HELP!!! requesting advise for buying a car on low salary

h3llh3x

HELP!!! requesting advise for buying a car on low salary

Postby h3llh3x » March 28th, 2015, 1:12 pm

Hello good day,

I'm currently a full-time student with a part time job that makes 3000 a month.
I was contemplating taking a 40k loan to buy either an almera or the shark galant (eighth generation) .
The loan would amount at a maximum of 1200 a month for 3 years

please note my parents doesn't have the funds capable to help maintain the car after purchase

In short, my questions are:
--Would it be possible to maintain a car with the remaining money per month($1800)
----if possible briefly explain how (I'm not a vehicular minded expert)

--Are there other cars within that price bracket than would be better than what I mentioned earlier.
----also note that I don't care about speed but comfort. The vehicle must atleast have the basic luxury of an AD wagon or almera

--Should I take a bigger loan and buy a leased car from a firm
--would

please feel free to provide additional serious advise and provide me with other alternatives that i may not have foreseen.

thank you for your help in advance....

Re: HELP!!! requesting advise for buying a car on low salary

Postby black start » March 28th, 2015, 1:28 pm

h3llh3x wrote:In short, my questions are:
--Would it be possible to maintain a car with the remaining money per month($1800)
----if possible briefly explain how (I'm not a vehicular minded expert)

$1800 a month is enough money to maintain a car but you won't really have $1800 extra at your disposal. I'm sure you'll have other expenses, probably get stuff at the grocery, pay bills, give chile mudda money, etc

Do a budget, it's gonna be tight, but it's possible

--Are there other cars within that price bracket than would be better than what I mentioned earlier.
----also note that I don't care about speed but comfort. The vehicle must atleast have the basic luxury of an AD wagon or almera

Stick to nissan. If it's one thing they good for is that they cheap. Body and mechanical parts cheap, they good on fuel, and they easy to maintain. I hope you planning to service it yourself, you'll save some money that way. The ad wagon is excellent and there are some pretty decent ones in your price range. The b15 is also a good contender. If you look around well, you could even get a march for that price. Remember to account for transfer taxes and insurance when making your purchase as these tender to take a decent chunk out of your pocket.

--Should I take a bigger loan and buy a leased car from a firm
--would

Considering your budget, I would advise against taking a larger loan.

hope this helps!

John_Doe

Postby John_Doe » March 28th, 2015, 1:45 pm

Yes i agree with the AD wagon, dont worry about looking cool right now, focus on ur studies... Try and get a longer loan term, make sure u can make ur payments comfortable, dont hang ur hat to high and end up in debt.

HSA

Postby HSA » March 31st, 2015, 1:42 pm

i went uwi with my great grandfather's 1973 land rover.....doh study looks..as long as you bonx starter and moving...but doh get me wrong...doh buy no beat down thing that needs fixing....i didnt care about looks but rel girls wanted a ride...still doh know if it was on the rover or me

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 31st, 2015, 3:14 pm

The real question is do you really need a car?

h3llh3x

Postby h3llh3x » March 31st, 2015, 3:21 pm

black start, John_Doe, HSA - i appreciate the advise, helped alot

TurboSingh12, my course is assessment based, which means we dont have exams directly but alot of course work projects that determine if you pass or fail that class's semester. And coupled with work, its extremely hard to keep up when you have to wait for an hour to get transport to and from, plus additional 30-45 mins in traffic