T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

urbandilema

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby urbandilema » June 22nd, 2016, 10:37 am

Wonder wah d price go be and if is gas or diesel

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 22nd, 2016, 11:17 am

Will be Gas.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 22nd, 2016, 10:34 pm

Well that'll be something. Hopefully they do bring it.
0-60 from a 1.6t SUV in 7.6 seconds with torque available from 1500rpm, is somewhat of a class leader. Faster than a 2.0t q3 too IIRC. Would most likely require premium gas though.
Wonder if it'll be more expensive than the 2.0 Tucson...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 22nd, 2016, 10:48 pm

Lard boy ... just did some light reading on the dual clutch transmission they paired the 1.6T on the tucson.

Seem loads of people having software issues and clutch actuator failures with these trannies.

metalgear2095

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby metalgear2095 » June 23rd, 2016, 9:18 am

acesinghit wrote:lol....people continue to buy Hyundai/kia because of push button start and reverse camera etc...there are reasons why those cars are cheap and full of features to woo you. I'll take the 2 airbag 15" steel rim 4-speed auto Corolla thank you very much. You can bet that your Grandchildren will enjoy it decades down the road. Toyotas and jap cars in general are built to last. Korean cars are built to take you through the loan period if you lucky.

Grandchildren? Who keeps a car that long anymore?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 23rd, 2016, 9:24 am

Well at the rate they're increasing the length of time to pay for vehicles, you may not have a choice.
8 years at some institutions now.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 23rd, 2016, 9:43 am

No matter who builds your car these days most new car buyers will end up in some sort of trouble around 7 to 8 year mark. Best to sell after that cause the time and money you spend on maintaining your car increases At least thats with my experience. Even noticed this with Toyotas.

metalgear2095

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby metalgear2095 » June 23rd, 2016, 10:36 am

DJ Q wrote:Well at the rate they're increasing the length of time to pay for vehicles, you may not have a choice.
8 years at some institutions now.

I'm sure this doesn't apply to most in here

rial

Postby rial » June 23rd, 2016, 12:02 pm

Gentlemen I would suggest that you update your prices here since this is out of date and the exchange fluctuation and change in Import Duty and MVT taxes have increased.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 23rd, 2016, 12:44 pm

drchaos wrote:Lard boy ... just did some light reading on the dual clutch transmission they paired the 1.6T on the tucson.

Seem loads of people having software issues and clutch actuator failures with these trannies.

Had I had the choice of the 1.6T or the 2.0 NA I would still go with the NA as DCT is fairly new to Hyundai and I feel it represents a substantial unknown risk.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 23rd, 2016, 1:15 pm

Yeah Dry Dual Clutch transmissions are really risky since the tech is new.
I would say give it another 10 years.

wing

Postby wing » June 25th, 2016, 4:49 am

Postby Gladiator » June 25th, 2016, 10:18 am

acesinghit wrote:lol....people continue to buy Hyundai/kia because of push button start and reverse camera etc...there are reasons why those cars are cheap and full of features to woo you. I'll take the 2 airbag 15" steel rim 4-speed auto Corolla thank you very much. You can bet that your Grandchildren will enjoy it decades down the road. Toyotas and jap cars in general are built to last. Korean cars are built to take you through the loan period if you lucky.

What about the Mighty Toyota Tercel..... or is 9 day T&T memory activated... LOL

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 26th, 2016, 4:47 pm

summary of C&D article:

1st place: Mazda 3 2.0
2nd place: Honda Civic 2.0
3rd place: Chevrolet Cruze 1.4T
4th place: Hyundai Elantra 2.0
5th place: Nissan Sentra 1.8

Postby cinco » June 26th, 2016, 4:52 pm

The new Mazda 3 chassis is sublime the dated mzr1.6 and 4 SPD auto we get is a serious shortcoming tho

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2016, 6:54 pm

acesinghit wrote:summary of C&D article:

This has no bearing on our car market ...
None of those cars mentioned above come with those engines ...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 26th, 2016, 10:40 pm

Lol

Postby Monk BANzai » June 27th, 2016, 1:53 am

Updated prices on the NP 300's

Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 1.31.25 AM.png

Screen Shot 2016-06-27 at 1.31.37 AM.png

carluva

Postby carluva » June 27th, 2016, 6:27 am

How come all models of the navara have the same engine but the high end 4x4 has more hp (190 hp versus 163 hp in all the rest)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 27th, 2016, 7:22 am

drchaos wrote:
acesinghit wrote:summary of C&D article:

This has no bearing on our car market ...
None of those cars mentioned above come with those engines ...

agreed but I did not post the article just giving everyone the summary. I think C&D is biased generally towards BMW, Mazda and Honda so I cancelled my subs a while ago.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 27th, 2016, 8:11 am

Biased you say ...
I think those companies just on fire right now, BMW and MAZDA have been producing really good cars and Honda now getting their groove back.

Keiron07.0066

Postby Keiron07.0066 » July 13th, 2016, 11:51 am

Morning Tuners,

What the average fee customs brokers charge for importing vehicles/car?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 13th, 2016, 3:22 pm

I heard figures from $4500 to $10000.

elantra

Postby elantra » July 14th, 2016, 7:15 am

Update to the new Suzuki vitara prices
The GL+ is $195,950

The GLX 2WD is $215,950

The GLX 4WD is $235,950

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 14th, 2016, 8:11 am

Any reason for a 10K increase in price on all models?

Postby Dave » July 14th, 2016, 8:45 am

Thinking leather and then 4wd system?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 14th, 2016, 3:34 pm

Or was the previous prices just an introductory price?

TTAutoGuide

Postby TTAutoGuide » July 15th, 2016, 2:47 pm

drchaos wrote:Or was the previous prices just an introductory price?

previous price was introductory, and the USD to TTD rate changes along with the YEN getting stronger.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 17th, 2016, 12:17 pm

Those new Sportage's selling like hot bread. Seeing real plenty on the roads now.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 17th, 2016, 3:55 pm

Yup...plenty on the north to south routes on a morning
Think they started to bring down more models levels