The Truth Behind The Subaru EJ-Series Engines -

kjaglal76v2

Re: The Truth Behind The Subaru EJ-Series Engines -

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 11th, 2014, 11:27 pm

oh & and import tuner magazine article IS NOT a technical contribution, esp one filled wid contradictions

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 12th, 2014, 5:15 am

Conclusion
13 2008 Subaru Impreza WRX STI Engine Bay
What began as a baseline dyno run of 259 hp and 279 lb-ft of torque was quickly revamped with our final run of 288 hp and 354 lb-ft of torque, a gain of 29 hp and 75 lb-ft of torque. These were impressive power gains that were made possible with the proper selection of parts and tuning. We can't stress enough how important tuning is when looking to create horsepower as our STI is living proof that Subaru's have definite power potential.

Read more: http://www.importtuner.com/powerpages/1 ... z31UVmkfw3

nice read for those who are willing to do some upgrades, now its the ej25 engine but its a nice yardstick showing power upgrades and tuning along the way...

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 12th, 2014, 7:33 am

ej257 is not as strong as the ej207, but does offer much more Torque that the 2.0

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » May 12th, 2014, 1:39 pm

any of allya spraying nitrous?
i never tried on my sti but always wondered.

use to spray alot of nitrous on my previous car, it was a stock sr20ve and it took 100 shot easy.
still have the kit home so was studying to put it on the sti.

anyone spraying on a bone stock subaru?
or even if yr car is upgraded what is the max shot u running?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 12th, 2014, 6:04 pm

I kmow ren is on juice but he has a built motor...leo was on juice too (white penut with sti across the side)

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 13th, 2014, 12:43 am

dread_2002 wrote:any of allya spraying nitrous?
i never tried on my sti but always wondered.

use to spray alot of nitrous on my previous car, it was a stock sr20ve and it took 100 shot easy.
still have the kit home so was studying to put it on the sti.

anyone spraying on a bone stock subaru?
or even if yr car is upgraded what is the max shot u running?

Considering the piston ring problem (257), I won't try to big of a shot. Especially without a tune to compensate.
I consider the rings fragile...

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:ej257 is not as strong as the ej207, but does offer much more Torque that the 2.0

*cue* no replacement for displacement :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 16th, 2015, 4:53 am

Postby shogun » April 16th, 2015, 6:44 am

Nice thread.

Sorry i only had time to read to page: 1

Keep the info coming guys.

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » April 16th, 2015, 7:59 am

moving wrote:ecutek locks the ecu so u dont go farting around with the tune..
everyone always quick to blame the tuner when engine blow etc..
and everyone quick to say they know how to tune

i have a ecutek ecu and the car runs great.. hp like wow..reliable etc.
no complaints

if u upgrade parts go and get another tune

my car have a ecutek tune after the rebuild i was surprised the car started up one time idles smooth no complains the engine is still in the break in period
i spoke to jason and he seems cool i told him what i wanted from the car and he gave me some valuable advice on what i need to do and what stuff he taught i should get before i bring it for a retune

so far i have no complains with ecutek

Lance

Postby Lance » April 16th, 2015, 11:43 am

If you didn't change any parts that would mess with maf scaling etc then it should have started up smoothly regardless of the map.

ECUTEK is a viable option though. A lot of guys put out big power with Jason tuning.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 17th, 2015, 12:37 pm

That's a considerable amount to pay for an incremental improvement in spool.

Is the company related to APS? It seems like a copy of the APS kit:

http://www.airpowersystems.com/wrx/aps_ ... /turbo.htm

I don't think APS makes it anymore though.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 19th, 2015, 4:38 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:

this the same one that did 9.77?

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » April 19th, 2015, 6:55 pm

I dont think it made that

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 19th, 2015, 7:07 pm

Postby nervewrecker » April 19th, 2015, 7:11 pm

Posting so I can find this thread easy

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 19th, 2015, 10:09 pm

same car

Postby 16 cycles » April 21st, 2015, 7:51 am

Treadstone hot parts rotated kit
Treadstone fmic
Killerb Header
Forced Performance HTA3582
Id2000s
Walbro 485 rewired
P&L/CompClutch twin disk
Cobb AP
P&L Brakes
Stock 17" STI wheels with M&H drag radials

axles popping...

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthr ... 069&page=2

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 22nd, 2015, 9:40 am

Really impressive I'm not that brave

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 22nd, 2015, 10:55 am

impossible locally anyways

Glitch

Postby Glitch » April 22nd, 2015, 11:05 am

I wouldn't say impossible...but finding someone willing to spend the money to do it.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » April 22nd, 2015, 12:54 pm

Alot of people also talk about a tune is so important for a stock engine and whatnot. If you buy a car from the factory, it is designed to work as-is, without any sort of aftermarket tune. The stock ECU and map also allows for small upgrades (talking 02-07 WRX/ STi here) like a catback for example. The issue arises when people believe what they hear from their 'partners' about "take out them catalyst boy, it restrictin yuh turbo" or "them cars need a 3" downpipe to work properly"...or even the more popular "a cold air intake does give you rel extra power because of the colder air coming in"

When you do work like this, please people, it affects the scaling of the OEM sensors and ECU and REQUIRES a tune to correct for them. I have heard numerous horror stories of people locally changing downpipe and melting pistons.

If you leave it stock, run normal pump gas on a stock tune, you will be safe. I can safely say this as I have own numerous turbocharged Subaru's with stock everything (other than maybe a catback) and yet to cause major damage.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 22nd, 2015, 1:10 pm

GTR Fever wrote:Alot of people also talk about a tune is so important for a stock engine and whatnot. If you buy a car from the factory, it is designed to work as-is, without any sort of aftermarket tune.

This analysis is a bit flawed. Especially if you consider an STi Spec JDM Subaru.

No car from the factory is mapped with Trinidad as the final consumption market. This includes any consideration for fuel quality. We simply do not have 97RON here and this is what is STi recommended given the boost levels and timing.

Knock sensors ensure that nothing is damaged but will the car perform as it was meant to off the factory floor? No it will not. No damage doesn't mean optimal performance.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » April 22nd, 2015, 1:12 pm

But the ecu is able to learn and will make corrections accordingly to accommodate.

Postby 16 cycles » April 22nd, 2015, 1:19 pm

GTR Fever wrote: I have heard numerous horror stories of people locally changing downpipe and melting pistons.

what's the physics that governs this cause and effect?

asking to understand....

Lance

Postby Lance » April 22nd, 2015, 1:31 pm

It usualy makes corrections by either (1) cutting timing in individual RPM/Load cells (by FLKC or FBKC) or across the board (IAM reduction). (2) If the IAM drops low enough it will throw the vehicle in safe mode and activate wastegate boost.

The 02 senor is narrow band and it would add/cut fuel in open loop situations (idle, cruising etc.) This can help in these instances- doesnt really matter though, they are low risk anyhow. However, when you normally go into WOT or Boost situations the ECU switches to Close Loop and refers to lookup tables for targets, no adjustments are made. This is where the factory tune cannot help you maintain power through corrections. The only correction it will make is using feedback from the knock sensor (i.e. corrections 1 and 2)

In any event, all these ECU "learning and corrections" here will result in performance reduction.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 22nd, 2015, 1:34 pm

16 cycles wrote:
GTR Fever wrote: I have heard numerous horror stories of people locally changing downpipe and melting pistons.

what's the physics that governs this cause and effect?

asking to understand....

Changing your downpipe to 3'' normally causes your boost levels to behave erratic (usually spikes). I've seen them spike upwards of 25psi after install and taper down slowly.

This amount of air in excess of the stock tune leans out your a/f ratios to insane levels. The incremental build up of heat that ensues probably causes the rest.

Postby crazybalhead » April 22nd, 2015, 1:47 pm

Waaay no downpipe and intake without tune? did not know that.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 22nd, 2015, 2:20 pm

^ yeh subaru are special lol...i changed turbo inlet and had to retune because it started leaning