400kmh BUGATTI - WORLDS FASTEST ROAD CAR!

Polydor

400kmh BUGATTI - WORLDS FASTEST ROAD CAR!

Postby Polydor » June 15th, 2005, 1:42 pm

Legendary sports car maker Bugatti is to produce the world's fastest road car after a prototype last week exceeded 400kmh on a German test track, silencing critics who predicted the car would never achieve its ambitious goal.

The multi million-dollar Bugatti Veyron 16.4 - its name refers to the 16-cylinder, quad-turbocharged engine that has more power than a Formula One car - achieved the feat on a Volkswagen test track.

The German car giant bought the famous French Bugatti brand in 1998 and has been working on re-establishing its supercar credentials ever since.

Bugatti says the 750kW test car, one of 11 prototypes developed leading up to the planned launch of the two-seater vehicle, achieved the speed "several times".

From that speed (and assuming its brakes retard the car at a similar level to other supercars), the Veyron would take 750 metres to stop.....see it ppl. it takes distance to stop fast cars.....take heed :!:

As well as the seemingly ludicrous top speed, the all-wheel-drive Veyron can reach 100kmh in just 2.9 seconds.

Such performance raises questions about the safety implications of a car capable of travelling at four times the legal speed limit, although - just as Ferraris almost never reach their potential on public roads - Bugatti says such daring will most likely be left to race tracks or private roads to which well-heeled owners would have access.

Reaching the 400kmh milestone was a relief for Bugatti, which delayed the Veyron project more than two years due to development setbacks.

Customer deliveries of the Veyron were originally slated for 2003 but overheating problems, concerns about high-speed stability and stringent quality standards set by Volkswagen made the project run late. The first cars are now expected to be delivered to customers by the end of this year, according to Bugatti president Dr Thomas Bscher.

Bugatti says it will cost 1 million euros ($1.65 million) to buy a Veyron. Only 300 will be built over six years. Add GST, import duty and luxury car tax and the price of owning a Veyron would be about $3 million, depending on the exchange rate. Which, along with the fact the Veyron will only be built as a left-hand- drive, may explain why no Australians have dipped into their savings just yet.

http://www.strangecosmos.com/content/item/107646.html
:shock: Polydor.

Image......the back
Last edited by Polydor on June 15th, 2005, 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 15th, 2005, 3:26 pm

man that f'ugly

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » June 15th, 2005, 3:30 pm

Whats with all these ugly nose grills lately

LOCO

Postby LOCO » June 15th, 2005, 3:43 pm

Fellas, at 400km nobody seeing the front of that car anyway, so leh we hope de back a little more pleasing to the eye..............................lol

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 15th, 2005, 4:05 pm

the back loks nice, i guess thats why

plex

Postby plex » June 15th, 2005, 8:11 pm

so ze French sold out to the Germans..nice car..

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 15th, 2005, 8:16 pm

so thats what it looks like in real eh...

plex

Postby plex » June 15th, 2005, 9:02 pm

i guess they got an offer that was to good to turn down..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 15th, 2005, 10:05 pm

front, back, side, the car could resemble a Lada, you not seeing any of it if it passed you at that speed

I wonder what travelling in any car at 400kmh feels like?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » June 15th, 2005, 10:41 pm

Noice car, that kinda speed on land might be kinda scary though, especially on our roads

nash

Postby nash » June 16th, 2005, 10:25 am

Well definately not on trini roads.I wonder how you go stop from that speed ?

Polydor

Postby Polydor » June 16th, 2005, 10:25 am

Close your eyes when next you're in a Boeing 747-400 - Max cruising speed 939km/h (507kt), long range cruising speed 907km/h (490kt).

It's the closest I got to it..... :lol:

Polydor. 8)

The Concord was a different story. :twisted:
The maximum permitted flying speed is slightly over twice the speed of sound @ 1,330 miles per hour you never forget that experience :crazyeyes:

Val

Postby Val » May 12th, 2006, 8:07 am

Bugatti Veyron
By Jeremy Clarkson of The Sunday Times
Utterly, stunningly, jaw droppingly brilliant

When you push a car past 180mph, the world starts to get awfully fizzy and a little bit frightening. When you go past 200mph it actually becomes blurred. Almost like you’re trapped in an early Queen pop video. At this sort of speed the tyres and the suspension are reacting to events that happened some time ago, and they have not finished reacting before they’re being asked to do something else. The result is a terrifying vibration that rattles your optical nerves, causing double vision. This is not good when you’re covering 300ft a second.

Happily, stopping distances become irrelevant because you won’t see the obstacle in the first place. By the time you know it was there, you’ll have gone through the windscreen, through the Pearly Gates and be half way across God’s breakfast table.

It has always been thus. When Louis Rigolly broke the 100mph barrier in his Gobron in 1904, the vibration would have been terrifying. And I dare say that driving an E-type at 150mph in 1966 must have been a bit sporty as well.

But once you go past 200mph it isn’t just the suspension and the tyres you have to worry about. The biggest problem is the air. At 100mph it’s relaxed. At 150mph it’s a breeze. But at 200mph it has sufficient power to lift an 800,000lb jumbo jet off the ground. A 200mph gust of wind is strong enough to knock down an entire city. So getting a car to behave itself in conditions like these is tough.

At 200mph you can feel the front of the car getting light as it starts to lift. As a result you start to lose your steering, so you aren’t even able to steer round whatever it is you can’t see because of the vibrations. Make no mistake, 200mph is at the limit of what man can do right now. Which is why the new Bugatti Veyron is worthy of some industrial strength genuflection. Because it can do 252mph. And that’s just mad — 252mph means that in straight and level flight this car is as near as makes no difference as fast as a Hawker Hurricane.

You might point out at this juncture that the McLaren F1 could top 240mph, but at that speed it was pretty much out of control. And anyway it really isn’t in the same league as the Bugatti. In a drag race you could let the McLaren get to 120mph before setting off in the Veyron. And you’d still get to 200mph first. The Bugatti is way, way faster than anything else the roads have seen.

Of course, at £810,000, it is also jolly expensive, but when you look at the history of its development you’ll discover it’s rather more than just a car . . .

Make no mistake, 200mph is at the limit of what man can do right now. Which is why the new Bugatti Veyron is worthy of some industrial strength genuflection. Because it can do 252mph. And that’s just mad — 252mph means that in straight and level flight this car is as near as makes no difference as fast as a Hawker Hurricane
It all started when Ferdinand Piëch, the swivel-eyed former boss of Volkswagen, bought Bugatti and had someone design a concept car. “This,â€

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » May 12th, 2006, 8:44 am

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Good find there val, Clarkson is a boss!

Val

Postby Val » May 12th, 2006, 9:46 am

ent, ah love de way he does talk.

If you like his reviews, check out this site...

http://driving.timesonline.co.uk/sectio ... 29,00.html

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » May 12th, 2006, 7:47 pm

Thats um.. insane, I like it. The MPG aint so bad either, you could do worse than that with an old yankee v8

Postby equipped2ripp » May 13th, 2006, 12:07 am

why we back to this?
this car has already been produced

Postby Maserati » May 20th, 2006, 6:25 pm

hot damn
i like how it looks..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 22nd, 2006, 1:33 pm

Jeremie on Top Gear test drove one and according to him he absolutely loved it............

I doh care it worth my money........

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 22nd, 2006, 5:15 pm

lol don wallace from tampa originally ordered 5 of these :shock: :lol: his wife hated the way it looks so he cancelled 3 of the 5. he's scheduled to receive the 2nd veyron later this year, then he'll sell the one he's currently cruising around in. he's the same guy with the enzo, clk-gtr, fxx, mc-12, mclaren f1.

Mini

Postby Mini » May 22nd, 2006, 7:13 pm

so allyuh feel if they had one in Trinidad, the popo woulda stop the driver for having the license plate on the side?

Postby MG Man » May 22nd, 2006, 7:44 pm

InDeForest wrote:Whats with all these ugly nose grills lately

er............the horshoe grille has been a Bugatti hallmark for almost a century :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby cinco » May 22nd, 2006, 8:59 pm

Postby equipped2ripp » May 22nd, 2006, 9:44 pm

many of these veyrons have an overheating problem

Postby cinco » May 22nd, 2006, 9:59 pm

thats why they have something like 10 radiators look at the video let clarkson tell you