T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

PariaMan

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby PariaMan » November 5th, 2017, 5:20 pm

drchaos wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Those 2 engines are a vast improvement I pity the dumb asses who bought an 11 year old engine on a new brand vehicle

To most people... tried and tested beats new and "iffy" anyday.

I for one wish i could get a new qd32 for my frontier. 20 years on the market and still going strong....

Let's not embrace new tech let's use vines for transport

You don't get it ... If you are an early adopter to any new tech you are the beta tester. Some people prefer to go with the older tech with a proven track record and there is nothing wrong with that.

Like you drink the kool aid Toyota was selling. That's exactly what they were saying so that people would not go maska. I wonder how they will pitch it now seeing that they both now have the same vehicle

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 5th, 2017, 5:33 pm

The argument that's was being put forward by certain denizens of this site was that the new engine could not handle our diesel and that is why Toyota selling the old engine here. The reality was simply that Toyota was pushing of extra stock to our third world ass. Toyota could not say that and tried to spin it. The problem is instead of rejecting that some people bought into it and was even arguing, like you, in favour of it.

We are finally getting what we deserve and as I said I pity those who paid 320000 thousand for 11 year old technology

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2017, 6:58 pm

But weren't a few owners From here complaining about their personal hiluxes and issues with diesel

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 5th, 2017, 7:15 pm

I have a 2.5 hilux 2008 and I had problems with the local diesel . The point I am making is that the 2.8 and 2.4 have the same susceptibility to bad diesel as the older engines.

What I have found is that as long as I use very regular treatments and filter changes I good to go

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 5th, 2017, 7:16 pm

Please do no drink Toyota Trinidad koolaid

Expect Toyota to now say that the new engines are the best thing since slice bread.

While there are poor souls who paid over 300000 for 11 year old tech because of advice from TTL

My point is Toyota should have man up and say that the old engines was going to be phased out so that people could have made a decision whether or not to wait for the new engines. Instead they sold a narrative about bad diesel and the new engine.

People bought into it and went ahead and purchased.

Now Toyota is selling the new engines.

I am sorry but that us deceitful and can only take place in third world back water countries

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 5th, 2017, 9:00 pm

Chill the frack out!

Whoever is that gullible and not smart enough to do the research then let them get chain up ...

But doh geh vex with tuners who knew that it was just salesman bull and decided to go with the older proven engine. Nothing wrong with a 11 year old engine, 2006 was just de oddah day.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 5th, 2017, 9:10 pm

Check the specs out the new engine should be 10 % more efficient. The 2.4 has more torque than the old 3.0. The 2.4 has close to 50% more power than the old 2.5. Clearly there are a few dumb asses around who think that the old engines are better.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 5th, 2017, 10:08 pm

PariaMan wrote:Check the specs out the new engine should be 10 % more efficient. The 2.4 has more torque than the old 3.0. The 2.4 has close to 50% more power than the old 2.5. Clearly there are a few dumb asses around who think that the old engines are better.

Yeah bro you right .... the latest shiniest newest tech is way bettah in every way than older tech.

Just make sure to post them beta test reviews for us when you buy the newest stuff. The rest ah tuners need people like you to save us from potential money sink holes.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 5th, 2017, 10:22 pm

Maybe you work Toyota? I waiting to here there spin now that they selling the same engine that they were crying down

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 5th, 2017, 10:24 pm

Leaders lead.followers follow and sheep will always be sheep

telfer

Postby telfer » November 5th, 2017, 10:36 pm

For a big man you really foolish ....do some research and you will see the 3.0 was re used in other 3rd world countries this was primarily because of the diesel the 2.8 that is now being brought to Trini has been tuned to accept the diesel...there were rumors that Toyota had a surplus of 3.0 engines but think about it....having a separate manufacturing line to put 3.0 engine would send the price to make/assemble higher the ...me personally wasn’t gonna be a scape goat to any new engine that the foreign used dealers was bringing cause when something go run you feel maska or m ram Persad was replacing your vehicle if it had problems

JMC

Postby JMC » November 5th, 2017, 11:41 pm

A little bit off the above debate. Can anyone give me any info on the 2017 lancers. Prices, pros, cons, even fuel ron? Planning on visiting the firm but any upfront info would be appreciated.

zando

Postby zando » November 6th, 2017, 12:03 am

Anyone know if I order wiper blades from Amazon if they would be lhd and rhd specific or does it not matter?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 6th, 2017, 12:16 am

A good example for pariaman

JDM spec Vezel/HRV have a newer 1.5 DOHC DI engine which is more efficient and has stop/start with almost the same power output as the local HRV with the ancient 1.8 SOHC. Sound like the better option right?

Funny thing is that them new fancy 1.5 engines have a issue with the stop/start module that can cause it to catch fire.
Happened to a friend who bought from a local dealer. Lucky he d/c the battery when he saw the smoke or else the whole car could have gone Kaboom. There was a recall in Japan.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 6th, 2017, 2:35 am

PariaMan wrote:Check the specs out the new engine should be 10 % more efficient. The 2.4 has more torque than the old 3.0. The 2.4 has close to 50% more power than the old 2.5. Clearly there are a few dumb asses around who think that the old engines are better.

Why you only telling half the story... There are different versions of the 2.5 l diesel engine in the hilux. The 2.4l has 50%more power than the 2.5 that TTTL sold... But maska sold a couple of the vnt turbo 2.5 that had a little over 140hp... Which is probably a 5-10%increase in power.
What problem did you have with your 2.5 diesel engine. Would like to know.

Early adopters are testers until the technology gets sorted... And that doesn't apply to only vehicles. There is also the thinking... The less "features" you have the less that can potentially go wrong. Not that I don't like features... It's just that the day it decides to pack up and call it quits will not be fun.
Ask anyone who ever had a VW or Ford DCT that broke down on them.

carluva

Postby carluva » November 6th, 2017, 7:18 am

I happen to be one of those dumb asses who think that the 3.0 1kd engine is good. Cant say if its better that the 2.8 or vice versa just yet. But just as kamikazi said, i has the dct vw passat and was likely a beta tester in trinidad and that was a harrowing experience. In this day and age of technology, i for one prefer the tried and tested tech. So what if TTTL was pushing out the 3.0l early... it could be that they had stock or bc or diesel quality, but to stereotype ppl as dumb asses assumes that they didnt do any research and i doubt thats the case with all the buyers. Look how many of those 3.0 1kd vehicles still on the road. And whats the big hype about power? Half the ppl buying a hilux not even using it for the power and the torque as its just their daily vehicle and 185 hp in a hilux is no big feat or deal. And yes, I probably drink the TTTL kool aid, but i believe that these dealers do their research before introducing a vehcile on the market. Massy tests their vehicles for a year or so on our conditions before letting them go public. TTTL sends samples of diesel and other liquids to Japan to do their fit for quality testing. Do the other dealers also do that? I doubt.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 6th, 2017, 10:03 am

So the questions is what's the pitch going to be now that they are selling the same engine as the other dealers.

I can get the quote from Toyota International that said they were simply phasing out the 3.0 engine and that was the reason that it was not available in some places. It had nothing to do with the fact that the 2.8 and 2.4 could not handle diesel.

Also with the present high price of diesel who would not want a 10 percent improvement in fuel efficiency?

Toyota however chose not to say this

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 6th, 2017, 10:15 am

Toyota's Revamped Turbo Diesel Engines Offer
More Torque, Greater Efficiency and Lower Emissions

New engines feature next-generation advanced thermal insulation diesel combustion1World-first2 use of Thermo Swing Wall Insulation Technology (TSWIN3)Top-class maximum thermal efficiency of 44 percent415 percent more fuel efficient; 25 percent more maximum torqueEliminates up to 99 percent of NOx emissionsProduction of 700,000 units a year; available in approx. 90 markets by the end of 20165

Toyota's newly developed direct-injection turbo diesel engines raise the bar for fuel efficiency, power and quietness. 

The world's first use of Thermo Swing Wall Insulation Technology (TSWIN) makes the 2.8-liter 1GD-FTV engine one of the most thermally efficient in existence, with a maximum thermal efficiency of 44 percent. Despite smaller engine displacement in comparison to the current KD engine, maximum torque is improved by 25 percent and low speed torque improved by 11 percent, while fuel efficiency has received a 15 percent boost. 

The engines also have Toyota's first-ever urea Selective Catalytic Reduction (SCR)6 system that can eliminate up to 99 percent of emissions of NOx (nitrogen oxide), one of the main causes of air pollution. 

The newly developed 1GD-FTV is currently available in the new Hilux small pickup truck launched in Thailand in May 2015, and in the partially redesigned Land Cruiser Prado launched in Japan on June 17. The same engine lineup includes the 2GD-FTV 2.4-liter direct-injection turbo diesel engine. 

Main Specifications (specifications vary according to market) 
1GD-FTV 2GD-FTV 
Displacement 2,754 cc 2,393 cc 
Bore/stroke ratio 92×103.6 mm 92×90 mm 
Compression ratio 15.6 15.6 
Maximum output 130 kw (177 PS)/3,400 rpm 110 kw (150 PS)/3,400 rpm 
Maximum torque 450 N・m (45.9 kgf・m)/1,600-2,400 rpm 400 N・m (40.8 kgf・m)/1,600-2,000 rpm 
Low speed torque 370 N・m (37.7 kgf・m)/1,200 rpm 330 N・m (33.7 kgf・m)/1,200 rpm 

Features of the new GD engines 

The new engines have proven their high thermal efficiency, quiet operation, and powerful performance around the world, including extremely cold areas where air temperatures can fall to -40˚C and altitudes exceeding 4,500 meters above sea level. 

By adjacent positioning of the catalyst for cleaner performance and other improvements, catalyst size has been reduced by roughly 30 percent and number of exhaust system layouts reduced from 18 to just three, vastly simplifying the global deployment process and lessening the environmental burden. 

Next-generation advanced thermal insulation diesel combustion 

Thanks to the world-first use of Thermo Swing Wall Insulation Technology and the use of silica-reinforced porous anodized aluminum (SiRPA) on the pistons, cooling loss during combustion is reduced by approximately 30 percent. SiRPA is a high insulation and dissipation material that is easy to heat and easy to cool.

A port shape more conducive to air intake drastically increases the amount of air flow into the cylinders. Additionally, a newly developed piston combustion chamber shape and a common-rail fuel injection system that achieves higher pressure and more advanced control of fuel injection pressure are used to optimize the injection of fuel into the combustion chamber. This maximizes air consumption, enabling high thermal efficiency and low emissions. 

Precise pilot injection matching the state of the ambient air occurs before the main injection to shorten ignition delay, achieving stable combustion even in the world's harshest environments, while ensuring quiet operation and high thermal efficiency. 

Compact high-efficiency variable geometry turbocharger (produced in-house by Toyota) 

The new turbocharger used by the GD engines is 30 percent smaller than its current equivalent, and features a newly developed turbine that improves efficiency, and a newly developed impeller that provides instantaneous acceleration response and produces maximum torque over a wide range of RPM. 

Toyota-first urea selective catalyst reduction (SCR) system 

Use of Toyota's proprietary, compact, high-dispersion urea selective catalyst reduction system eliminates up to 99 percent of emissions of NOx (nitrogen oxide), one of the main causes of air pollution. This will help vehicles conform to Euro 6 and the 2010 emissions standards set by Japan's Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport.

The current globally deployed KD engines will be gradually phased out and replaced with GD engines. By 2016, production will reach approximately 700,000 units a year with introduction in approximately 90 markets, set to expand to at least 150 markets by 2020. 

Toyota will continue to position diesel engines as a key component of the Toyota engine lineup, based on the philosophy of providing the right vehicles for the right places at the right time. The entire Toyota group, including Toyota Industries Corporation, will combine its energies to develop cleaner and more competitive diesel engines across a wide-range of vehicle types, taking into account the varying needs of people around the world. 

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 6th, 2017, 10:20 am

Note the part that said production will be ramped up to eventually reach 150 countries. As I said a much better engine with newer tech .

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 6th, 2017, 12:12 pm

I got the new Hilux SRV 3.0 from TTTL in 2016. I found it to be a beautiful van inside/out and it had descent power but wished it had the side and curtain airbags together with traction/stability control. My major dislike was the poor fuel economy I got and there was another issue which I cannot talk about which was a huge turn off for us. We sold the van with less than 7,000kms on the odometer and replaced it with the new NP300 Frontier. The Nissan is much more powerful but it is a whole lot more fuel efficient too. The YD25 despite being an old-tec design is quite a performer indeed. I really feel sorry for those Hilux owners who purchased the automatic versions for $295k, $325k and $345k respectively. In retrospect, it was a lot of money for a van of that nature. Meanwhile, my good buddy purchased the 2017 refreshed Isuzu D-Max 3.0 “Hi Power” for $262k and he has leather seats, rear camera, touch screen deck, power seat, 18” rims, 4wd, fog lights, projector headlamps with LED DRLs etc etc and it is giving 0 problems and has had no issues with SS from sales to service to-date!

car

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby car » November 6th, 2017, 12:20 pm

agent007 wrote:I got the new Hilux SRV 3.0 from TTTL in 2016. I found it to be a beautiful van inside/out and it had descent power but wished it had the side and curtain airbags together with traction/stability control. My major dislike was the poor fuel economy I got and there was another issue which I cannot talk about which was a huge turn off for us. We sold the van with less than 7,000kms on the odometer and replaced it with the new NP300 Frontier. The Nissan is much more powerful but it is a whole lot more fuel efficient too. The YD25 despite being an old-tec design is quite a performer indeed. I really feel sorry for those Hilux owners who purchased the automatic versions for $295k, $325k and $345k respectively. In retrospect, it was a lot of money for a van of that nature. Meanwhile, my good buddy purchased the 2017 refreshed Isuzu D-Max 3.0 “Hi Power” for $262k and he has leather seats, rear camera, touch screen deck, power seat, 18” rims, 4wd, fog lights, projector headlamps with LED DRLs etc etc and it is giving 0 problems and has had no issues with SS from sales to service to-date!

Why u cya tork bout the issuse dawg? We have no secrets in here.
Last edited by car on November 6th, 2017, 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 6th, 2017, 2:06 pm

car wrote:Why u cya tork bout the issuse dawg? We have to secrets in here.

Secrets among friends is bad manners..unless he doesn't consider us friends.. :cry:

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 6th, 2017, 2:20 pm

@Agent007. You arguing my point. Toyota should not have sold the new hilux with the old engine at such a premium price

Seems like the 2.8 can compete with the navara in terms of power torque and fuel consumption

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 6th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Men does act like talking about issues leads to getting sued or something.

Do van men race each other though? Or do load pulling tests against one another? Take their vans to the track?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 6th, 2017, 3:34 pm

Might have signed an NDA... In which case legal action can be brought against him if he says something

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 6th, 2017, 3:39 pm

Well like he always signing NDA cuz is plenty stuff not talked about for some reason.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 6th, 2017, 3:51 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Men does act like talking about issues leads to getting sued or something.

Do van men race each other though? Or do load pulling tests against one another? Take their vans to the track?

Well I have a 2.5 @ 75 KW. I find it underpowered when I have a full load in the tray and have to go up a hill. I then have to put on the low range 4 x 4. I will not buy a 2.5 again with that power and torque. So in the real world power and torque does in fact matter and it is just not a spec on a sheet

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 6th, 2017, 3:57 pm

PariaMan wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Men does act like talking about issues leads to getting sued or something.

Well I have a 2.5 @ 75 KW. I find it underpowered when I have a full load in the tray and have to go up a hill. I then have to put on the low range 4 x 4. I will not buy a 2.5 again with that power and torque. So in the real world power and torque does in fact matter and it is just not a spec on a sheet

You mentioned you had a problem with yours... What was it

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » November 6th, 2017, 4:28 pm

zando wrote:Anyone know if I order wiper blades from Amazon if they would be lhd and rhd specific or does it not matter?

Doesn’t matter

zando

Postby zando » November 6th, 2017, 4:42 pm

InsanityReigns wrote:
zando wrote:Anyone know if I order wiper blades from Amazon if they would be lhd and rhd specific or does it not matter?

Doesn’t matter

Thanks