T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

acesinghit

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby acesinghit » July 22nd, 2011, 1:01 pm

DSM_05 wrote:acesinghit, ah sorry dey eh. You have good posts most times, but I can't agree there.

Is ah corolla yuh say dey?

Jed, d corolla has THE WORST-EST-EST-EST interior ah did ever see on a new car. True the hyundais don't have great plastics...but for me it is alot better than the corolla.

If you tap on the new corolla's dashboard it sounds hollow. Everything is monotone and gray. I much prefer the fit, finish and feel of the tiida, civic, even the cerato and elantra (by a mile) over the corolla

And how are the koreans on par with toyota pricing?

A base corolla is 180 with NO abs and it has HUBCAPS. It doh even have the almighty fog lamp an ting.

A cerato is 175 with 17" wheels, abs, airbags, tcs, ebd, 6 speed trans etc etc

An base elantra is 170 and has all of those features, minus fog lights...adn 16" alloys instead. And the interior is MILES + light YEARS better than the corolla is.

I stand corrected.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 22nd, 2011, 1:25 pm

Pickup power ratings:

All are the most fully equipped double cab 4wd automatic turbo diesel pickups listed below currently in showrooms except the Mazda/Ford which is due to be launched here soon and VW which is under consideration.

Volkswagen Amarok 2.0L 161hp; 400nm of torque
Mazda BT-50/Ford Ranger 3.2 197hp; 470nm of torque
Toyota hilux 3.0 169hp; 343nm of torque
Nissan Navara 2.5 188hp; 450nm of torque
3.0 v6 228hp; 550nm of torque
Mitsubishi L200 Sportero 2.5 176hp; 350nm of torque
Isuzu D-MAX/Chevrolet Colorado 3.0 161hp, 333Nm of torque
Ssang Yong Actyon Sports 2.0 139hp; 310nm of torque

Could someone post current prices to the above pickup listing?

Much appreciated.
8-)

Postby 16 cycles » July 22nd, 2011, 1:28 pm

comes in the new A7 - ~850k

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 22nd, 2011, 1:48 pm

mammoo wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
This is the only european pick-up VW Amarok

Guys, importing this vehicle is currently on the drawing board...

we will keep u posted on specs & price...

what we can tell u this far :

it is gonna be as wide as a VW Touareg with a tray that can hold an entire pallet in between the wheel wells (BIGGEST tray in it's class)

As compared to its biggest competitor - The Toyota Hilux 3.0L Diesel, the Amarok has:

1) A 2.0L twin turbo-charged diesel engine that is putting out more torque

2) Longer Wheel base

3) Taller with more ground clearance

4) 0-100km in 11 seconds

5) Higher Payload - Higher Towing Capacity

6) 30 MPG (Best in it's Class)

The Navara looks more like a direct competitor for this.... actually the VW looks very much like the Nav. It's towing capacity of 5511lbs is closer to the Navs 6500lbs and it's 2L bi-turbo 400Nm is almost as powerful as the Navs 2.5L Y25DDTi 450Nm. Interior room and cargo space may have more people cross shopping the Navara with this since the Amarok's tray is just slightly bigger than the Nav and interior space is very close as well. However, as in other markets the VW will be much more expensive so that could be a big factor.

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 1:55 pm

Yeah a now thinking that. The vw will probably be very expensive.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » July 22nd, 2011, 7:45 pm

Stephon, WRT your Ford enquiry... Ford has, and probably will always be an American brand. They have NOT been taken over by anyone. For more years than we can count tho, they have had production operations in Europe, Asia, Africa, South America, and Australia: producing local versions of 'world' vehicles for domestic sale (and limited export), as well as territory-specific vehicles.

The Ranger we get here is manufactured in Thailand (I've also heard Malaysia altho I've never seen any proof to back that). It is designed for/ sold in non-American markets worldwide. With the introduction of the 2012 model, its rumoured that it will be sold in North America for the first time, to compete with Toyota's Tacoma and Nissan's Frontier (Navara), among others.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 24th, 2011, 11:22 am

DSM_05 wrote:acesinghit, ah sorry dey eh. You have good posts most times, but I can't agree there.

Is ah corolla yuh say dey?

Jed, d corolla has THE WORST-EST-EST-EST interior ah did ever see on a new car. True the hyundais don't have great plastics...but for me it is alot better than the corolla.

If you tap on the new corolla's dashboard it sounds hollow. Everything is monotone and gray. I much prefer the fit, finish and feel of the tiida, civic, even the cerato and elantra (by a mile) over the corolla

And how are the koreans on par with toyota pricing?

A base corolla is 180 with NO abs and it has HUBCAPS. It doh even have the almighty fog lamp an ting.

A cerato is 175 with 17" wheels, abs, airbags, tcs, ebd, 6 speed trans etc etc

An base elantra is 170 and has all of those features, minus fog lights...adn 16" alloys instead. And the interior is MILES + light YEARS better than the corolla is.

Allyuh want a solidly built car with an equally solid interior with all the 'bells and whistles'? Try this on for size! The 2011 Chevy Cruze.

I had the privilege to drive the LS and LT daily for a few weeks. This is a solidly built 'sports sedan'. Don't believe me? Test drive one today. And I don't mean a spin around the block from Lifestyle. TEST DRIVE IT!

Postby Stephon. » July 24th, 2011, 12:09 pm

damieG82 wrote:Stephon, WRT your Ford enquiry... Ford has, and probably will always be an American brand. They have NOT been taken over by anyone. For more years than we can count tho, they have had production operations in Europe, Asia, Africa, South America, and Australia: producing local versions of 'world' vehicles for domestic sale (and limited export), as well as territory-specific vehicles.

The Ranger we get here is manufactured in Thailand (I've also heard Malaysia altho I've never seen any proof to back that). It is designed for/ sold in non-American markets worldwide. With the introduction of the 2012 model, its rumoured that it will be sold in North America for the first time, to compete with Toyota's Tacoma and Nissan's Frontier (Navara), among others.

Thanks for the info there.

Postby sharkman121 » July 24th, 2011, 3:58 pm

I driving 13 yrs now, no previous accidents and 60% no claim bonus. I was 3rd party for the past 5 yrs or so.

Looking to get an insurance quote now for the new sonata, still gettin figures like $9000 with the no claim.

I know the quote might be a little high with the cost of the vehicle and it being a new car but what do you guys who recently bought a new vehicle pay on average for insurance..and with who?

bess almera

Postby bess almera » July 24th, 2011, 6:22 pm

sharky 9k on a vehicle that price AND brand new good hoss....5 years ago I pay around da same price...hush yuh mouth and pay na man.

Postby teems1 » July 24th, 2011, 9:34 pm

will fiat be bringing the punto abarth?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 24th, 2011, 9:53 pm

teems1 wrote:will fiat be bringing the punto abarth?

I don't think so....they are not even bringing in the Punto Evo...still stuck on the Grande Punto.

Postby sharkman121 » July 24th, 2011, 11:31 pm

bess almera wrote:sharky 9k on a vehicle that price AND brand new good hoss....5 years ago I pay around da same price...hush yuh mouth and pay na man.

yeh cuz u always bouncing up d damn car yuh see..

Postby Habit7 » July 24th, 2011, 11:47 pm

norstar2k wrote:
Allyuh want a solidly built car with an equally solid interior with all the 'bells and whistles'? Try this on for size! The 2011 Chevy Cruze.

I had the privilege to drive the LS and LT daily for a few weeks. This is a solidly built 'sports sedan'. Don't believe me? Test drive one today. And I don't mean a spin around the block from Lifestyle. TEST DRIVE IT!

I checked out its review on whatcar.com and they gave it a 2/5. I checked it out too at Lifestyle and it arite. But the Skoda Octavia trumps it without braking a sweat. That car is one of the best cars on the market right now, plus it's cheaper than the Cruze while trumping its features.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 24th, 2011, 11:51 pm

Habit7 wrote:
norstar2k wrote:

I checked out its review on whatcar.com and they gave it a 2/5. I checked it out too at Lifestyle and it arite. But the Skoda Octavia trumps it without braking a sweat. That car is one of the best cars on the market right now, plus it's cheaper than the Cruze while trumping its features.

I for one always saying that. How could LSM price the Cruze at 187k knowing fully well that the Skoda Octavia is going for 172K....lets face it LSM....your lorse in my books.
That Cruze should be selling for 150k and you will see how much sales will pelt out.

Is only people like me who worried that the Octavia will become the Euro 'me-too almera'
should bother to buy it.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 25th, 2011, 1:08 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
norstar2k wrote:

I for one always saying that. How could LSM price the Cruze at 187k knowing fully well that the Skoda Octavia is going for 172K....lets face it LSM....your lorse in my books.
That Cruze should be selling for 150k and you will see how much sales will pelt out.

Is only people like me who worried that the Octavia will become the Euro 'me-too almera'
should bother to buy it.

Ok so you look at ONE review and then made a broad statement.

Here's three, enjoy!

1. Edmunds.com gives the Cruze 4.5/5 stars

2. Autoguide.com - 2011 Chevrolet Cruze Review - First Drive

3. Cruze Awarded "Best Car for Commuters" - Cars.com

And speaking of stars, since you want to use a single European review site, Euro NCAP, which provides motoring consumers - both drivers and the automotive industry - with a realistic and independent assessment of the safety performance of some of the most popular cars sold in Europe, gave the the Cruze 5/5 stars (2010 Best Buy). What did the Octavia get? BTW, Cruze also received best-in-class, five-star crash safety ratings in the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) testing in Australia, and the Chinese New Car Assessment Program (C-NCAP) testing in China.

Awards:
- Chevrolet Cruze Wins Wheels Magazine Award For Best Small Saloon Car.

- 'Best Value for Money' award from leading Middle East media outlets Automobile Magazine and Future TV’s Automobile Program.

- Recently recognized as the “Canadian Car of the Year” by the, Automobile Journalists Association of Canada.

- Insurance Institute for Highway Safety - Top Safety Pick

- NADAguides names the all-new 2011 Chevrolet Cruze its January "Car of the Month."

- Nominee - Candidate for Car of the Year 2010 award.

- MECA Awards the 2011 Chevrolet Cruze - autoevolution

Finally, the Skoda is a 1.6L, the Cruze is a 1.8L. Every heard of something called MVT? Hence the price difference.

Laterz

Postby Habit7 » July 25th, 2011, 1:39 am

norstar2k wrote:What did the Octavia get?

JD Power Small Car of the Year 2011 winner

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 25th, 2011, 5:58 am

Habit7 wrote:

talk about owned.
I agree that the car is great (Cruze) but the price is off in my opinion.

Postby ronsin1 » July 25th, 2011, 6:06 am

sharkman121 wrote:I driving 13 yrs now, no previous accidents and 60% no claim bonus. I was 3rd party for the past 5 yrs or so.

Looking to get an insurance quote now for the new sonata, still gettin figures like $9000 with the no claim.

I know the quote might be a little high with the cost of the vehicle and it being a new car but what do you guys who recently bought a new vehicle pay on average for insurance..and with who?

Take that and stay quite yes

these are my premiums:-

L200 Sportero:- $15,000.00 with two years no Claim
Mazda B2500:- $7,000.00 No Claim was moved to Sportero
Lancer:- $5,000.00 three years no claim
:? :? :?

Postby sharkman121 » July 25th, 2011, 6:51 am

aight well ah go stay here an hush mih mouth then :|

Postby cinco » July 25th, 2011, 7:02 am

9k is a fantastic price on insurance on a new 300k car

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 25th, 2011, 9:55 am

Habit7 wrote:

One award? No point in continuing this cuz you're again using a single recognition to support a broad claim.

And the correct award is the 'Small Family Car of the Year"

And BTW, whatcar.com gave the 1.8L LT Cruze 3/5 NOT 2/5 as you claimed. Readers gave it 4/5.

Postby Habit7 » July 25th, 2011, 10:13 am

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 25th, 2011, 2:14 pm

Habit7..bai leave dem fellas bai :lol: ...if dem wanna put a Korean produced car with ancient torsion beam rear setup and average braking in front of an Octavia which shares the same platform of the outgoing B6/B7 Audi A4,current jetta and golf, its their preference....the mere fact Lifestyle Motors can bring a Cruze with a 1.8l engine and charge under 200k shows this was a strategic marketing move to swindle it's way into the Corolla/Mazda/Slyphy/Octavia/Lancer/Focus segment.Imagine the cost of the 1.6l had they brought that instead? I have driven the cruze and though it drives very smooth and composed on our roads, the suspension and braking are no match for the Octavia which to me is the better and most considerable buy,it's lower maintenance and gives better gas consumption which are actually unrivaled locally in the premium gas segment of our market...I get 700km strict Hway,no traffic and AC on, on $200 premium gas :)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 25th, 2011, 2:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:well this nah http://www.skoda.co.uk/gbr/newcars/octa ... fault.aspx

doh beat up

car bess!

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 25th, 2011, 4:55 pm

^^^ steups .... my EK4 still better than all them new cars .... nothing rips like a B16A .... DOHC VTEC .... unnerstan?! :twisted:

Postby K74T » July 25th, 2011, 8:41 pm

gee dem

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 26th, 2011, 3:04 pm

We buy the Jetta because it's German and shares technology found in Audi vehicles. It is also priced amongst the Japanese competitors and offers unrivaled safety and virtually non existent theft stories. People usually don't purchase it because of bad experiences with the Bora of yore and for the fact that it is not assembled in Germany itself.
Riding on the VW Group name, we purchase this car mainly because it gives us the Jetta experience for less cost. Usually overlooked due to lack of power and shoddy build quality from early Octavias imported into T&T back in the early 2000's. This car remains the market's best kept secret.
By keeping AWD standard and delivering an average equipment listing coupled with a good dealership experience means this niche like mini performance car is set to turn heads once again. The downside is that fuel economy, cabin space and non turbo models are a let down.
Those who purchase this car usually rides on the theme that it has unmatched handling and steering feel characteristics. It does have some untypical features but it is easily overlooked by its face. The handling may be too firm for some, the fuel economy is unimpressive and dealership woes are rampant.
Those who choose the Lancer are nearlly the same buyer as the Mazda except the perceived long-term resale value is better and the dealership experience is rated second to none. It falls short otherwise.
The Cruze has an advantage of being heavily marketed on cable TV. Few actually know that it rides on Opel technology from Germany. A solidly built car with an interior usually found in much more expensive sport sedans and gives us 1800cc's for the price of some Japanese 1500 and 1600cc's.
People choose the Elantra mainly due to price and warranty. Dealership experience is okay and international marketing from Hyundai is aggressive. Few actually realize that this little Hyundai has the most powerful 1.6 on the market. Some say the 4-door coupe like looks borrowed from the Sonata is a big plus. Few people shy away from this brand since the mistakes of Hyundai's past has transformed Hyundai into a global automotive giant.
Known for crisp handling and sharing parts with Mazda vehicles is not why people buy the Focus. It has a large international reputation in Europe and North America for being reliable and fairly fuel efficient. Locally, it is usually seen in niche like numbers since marketing is non existent and the Ford name has not totally transformed into a quality player. Some dealership experiences are questionable.
Riding on the transformation that was recognized by top auto journalists across the globe, Kia has improved in virtually every measure a vehicle could be judged upon. The only problem is, everyone else quickly caught up. Priced fairly okay locally allows all shipments to be sold in no time. Usually overlooked due to a still turning around brand name and that dealership everybody hates to deal with.
Little is required to attract people in Honda showrooms. Honda is known for making quality and extremely fuel efficient vehicles coupled with beyond average resale value. Honda themselves realize this and hence did little to improve on this car. Easily overlooked due to price and the equipment levels are a generation or 2 behind.
Easily liked and hated at the same time. Like Honda, Toyota requires little effort to sell the world's best selling car. Plain, simple, boring, smooth, soft, fuel efficient and spacious are used to describe the Corolla and it seems this is what the market really craves for.
Usally sells due to the fact that its a Nissan. Known for making cars that can be abused and continues the trend with solidly built engines and transmissions. This "Almera/Sunny" replacement injects more boredom whether driving it or looking at it. With an equipment list you can count with your 5 fingers, this Nissan is full of dissapointment otherwise.
Usually sells due to dealership incentives and a good local selling price and warranty. Dealership experience is better than average but the SX4 brings nothing different or substantial to convince buyers into Suzuki showrooms. Coupled with awkward looks, this car settles for last place.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 26th, 2011, 6:15 pm

acesinghit, thank you for that. You're the man!

Postby Habit7 » July 27th, 2011, 2:03 am

Don't forget the hatchbacks and the smaller family cars-BMW 1-Series, Fiat Bravo, Subaru Impreza, Toyota Yaris, Honda City/Fit, Mazda 2, Suzuki Swift, Hyundai i30/Accent, Ford Fiesta, Volvo C30, Kia Rio/Soul, Nissan Tiida, Chevy Optra/Aveo