The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby S_2NR » August 15th, 2012, 5:39 pm

and stop drivin behind big truck :|

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 15th, 2012, 5:57 pm

Actually I'd consider the camera installation easier. :)
I guess you're talking about some really small paint chips here.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 15th, 2012, 6:08 pm

Lol yeah. Chips bout 1 to 2 mm max in diameter. Easiest so far was addition of rear spoiler then new steering wheel. Lower grille was a pain. Side skirts should be straight forward though.

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2012, 6:22 pm

damn...could have used that paintchip advice like 4-5 months ago.....

bruntonson

Postby bruntonson » August 15th, 2012, 8:25 pm

Just wanted to say that if anyone has any doubts about using Karim Kahn for any auto detailing they should just use him. He's Highly professional with quality products and equipment. He helped us out over the weekend with some flood damaged vehicles that look next to new right now because of his skill

Postby pioneer » August 17th, 2012, 1:08 am

I saw a 303 protectant billboard on the highway north bound...couldn't make out "where" sells the product :roll:

Anywhere besides peake's yatch services?

Postby equipped2ripp » August 17th, 2012, 1:30 am

Calypso Marine Canvas

Postby pioneer » August 17th, 2012, 9:47 am

wtf is dem?

trvs

Postby trvs » August 17th, 2012, 7:00 pm

It's the name of the regional distributor/place that sells the 303 products. They are located in Peakes Yacht Services Compound. If you're going up grab some of the instant windshield washer tablets as well.

Did you get your headlight stuff?

Postby pioneer » August 17th, 2012, 10:28 pm

Nope waiting on e2r

Postby equipped2ripp » August 18th, 2012, 1:38 am

they sell the windshield washer tablets? I brought in mine, they work really good...

and pios, send yuh driver south for it nah...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 18th, 2012, 8:24 am

This might be a long shot but does anyone know where sells epoxy resin? Looking for biphenol A. Kinda urgent too.

trvs

Postby trvs » August 18th, 2012, 3:13 pm

I'm not sure, but the 303 ppl Aupposed to have the full 303 line.

Anyone got a chance to try out the Kwazar Mercury Pro spray bottles?

Double-action trigger nozzles.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 19th, 2012, 11:52 am

Haven't tried those, but I buy the 3-pack sprayers from Price Smart and they working fine thus far.

Windshield washer stuff I find the P21S working pretty well, but as with all those products, they make the sides of your windscreen much dirtier than just water. And not only because they clean better, but also because of the slower runoff.

trvs

Postby trvs » August 19th, 2012, 12:02 pm

I clayed the windscreen a couple weeks ago on a 6mth old vehicle that is exposed to road grime from north to south runs everyday. Man I feel that thing cleaner than the day I got it out of the showroom.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 19th, 2012, 2:20 pm

Cars that comes out of the showroom are not actually clean. I have detailed lots of customers cars as soon as they take delivery of it and i can safely say they are not clean and not detailed to most customers expectations.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 19th, 2012, 7:34 pm

^^Agreed. I've had to clay new cars as well, days after delivery. And on more than one occassion, there's been quite a bit of dirt/gunk on the surface.

Postby Chimera » August 19th, 2012, 11:45 pm

if u c d state of my car right now eh

i have to drive the chase village to st marys junction route every day and they doing roadworks there for the past month or so

my car aint even black anymore

trvs

Postby trvs » August 20th, 2012, 9:51 am

Yep, I know it's usually not detailed to everyone's expectations. Look at the black benz Karim did, you would surely expect the dealer to deliver a Benz in almost flawless condition. I know for a fact that all Massy vehicles in south are sent to Chippy's for a wash and maybe a polish.

The only dealer that I experienced a near perfect delivery was with the Audi dealer in POS.

I was just using the word "showroom" as a comparison as most people would expect flawless when they take delivery.. Just sayin. :oops:

Any detailing today? The sun looks like he is going to stick around for most of the day :lol:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 20th, 2012, 3:11 pm

trvs wrote:. . . .Any detailing today? The sun looks like he is going to stick around for most of the day :lol:

:| Yes. I am going to wash off all the mud that has caked up under the fenderwells and the rear bumper. That's about all I will do as tomorrow the mud will end up there again. Sucks to be working on a construction site.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » August 20th, 2012, 5:05 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
trvs wrote:. . . .Any detailing today? The sun looks like he is going to stick around for most of the day :lol:

:| Yes. I am going to wash off all the mud that has caked up under the fenderwells and the rear bumper. That's about all I will do as tomorrow the mud will end up there again. Sucks to be working on a construction site.

Started off with the plan too, and then the scope started to creep :lol:
3 hours later, washed, clayed, waxed and did the windows as well.

I know that all my efforts will be for naught, come tomorrow, (work vehicle too nah) but with all the tlc that the accord gets, it felt good to give the old girl some love :oops:

trvs

Postby trvs » August 20th, 2012, 7:58 pm

I did nothing. Absolutely nothing lol

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 20th, 2012, 9:49 pm

Sun didn't stick around in my parts. But had nothing planned anyway. :)
Corollaman I hope you don't mean you waxed the windows also.

And definitely agree on the new car delivery not being totally up to mark. I believe most people don't notice though.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » August 20th, 2012, 10:12 pm

nemesis wrote:Sun didn't stick around in my parts. But had nothing planned anyway. :)
Corollaman I hope you don't mean you waxed the windows also.

And definitely agree on the new car delivery not being totally up to mark. I believe most people don't notice though.

Nah, I used the Meguiars glass cleaner on them

jdeen

Postby jdeen » August 21st, 2012, 9:31 am

trvs wrote:I did nothing. Absolutely nothing lol

x2, was gonna wash but decided against it. This weekend i'll do the full works on the hilux... maybe

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 23rd, 2012, 8:43 pm

I say full steam ahead!!

Cleaning the a/c system using steam to kill any harmful bacteria

More steam

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 23rd, 2012, 8:55 pm

The Wynn's dealer in St. Joseph uses this (see link below) to deal with a/c odours.

Wynn's Aircomatic

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 26th, 2012, 11:27 pm

So, finally got me some of the new AG SRP. Tried it a few days ago. Works great. Main improvement I saw was that it's less dusty when removing. Maybe a little more gloss? Not sure if I was imaging it but it's hard to tell since I rarely use it on it's own.
Still, if it does last as long as they now claim, I believe it is my new fav AIO....and the old one was my previous. :)

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 27th, 2012, 11:07 am

^^Good review. Some of claimed that the new SRP renders UDS almost redundant (almost)?

Postby Stephon. » August 28th, 2012, 6:58 pm

Anyone know how to get the sticky thing from the poppy off from the double stick tape after you remove the poppy from the dashboard