T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Joshie23

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby Joshie23 » February 21st, 2016, 5:43 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1456087654.395235.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Even at an introductory level..those prices are ridiculous.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 21st, 2016, 6:02 pm

Yea..people mad to buy that van at those prices

Postby *KRONIK* » February 21st, 2016, 6:05 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Yea..people mad to buy that van at those prices

Yet by next 3 months u go see one on every corner

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 21st, 2016, 7:12 pm

Checked them out Friday and even the fully loaded XLT was very unimpressive. Especially for that price. The exterior is nice. Interior.. Nope.
And to think the XLT more expensive than a brand new 3 series or A4 :?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » February 21st, 2016, 8:17 pm

Guys anyone knows it Toyota Trinidad Ltd bringing the new Corolla wagon

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 22nd, 2016, 1:56 pm

drchaos,
All tuners

RE: TTTL Hilux 3.0

Further to what was mentioned on the previous page, am I then to assume that even the older 3.0 engines are being imported at a high risk due to our low quality diesel? If so, could I safely say that the Maska/MRampersad Hilux 2.8 works out to be the better buy? I am getting the feeling that this 3.0L engine being the better one for our diesel vs the 2.8 is all BS since I am aware of someone who special imported a 2.8 version from TTTL with the DRL and projector head lights. How come they didn't say no to this purchase? I would hate to think they sold the owner and made him sign a waiver or something.

I checked out the 2.8 Hilux on Friday and everything seems to be in English except the owners manual but you will be given an English version of it. The projector HID's, LED DRL's, side and curtain airbags, 6-speed tiptronic and more powerful engine seems like the way to go then.

In summary, the fully loaded TTTL Hilux @ $308k is not bad but you can pay extra for the 2.8 and you get the more powerful and safer of the two Hilux's.

Given the above, I just can't understand what value proposition does Ford bring with that $395k tag vs the premium Toyota pickup at $308k. We reach an all-time high in pickup pricing now.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 22nd, 2016, 8:02 pm

So.... no one realised TTTL is now selling RORO vehicles?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » February 22nd, 2016, 8:44 pm

Toyota_Pre_Owned.jpg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 22nd, 2016, 10:15 pm

acesinghit wrote:drchaos,
All tuners

Further to what was mentioned on the previous page, am I then to assume that even the older 3.0 engines are being imported at a high risk due to our low quality diesel? If so, could I safely say that the Maska/MRampersad Hilux 2.8 works out to be the better buy? I am getting the feeling that this 3.0L engine being the better one for our diesel vs the 2.8 is all BS since I am aware of someone who special imported a 2.8 version from TTTL with the DRL and projector head lights. How come they didn't say no to this purchase? I would hate to think they sold the owner and made him sign a waiver or something.

I checked out the 2.8 Hilux on Friday and everything seems to be in English except the owners manual but you will be given an English version of it. The projector HID's, LED DRL's, side and curtain airbags, 6-speed tiptronic and more powerful engine seems like the way to go then.

In summary, the fully loaded TTTL Hilux @ $308k is not bad but you can pay extra for the 2.8 and you get the more powerful and safer of the two Hilux's.

Given the above, I just can't understand what value proposition does Ford bring with that $395k tag vs the premium Toyota pickup at $308k. We reach an all-time high in pickup pricing now.

So did a little bit of research; what i have found is that there are Euro specifications for fuel and engine emissions.
On the fuel side, they reduce the sulfur content as the spec advances.

On the engine emissions side I found that the KD series of diesel engines are classed as Euro 3 emissions compliant; they become Euro 4/5 compliant with the addition of the Exhaust Gas Re-circulation system and possibly different tuning.
Now the 2.8 (GD) is Euro 6 emissions compliant but it has to deal with our lovely diesel; Diesel which is high in sulfur and doesn't meet the cetane requirements for even the KD. The result is an increase in harmful exhaust byproducts which I believe would eventually lead to the failure of the emissions control systems in that engine. Its not that the GD wouldn't run, it's a matter of how long under those conditions.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 22nd, 2016, 10:22 pm

All tuners

So did a little bit of research; what i have found is that there are Euro specifications for fuel and engine emissions.

On the engine emissions side I found that the KD series of diesel engines are classed as Euro 3 emissions compliant; they become Euro 4/5 compliant with the addition of the Exhaust Gas Re-circulation system and possibly different tuning.
Now the 2.8 (GD) is Euro 6 emissions compliant but it has to deal with our lovely diesel; Diesel which is high in sulfur and doesn't meet the cetane requirements for even the KD. The result is an increase in harmful exhaust byproducts which I believe would eventually lead to the failure of the emissions control systems in that engine. Its not that the GD wouldn't run, it's a matter of how long under those conditions.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 22nd, 2016, 10:52 pm

2WNBoost wrote:^^
Toyota_Pre_Owned.jpg

Wait what!? :lol: :lol: :lol:

scotty_buttons

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby scotty_buttons » February 22nd, 2016, 11:01 pm

kamakazi wrote:
All tuners

Since the Euro classification is based mainly on emissions...Would it really apply here since we have no emissions laws?
Do horrible emissions necessarily mean long term damage to the engine itself ? Or just damage solely to emissions related stuff like the cat converter, DPF etc ?
Arent there ways to prevent engine and related component failure from using our high sulfur diesel by using cetane booster, regular injector service, somehow bypassing or altering the emissions control unit? I dunno.

Just being devil's advocate here. Cuz I'm not sure myself.
And I'm trying to understand this whole Euro emissions classification and the implications.
As far as I've read it doesn't necessarily mean that the engine cannot run or will get long term damage from high sulfur diesel providing the preventative measure are put in place..

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 22nd, 2016, 11:28 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
All tuners

Since the Euro classification is based mainly on emissions...Would it really apply here since we have no emissions laws?
Do horrible emissions necessarily mean long term damage to the engine itself ? Or just damage solely to emissions related stuff like the cat converter, DPF etc ?
Arent there ways to prevent engine and related component failure from using our high sulfur diesel by using cetane booster, regular injector service, somehow bypassing or altering the emissions control unit? I dunno.

And I'm trying to understand this whole Euro emissions classification and the implications.
As far as I've read it doesn't necessarily mean that the engine cannot run or will get long term damage from high sulfur diesel providing the preventative measure are put in place..

You know how those 3.0TDI Q7's were subject to engine failure? tThose are euro 5/6 also....so to answer your question there will be engine failure, such as the number of fails MASKA has with their imported vans

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 22nd, 2016, 11:31 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
All tuners

You know how those 3.0TDI Q7's were subject to engine failure? Those are euro 5/6 also....so to answer your question there will be engine failure, such as the number of fails MASKA has with their imported vans

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 23rd, 2016, 12:10 am

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
All tuners

You know how those 3.0TDI Q7's were subject to engine failure? Those are euro 5/6 also....so to answer your question there will be engine failure, such as the number of fails MASKA has with their imported vans

What about the VW Amarok? Those will be subjected to failure as well ? Or you have a work around for that? :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » February 23rd, 2016, 12:57 am

Those Amaroks are going to give problems later on.

Southern Sales and Lifestyle are not importing TDi engines again.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 23rd, 2016, 2:20 am

equipped2ripp wrote:Those Amaroks are going to give problems later on.

The Amarok engines are built to EURO 2/3 standard as is the new Nissan NP300,and will not be subject to fails...Only the TDI V6 engines are EURO 5/6,

Additionally Tiguan & Passat B8 model TDI 4 cyclinder engines have always been here and do not suffer as they are also EURO 2/3 compliant

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 23rd, 2016, 10:34 am

Think u mean the passat b7 model

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 23rd, 2016, 10:34 am

Think u mean the passat b7 model

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 23rd, 2016, 11:48 am

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:Those Amaroks are going to give problems later on.

The Amarok engines are built to EURO 2/3 standard as is the new Nissan NP300,and will not be subject to fails...Only the TDI V6 engines are EURO 5/6,

Additionally Tiguan & Passat B8 model TDI 4 cyclinder engines have always been here and do not suffer as they are also EURO 2/3 compliant

Sure about the Amarok? I've read that they're EURO 5 at least. From 2015. Cuz I was interested in it until I read that. Unless our market getting a different engine.
In addition, the Amaroks in Jamaica having a lot of problems too, engine and turbo related. So all those things made me a bit hesitant...

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 23rd, 2016, 11:55 am

Positively sure we get the Euro 2/3 which is what I was told by management..we get what South America gets and these are still being beaten to death...

Is Jamaica getting the twin turbo and if so which turbo is failing? (Legitimate question)

Sent from my SM-G900M using Tapatalk

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 23rd, 2016, 12:10 pm

Scotty...see info here...its euro 3

[URL]http://scarletpumpkin.com/volkswagen/2012_vw_amarok_20_bitdi_132_kw_double_cab/URL]

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 23rd, 2016, 12:10 pm

http://scarletpumpkin.com/volkswagen/2012_vw_amarok_20_bitdi_132_kw_double_cab

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 23rd, 2016, 12:11 pm

http://scarletpumpkin.com/volkswagen/2012_vw_amarok_20_bitdi_132_kw_double_cab

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 23rd, 2016, 12:13 pm

^^ thanks! I will find it more info regarding the Jamaican models.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 23rd, 2016, 12:13 pm

^^ thanks! I will find it more info regarding the Jamaican models.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 23rd, 2016, 1:22 pm

White CZ4A wrote:Guys.
what is the cheapest entry level car available?
Need one for a worker. Basically just a point A to point B car.

This response is a bit late but i just found out that the base Mazda 2 can be had for around 140K and their "Loaded" is around 150K
I do not know what it gives up in regards to safety but as a point A to B car....I believe that is it.
It comes with the 1.5 Sky aktive engine which i was told runs on super.

Postby cinco » February 23rd, 2016, 1:28 pm

kamakazi wrote:

This response is a bit late but i just found out that the base Mazda 2 can be had for around 140K and their "Loaded" is around 150K
I do not know what it gives up in regards to safety but as a point A to B car....I believe that is it.

Does the mazda 2 have a cvt tranny?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 23rd, 2016, 1:50 pm

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » February 23rd, 2016, 4:03 pm

cinco wrote:
kamakazi wrote:

Does the mazda 2 have a cvt tranny?

I believe it's the same automatic on the 3