The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Re: The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby wagonrunner » February 22nd, 2016, 12:01 pm

is there such a thing as a purpose built hearse?
All i can remember were station wagons.

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2016, 1:06 pm

nope, a factory built hearse has a raised roof aft of the driver, re-engineered chassis, and usually different rear doors....it may start off as a production vehicle, but it's not as simple as slapping on the twirly things on the side glass and deleting seats

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2016, 1:15 pm

nigie

Postby nigie » February 22nd, 2016, 1:19 pm

they using pickup trucks as hearse now...so like anything can be a hearse

Postby Monk BANzai » February 23rd, 2016, 11:52 pm

"Shes be covered down mostly but we skin out the a/c kit to double check the other day. Oil and a/c lines install easier with the wings off"

PAM 911.

Postby MG Man » February 24th, 2016, 9:41 am

teefin Bob pics again?

Postby Monk BANzai » February 24th, 2016, 3:16 pm

Bob put it on meh feed.. i just d messenger...

shivam1984

Postby shivam1984 » February 27th, 2016, 12:56 pm

K_J_R wrote:i believe this is a W123 300D MB?

the turbodiesels are the more desireable of the w123 models afaik.

excellent shape too.

do you know who owner is and ift its for sale?

Postby Monk BANzai » February 29th, 2016, 12:03 am

VW goodness...

Postby MG Man » February 29th, 2016, 7:55 am

mmmm tasty treats

fearsaga15

Postby fearsaga15 » February 29th, 2016, 9:58 am

Guys, I need help in identifying the engine below. It's installed in a 1960 A55 Mk2 Austin Cambridge I bought sometime ago.

20160229_094002.jpg

Ruff

Postby Ruff » February 29th, 2016, 1:13 pm

Looks like Mazda.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 29th, 2016, 2:29 pm

Find engine code on block an google it? Seems simple enough

Postby cinco » February 29th, 2016, 2:35 pm

Ruff wrote:Looks like Mazda.

it does doesnt it.
but IIRC mazda intake is usually on the left of the engine exhaust on the right for those older rwd engines

nismoid

Postby nismoid » February 29th, 2016, 5:06 pm

fearsaga15 wrote:Guys, I need help in identifying the engine below. It's installed in a 1960 A55 Mk2 Austin Cambridge I bought sometime ago.

20160229_094002.jpg

Looks like Mazda B series

Postby supercharged turbo » February 29th, 2016, 8:24 pm

Ruff wrote:Looks like Mazda.
Reminds me of my 323 engine

fearsaga15

Postby fearsaga15 » February 29th, 2016, 8:59 pm

Thanks Guys, the engine number is JL-..... tried googling it but got nothing.
Was told by the previous owner, it was a Mazda 1.8 engine but he didn't specify what series, which is what I was looking for.

Postby cinco » February 29th, 2016, 9:43 pm

fearsaga15 wrote:Thanks Guys, the engine number is JL-..... tried googling it but got nothing.
Was told by the previous owner, it was a Mazda 1.8 engine but he didn't specify what series, which is what I was looking for.

Well if he says mazda it could be a fwd f8 engine installed in a rwd configuration

Ruff

Postby Ruff » February 29th, 2016, 10:03 pm

I think u r correct.

Postby eliteauto » March 1st, 2016, 12:54 am

Postby cinco » March 1st, 2016, 1:25 am

Lol

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 1st, 2016, 10:02 am

eliteauto wrote:Image

Park like ah boss

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 2nd, 2016, 7:26 pm

via Facebook

STREETFREAK

Postby STREETFREAK » March 2nd, 2016, 8:41 pm

uploadfromtaptalk1456965695179.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1456965680390.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1456965668711.jpg

Sent from my DIGICEL DL800 using Tapatalk

antlind

Postby antlind » March 2nd, 2016, 9:19 pm

Wasn't that Land Rover an old ambulance?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 2nd, 2016, 9:21 pm

antlind wrote:Wasn't that Land Rover an old ambulance?

That's not a Land Rover. It's a Jeep, Scrambler I think.

hindian

Postby hindian » March 3rd, 2016, 7:39 pm

That could come back, with deep enough pockets that is cuz I think they still make body parts for that

VII

Postby VII » March 4th, 2016, 10:29 pm

K74T wrote:Are there any in a decent condition presently?

Check out this one in 2001,all through the vid,couple close-ups and side shots..

https://youtu.be/fgIbfvN9qWc

VII

Postby VII » March 4th, 2016, 11:12 pm

SiRMX wrote:Hey Tuners! I have seen two v8 Land Rover Defenders Series3 Stage1s SWB for sale in the space of two months. The sellers have claimed that there were only 24 made worldwide with the short wheel base. Were they ever so rare? Find it kinda incredible and hard to believe since I think there are at least three in the country. Can anyone with knowledge shed some light? If that's really the case, these machines going cheap.

I owned one,up to today it was the best sounding vehicle I ever owned,that V8 gargle was priceless. mine had the big a/c evaporator on top the roof. I painted it white from the blue I got it,painted around the lights black and made some great bush bars for it,that thing could've gone anywhere,I used to park it on top an old load of hard asphalt for kicks,it literally clung on the edges as if it had fingers and toes. I regret to this day selling it and hope to get one in the future.

I don't believe they were as rare as the person suggest though,but I'm really not sure,the gas tank was small and it was thirsty but that didn't really matter. I think it used to cost me about $90 to fill in those days. I was really connected to that vehicle,got a nice grey console for a 'modern' stereo from a Mazda 3 ton lol,it fit perfectly in the big dashboard void,hooked up some nice ready made speaker boxes all over the interior,man but the best music was the sound of that exhaust,damn I could hear it now!!! Being a Landy it was a bit awkward in some respects,but hit the dirt and rough terrain and you feel like your'e in a Porsche (dirt edition).

The brakes were just adequate but terrible when the adjustment apparatus with some very harmless teeth wears and then your braking gets totally out of sync with your shoes all doing what they wanted and the pedal would feel like a big stone sometimes,but because of the full time 4wd and the complicated drive train when you come off the gas it was almost like a Jake brake,of course the manual helped too,the price of parts were ridiculous at the agent at the time,parked her up for a while eventually got the parts after a discount (hey I was an early 20's with a small kid!) ran it for a couple months and sold it to an artist guy living between Trinidad and Tobago,forgot his name,would love to track it down though!
Last edited by VII on March 5th, 2016, 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » March 5th, 2016, 10:41 am

Nice project...flooring/body solid...its driving!
20160305_093942.jpg
20160305_093942.jpg (28.97 KiB) Viewed 5887 times
20160305_093929.jpg
20160305_093929.jpg (29.68 KiB) Viewed 5887 times
20160305_093854.jpg
20160305_093854.jpg (38.11 KiB) Viewed 5887 times