T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

scotty_buttons

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby scotty_buttons » April 9th, 2016, 3:31 pm

So... That 2.5l Mazda 6 not so appealing anymore.. :lol:

carluva

Postby carluva » April 9th, 2016, 6:50 pm

Yup... I was gonna scope out the 7 seater captiva this morning but changed my mind. Suddenly the xtrail 7 seater is appealing. Bet the price will increase on the xtrail too, just because. Seems like i will have to go roro or suzuki.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 9th, 2016, 7:26 pm

I wonder if Sterling bringing in those E class CNG versions. Should be interesting now with no duty, VAT and MVT.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 9th, 2016, 7:48 pm

If I buying an E-class the last thing on my mind is fuel cost. Thing used premium before and premium price unaffected. I think E-class buyers not super price sensitive.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 9th, 2016, 11:17 pm

drchaos wrote:I wonder if Sterling bringing in those E class CNG versions. Should be interesting now with no duty, VAT and MVT.

Last time I spoke with a MB rep earlier this year, he said Daimler not making any CNG e-class for our market.
The handful that are here were just for testing purposes I gathered.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 9th, 2016, 11:17 pm

drchaos wrote:I wonder if Sterling bringing in those E class CNG versions. Should be interesting now with no duty, VAT and MVT.

Last time I spoke with a MB rep earlier this year, he said Daimler not making any CNG e-class for our market.
The handful that are here were just for testing purposes I gathered.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 10th, 2016, 12:31 am

Wait Imbert said all taxes off hybrid, CNG and electric cars does he mean duty as well?

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » April 10th, 2016, 8:27 am

drchaos wrote:Wait Imbert said all taxes off hybrid, CNG and electric cars does he mean duty as well?

He said all so I believe so but I can't find a timeline or more concrete info anywhere! I would go and buy a hybrid this week if I was saving the 25% duty off the current price. Crism has a vezel hybrid that looks good.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 10th, 2016, 10:43 am

yea i think all taxes off.. up to 179hp though

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 10th, 2016, 11:00 am

Be very careful with buying the hybrid vezel or fit. Those cars have had multiple recalls and major issues in Japan with the dual clutch transmission. Its a brilliant design but to quick to market without working out the bugs. Its a 1.5L engine hooked up to a 7 speed dry clutch DCT which has electric motor built in.
They were supposed to have brought these hybrids to europe about 1 year after Japan launch and its now been almost 3 years with no euro launch date, which indicates that there may still be some serious issues.

scotty_buttons

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby scotty_buttons » April 10th, 2016, 12:46 pm

Hmm.. Good info. Was actually considering that. Or a VW golf GTE or something later on. But guess will wait and see.
Have a JDM STI spec C coming in. That shouldn't be affected with the 50% increase right ?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » April 10th, 2016, 12:47 pm

As long as it is less than 1999cc yuh good, otherwise is bull!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 10th, 2016, 12:54 pm

Yeh that's what I think too. It's 1994cc. But then customs idiots might be like its 2.0 engine and sports car blah blah blah BS. And want to charge the extra.
But most likely not. Hopefully. Guess I'll see in a month or so.

shottah_crew

Re: RE: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby shottah_crew » April 10th, 2016, 12:55 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Hmm.. Good info. Was actually considering that. Or a VW golf GTE or something later on. But guess will wait and see.
Have a JDM STI spec C coming in. That shouldn't be affected with the 50% increase right ?

Not sure the Golf GTE would qualify for the exemption. I think the output on that is >200bhp, not so?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 10th, 2016, 1:00 pm

shottah_crew wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Hmm.. Good info. Was actually considering that. Or a VW golf GTE or something later on. But guess will wait and see.

Not sure the Golf GTE would qualify for the exemption. I think the output on that is >200bhp, not so?

Yeah I know.. Combined output from the gas and electric is around 200hp for the GTE. But they have it quoted as a 156hp on autotrader. :lol:
Or maybe that was the Audi A3 E-tron? Same vehicle more or less.
Dunno if Impsbert meant the theoretical combined power limited to 179hp or the petrol engine power alone.
I'll have to wait and see with that too!
Was also checking the outlander PHEV but that was quoted at 200hp.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 10th, 2016, 1:06 pm

Nah you should be good just argue in customs that impsbert said luxury vehicles not sport vehicles.

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » April 10th, 2016, 2:45 pm

drchaos wrote:Be very careful with buying the hybrid vezel or fit. Those cars have had multiple recalls and major issues in Japan with the dual clutch transmission. Its a brilliant design but to quick to market without working out the bugs. Its a 1.5L engine hooked up to a 7 speed dry clutch DCT which has electric motor built in.
They were supposed to have brought these hybrids to europe about 1 year after Japan launch and its now been almost 3 years with no euro launch date, which indicates that there may still be some serious issues.

I saw those recalls, is there any way to know if they made design changes since? I know they only affected certain manufacturing periods not every one sold.

Also is there any actual date on this tax change being effective? I didn't see it stated clearly

carluva

Postby carluva » April 10th, 2016, 2:58 pm

Tax changes on vehicles was with immediate effect. Im sure the prices are in the process of being revised and new prices available during the course of next week.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 10th, 2016, 4:11 pm

jedismurf99 wrote:
drchaos wrote:Be very careful with buying the hybrid vezel or fit. Those cars have had multiple recalls and major issues in Japan with the dual clutch transmission. Its a brilliant design but to quick to market without working out the bugs. Its a 1.5L engine hooked up to a 7 speed dry clutch DCT which has electric motor built in.

I saw those recalls, is there any way to know if they made design changes since? I know they only affected certain manufacturing periods not every one sold.

Also is there any actual date on this tax change being effective? I didn't see it stated clearly

Boy it hard to dig up info unless you speak/understand Japanese. What i was paying attention to was the fact that those hybrid models were supposed to go to europe. Once they expand these models to other countries it might MEAN they have worked out all the major issues.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 11th, 2016, 9:20 am

Can someone please confirm if this exemption includes Customs Duty?
Customs Duty on cars under 1599cc were subject to 25% and 35% for 1600 to 1999 previously.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 11th, 2016, 12:28 pm

Here are the exact excerpts from the budget review.

Regarding CNG, electric and Hybrid:

"..as part of our energy policy and to help protect the environment, the Government will remove all taxes on CNG, electric and hybrid cars with engine sizes up to a maximum of 1999cc..."

Regarding increase in MVT:

"An increase of 50% in customs duty and motor vehicle tax on luxury vehicles, starting with private motor vehicles with an engine size exceeding 1999cc. This measure will take effect immediately."

So it would explicitly seem that the exemptions on the hybrid, electric and CNG vehicles apply only to the MVT and VAT. I too am not sure about this applying to duty, as duty is also a tax, but given that the Hon. Minister did not explicitly state the exemption on duty (noting that he did state that duty was to increase by 50% for vehicles over 1999cc) I would assume that the duties are not exempt for the CNG, electric and hybrid vehicles.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 11th, 2016, 12:48 pm

According to an Ansa rep on the new exemptions only the MVT and VAT are off ... but Ansa reps does lie!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 11th, 2016, 1:35 pm

Hopefully someone can get confirmation on this soon.

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » April 11th, 2016, 7:05 pm

If there was already no MVT and VAT on CNG etc., then why say remove

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 11th, 2016, 7:38 pm

a good customs broker could concretely answer all these tax & exemption concerns

Pirate

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby Pirate » April 11th, 2016, 7:48 pm

jedismurf99 wrote:If there was already no MVT and VAT on CNG etc., then why say remove

It sounds better + u get voter points.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 11th, 2016, 9:47 pm

So has the price of the cng Honda city and the toyota prius hybrid dropped?

carluva

Postby carluva » April 11th, 2016, 10:03 pm

I know this is a new car forum but its worth asking anyway... Does anyone have any experience, thoughts and knowledge of either the toyota vellfire or the toyota alphard?

drchaos

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby drchaos » April 11th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Pirate wrote:
jedismurf99 wrote:If there was already no MVT and VAT on CNG etc., then why say remove

It sounds better + u get voter points.

Nah they actually did make a change. PP put the exemption on VAT and MVT up to 1.8, now PNM said up to 1999cc all taxes exempt.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » April 11th, 2016, 10:12 pm

If that is the case, the Honda city CNG should be even cheaper!