T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 8th, 2016, 11:29 am

drchaos wrote:Why not? On my second one, so far fun times and trouble free motoring!

Can't take what you say seriously nah.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=397860

You do know what many others have complained about so why pretend?

metalgear2095

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby metalgear2095 » August 8th, 2016, 11:34 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:2 year old jetta had mechatronic failure. After good will replacement ($1000) labour vw calls a week later to say we owe $7k because vw Germany only covering a portion of the replacement cost. This after we were allowed to take the car home. They got nothing more from me though and apologised after lawyer talk. Also only one year warranty on the new mechatronic. A $20k part.
This weekend car is idling rough. Good it works for you but not worth the stress for me.

I never believed them when they said they could potentially call me back in case Germany didn't cover all the costs of my mechatronic unit replacement. Surprised they called you.

Yeah chaos on games. That vw could call us back was never said though. Car will be sold before years end

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2016, 1:47 pm

If 500 cars from a brand are sold and 20 people have issues and make plenty noise on a forum it logical to assume all 500 have major issues ent.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 8th, 2016, 2:12 pm

drchaos wrote:If 500 cars from a brand are sold and 20 people have issues and make plenty noise on a forum it logical to assume all 500 have major issues ent.

Those are numbers pulled out from nothing though. Look around the forum. You don't see similar numbers for other manufacturers even. Go speak to various Jetta owners. You'll come up with numbers totally different to what you attempting to spew. It's not only on tuner. At the dealer. Anecdotal. Random convos with owners on different occasions. Interactions with the dealer even.

By the way when you making up figures choose better. 4% failure rates are quite high for the 500 you calling and that would be just those willing to sign up on the forum.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=397860&p=9016069&hilit=jetta#p9016069

You even know three people who had issues but making it out to be it's just a forum thing? Come nah man what's the chance of cars generally having not many issues and generally forum owners complaining as per your post but you know THREE people on the outside with issues?

drchaos wrote:As a side note I think all jetta owners need to have a meeting. We need to form a group, we also need to get consumer affairs involved and we need to write VW to ask for a 10 year transmission warranty. The problem has not been solved and after the 4 years of good is will is up and the mechatronic units fails again we do not want to have to be paying 23k for a part the world knows is defective ba should also be part of this process. BA is not responsible this is clearly a design flaw from vw. We need to point fingers in the right direction

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=397860&p=8559074&hilit=jetta#p8559074

Like I said it's hard to take you seriously in general with your posts.

No one is saying all cars have major issues. We are saying though that the chance of having a major issue is higher. That coupled with a shorter warranty offered compared to other new car manufacturers means people are cautious with buying another VW. Simple.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2016, 2:42 pm

Cah take you seriously either ... sift through that Jetta post and you will find your views on VW quite schizophrenic.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 8th, 2016, 3:11 pm

drchaos wrote:Cah take you seriously either ... sift through that Jetta post and you will find your views on VW quite schizophrenic.

Taken in context my posts are fine and consistent. They are there for anyone to peruse and the point of that thread was to help new car buyers. Changing one's viewpoint on a brand once new data comes up is reasonable.

Pretending that everything is fine after freely admitting there is a problem then selling your potentially troublesome vehicle seems quite schizophrenic to me.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2016, 3:40 pm

Was not really new data bunny that caused you to go apesheit. Was when you had a mechatronic failure. The data was there long before and you kept your head in the sand.

Before that you kept going on about "is men made these cars" so some bound to fail and you kept floating along on cloud nine ... As long as it wasn't in your backyard.

Your behaviour is typical of most car owners ... Including myself. As soon as car owners have a problem they go crazy! It's understandable! Cars are expensive and emotional purchases. So when something happens you feel like there is now void that you can't fill.
Otherwise once the car operating normally then you cool.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 8th, 2016, 4:14 pm

drchaos wrote:Was not really new data bunny that caused you to go apesheit. Was when you had a mechatronic failure. The data was there long before and you kept your head in the sand.

Before that you kept going on about "is men made these cars" so some bound to fail and you kept floating along on cloud nine ... As long as it wasn't in your backyard.

Your behaviour is typical of most car owners ... Including myself. As soon as car owners have a problem they go crazy! It's understandable! Cars are expensive and emotional purchases. So when something happens you feel like there is now void that you can't fill.
Otherwise once the car operating normally then you cool.

Like I said the posts are there for everyone to see. I posted about the recall even though I was not affected. I gave advice and let people know what was up plain as day long before I had my mechatronic replaced.

In the context of this thread I can't see how you can remotely argue that VW's locally have not had reliability issues and no one should be wary of buying new VW's. There is a ton of evidence provided that says otherwise.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2016, 4:33 pm

Not really boy Bunny ... you chaining up your self.
You spoke alot on DQ200 reliability and now you going off on a whole brand.

I understand yuh beat up ... your car with a known recalled and troublesome part had failure and now to you the whole VW brand and line up is a waste of time. I had an Aunt who had an engine failure on a subaru within the first year of ownership, she sounds just like you now! She acts as if Subaru is run by satan himself.
Its typical human behavior.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 8th, 2016, 5:09 pm

Never said it was a waste of time. Just saying reliability is a bigger issue with VW than with other manufacturers.

I know it hard for you to fathom that criticism of a brand doesn't mean the brand is hated. I have repeatedly stated in this thread that the drive is great. The reliability has been eh based on verified stories too common to just be coincidence. Is that so difficult for you to come to terms with?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 8th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Let it go nah chaos. You talk sheit and get exposed for it. Stop talking sheit

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2016, 6:05 pm

My point is don't demonize a brand just cause your known faulty part failed ... Its expected for a faulty part to fail.

But allu fellars going on about steer clear away from VW ... That sounds more like rage.

If you guys had said stay away from DQ200 vehicle instead of stay away from VW's in general I can understand that coming from your head and not the butthurt allu feeling.

There is a rational response and then there is an emotional response.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 8th, 2016, 6:15 pm

It's expected a good vehicle won't have repeat faulty parts. It's expected that the manufacturer would have solved the issue as well.
The jetta is failure.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2016, 6:35 pm

Slow ... but you catching on now boy metalgear!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 8th, 2016, 6:50 pm

drchaos wrote:My point is don't demonize a brand just cause your known faulty part failed ... Its expected for a faulty part to fail.

But allu fellars going on about steer clear away from VW ... That sounds more like rage.

If you guys had said stay away from DQ200 vehicle instead of stay away from VW's in general I can understand that coming from your head and not the butthurt allu feeling.

There is a rational response and then there is an emotional response.

I honestly don't think you pay attention. It wasn't only because of dq200 issues. Leaking waterpump, cracked Pistons, dropped roof headliners are other issues many have experienced over the years. Not all of them are specific to the Jetta as well which is why guys who have owned may come say stay away from the brand.

The dq200 was just the biggest and most common issue out of all but to act like if the other things didn't exist is burying head in sand business.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2016, 7:01 pm

I can call any random car brand and call out a bunch of issues people have had with them ... But what you failing to add are numbers and frequencies for these things. Without that you just blowing smoke.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » August 8th, 2016, 7:20 pm

Jetta owner, all of the above issues and lots of frustration over the last 4 years but Best Auto has been fair with me and dealt with all the issues that came up. I had to pay labour costs for most of the major work though.

I like the euro feel and unfortunately can't really afford the high end euro brands. Previous owner of Nissan and Subaru prior to VW. I'll still consider a VW when buying again but it will be a tough call when the time comes.

neexis

Postby neexis » August 8th, 2016, 8:08 pm

greggle71 wrote:Jetta owner, all of the above issues and lots of frustration over the last 4 years but Best Auto has been fair with me and dealt with all the issues that came up. I had to pay labour costs for most of the major work though.

I like the euro feel and unfortunately can't really afford the high end euro brands. Previous owner of Nissan and Subaru prior to VW. I'll still consider a VW when buying again but it will be a tough call when the time comes.

Gradually this feeling went from "would buy again" to on the fence and now to probably not.
The cars are better than most, but my hesitation comes from the service dept at BA.. it takes too much time and energy, and simple things like miscommunication have costed me more $ than necessary.

When my mechatronic failed, I couldn't say I was surprised. After 100k km, I thought I was in the clear but the part has been known to be problematic.

I'd be happy to try some of the other brands out there... there is a good bit of variety.

I still wouldn't discourage people from buying a VW, but my current recommendation is to make sure you have a backup vehicle!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2016, 8:14 pm

People with negative views mostly make more noise than those with positive ones ...

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 8th, 2016, 9:36 pm

Thread rename to Fan Boy 101 requested.

neexis

Postby neexis » August 8th, 2016, 10:03 pm

drchaos wrote:People with negative views mostly make more noise than those with positive ones ...

Surely that can't be true... check your last 10 or so posts in this thread.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 8th, 2016, 10:23 pm

I did say mostly ....only metalgear deals in absolutes.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 9th, 2016, 8:33 am

racedriverpro wrote:Thread rename to Fan Boy 101 requested.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 9th, 2016, 8:43 am

Car is at vw today. Third time in past three months. First was mechatronic, 2nd was to replace a windscreen (which took over 6 months to be in stock), now for the engine.
I had someone who works there check the car yesterday and it definitely needs an engine job. So I'm hoping for goodwill as well. Rubbish car

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 9th, 2016, 9:11 am

metalgear2095 wrote:Car is at vw today. Third time in past three months. First was mechatronic, 2nd was to replace a windscreen (which took over 6 months to be in stock), now for the engine.
I had someone who works there check the car yesterday and it definitely needs an engine job. So I'm hoping for goodwill as well. Rubbish car

Post the engine details in the other thread when you get a chance. For knowledge.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 9th, 2016, 9:25 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Oil was about $300 -400? Filter about $100 - 200?

Yip....That's about the breakdown.
I was supposed to call them to find out why the cost went from $1300 to $1700 between the 5,000km service and the 10,000km service though.

To Elite's question on warranty if you service outside with Massy...this is a question I have posed to the sales rep that sold me the Tucson and he has not responded as yet (2 weeks ago).

And for context I had a Lancer before the Tucson and DM's service costs were pretty reasonable (rarely broke $1,000 per service) compared to what Massy passing off as servicing costs (even taking into account a 1.5l vs 2.0l engine)

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 9th, 2016, 10:55 am

Massy hadda finance their push into cable/internet somehow :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » August 9th, 2016, 3:23 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Car is at vw today. Third time in past three months. First was mechatronic, 2nd was to replace a windscreen (which took over 6 months to be in stock), now for the engine.

That Lancer in your profile pic gets more and more attractive the longer you keep your Jetta!!!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 9th, 2016, 3:35 pm

I really can't understand how they can take 6 months to get a windscreen in stock ...
Is not rocket science ...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 9th, 2016, 4:36 pm

That Lancer in your profile pic gets more and more attractive the longer you keep your Jetta!!!

The lancer running normal