Old School Projects

nigie

Re: Old School Projects

Postby nigie » January 4th, 2012, 11:07 am

hummmmm....So ...r u selling the ruined MGB.. :D

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2012, 11:12 am

bring TT$120,000 and take it

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 4th, 2012, 11:17 am

^ ^ ^ That's around the price I expected :lol: ... Happy New year 2nrs.

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2012, 11:19 am

Cheers :)

nigie

Postby nigie » January 4th, 2012, 11:41 am

:? !!!!

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2012, 11:48 am

nigie wrote::? !!!!

what?????????????

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2012, 12:49 pm

nigie wrote::? !!!!

what?????????????

he eh understand the 2012 discount perhaps. wait till it goes back up to it's "regular" price range, and answer him again.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 4th, 2012, 1:36 pm

^ ^ ^ Double the original price? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby cinco » January 4th, 2012, 2:57 pm

Mg Man
you selling that car for a steal
http://jalopnik.com/5872986/a-reliable- ... st-you-77k

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2012, 3:16 pm

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ Double the original price? :lol: :lol: :lol:

a couple zeroes on layaway apparently, and normally that price is quoted in pounds sterling.

Mg has me thinking he's really ready to part with it.

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2012, 9:05 pm

cinco wrote:Mg Man
you selling that car for a steal
http://jalopnik.com/5872986/a-reliable- ... st-you-77k

yeah dem ting around ah while now..........still cya beat the Chevette with the S2000 engine tho :mrgreen:

king bob

Postby king bob » January 4th, 2012, 10:31 pm

MG Man wrote:nigie your guys could make some money teaching people how to do do bodywork...these youngsters only know how to run in de bamboo and buy used bodyparts to slap on.........'straightening' and patchwork is a dying art...

soo true the first guy told me he would body wrk d hunter for 10g's
then d second guy meh neighbor told me 6000 minus paint.

nigie

Postby nigie » January 5th, 2012, 9:53 am

Aye Bob..gramps coming on strong.... :lol:

Indeed its easier to run down to Bamboo and get a fender.... :mrgreen:

king bob

Postby king bob » January 5th, 2012, 5:24 pm

wey jed nigie. i cah wait till sat 2 blow past you in one day, (wish i had a time machine)

Postby MG Man » January 6th, 2012, 11:30 am

nigie, one question......why did he patch the rocker panel, rather than replace the whole thing?
The strength in some of these cars is that rocker panel, and patching it will ultimately weaken the car. Always better to replace the entire box section (inner and outer rocker panels)
Something to consider

nigie

Postby nigie » January 6th, 2012, 12:24 pm

MG Man wrote:nigie, one question......why did he patch the rocker panel, rather than replace the whole thing?
The strength in some of these cars is that rocker panel, and patching it will ultimately weaken the car. Always better to replace the entire box section (inner and outer rocker panels)
Something to consider

I cant remember the condition of the pannel or if he cut away a section of it and dealth with the inner but it seems as if he made this as a big patch cause the "buy" pannels normally go higher....i assume that probably the pannel area wasnt all that bad..and he just decided 2 replace a section...ill ask...

king bob

Postby king bob » January 6th, 2012, 11:36 pm

wait nah nigie, u not doin d wrk ur self??

Postby wagonrunner » January 7th, 2012, 1:40 am

king bob wrote:wait nah nigie, u not doin d wrk ur self??

Haahahahahhahahhahahhahahahhahahaahahahahaha *wheeze* Haahahahahhahahhahahhahahahhahahaahahahahaha *wheeze* Haahahahahhahahhahahhahahahhahahaahahahahaha *wheeze*

hoss, that was a bess laugh.

king bob

Postby king bob » January 7th, 2012, 7:32 pm

if ah nex man doin d wrk 4 u dis competition eh fair (folds arms and turns head)

king bob

Postby king bob » January 7th, 2012, 7:34 pm

on d other hand, i saw a real bess woosley 2 day in cumoto bt d man eh sellin.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 7th, 2012, 9:11 pm

nigie wrote:
MG Man wrote:nigie, one question......why did he patch the rocker panel, rather than replace the whole thing?
Something to consider

I cant remember the condition of the pannel or if he cut away a section of it and dealth with the inner but it seems as if he made this as a big patch cause the "buy" pannels normally go higher....i assume that probably the pannel area wasnt all that bad..and he just decided 2 replace a section...ill ask...

You guys apparently never removed an entire rocker panel before to know the kind of CRAP that happens when you do.Its safer to just replace the rotted sections and avoid touching the door posts and the inner panel that attaches to the flooring unless its absolutely necessary.I should start giving lessons in bodywork and car restoration even though mechanics is my first love.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 7th, 2012, 9:31 pm

Hey guys I'm looking for a locally available water solouble rust remover that leaves a zinc phosphate type coating when washed .there was a product that i used on my escort well over a decade ago when i did my last restoration up until now so I am out of touch with the names of the new products.That was a spray or brush on leave for ah hour or so then rinse off leaving an electro dip type finish .Not Wonder, that leaves black ferric phosphate that is sometimes just as hard as the rust in the first place,the product in roadracer7's vid ,POR15 looks similar

king bob

Postby king bob » January 7th, 2012, 10:35 pm

You guys apparently never removed an entire rocker panel before to know the kind of CRAP that happens when you do.Its safer to just replace the rotted sections and avoid touching the door posts and the inner panel that attaches to the flooring unless its absolutely necessary.I should start giving lessons in bodywork and car restoration even though mechanics is my first love.[/quote]

i would totally sign up (and if d rocker pannel is d section behind d fender and that hold's d front door post {NEVER SCREW WITH THAT}

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 7th, 2012, 11:11 pm

NOMOSS wrote:Hey guys I'm looking for a locally available water solouble rust remover that leaves a zinc phosphate type coating when washed .there was a product that i used on my escort well over a decade ago when i did my last restoration up until now so I am out of touch with the names of the new products.That was a spray or brush on leave for ah hour or so then rinse off leaving an electro dip type finish .Not Wonder, that leaves black ferric phosphate that is sometimes just as hard as the rust in the first place,the product in roadracer7's vid ,POR15 looks similar

used a product in the 80's called NUTRARUST. it's white and when painted on turns black. no need to wash off.it worked really well. bought it at rustop long circular mall. can't seen to locate it or anything similar. used it on my dad's escort, where the inner apron meets the firewall[rotted & busted] then applied fiber glass & resin to the treated surfaces. when my dad took the car to the body man the fib/glass was so difficult to remove that he had to burn it off. fantastic product that nutrarust.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 8th, 2012, 1:06 am

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=415231

^^thought you guys might be interested in that engine :mrgreen:

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 8th, 2012, 8:26 am

king bob wrote:You guys apparently never removed an entire rocker panel before to know the kind of CRAP that happens when you do.Its safer to just replace the rotted sections and avoid touching the door posts and the inner panel that attaches to the flooring unless its absolutely necessary.I should start giving lessons in bodywork and car restoration even though mechanics is my first love.

i would totally sign up (and if d rocker pannel is d section behind d fender and that hold's d front door post {NEVER SCREW WITH THAT}[/quote]

the rocker panel runs below the doors from front fender to rear fender and joins front door post ,centre door post and rear door /fender

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » January 8th, 2012, 8:28 am

roadracer7 wrote:
NOMOSS wrote:Hey guys I'm looking for a locally available water solouble rust remover that leaves a zinc phosphate type coating when washed .there was a product that i used on my escort well over a decade ago when i did my last restoration up until now so I am out of touch with the names of the new products.That was a spray or brush on leave for ah hour or so then rinse off leaving an electro dip type finish .Not Wonder, that leaves black ferric phosphate that is sometimes just as hard as the rust in the first place,the product in roadracer7's vid ,POR15 looks similar

used a product in the 80's called NUTRARUST. it's white and when painted on turns black. no need to wash off.it worked really well. bought it at rustop long circular mall. can't seen to locate it or anything similar. used it on my dad's escort, where the inner apron meets the firewall[rotted & busted] then applied fiber glass & resin to the treated surfaces. when my dad took the car to the body man the fib/glass was so difficult to remove that he had to burn it off. fantastic product that nutrarust.

This product dries white and washes off to leave a grey "primer coating" .It looks like electrodip

king bob

Postby king bob » January 8th, 2012, 1:19 pm

NOMOSS wrote:
king bob wrote:You guys apparently never removed an entire rocker panel before to know the kind of CRAP that happens when you do.Its safer to just replace the rotted sections and avoid touching the door posts and the inner panel that attaches to the flooring unless its absolutely necessary.I should start giving lessons in bodywork and car restoration even though mechanics is my first love.

i would totally sign up (and if d rocker pannel is d section behind d fender and that hold's d front door post {NEVER SCREW WITH THAT}

the rocker panel runs below the doors from front fender to rear fender and joins front door post ,centre door post and rear door /fender[/quote]
orr it's what we younguns call side skirts

Postby wagonrunner » January 8th, 2012, 1:29 pm

king bob wrote:
NOMOSS wrote:the rocker panel runs below the doors from front fender to rear fender and joins front door post ,centre door post and rear door /fender

orr it's what we younguns call side skirts

uuuuh no.
side skirts attach to the rocker panels.

king bob

Postby king bob » January 8th, 2012, 1:33 pm

or kk got it