 speed from zf.

You basically have to dig deeper than Audi transmissions lasting longer because the VW with the same make up acts in the same way. The problematic versions shared between the two also act in the same way.

carluva

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby carluva » September 20th, 2016, 6:28 am

acesinghit wrote:I gave up on VW a year ago but this Passat speaking to me like that calm inner voice saying "come to me". :|

That's the devil tempting u with the VW apple... DON'T DO IT. KEEP YOUR FAITH!!!

acesinghit wrote:I Sales reps saying VW improved :|

Yeah right. Change the lights, add some length, some new interior, 20 more hp but the guts still same as the old one. Improve what the eye can see but what the eye cant see remains bleh.

Keep your money and keep your van. Dont Waste on a new vehicle just because. 300 k is alot of money for a car and u seem to have one already. Be content and dont be tempted by these car salesmen.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 20th, 2016, 8:02 am

Audi people are way less vocal than VW people.

shottah_crew

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby shottah_crew » September 20th, 2016, 8:06 am

drchaos wrote:

Audi people are way less vocal than VW people.

And they have more to complain about...SS is usually top of the list.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 20th, 2016, 8:14 am

Chevy Cruze trannies seem to failing in large numbers but hardly any mention of that on these forums.

VW tranny failures seem to be mentioned over and over again in multiple threads.

VW owners tend to be more vocal, sometimes more passionate about their cars vs other brands. As humble mechanic on youtube says, VW is a very polarized brand and you either love it or hate it with not many people in between.

Turbo

Postby Turbo » September 20th, 2016, 9:12 am

acesinghit wrote:I gave up on VW a year ago but this Passat speaking to me like that calm inner voice saying "come to me". When comparing this sedan to the likes of a starter 318i, C180 and the A4 1.8T you get a lot of power, equipment and interior space for the price but damn that transmission. Sales reps saying VW improved it but not sure if it worth the risk. Is it worth adding another 110k for a customized C180 with AMG kit and panoramic roof etc? I leave that up to you all to decide. If I were sedan shopping now I'll take my chances with a loaded Kia Optima for less than $300k and see if this latest science from South Korea can satisfy those champagne taste and mauby budget people like myself lol. Meanwhile I am somewhat enjoying this np300.....despite being an otherwise very lackluster vehicle my fuel bill got cut in half and I'm aging so I'm thinking just screw it and leave alluh young professionals to buy them fancy car. Meanwhile I'm focusing on increasing my savings for retirement and then you hear people like my Pastor which on Sunday gone saying well the world almost over and prepare for the 2nd coming. If that's the case then the little I have saved including my annuity plan would be worthless in apocalyptic times. So back to square one.....say screw it and buy or hush and keep meh 4x2 van. Decisions :|

This is some fine wisdom!

.........in the latter of your case take your savings and get one ah them last HOO-RAA Landy Discoveries......final days ting nah :lol:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 20th, 2016, 9:29 am

drchaos wrote:Chevy Cruze trannies seem to failing in large numbers but hardly any mention of that on these forums.

VW tranny failures seem to be mentioned over and over again in multiple threads.

VW owners tend to be more vocal, sometimes more passionate about their cars vs other brands. As humble mechanic on youtube says, VW is a very polarized brand and you either love it or hate it with not many people in between.

Maybe because there isn't a unifying thread on here for Cruze owners OR simply Cruzes sell in lower numbers. To be fair VW didn't have alot of complaints on this board for older models either but they also weren't selling as much as they are now and they certainly didn't have the performance the current models have either to draw those numbers.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 20th, 2016, 11:29 am

carluva wrote:Keep your money and keep your van. Dont Waste on a new vehicle just because. 300 k is alot of money for a car and u seem to have one already. Be content and dont be tempted by these car salesmen.

Whats the price on the B8 Passat?
I was at VW this morning but there was none in the showroom.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 20th, 2016, 12:06 pm

Turbo, one of the car magazines did a test on the best 4x4 SUV for apocalyptic end times and iirc, the Toyota Land Cruiser V8 won. Closest thing to that down here is a Prado and Fortuner I guess most of us are screwed lol.

Anyway, VW locally since the year 2000 with the introduction of the PBH Bora 1.6 models had a rocky start. Older Audis were horrible and let us not forget the horror stories from camp Renault, Citroen, Peugeot, Fiat, Opel (including the rebranded ones as Chevy), Rover and Seat. The return of Ford to our market was rocky as well. They gave us the Escort and those cars failed, in fact, owners formed a group and demanded their money back so the dealership gathered the cars and replaced them with the Mazda made Laser which was a clone to the BJ 323 protege. When they replaced that with the Focus that too had plenty issues including transmission failure.

Fast forward to 2016 and I'm not surprised to read of some Cruze transmissions failing because the Focus 6 speed dual clutch also has a high failure rate. It is a fact that all dealerships here have occurrences of transmission failures and in some cases we are pointing blame to the manufacturer but it also has to do with our tropical climate and how we drive the vehicle. Heat can be a problem and jackass driving is an obvious killer on your tranny. If we all made new vehicle decision making based on current ownership feedback then chances are only 2 cars will be in our garages and that is the AE111 Corolla with 4a-fe engine and the B14 Sentra with the GA16DE.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 20th, 2016, 12:21 pm

True, almost all manufactures are introducing newer transmission tech at this point which will have reliability issues.
Hyundai, Ford, VW into dry clutch DCT's now
Honda, Subaru, Nissan and Toyota's have moved/moving to CVT tech

Mazda, Mitsu, Suzuki are the last holdouts with traditional automatics.
Have read of some Skyactiv transmission failures in the states and Asia/Oceania tho, it does have some fancy tech in it as well, does not seem to be happening in high frequency tho.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 20th, 2016, 12:28 pm

Chaos I understand that some roro corollas (Axio and fielder etc) have a high transmission failure rate. Even roro Tiida and Wingroad etc with these CVT units many are not holding out. I once criticized TTTL for bringing in the new Corollas with this dated 4-speed auto but perhaps there is actually a good reason why they are doing that. Even the local Tiida from massy came regular 4 speed auto and those tiida transmissions holding out better than the CVT units. I could be overthinking this but I cannot question the reasons why manufacturers send a certain spec of their vehicles in our market. One would think they would have done some due diligence checks on quality of our air, surface temps, traffic conditions and fuel quality etc. begs the question, are some people really taking a gamble in buying a roro car designed for the JDM and subjecting it to our climate/road conditions.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 20th, 2016, 12:56 pm

acesinghit wrote:Turbo, one of the car magazines did a test on the best 4x4 SUV for apocalyptic end times and iirc, the Toyota Land Cruiser V8 won. Closest thing to that down here is a Prado and Fortuner I guess most of us are screwed lol.

Anyway, VW locally since the year 2000 with the introduction of the PBH Bora 1.6 models had a rocky start. Older Audis were horrible and let us not forget the horror stories from camp Renault, Citroen, Peugeot, Fiat, Opel (including the rebranded ones as Chevy), Rover and Seat. The return of Ford to our market was rocky as well. They gave us the Escort and those cars failed, in fact, owners formed a group and demanded their money back so the dealership gathered the cars and replaced them with the Mazda made Laser which was a clone to the BJ 323 protege. When they replaced that with the Focus that too had plenty issues including transmission failure.

Fast forward to 2016 and I'm not surprised to read of some Cruze transmissions failing because the Focus 6 speed dual clutch also has a high failure rate. It is a fact that all dealerships here have occurrences of transmission failures and in some cases we are pointing blame to the manufacturer but it also has to do with our tropical climate and how we drive the vehicle. Heat can be a problem and jackass driving is an obvious killer on your tranny. If we all made new vehicle decision making based on current ownership feedback then chances are only 2 cars will be in our garages and that is the AE111 Corolla with 4a-fe engine and the B14 Sentra with the GA16DE.

Cruze does not have a dual clutch so no relation to the Focus. The Cruze has a slushbox automatic with torque converter and the issue is the transmission control unit. Not a thing to do with the type of transmission.

Tropical climate has nothing to do with failure rate. Only bad designs. Driving style has nothing to do with failure rate. Only bad designs. Cars are driven in significantly harsher climates than what we have here and they hold up. I honestly don't know where you get these bits of info but you need to stop posting them as if they are facts.

Postby eliteauto » September 20th, 2016, 1:07 pm

even the opening comment is untrue as the Land cruiser is available locally

baigan

Postby baigan » September 20th, 2016, 1:37 pm

acesinghit wrote:I gave up on VW a year ago but this Passat speaking to me like that calm inner voice saying "come to me". When comparing this sedan to the likes of a starter 318i, C180 and the A4 1.8T you get a lot of power, equipment and interior space for the price but damn that transmission. Sales reps saying VW improved it but not sure if it worth the risk. Is it worth adding another 110k for a customized C180 with AMG kit and panoramic roof etc? I leave that up to you all to decide. If I were sedan shopping now I'll take my chances with a loaded Kia Optima for less than $300k and see if this latest science from South Korea can satisfy those champagne taste and mauby budget people like myself lol. Meanwhile I am somewhat enjoying this np300.....despite being an otherwise very lackluster vehicle my fuel bill got cut in half and I'm aging so I'm thinking just screw it and leave alluh young professionals to buy them fancy car. Meanwhile I'm focusing on increasing my savings for retirement and then you hear people like my Pastor which on Sunday gone saying well the world almost over and prepare for the 2nd coming. If that's the case then the little I have saved including my annuity plan would be worthless in apocalyptic times. So back to square one.....say screw it and buy or hush and keep meh 4x2 van. Decisions :|

Life's short
If you can afford it, buy whatever it is you want, have fun driving it and put in as many miles as you can...

Turbo

Postby Turbo » September 20th, 2016, 3:03 pm

baigan wrote:Life's short
If you can SAVE to afford it, buy whatever it is you want, have fun driving it and put in as many miles as you can...

BNR34 it is then

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 20th, 2016, 3:24 pm

acesinghit wrote:Chaos I understand that some roro corollas (Axio and fielder etc) have a high transmission failure rate. Even roro Tiida and Wingroad etc with these CVT units many are not holding out. I once criticized TTTL for bringing in the new Corollas with this dated 4-speed auto but perhaps there is actually a good reason why they are doing that. Even the local Tiida from massy came regular 4 speed auto and those tiida transmissions holding out better than the CVT units. I could be overthinking this but I cannot question the reasons why manufacturers send a certain spec of their vehicles in our market. One would think they would have done some due diligence checks on quality of our air, surface temps, traffic conditions and fuel quality etc. begs the question, are some people really taking a gamble in buying a roro car designed for the JDM and subjecting it to our climate/road conditions.

I doubt the manufacturers have our conditions in mind because there are other hot and humid markets that get the latest tech. They sell us older stuff at high prices and we lap it up (cause we have no choice)
They send us the older (ends up being more reliable) tech cause they can get away with it. They view us as third world and we have to take what we can get. They really don't care about us as our market is to small.

Screw over americans new car buyers and the world will know about it ... Screw over trini new car buyers and no one give a sheit.

kjaglal76v2

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 20th, 2016, 4:50 pm

acesinghit wrote:Turbo, one of the car magazines did a test on the best 4x4 SUV for apocalyptic end times and iirc, the Toyota Land Cruiser V8 won. Closest thing to that down here is a Prado and Fortuner I guess most of us are screwed lol.

You only sound smart to stupid people

E.g your pastor

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 20th, 2016, 4:55 pm

:| Do people know that you should drive a dual clutch transmission in a similar manner to a conventional manual transmission and NOT like an automatic transmission? For example, don't creep along in traffic with a DCT as that slips the clutch leading to increased clutch wear.

What problems are being encountered locally with the DCTs?

carluva

Postby carluva » September 20th, 2016, 5:13 pm

neexis wrote:
carluva wrote:Keep your money and keep your van. Dont Waste on a new vehicle just because. 300 k is alot of money for a car and u seem to have one already. Be content and dont be tempted by these car salesmen.

Whats the price on the B8 Passat?
I was at VW this morning but there was none in the showroom.

They probably park up in the service bay :D :D :D

Turbo

Postby Turbo » September 20th, 2016, 5:16 pm

^^Deds