T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 29th, 2015, 4:45 pm

I could understand if you don't like the styling but I don't think you can call the gti overpriced without calling other vehicles overpriced as well cuz that gti specced up there is optioned out way better than the vehicles similarly priced including the more expensive c class, 3 series or a4 and is also faster.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 29th, 2015, 5:42 pm

Well ideally the prob is all these vehicles are ridiculously exp

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 30th, 2015, 12:36 am

roel wrote:GOLF GTI MKV11

227bhp/258 lbs ft torque @ 1500 rpm
1500 rpm? Well thats odd...

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 30th, 2015, 12:42 am

The GTI @ $400k is excellent value for money IMO since if you were to shop for the other 3 Germans ie. A4 1.8T Ambient, C180 and 316i they each would get blown away by the GTI. Then we have the A200, CLA200, A3 1.8T sedan and sportback. I would take the cheaper A3 which suppose to be a higher quality car than a VW branded product and map the 1.8T accordingly. A BRZ/FRS/GT86 will get blown away by a GTI from a dig or roll going and coming but I suppose the Toyota will last longer and get better resale. If you're shopping for a $400k performance car with the practicality of a Honda Fit then resale and reliability won't be too high on your list.

Postby A172 » May 30th, 2015, 12:59 am

gti look gd

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 30th, 2015, 5:16 am

New WRX with the fa engine... whenever that reaches
Mini Cooper S .... Maybe

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 30th, 2015, 9:37 am

worksux101 wrote:

Modern boosted cars have this as the norm. Some even do it from 1250 and it goes from there till 4500.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 30th, 2015, 9:43 am

worksux101 wrote:

Change downpipe and might get it at 1000rpm. :lol:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 30th, 2015, 9:56 am

Didnt see anything about it being boosted hence my confusion. Kno nothing of those cars

Postby j.o.e » May 30th, 2015, 11:02 am

zando wrote:I would have taken that as an acceptable answer maybe two generations ago, but you have the new Ranger for e.g. you need to have a light T license to drive it, that thing is HUGE, i don't know if you need a light T license for the new Navara but it too is also pretty big, with those turbo diesels, these trucks can tow and carry a lot of weight, so in my opinion i think it would make sense to have upgraded brakes.

j.o.e wrote:
zando wrote:So, i always wondered this, but, why in Trinidad can't we get Pickups with 4 wheel disk brakes? In the U.S. and other countries you can get that sheit, but not here.

Am i missing something though? Is there an advantage to having front disks and rear drums on a pickup vs all disks? For the price people pay for these trucks, throwing in some 4 wheel disk brakes shouldn't be too hard.

Pickups locally are relatively small and regardless of how 'fancy' u make make them look they are really budget,small payload, cargo movers. Designed for short distance, small load moving..... as such drums are considered more than adequate for their application and cheap price point. Only in Trinidad we consider them luxury, performance vehicles with a tray.

Drum brakes are the better application for towing and heavy duty use etc because of the large surface area they offer better max clamp and are also sealed away from debris and elements in an industrial/off road environment. Discs only out perform on track use and repeated braking. Also anyone who is towing uses engine braking not slamming brakes repeatedly.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 30th, 2015, 12:06 pm

The only thing that competes with the gti here is the new wrx. Wrx maxes out at 385 and is faster should handle better due to the all wheel drive. I am a bit disappointed that gti came a bit broken down from what is offered in other markets for such a high price.
No adaptive cruise control, 17 inch rims (standard 18's everywhere else), no option for mechanical limited slip dif, smallest touch screen of those on offer.
Mini Cooper s is priced stupidly at 375k it's in smaller class as a super mini, and compared to the gti in foreign markets it's way cheaper.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 31st, 2015, 10:16 pm

NorStar2K wrote:[
Hyundai-Tucson_2016_1024x768_wallpaper_10.jpg
The Third Generation Tucson is coming in July............

You have a link in Massy??

Was there maybe 3 weeks ago (Port of Spain showroom) and the Sales Rep told me October for this model and that they have no idea on probable pricing as yet.

That's what a rep told me. He seemed sure. I guess We'll see.

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » June 2nd, 2015, 5:09 pm

Heard from Massy today, the i30 is 192k, and they are only bringing a basic model with no push button, no reverse camera etc.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 2nd, 2015, 7:35 pm

jedismurf99 wrote:Heard from Massy today, the i30 is 192k, and they are only bringing a basic model with no push button, no reverse camera etc.

:| What is this fascination with push button start? How is that a feature?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 2nd, 2015, 8:09 pm

jedismurf99 wrote:Heard from Massy today, the i30 is 192k, and they are only bringing a basic model with no push button, no reverse camera etc.

:| What is this fascination with push button start? How is that a feature?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » June 2nd, 2015, 8:29 pm

Y not.. We in 2015 not 1980. If u paying so much for a car might as well get decent features

Postby A172 » June 2nd, 2015, 9:13 pm

rory yur new car hv push button start?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 2nd, 2015, 10:28 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Y not.. We in 2015 not 1980. If u paying so much for a car might as well get decent features

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » June 3rd, 2015, 12:13 am

Not having to take a key out of your pocket x99999 uses of the car = a little bit easier life.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 3rd, 2015, 8:57 am

A172 wrote:rory yur new car hv push button start?

Yes, I have it in my 120Y.

Postby A172 » June 3rd, 2015, 9:44 am

k

Postby noshownogo » June 3rd, 2015, 10:16 am

This year's Civic from Classic is last few years with minor facelift. More value to be had for less with other brands but there is a bit more refinement in the R16 Honda engine.

R18 Civic is nearing $300k which is madness. In 2006 I paid $186k for my R18 Civic from Classic.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 3rd, 2015, 4:17 pm

noshownogo wrote:. . .R18 Civic is nearing $300k which is madness. In 2006 I paid $186k for my R18 Civic from Classic.

Using an average inflation rate of 6% per year from 2006 to 2014 (over a period of 8 years), if you calculated the future value of $186k, you basically end up around $300k. I have not checked the most recent Central Bank Report for inflation, so my average may be off a bit.

But in summary, you paid a mad price of $186k in 2006 for an R18 Civic from Classic Motors.

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » June 3rd, 2015, 4:25 pm

Interestingly one sales rep told me certain things over the phone, and I got the following document from another, which is totally different information.

But that looks like the older model, so maybe they are selling out the first generation stock at 180k?

Postby adnj » June 4th, 2015, 6:50 am

Last edited by adnj on June 16th, 2024, 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » June 4th, 2015, 6:51 am

Last edited by adnj on June 16th, 2024, 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Registered User » June 5th, 2015, 2:25 pm

That i30 @ 180k seems quite a good deal. Looks pretty similar equipment-wise to the 200k elantra.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » June 13th, 2015, 8:52 am

Any1 know the price of a roll and lock for the 2015 navara? Massy has it for like around 10k

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 18th, 2015, 3:49 pm

where all d Hyundai and Kia haters?

Car brand rankings in 2015 quality survey

Consulting firm J.D. Power and Associates released its annual survey of new vehicle quality Wednesday. The survey questioned 84,000 people with 2015 model-year vehicles after 90 days of ownership and asked them what problems they had.

Here's how the brands stacked up, the number of problems reported per 100 vehicles and the number of positions the brands rose or fell from a year ago.

1. Porsche (80, same)

2. Kia (86, +5)

3. Jaguar (93, -1)

4. Hyundai (95, same)

5. Infiniti (97, +18)

6. BMW (99, +2)

7. Chevrolet (101, -1)

8. Lincoln (103, +2)

9. Lexus (104, -6)

9. Toyota (104, -4)

11. Buick (105, +8)

12. Ford (107, +4)

13. Ram (110, +5)

14. Honda (111, -5)

14. Mercedes-Benz (111, same)

INDUSTRY AVERAGE: 112 (up from 116)

16. Audi (115, -5)

16. GMC (115, +1)

18. Dodge (116, +3)

19. Volvo (120, -4)

20. Nissan (121, same)

21. Cadillac (122, -8)

21. Mini (122, +5)

23. Mazda (123, +5)

23. Volkswagen (123, +1)

25. Scion (124, +4)

26. Acura (126, -1)

26. Mitsubishi (126, +4)

28. Land Rover (134, -6)

29. Jeep (141, +2)

30. Subaru (142, -3)

31. Chrysler (143, -19)

32. Smart (154, NA)

33. Fiat (161, -1)

Source: J.D. Power and Associates

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150617 ... ity-survey

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 18th, 2015, 4:27 pm

Lol of course they have the fewest faults. They have the fewest features on their US based cars.

:fist:

Lemme hear yuh Swisha.