T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

racedriverpro

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby racedriverpro » August 31st, 2016, 7:45 am

Why Bunny? is it because they try to be something that are not?

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » August 31st, 2016, 8:04 am

Optima buddy. Although they are the same vehicle the optima looks sportier and the dash layout is more appealing in my opinion.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 31st, 2016, 8:13 am

Do you prefer Massy or SS after sales service?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 31st, 2016, 9:06 am

My choice between the two would be the sonata if it's the 2017 model. As vehicles are mechanically similar they will share some parts.
I say before you make your decision talk to the service department. Find out the price to service the vehicle, if appointments are required, the price of parts (like injectors, brake pads, fuel filter, air filter, oil filter, ignition coils, etc) and their availability. Talk to people in the company, cause unless you are going to DIY... these are the people you might be seeing for a while.

Just did a google search on the engine in those vehicles... Apparently some owners are reporting a lubrication problem that can lead to engine failure... Not sure if it is the exact same engine but be aware. Might only be able to use synthetic oil in it and that might just be a band aid for the problem.

Love the Mazda 6 but it is getting a bit long in the tooth

agent007

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby agent007 » August 31st, 2016, 9:12 am

Delete
Last edited by agent007 on September 21st, 2016, 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 31st, 2016, 12:22 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Why Bunny? is it because they try to be something that are not?

I like cars with at least a little performance or if not that at least are fun to drive. The Koreans have neither. Nice feature list I admit. The new optima is quite a looker.

wing

Postby wing » August 31st, 2016, 12:33 pm

wing

Postby wing » August 31st, 2016, 12:35 pm

Hope this helps, would prefer the Mazda6, all things being equal.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 31st, 2016, 12:37 pm

^^ True. The previous optima wasn't bad either. Imagine a two door pushing the same hp as a corolla.

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby kamakazi » August 31st, 2016, 8:54 pm

racedriverpro wrote:^^ True. The previous optima wasn't bad either. Imagine a two door pushing the same hp as a corolla.

I actually don't have to imagine that... There is this sports car called the Lotus Elise... Ever heard of it?...

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 31st, 2016, 9:01 pm

Yup...but i missing ur point. Doh tell meh u comparing an elise to a koup

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 31st, 2016, 9:04 pm

Nope... It's just a reminder that you don't need lots of power to have fun...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 31st, 2016, 10:13 pm

Yeah but those two doors like the elise real flickin light ... Their weight to HP ratio is actually respectable.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 1st, 2016, 12:24 am

The man say imagine a 2 door pushing the same HP as a corolla... All I said was I didn't have to...

I must admit I didn't know he was originally talking about the koup.
But besides winning the traffic light Grand Prix do you really need a whole lot of HP daily.
How much do you consider enough.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 1st, 2016, 5:15 am

At those price points, I'd consider a 3 series or a C-Class as well.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 1st, 2016, 6:03 am

agent007 wrote:Thanks guys I'm a car nut and I'm torn between the two. Try choosing your favorite child that's how hard it is. I prefer the mazda6 2.0 but sadly you don't get much features for around the same price. You sacrifice plenty in equipment. I just checked the IIHS small overlap crash test for the sonata and it got an overall rating of "good" this means the sonata is 5 star safety on several tests so I can't even say we'll choose Mazda because of that since they all performed well in crash testing. The heart chooses the optima but the brain chooses the sonata. I can't believe most of you all hate Southern Sales that much.

I will take your advice and do some service costing research and I'll post my findings.

On another note I realize the market is tough and advertised figures for cars are very negotiable. I can get the Altima 2.0 basic at a reduced price as well but that car has less equipment than the Mazda6 plus I'm not sure I wanna go back Nissan. The accord we managed to get some nice discounts but it was still higher than the rest and even though was low on equipment and that engine looked real tiny for a 2.0 perhaps the sohc cam cover makes it look visually smaller from the top. I never considered the Camry and the new Legacy is not even here yet. The Fusion is sweet with lots of equipment but even with discounts it turned out more expensive than the accord. If SS could give us a fully loaded 6 just like the 2.5 model and price it even at 300k I will take it in a heart beat.

How was the Accord? The newest model looks good, both inside and out.
What equipment did it not have though?

I feel it will be hard to go NA after getting used to turbocharged.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 1st, 2016, 6:21 am

DJ Q wrote:At those price points, I'd consider a 3 series or a C-Class as well.

Saw a quote for a 318i a couple days ago, 379K.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 1st, 2016, 6:33 am

Delete
Last edited by agent007 on September 21st, 2016, 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 1st, 2016, 6:41 am

Nothing is wrong with a three cylinder turbo compared to a four cylinder turbo. Especially when the displacement is so close. The three cylinder sounds better as well.

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby A172 » September 1st, 2016, 7:13 am

agent007 wrote:I won't even bother to list any features of the fabric seat model accord, it just shameful. The leather with sunroof model is more expensive than a Ford Fusion. A basic BMW 318i starts around $350k thereabouts and it has an inline 3-cylinder engine. I know it's turbo but no thanks. The basic c180 starts at $380k and that has a more respectable inline 4 1.6 turbo but again you sacrifice a lot of equipment simply going premium German. I would rather crawl back to bestauto in shame and get the new Passat high line which is 1.8 turbo with a hp upgrade. I can even get the small Audi A3 1.8t sport back but you sacrifice equipment levels plus it's too small anyway.
With the speed limit being enforced randomly in day/night and everyday it have gridlock traffic in this country, I really don't think buying a car because it has a turbo makes a strong case. I believe Hyundai/Kia are market followers and not leaders, their goal is to copy and paste and throw in a lot of equipment with nice designs and descent crash safety to win you over. Purchasing one in 2016 should be a true test to see if they really up to speed or not. Apparently the local market approves these Korean vehicles as the top 4 best selling brands in the country are:

Toyota
Nissan
Hyundai
Kia

if u using the local market as a benchmark for quality u done start bad. trinis would buy ANYTHING once dey hear no downpayment & 8 years to repay. once dey have a car to drive don't matter what brand it is & once it in their yard they gonna delude themselves as to why that car better than everything else

a current gen base 3 series or c180 way more superior to anything u mention in your choices

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 1st, 2016, 7:34 am

agent007 wrote:A basic BMW 318i starts around $350k thereabouts and it has an inline 3-cylinder engine. I know it's turbo but no thanks. The basic c180 starts at $380k and that has a more respectable inline 4 1.6 turbo but again you sacrifice a lot of equipment simply going premium German.
-
With the speed limit being enforced randomly in day/night and everyday it have gridlock traffic in this country, I really don't think buying a car because it has a turbo makes a strong case.

Seriously contradicting yourself there.
Exactly what equipment are you sacrificing by going German?

Last time I viewed the base 3 series and C180, they were both very well equipped.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 1st, 2016, 8:16 am

The man saying he wants a proper midsize sedan ... C class and 3 series are compact sedans and they more expensive.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 1st, 2016, 8:37 am

I find that while a 3 cylinder works in the real world...I think the design inherently flawed.
The short version ... Not enough cylinders and an unbalanced design

Long version
With current piston engines the power stroke only happens for 180 degrees of rotation...a complete combustion cycle for a four stroke engine requires 720 degrees (2 full rotations).
In a four cylinder engine the power strokes are just about evenly spread over the two rotations (720/4 = 180)

but in a 3 cylinder engine (720/3 = 240) 240 degrees is the rotation required between combustion events which means that for 60 degrees of rotation no power is being delivered to the crank.
There is a bit of a dead zone in the power as the cylinders in a four cylinder engine are around tdc/bdc buy the delay isn't great as 60 deg.

In any vehicle with more cylinders the power stroke overlaps providing a slightly smoother power delivery.
I am simplifying this a bit.

baigan

Postby baigan » September 1st, 2016, 9:16 am

A172 wrote:
agent007 wrote:I won't even bother to list any features of the fabric seat model accord, it just shameful. The leather with sunroof model is more expensive than a Ford Fusion. A basic BMW 318i starts around $350k thereabouts and it has an inline 3-cylinder engine. I know it's turbo but no thanks. The basic c180 starts at $380k and that has a more respectable inline 4 1.6 turbo but again you sacrifice a lot of equipment simply going premium German. I would rather crawl back to bestauto in shame and get the new Passat high line which is 1.8 turbo with a hp upgrade. I can even get the small Audi A3 1.8t sport back but you sacrifice equipment levels plus it's too small anyway.
With the speed limit being enforced randomly in day/night and everyday it have gridlock traffic in this country, I really don't think buying a car because it has a turbo makes a strong case. I believe Hyundai/Kia are market followers and not leaders, their goal is to copy and paste and throw in a lot of equipment with nice designs and descent crash safety to win you over. Purchasing one in 2016 should be a true test to see if they really up to speed or not. Apparently the local market approves these Korean vehicles as the top 4 best selling brands in the country are:

Toyota
Nissan
Hyundai
Kia

if u using the local market as a benchmark for quality u done start bad. trinis would buy ANYTHING once dey hear no downpayment & 8 years to repay. once dey have a car to drive don't matter what brand it is & once it in their yard they gonna delude themselves as to why that car better than everything else

a current gen base 3 series or c180 way more superior to anything u mention in your choices

I agree ^

He should put the extra and get the 3 series or c180

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 1st, 2016, 9:59 am

Delete
Last edited by agent007 on September 21st, 2016, 9:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 1st, 2016, 10:12 am

If you're not too hung up on buying new, you should consider a RORO 5 series

This one works out to about $330K
https://www.tradecarview.com/used_car/j ... /19078657/

With low mileage like that it's probably only been serviced twice.

It can also run on super:

Rated output: BMW recommends the use of super unleaded 95 RON fuel. Unleaded RON 91 fuel or higher with a maximum ethanol limit of 10 per cent (E10) is also permitted. The performance and fuel consumption rates listed are based on the use of RON 98 fuel.

http://www.bmw.com/com/en/newvehicles/5 ... ical_data/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 1st, 2016, 10:18 am

You sure that can take super? Unleaded RON 91 with ethanol 10% works out to be RON 94-95 which is Premium here.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 1st, 2016, 10:21 am

agent007 wrote:All of you all are awesome and thanks for the constructive input. I failed to mention that the base 3 series and a base c class are more expensive than the sonata/optima by $87k and $88k respectively. Unfortunately I cannot reach that far at this time. Thus far I think it's a split on opinion for the optima vs sonata even with the responses I got so far lol. Sonata for more mature buyer and optima for the younger buyer I guess.

Some of you all would not believe this but there is an ultra basic c180. If you want a fully loaded c180 with AMG sports kit prepare to spend $500k. This you get full leather, panoramic roof, seat warmers and coolers, lots of tech and electronic equipment not to mention the AMG signature on the windshield, huge rotors and AMG rims with xenon and led lights etc etc. If you want 16" rims, fabric seats, halogen headlights and a lot less ( I mean a lot less) equipment well that model starts at $380k

Are some of you all willing to spend $88k more on a base c180?

Halogens on a Luxury german brand for 380K??? They serious?

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » September 1st, 2016, 11:19 am

Walked into SS the other day and pointed to the fully loaded Mazda 3 and said I want that.....in manual.

Told them I have meh morney and I am willing to wait but...no.

Is there any firms out there besides pick-ups where you can get the manual version?
Say a manual elantra or civic..etc

Thanks
Last edited by Nasrallah on September 1st, 2016, 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » September 1st, 2016, 11:22 am

Maybe maska or mrampersad..dunno if u hadda preorder and the brands will be different