T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby drchaos » March 3rd, 2016, 7:06 am

The dealers are using scare tactic's to keep the demand for vehicles up. The dollar is already devaluing, and for them to put an increase on MVT would hurt the stealerships too much. Remember who finances these political parties.

With the dollar devaluing I suspect they will leave the taxes as is (the drop is VAT is designed to help with devaluation), later on if car sales are badly affected they may actually look at dropping more taxes on vehicles.

Postby j.o.e » March 3rd, 2016, 11:45 am

cinco wrote:Test drove the new mazda 2 today. For the price 152 fully loaded it's probably the best value for money on the market. Very peppy engine and nice handling. Ride is a little rougher than what people expect in that segment but it's a mazda so that's expected

More details cinco? Engine, features etc
Last edited by j.o.e on March 3rd, 2016, 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

aidan

Postby aidan » March 3rd, 2016, 12:29 pm

^saw one of those mazda 2 on the road, looks nice

aidan

Postby aidan » March 3rd, 2016, 12:29 pm

^saw one of those mazda 2 on the road, looks nice

Postby cinco » March 3rd, 2016, 12:55 pm

kamakazi wrote:
cinco wrote:Test drove the new mazda 2 today. For the price 152 fully loaded it's probably the best value for money on the market. Very peppy engine and nice handling. Ride is a little rougher than what people expect in that segment but it's a mazda so that's expected

Did the transmission feel like the old 4 speed auto or the newer skyactiv 6 speed auto

It's the full skyactiv so skyactiv 1.5 and 6spd auto shifting was smooth so I couldn't even tell but was able to get it up to 140 on the highway effortlessly

Postby cinco » March 3rd, 2016, 12:58 pm

j.o.e wrote:

1.5 Fully skyactiv with 6spd tranny
Basically same features as.the 3 fully loaded ( steering wheel controls, blue tooth all dem frills)
Picking up a base model for mom more than likely (no blue tooth ugly deck and hubcaps but retains push button start

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 3rd, 2016, 8:26 pm

Anyone know if Ansa got the L200 with leather & sunroof yet?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 4th, 2016, 12:14 pm

cinco wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Basically same features as.the 3 fully loaded ( steering wheel controls, blue tooth all dem frills)
Picking up a base model for mom more than likely (no blue tooth ugly deck and hubcaps but retains push button start

Good choice. Now am I/we to assume that your views on SS has changed? Based on what I've read here it seems those Kia owners are having a pretty okayish experience so perhaps their Mazda ops should be more or less in order.

Postby Chimera » March 4th, 2016, 12:22 pm

how much for new kia sportage?

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » March 4th, 2016, 12:37 pm

Sportage starting at 260

Postby cinco » March 4th, 2016, 2:47 pm

acesinghit wrote:
cinco wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Good choice. Now am I/we to assume that your views on SS has changed? Based on what I've read here it seems those Kia owners are having a pretty okayish experience so perhaps their Mazda ops should be more or less in order.

Nope still southernshits choice of those cars are based on the fact the 2 is a world model and same specced everywhere. The 3 uses the same old z6 engine and tranny which was first sold in the first gen 3 so parts are available.
For the price they are the current best buys on the market imo

narine

Postby narine » March 6th, 2016, 9:55 am

Just as the reduction in VAT from 15% to 12.5 was being implemented, the TT dollar began to devalue. The benefit that you would have received from the VAT reduction is now being eaten away by the devaluation of the currency. The TT dollar is being devalued so swiftly that any benefit is lost and prices of vehicles will rise.

In a recession, demand will fall. But with the devaluation, the TT cost price of the vehicle relative to the US dollar will increase. Unless the dealer wants to sell his vehicles at a loss, which they will not, the dealer has no choice but to increase the TT price of the vehicle to match the exchange rate. Consequently the price of new as well as foreign used vehicles will increase.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 6th, 2016, 2:08 pm

Ey dem dealer's mark ups does be real real high ... so doh start with that dealers selling vehicles at a loss nonsense. Stealerships does drop car prices by 50K and ting and I sure they still not selling them vehicles at a loss.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 6th, 2016, 2:39 pm

Don't forget profits from service and parts as well

Sent from my D6653 using Tapatalk

evolve-x

Postby evolve-x » March 6th, 2016, 5:31 pm

Visited the open house this weekend. Can anyone tell me how Ansa can have the facelift model ranger 4x2 auto for 299k when they were 220k couple months ago. that's just a facelift no added features.

these ppl ?? boy-cut them rangers not justified even with the decrease in TTD dollar

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 6th, 2016, 5:40 pm

I will stick to my fixer upper.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 6th, 2016, 7:54 pm

299 wow

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 6th, 2016, 7:54 pm

299 wow

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby DVSTT » March 6th, 2016, 9:35 pm

3.2 loaded is 375k according to the sales guy in Sando.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 6th, 2016, 10:57 pm

The market is buy buy buy ... so they charge what they want. Don't be fooled prices will go down you just have to have to wait!

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2016, 6:44 am

evolve-x wrote:Visited the open house this weekend. Can anyone tell me how Ansa can have the facelift model ranger 4x2 auto for 299k when they were 220k couple months ago. that's just a facelift no added features.

these ppl ?? boy-cut them rangers not justified even with the decrease in TTD dollar

Toyota have the better deals on 4x2 and 4x4. Rangers are overpriced.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2016, 6:45 am

evolve-x wrote:Visited the open house this weekend. Can anyone tell me how Ansa can have the facelift model ranger 4x2 auto for 299k when they were 220k couple months ago. that's just a facelift no added features.

Toyota have the better deals on 4x2 and 4x4. Rangers are overpriced.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 8th, 2016, 8:24 am

you can get a new 2016 Hilux double cab 4wd automatic for $269k and even that subject to negotiation. In fact, they may throw in bed liner, tint and 1 year free roadside assistance. The van already comes with 3 airbags (1 for driver's knee), mp3/usb/aux/Bluetooth stereo, 17" alloy rims, front and rear mud guards, running boards, Toyota bed liner, fog lights, 5-speed tiptronic mated with the tried and tested 1kd-ftv motor. The fabric is of a high quality and the backseat has adjustable headrests and a center arm rest. The dash has a cool box just over the glove box and a MID screen on the IC. For those who want to dress it up you can buy the complete chrome kit for $3k and you can get parking sensors and camera on the outside for about another $3k. What else, the rollnlock tray cover will set you back $9-12k. So when you add this all up you get a maximum of $281k. For what it's worth coupled with good resale, this is hard to beat.

striver

Postby striver » March 8th, 2016, 8:45 am

^ hws the ride quality

saw a thread in the toyota pickups section where a guy was complaining abt the ride being to harsh.

i knw its a pickup designed for what it was built for jus askin

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 8th, 2016, 9:10 am

to be honest I don't find the ride any better than my np300. Keep in mind the hilux has leaf springs in the rear which is better for towing and weight and 17" rims. The np300 has 16" rims and coil springs. So comparing the two of them is not exactly fair but the hilux is okay enough. But just in case I'm wrong, what use is a cramped cabin (in the np300) with a softer suspension when you can actually sit properly in the backseat of a Hilux? I know we're all drivers but I am thinking about those loved ones in the backseat and how they would feel. Oh I almost forgot, there's a 18" rim model fully equipped Hilux so that may also contribute to a 'firmer' ride than a 16" equipped np300.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 8th, 2016, 3:04 pm

Ad in the papers ...
Hyundai Tucson low end version starting at 245K ... was 265K

Postby RASC » March 8th, 2016, 3:17 pm

drchaos wrote:Ey dem dealer's mark ups does be real real high ... so doh start with that dealers selling vehicles at a loss nonsense. Stealerships does drop car prices by 50K and ting and I sure they still not selling them vehicles at a loss.

Quoted for truth.

Postby gastly369 » March 10th, 2016, 9:16 pm

Vossens n some bags... Massy whey yuh dey

Postby S_2NR » March 10th, 2016, 10:23 pm

the i40 looks really impressive with lots of features

Postby Morpheus » March 10th, 2016, 10:41 pm

Nice car.

Saw a white Cerato wagon today and wow that looked good too. Stock.