T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby noshownogo » July 19th, 2011, 2:05 pm

:? so no Evo X or Nissan GTR?

Postby Stephon. » July 19th, 2011, 2:13 pm

Most of the time I drive to school or work or to go lime on the weekends, I don't have a need for either of those cars. If I make up my mind to buy a car for more than 300k I'll just go euro 0X

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 19th, 2011, 2:57 pm

just saw the elantra on the road at Grand Bazaar traffic lights. pretty decent. like a mini sonata without the LED tailights :lol:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 19th, 2011, 9:24 pm

Stephon. wrote:I won't spend 300k on anything from japan.

wrd Stephon...wrd! :)

Postby Stephon. » July 20th, 2011, 12:29 pm

Ey I wondering something. The ford ranger is a European vehicle?

Postby sharkman121 » July 20th, 2011, 1:17 pm

Stephon. wrote:Ey I wondering something. The ford ranger is a European vehicle?

Ford is american born and bred.

However up to a couple days ago someone was telling me the company was sold and the ownership is now european. Not sure of the validity of this claim though.

Postby Habit7 » July 20th, 2011, 1:47 pm

This is the only european pick-up VW Amarok

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 20th, 2011, 2:04 pm

Curious to find if we were to sell that VW Amarok if dem bandit go start stealing it...doubt though...parts will be a biatch for dem forkers :o

Postby Stephon. » July 20th, 2011, 2:15 pm

Thanks for the info sharks. And holy sheit that vw is beautiful.

Postby Habit7 » July 20th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Stephon. wrote:Thanks for the info sharks. And holy sheit that vw is beautiful.

Yeah. If I ever join the ubiquitous 4x4 crowd, it might be in this, a christmas tree hilux just can't cut it. Should be +TT$300k

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » July 20th, 2011, 10:16 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

Steups why you hadda show me dis ras... (drool and lust)...

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 20th, 2011, 10:46 pm

buh i eh find that VW pickup all da :?

Postby sharkman121 » July 21st, 2011, 6:01 am

lookin like a Hilux wit VW symbol :|

Postby cinco » July 21st, 2011, 6:56 am

without that VW badge i thought it was a new wingle :? :?
btw 180 for a diesel accent or 178 for a gas yaris
which would you choose?

Postby Stephon. » July 21st, 2011, 7:38 am

I would gladly pay 300k+ for that van tbh

Postby Habit7 » July 21st, 2011, 7:53 am

sharkman121 wrote:lookin like a Hilux wit VW symbol :|

if you ask me the 2012 Ford Ranger too looks like a Hilux with a Ford badge. But what counts is the specs, and Ford and Toyota's altogether can't match the VW specs even with a smaller engine.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 21st, 2011, 8:06 am

scotty_buttons wrote:just saw the elantra on the road at Grand Bazaar traffic lights. pretty decent. like a mini sonata without the LED tailights :lol:

a red one by chance?

I think it's 150 or so for the gasoline accent.

there's a green one in the NM south showroom. looks pretty decent IMHO.

i don't see what the big deal about korean cars is tbh. they are doing now, what japan was doing years ago in the american market - improving build quality and making nice looking cars to pull ppl away.

sounds like the same thing when diamond motors had explained to me (years ago) why their CK lancers came only carburetted :lol: (cuz fuel injection is trubbble fadda!)

besides, anyone take a look at the new corolla recently? 180k for a base corolla with NO abs? the interior looks like if u sneeze hard it might crak (it rel flimsy nah).

the tiida, cerato and the accent to me make the best choices for the new compact car segment, and they both cheaper than that overrated corolla.
Last edited by DSM_05 on July 21st, 2011, 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » July 21st, 2011, 9:07 am

Its known that Toyota is overpriced.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 21st, 2011, 9:14 am

and honda too.

check these pics out (no, I drive a japanese atm :( )

accent = smaller elantra

elantra = smaller sonata?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 21st, 2011, 9:58 am

Not only is Hyundai making great strides in quality but more importantly value for money. As it is now, IMHO, the Accent/Elantra/Sonata/Tucson is the best value for money line-up from a single manufacturer....they have really come a long way

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 21st, 2011, 12:38 pm

these vehicles have a barrage of plastic and cheapy feeling doors and panels. On par with Toyota pricing, I assumed the materials would be better.

Imagine a roro Camry and Altis have much better interiors than these modern Koreans.

Toyota.

Postby cinco » July 21st, 2011, 12:42 pm

acesinghit wrote:these vehicles have a barrage of plastic and cheapy feeling doors and panels. On par with Toyota pricing, I assumed the materials would be better.

Imagine a roro Camry and Altis have much better interiors than these modern Koreans.

Toyota.

LOL WUT

Postby Stephon. » July 21st, 2011, 2:22 pm

acesinghit wrote:these vehicles have a barrage of plastic and cheapy feeling doors and panels. On par with Toyota pricing, I assumed the materials would be better.

Toyota.

???????

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 21st, 2011, 3:13 pm

acesinghit, ah sorry dey eh. You have good posts most times, but I can't agree there.

Is ah corolla yuh say dey?

Jed, d corolla has THE WORST-EST-EST-EST interior ah did ever see on a new car. True the hyundais don't have great plastics...but for me it is alot better than the corolla.

If you tap on the new corolla's dashboard it sounds hollow. Everything is monotone and gray. I much prefer the fit, finish and feel of the tiida, civic, even the cerato and elantra (by a mile) over the corolla

And how are the koreans on par with toyota pricing?

A base corolla is 180 with NO abs and it has HUBCAPS. It doh even have the almighty fog lamp an ting.

A cerato is 175 with 17" wheels, abs, airbags, tcs, ebd, 6 speed trans etc etc

An base elantra is 170 and has all of those features, minus fog lights...adn 16" alloys instead. And the interior is MILES + light YEARS better than the corolla is.

mammoo

Postby mammoo » July 21st, 2011, 4:12 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

Guys, importing this vehicle is currently on the drawing board...

we will keep u posted on specs & price...

what we can tell u this far :

it is gonna be as wide as a VW Touareg with a tray that can hold an entire pallet in between the wheel wells (BIGGEST tray in it's class)

As compared to its biggest competitor - The Toyota Hilux 3.0L Diesel, the Amarok has:

1) A 2.0L twin turbo-charged diesel engine that is putting out more torque

2) Longer Wheel base

3) Taller with more ground clearance

4) 0-100km in 11 seconds

5) Higher Payload - Higher Towing Capacity

6) 30 MPG (Best in it's Class)

Postby Stephon. » July 21st, 2011, 4:28 pm

The only thing that will piss me off is if people start buying this van and putting 101 extras on it like they doing the navara and the hilux.

Postby Habit7 » July 21st, 2011, 7:18 pm

I doubt that would happen, flashy accessories for a euro hard to come by.

Postby cinco » July 22nd, 2011, 6:54 am

once more
LOL WUT

gundelero

Postby gundelero » July 22nd, 2011, 8:14 am

VW Amarok sweeeeeeeet

christopherwilliams2