SRX-1 - FD 3rdGen RX7 with SR20DET - 10.5 & 550whp

Bezman

SRX-1 - FD 3rdGen RX7 with SR20DET - 10.5 & 550whp

Postby Bezman » May 23rd, 2005, 2:55 pm

i dont think i need to say much.

This car belongs to a previous friend of mine. After many problems with the rotary it was decided to swap in an SR20DET to see what would happen. I fabricated and welded the 321SS turbo header, fabricated the custom intake manifold (had a buddy weld), fabricated the custom fuel rail and fabricated the custom steering rack/sway bar mount. This car runs a single "Super 7" turbo p-trim .58 a/r tangential housing. The car has run a best of 10.5@139 and put down over 550hp@wheels. The motor has a stock head, but with HKS 264deg step II cams. The bottom end has Eagle rods, Wiesco pistons, Greddy head gasket and ARP head studs.

http://www.speedshopthagard.com/project ... index.html

more comming - dynos, time slips, more photos

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 23rd, 2005, 2:56 pm

http://forums.freshalloy.com/ubbthreads ... art=1&vc=1

the dyno photos are not working, but he made 550+whp on a STOCK SR20DET, woht cams and big turbo, but thats stock pistons and rods...

Postby pete » May 23rd, 2005, 2:57 pm

lol.. where dry and 3rdgen7. :lol:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » May 23rd, 2005, 2:59 pm

BWAHAHAHAHAHAAHA

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 23rd, 2005, 3:00 pm

i putting together the info, but this thing is crazy, it uses a T56 tranny wioth custom adapter plate, runs low 10.. daily driven,, sick

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 23rd, 2005, 3:03 pm

ahhahaha :twisted: suhweeet

The SRX-1 was built to become a solid 10 second street car with the added bonus of extra reliability over the factory 13b. The car & project has exceeded all expectations and is on its way to low 10 second et's. The red top SR has a stock bottom end and has laid down 545 whp @ 26 psi. This is the current record in the US for stock block SR's. The SRX-1 project will be featured in the March issue of Modified Magazine.

:: Specifications
Under hood:
Red Top SR20DET
NRG Intake Manifold
NRG Turbo Manifold
Greddy 1.2mm Head Gasket
ARP Head Studs
HKS 264 Step 2 Cams
HKS RAS
HKS Valve Springs
Holley 980cc Injectors
Edelbrock 70mm TB
MSD DIS-2 HO
MSD DIS Racing Coils x 4
Taylor Plug Wires
Haltech E6K
Aeromotive FPR
Twin 255 Lph 9m Intake Pumps
ACT Clutch
Interior
8 Point Cage
Defi Link Gauge System
Greddy Profec BSpec2
Sparco Speed Seats
Exterior
C-Wings Body Kit
GTP Catz Projection Lights
Advan Model 5(18x8, 18x9)
Brembo Cross Drilled Rotors

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 23rd, 2005, 3:12 pm

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » May 23rd, 2005, 3:14 pm

look ah fast mazda!!!! :lol:

TRINIOUTLAW

Postby TRINIOUTLAW » May 23rd, 2005, 3:20 pm

Wow!!..not my cup of tea with the Mazda to Nissan swap..but still impressive. That exhaust manifold looks beautiful..with those long runners like that you know the torque will be wey up there!! Again, i'm not suprised at the fact that it's with stock internals...well at least at around 500whp..with the proper tuning, good oil pressure and using the right gas it should be a dependable daily driver!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 23rd, 2005, 3:27 pm

Wow!!..not my cup of tea with the Mazda to Nissan swap..but still impressive. That exhaust manifold looks beautiful..with those long runners like that you know the torque will be wey up there!! Again, i'm not suprised at the fact that it's with stock internals...well at least at around 500whp..with the proper tuning, good oil pressure and using the right gas it should be a dependable daily driver!

we are about to do a 4g63T just like that in a FD ;) - you'll love it.. MK4 Supara TT gearbox etc, madness...

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » May 23rd, 2005, 3:35 pm

finally ah reliable rx...LOL

TRINIOUTLAW

Postby TRINIOUTLAW » May 23rd, 2005, 4:18 pm

fafrumlosin wrote:finally ah reliable rx...LOL
ain't that the TRUTH!! :lol:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » May 23rd, 2005, 4:39 pm

Lovin' it, but it sounds like hella work though :?

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » May 23rd, 2005, 4:43 pm

Crazy man....I love it

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » May 23rd, 2005, 7:00 pm

yuh might as well mashup meh stones with dat :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

the shame the hurt the pain. the supra 7 was ok but a srtwenny 7? its just 2 much.

ROTI fuh Lyfe.

pap pap Zoom zoom
Last edited by EvoDraZ on May 23rd, 2005, 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 23rd, 2005, 7:08 pm

CA19 is this along the lines of your project 3rd gen by chance? Gotta love that log mani.

dragzster

Postby dragzster » May 23rd, 2005, 7:40 pm

all alluh rotary haterz out there :fist: any 4g63t end up in le mans yet? The Rotary Gods is highly dissapointed in that project and that RX-7 will be punished together with its owner and please doh embarras an 3rd gen with a 4g63t or a sr20det nah.

zoom-zoom and rotary for life :evil:

R-XTREME

Postby R-XTREME » May 23rd, 2005, 7:53 pm

please doh embarras an 3rd gen with a 4g63t or a sr20det nah.

Fuh real. An SR in a an RX is like putting a B18 in a Silvia. Its an analogy folks, we don't need to get into the technical details of whether or not it can be done.

But at the end of the day to each his own, and may the Rotary Gods have mercy of his soul.

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » May 23rd, 2005, 8:04 pm

nash

Postby nash » May 23rd, 2005, 9:34 pm

Allyuh really crazy yes :lol:
Well done.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » May 23rd, 2005, 9:39 pm

watch dem nissan men nah kyah handle de honda bredren dey goin an pick on de rotary men :D

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » May 24th, 2005, 6:52 am

hahhahaha
he swap out a 13b series 6 to make 550hp?
how brilliant... :roll:
s6 engines make that with a large street-port with aftermarket apex seals, otherwise stock engine, not gears AND cams AND pistons AND rods AND this AND that...
apel ibarra's old R100 makes 800hp from a properly built 13B and there are 13B s5 and s6 and 13b cosmo engines making 550 with porting, seals and dowelling.
if it was a swap to 2JZ, or V8, or even RB26, well I would still hate it but at least I would see where he coming from, but a 20?
he probably get that engine free... :lol:

dipz

Postby dipz » May 24th, 2005, 9:52 am

big up to the rotary lovers who defendin the fd and rotaries in general 8)

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » May 24th, 2005, 12:05 pm

Ok with all the noise over the swap can someone show me a reliably built, local daily driver 3rd gen ...

Everyone has advised me that a rotary would NEVER last in my hands as a daily driver ... Should I think differently?

My 3sgte does a Carenage - Champs Fleurs run daily and drives 7 days a week ... It sees over 200kph at least twice a day (possibly more) and my main troubles thus far has been the torque screwing my axles (fixed now I think).

What would it take to get a rotary to do the same? Not starting a war just looking for advice / opinions ...

demented

Postby demented » May 24th, 2005, 12:51 pm

Hats off to EvoDraZ.....show them what a real rotary is ...4 Rotor in yuh @#$%! :D

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 24th, 2005, 2:22 pm

uh real. An SR in a an RX is like putting a B18 in a Silvia.

i think thats a great idea... or even a B20 or H22 with some kinda crazy gearbox, but all them ol hondas spin backwards.. and i think the S2000 engine in a S13 has been done too.

dont make me show allya the Hachiroku AE86 Tureno with the S2000 enigne/drivetrain/dash etc... hahah... tis awsome...

i like these weird swaps.. they offer something different..

dont hate on why he did the swap, he put allot more into it than jsut bolting on all the ol normal parts on a rx7, then it would have been jsut like all teh others... he had his fun with rotaries. decided to try a SR, and the time and development that has gone into this car, engine, drivetrain alone, demands respect, and the fact that it runs 10's... can make most rotoary tuners shut the hell up, and its got ac, doesnt over heat... blah blah...

i like it, i love rotaries too... i find projects liek thsi interesting cause they are differnt. have allot of detiual and engineering, anyone can bolt on parts, but only special people can put engines in cars they were not designed for and make them do unconventional things..

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 24th, 2005, 3:47 pm

look how that ting take off now, SWEET, powered by a 2.0L lol

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 24th, 2005, 4:09 pm

MaelstroM wrote:hahhahaha
he swap out a 13b series 6 to make 550hp?
how brilliant... :roll:
s6 engines make that with a large street-port with aftermarket apex seals, otherwise stock engine, not gears AND cams AND pistons AND rods AND this AND that...
apel ibarra's old R100 makes 800hp from a properly built 13B and there are 13B s5 and s6 and 13b cosmo engines making 550 with porting, seals and dowelling.
if it was a swap to 2JZ, or V8, or even RB26, well I would still hate it but at least I would see where he coming from, but a 20?
he probably get that engine free... :lol:

you talkinga bvout serious work to be done to a rotoary to get it to make 500+whp.. this was done on a stock block SR20

eg take one SR20DET out eh bamboo

slap the turbo, cams, and manifolds he has with teh fuel and ignition mods and he made 550+whp..

not tare down an engine, get it ported, new seals etc etc...

this SR goes POP, jsut get another... and slap it in... no down time, and cheaper than a rebuild everytime ;)

oh and only 2.0 :oops:

dragzster

Postby dragzster » May 24th, 2005, 5:11 pm

Ok with all the noise over the swap can someone show me a reliably built, local daily driver 3rd gen ...

Everyone has advised me that a rotary would NEVER last in my hands as a daily driver ... Should I think differently?

My 3sgte does a Carenage - Champs Fleurs run daily and drives 7 days a week ... It sees over 200kph at least twice a day (possibly more) and my main troubles thus far has been the torque screwing my axles (fixed now I think).

What would it take to get a rotary to do the same? Not starting a war just looking for advice / opinions ...

dude no offense but u seriously sound like a troll and thank goodness we're not stupid little fools to start a thread war but it sounds u really want to dwell in it though. a rotary would never last on your hands as a daily driver and there are guys with there 3rd gens who make high speeds with their stock engines on some 1st world freeways? getting info is sure one helluva ting. Peace.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 24th, 2005, 7:14 pm

oh and only 2.0 :oops:

YES! AMAZING!