Wingroad modifications

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2005, 10:22 am

Picasso wrote:( Note to self:- Buy a rear spoiler b4 attempting anything more than 180)

spoilers add more drag - they are put there for downforce to aid in traction - never saw the point in adding downforce in the rear of a FWD street car

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2005, 10:24 am

so doh waste meh money then? not even on a wagon where the back seems to be very light at these speeds?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » June 9th, 2005, 10:26 am

red sleeper wrote:so doh waste meh money then? not even on a wagon where the back seems to be very light at these speeds?

Rear diffuser will help.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 10:28 am

^^^ downforce will stabilise the car at high speeds, so there is a point in adding downforce. further to that note some tuners say that adjusting the rear downforce also adjusts the front downforce *shrugs*

however on the point of reducing drag, some people say a spoiler spoils drag and a wing provides downforce and then some say vice versa.

The point is the ones that provide downforce also create a lot of drag e.g. them big BWEE aluminum things will create a LOT of downforce but a LOT of drag too.

Then there are ones that reduce drag but straightening the flow of air behind the vehicle. 8)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2005, 10:31 am

purpose is a hell of a thing eh

its a wagon, it wasnt designed to go fast, just like a RX7 wasnt designed to take a family to the grocery - in both cases a bigger spoiler wont help

hope that wasnt too harsh

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2005, 10:34 am

Is there any PROVEN EFFECTIVE item that i can buy to not hold back the car but to keep the very light rear end of it to the ground?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 10:37 am

a bag of cement in the trunk :lol:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2005, 10:38 am

thanks! for the "toppa toppa" advice! :roll:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 10:41 am

that is proven to work you just a lose a bit of your power to weight ratio :idea:

what car you drivin again?

Postby X2 » June 9th, 2005, 10:43 am

Not all spoilers are for 'downforce'.

FWD cars like the Integra type R that have purpose built, wind tunnel tested rear spoilers have them to keep the car's line straight, rather than provide actual downforce as you would with a RWD car.

Drive a FWD car with a functional spoiler to about 90 mph, then pull off spoiler and try it again... you'll feel the difference as the rear end will give squirrely feedback.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 9th, 2005, 10:43 am

lol :mrgreen:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 9th, 2005, 10:44 am

hhmmm interesting info there man there is alot of physics and testing to get the right results for real but then my question is why in Shimokstodospoke nissan put a wing in the back of the wingroad was the body kit components wind tunnel tested to acheiv stability or is ah just ah big fashion statment so youths will buy the car?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2005, 10:48 am

-"purpose is a hell of a thing eh
its a wagon, it wasnt designed to go fast, just like a RX7 wasnt designed to take a family to the grocery - in both cases a bigger spoiler wont help
hope that wasnt too harsh"-

Not harsh but the point is that the car is fast now so what to do?

Lancer station wagon.. sits well at normal speeds but cross 170 ish it can get a bit bouncy :roll: and wors again if i had to brake hard , then the back is almost off the ground!

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 10:50 am

then that is an issue for your suspension my friend

Postby X2 » June 9th, 2005, 11:01 am

Picasso... most cars that have OEM wings or tail spoilers are mostly there for design/aesthetics (aka....LOOKS).

Look around... plenty cars come with non-functional wings... they're cheap to design and sell more cars cuz spoilers look kewl. Functional spoilers cost money to develop and most cars don't need them since the body itself is already wind-tunnel and drag tested for typical driving speeds, etc....

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2005, 11:06 am

Jimbo wrote:then that is an issue for your suspension my friend

yeah i know ...but its proving very difficult to get aftermarket or even original parts for the back of that car....so ill have to try other stuff.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 11:09 am

you should talk to sanctifier, he will show you how to bolt up a evo suspension to that badboy :P

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 9th, 2005, 11:09 am

^^ i could agree. my spoiler looks cool :P

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 9th, 2005, 11:19 am

Or you could keep the rear more planted by dealing with the rear shocks and springs and anti-roll bar.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 9th, 2005, 11:21 am

Jimbo wrote:you should talk to sanctifier, he will show you how to bolt up a evo suspension to that badboy :P

serious??? ill check him for that....tanks! :lol:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 11:23 am

seanf3000 wrote:Or you could keep the rear more planted by dealing with the rear shocks and springs and anti-roll bar.

actually a larger anti roll bar will induce oversteer :D
but it won't help stabilise the car at hgh speeds, you're right on the stiffer shocks and springs though

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 11:24 am

BTW Picasso,

please edit the subject of this thread to better reflect the discussion being held so others can appreciate it too and not write it off as another "pantyman thread"

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 9th, 2005, 11:43 am

^^^lol @ pantyman thread.

I mean Jim.....how many people using a functional spoiler. And then how many people have the wing angle correctly set. Most of those adjustable aluminium wings just bought for style anyway.

Might need an adjustable ducktail for a s/wagon as well. Cause the air is really 'dirty' in the back of the s/wagons.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 11:46 am

hah well my spoiler is functional :wiggle:

but yeah most ppl with Bwee Wings are just for style, very lame style i might add, bleh.
The only cars I've really seen that looked good with a touring wing was Dry's S15 and the other guy's gray 180sx

yeah holla on the ducktail, wagons not meant to achieve high speeds, unless its an RS4 8) :lol:

Postby X2 » June 9th, 2005, 11:55 am

red sleeper wrote:
Jimbo wrote:then that is an issue for your suspension my friend

yeah i know ...but its proving very difficult to get aftermarket or even original parts for the back of that car....so ill have to try other stuff.

I was told by a couple mechanics that parts for those cars will become harder and harder to come by in the near future. :?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 9th, 2005, 12:05 pm

^^For a lancer wagon?? Why is that??

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » June 9th, 2005, 12:21 pm

^^For a lancer wagon?? Why is that??

i'd like to knwo as well...

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 9th, 2005, 1:48 pm

BTW if you making bread or bake or float later... pick a better flour and choose Hibiscus flour 8)

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 10th, 2005, 9:59 am

BTW if you making bread or bake or float later... pick a better flour and choose Hibiscus flour

ah wise man has spoken

But check this right so the cave man technology go work in my case seeing that the rear of the car will be too light at them speeds and the speed is not enough to make the car too unstable therfor not making necessary for a wing which will be non functional and just a fashionable mod to the vehicle................ so I should get to bags af harricrete and stratigicaly place it in the reat of the car for more stability....correct meh if ah wrong :mrgreen:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 10th, 2005, 10:04 am

lol, in your case that might not be such a good idea since you have a torqueless 1.5 :lol:

Go fixables and get some B+G's combine them with some KYB Supers and tell me how that feels 8)