My First Generation RX7 Project

Bezman

Re: My First Generation RX7 Project

Postby Bezman » March 22nd, 2015, 1:32 am

Took her for her first drive, and then the mechanic took a spin too. lots of smoke as i added too much premix and the rear brake shields rubbing etc.. but she's driving and running great :twisted:

IMG_6152.jpg

IMG_6151.jpg

Postby black start » March 22nd, 2015, 1:57 am

coming along real nice man!

Postby Monk BANzai » March 22nd, 2015, 4:18 am

^^ Yup... any project that bounces starter and moves warms my loins... lol... id still go with "as close to" original lines for the first gen.. but the car looks great for what it is ...

good stuff Bez...

Postby supercharged turbo » March 22nd, 2015, 8:34 am

Looking good!This is in dow village by chance?

Postby black start » March 22nd, 2015, 1:31 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Looking good!This is in dow village by chance?

stephen rotary works in dow village

Their yellow rx just simple and nice :D

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 22nd, 2015, 3:01 pm

All credit must be given to Stephen Rotary Works.

From porting the engine, to engine assembly, installation, customizing the driveline, install/wiring the haltech and all gauges etc, fabricating the fuel system/lines, fabricating steel braided oil cooling lines, and welding and fabricating the exhaust and lots of small details and custom fabrication, he did it all...

Highly recommended

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 23rd, 2015, 1:24 pm

^^total cost thus far?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 23rd, 2015, 2:12 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:^^total cost thus far?

about $500 TT or so :lol: :roll:
all depends on what you doing, my best suggestion is you make a plan of what you want to do with a list of parts and go to him and sit down and make a plan and he will be able to give you a cost.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 23rd, 2015, 7:20 pm

^^Sorry Buddy... I meant total project cost thus far. :)

Postby Ted_v2 » March 23rd, 2015, 7:33 pm

My rough estimate is just below 80k

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 6th, 2015, 11:18 am

#becauserotary
IMG_6293.PNG
IMG_6272.jpg
IMG_6309.jpg
IMG_6319.jpg
IMG_6322.jpg
IMG_6323.jpg

Postby 1UZFE » April 6th, 2015, 12:03 pm

Yo. Bezman.
I doh mean to be up in yuh business. But do u think u crossed $100k.??
Reason i asked is because i want to do a same rx7 project but i only have a budget of 100k.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 6th, 2015, 12:16 pm

for the record, i will never discuss money etc.. not being rude, but build your car with the budget you have... if you try to build your car with someone else's build (or "budget") in mind, you may never be happy with your results.

Postby Morpheus » April 6th, 2015, 12:53 pm

Good logical response.....

xxjamalxx

Postby xxjamalxx » April 6th, 2015, 1:22 pm

Nice bulid my friend!! Buliding one myself
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1428340916.985119.jpg

Postby 1UZFE » April 6th, 2015, 1:28 pm

Bezman wrote:for the record, i will never discuss money etc.. not being rude, but build your car with the budget you have... if you try to build your car with someone else's build (or "budget") in mind, you may never be happy with your results.

True ...
Jus wanted 2 get an idea of availability of parts and costing...

moti

Postby moti » April 7th, 2015, 1:27 pm

This WIN!!!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 3rd, 2015, 2:42 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1430678449.575140.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1430678406.504092.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1430678477.825574.jpg

Just been driving
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1430678381.890362.jpg

Postby Monk BANzai » May 3rd, 2015, 2:50 pm

find the car lil tall tho... future plans on moar lows?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 3rd, 2015, 4:05 pm

Nope... It's at a height now where it clears speed bumps, driveways and most parking curbs. Also saves me from having to drive at 20k everywhere to avoid man hole covers ripping off the exhaust. At this height I can drive the car. Not crawl everywhere and zig zag at every intersection and can't get in or out of my friends or my own driveways. Also the koni adjustable shocks seems very happy at this height with no bottoming out

Edit: but I can lower for events etc

Postby Monk BANzai » May 4th, 2015, 2:53 pm

word to big bird.....

Postby MG Man » May 4th, 2015, 3:05 pm

could use some chunky 13s
:mrgreen:

Postby pete » May 5th, 2015, 9:22 am

When's the first event? D&W on the 24th of this month? :)

droppa

Postby droppa » May 5th, 2015, 12:14 pm

great build, you are one of those tuners that take the time and effort to properly research a project and plan every move, like a chess game, I eh know fcuk bout chess, but that's what I can compare it too, most others play draughts.......lol....

if I may add one suggestion, don't paint it, resto the body as is, maybe clear over, or buff.....seeing that trend on quite many tuner showcases now....

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 6th, 2015, 2:26 pm

Thanks guys, no event participation till i finished break in the engine/turbo/clutch/brakes

I also need to upgrade/replace the diff as it sounds like a dog box at the moment.. So either going to upgrade the one i have with new ring and pinion OR upgrade to a bigger diff (E25/Hilux/8.8)

also will be painting the car.. just cant decide on color as yet

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 6th, 2015, 3:22 pm

Nice

Like Rassey not sure about the height , but practical use before all

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 18th, 2015, 11:24 pm

Whistle and wine

Postby MG Man » May 19th, 2015, 8:46 am

best paint scheme :mrgreen:
best bodykit too, imo

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » May 20th, 2015, 1:02 am

Just had to chime in, saw this car sometime ago and I must say first off it sounds lovely, secondly the decision to keep the body kit was well made it gives the car a presence and the lines just work. Just had to say excellent build.

Postby brams112 » May 20th, 2015, 8:15 pm

1UZFE wrote:Yo. Bezman.
I doh mean to be up in yuh business. But do u think u crossed $100k.??
Reason i asked is because i want to do a same rx7 project but i only have a budget of 100k.

Just saying engine alone have lots of different types of build,try looking for one that have your liking first,that may not need much to get started,guy got one in the classifieds in here go look at it and go from there,you can even ask op,he will help you with his experience, :D .