T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby drchaos » May 26th, 2014, 10:41 am

I disagree! those prices are in-line with all the other brands mid-size offerings. An A4 and a 3 series is considered to be in the compact segment and is in that price range.

the only reason the 3.5L in that price is because of the MVT
Accords, Mazda 6, Camry and passat's are all in that price range and class.

Postby Morpheus » May 26th, 2014, 11:28 am

That doesn't mean the prices aren't hott dude......

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 26th, 2014, 12:03 pm

All prices are hot imo

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 26th, 2014, 12:40 pm

Well i only responded cause the guy was comparing apples and kaimit ... luxury segment cars vs normel segment cars ...

well he could have been talking bout used audi's, bmw's or merc's vs the price of an altima ... then the joke is on me.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 26th, 2014, 1:00 pm

I find all cars should be free. Wha allyuh tink bout dat?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 26th, 2014, 1:53 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I find all cars should be free. Wha allyuh tink bout dat?

True. And the firm's make money on parts and services. If you don't service in the firm well they take it back.

Postby noshownogo » May 26th, 2014, 3:44 pm

Is leasing allyuh talking bout deh?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » May 26th, 2014, 11:55 pm

drchaos wrote:Well i only responded cause the guy was comparing apples and kaimit ... luxury segment cars vs normel segment cars ...

well he could have been talking bout used audi's, bmw's or merc's vs the price of an altima ... then the joke is on me.

That's the reasoning for my comment Normal Segment vehicle prices are almost entering in Luxury Segment prices you have to know where value begins and ends. Luxury Vehicle manufactures are packing alot of Luxury into some compact rides and that's where I see my value.

At the end of the day very few people locally care about segments its about the badge and at that price range I'll prefer pickup a well equipped Euro (New) for that price yes it may be in a different segment but guess what this is the real world. Segments and vehicle class matter to very few locally.

That pricing doesn't allow for me to see value but then again pricing locally is skewed, yes MVT is high but the key thing is seeing the value, instantly know the difference from the feel of the trim to the difference in the leather and from my experiences with N&M it may just come with half the standard features gone or as an optional add-on.

I agree the pricing is on par with its competitors such as the Sonata, Optima, heck the Legacy but lets face facts how many of these do you see on our roads, the only newer ones that are common are the Passat, Accord and the Camry and these numbers are dwindling. They are being replaced by the compact luxury saloon, hence the growth with the Euros on our shores.

I may just be critical on what I spend my money on but in my case I rather purchase a smaller better equipped because from experience they aren't that much smaller. Recently I had a family member regretting their purchase of their Rav4 after she drove a Q5 and the price difference was ever so slight.

At the end of the day I put my money where I see the value and once its right, its right I forget about segments and vehicle class.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 27th, 2014, 7:12 am

Last known prices:

Camry 2.5 - $399k
Accord 2.0 - $379k (In-One Package)
Passat Highline 1.8TSI - $360k (can receive an additional $5k off)
Mazda 6 2.5 - $371k (2.0 $305k includes $10k cash back)
Altima 2.5 - $389k
Sonata 2.4 - $365k
Optima 2.0 - $322k

Considering the entire package presented my rankings would be:

Mazda6
Passat
Altima
Camry
Accord
Sonata
Optima

If we throw in a base BMW 316i, Audi A4 1.8T and MB C180 they still would not persuade me from the Passat or Mazda6. If we throw in the $500k Legacy Turbo and $610k Altima as well as the similarly priced V6 Camry and Accord then sign me up for a BMW 328i.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 27th, 2014, 9:13 am

Received this yesterday. Supposedly A3 sedan will arrive as "soon" as June.
Audi A3 Southern Sales Quote.jpg
Audi A3 Southern Sales Specs.jpg

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 27th, 2014, 12:47 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
drchaos wrote:Well i only responded cause the guy was comparing apples and kaimit ... luxury segment cars vs normel segment cars ...

That's the reasoning for my comment Normal Segment vehicle prices are almost entering in Luxury Segment prices you have to know where value begins and ends. Luxury Vehicle manufactures are packing alot of Luxury into some compact rides and that's where I see my value.

At the end of the day very few people locally care about segments its about the badge and at that price range I'll prefer pickup a well equipped Euro (New) for that price yes it may be in a different segment but guess what this is the real world. Segments and vehicle class matter to very few locally.

That pricing doesn't allow for me to see value but then again pricing locally is skewed, yes MVT is high but the key thing is seeing the value, instantly know the difference from the feel of the trim to the difference in the leather and from my experiences with N&M it may just come with half the standard features gone or as an optional add-on.

I agree the pricing is on par with its competitors such as the Sonata, Optima, heck the Legacy but lets face facts how many of these do you see on our roads, the only newer ones that are common are the Passat, Accord and the Camry and these numbers are dwindling. They are being replaced by the compact luxury saloon, hence the growth with the Euros on our shores.

I may just be critical on what I spend my money on but in my case I rather purchase a smaller better equipped because from experience they aren't that much smaller. Recently I had a family member regretting their purchase of their Rav4 after she drove a Q5 and the price difference was ever so slight.

At the end of the day I put my money where I see the value and once its right, its right I forget about segments and vehicle class.

Yes the price of the top end RAV 4 close to the Q5 but thats the top end, the RAV 4 starts at over 200K less ... The main thing that people do overlook in this country is the cost of ownership and maintenance. I assure you the cost to maintain a Q5 is way more expensive than the cost to maintain a RAV 4. Basic oil changes, air filters, brake pads and service charges will be lower in the normel segment vs luxury segment. Also fuel will cost something near 6K a year with a RAV 4 where it can cost 12 to 14K with a Q5.

So cost to buy a larger normal segment car is cheaper, cost of ownership (maintenance, parts and fuel) is cheaper and lastly the resale value will be higher for your normel segments vs Luxury segments after you beat up the car on trini roads for 5 years.
So for me that's what I call value ...

The thing is, i don't think you talking bout value even tho you mention it as your defining statement.
I think you talking bout comfort, luxury and the look at me everyone I have an AUDI mentality
which there is nothing wrong with but don't call it value .....
Your Welcome :mrgreen:

dogichi

Postby dogichi » May 27th, 2014, 3:59 pm

Allergic2bunny ears, that A3 quote is for the sportback not the sedan. Do you have a price for the sedan?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 27th, 2014, 6:02 pm

dogichi wrote:Allergic2bunny ears, that A3 quote is for the sportback not the sedan. Do you have a price for the sedan?

Nope. It's arriving "soon" so no official quote was given.

Was also told that the 1.2 tsi hatchback a3 is for 265k. Whoever updating the prices can add that.

scotty_buttons

NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby scotty_buttons » May 27th, 2014, 10:22 pm

That 290 price tag for the 1.8tsi A3 sport back is pretty damn good. Didn't expect anything bigger than a 1.4 at that price.
Excellently priced to compete with the A class IMO.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 27th, 2014, 10:28 pm

Destroys the A class IMO.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » May 28th, 2014, 6:09 am

Add leather and the Classic Audi xenon headlights...and we up to around $320K for that A3. Still very good.

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » May 28th, 2014, 6:47 am

BMW Benz and Audi are far better than Japanese vehicles , although the Lexus is a very dam good vehicle I must say Trinidad ppl have rel money boy , driving 1 of these vehicle around is playing with a house if you ask me , I can't do that , this is a stupid argument ,Benz is world class , I never heard Nissan being world class and all the good Toyota is neither they are world class

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 28th, 2014, 6:59 am

Define world class ....
But that a3 looking real good at that price point. Hoping the sedan don't cross 300k starting off.

Postby Morpheus » May 28th, 2014, 7:12 am

Toyota not world class?

For real, define world class........

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 28th, 2014, 7:37 am

Ent toyota is the number one selling car brand in the world? That sounds like it could qualify for "world class" status.

Postby Morpheus » May 28th, 2014, 8:23 am

^That's what I'm thinking.

I think he just used the wrong phrase really........or at least I hope so.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 28th, 2014, 1:22 pm

Let me know when the Germans ever match the Japanese for quality and reliability. If we look at the US market the Japanese through Lexus, Infiniti and Acura are right up there with the best Germany has to offer.....keeping in mind they don't compete in every market segment.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 28th, 2014, 2:27 pm

The Japanese luxury segment will always suffer here in T&T. They still have not widely accepted turbo charging and to get the same power output as the Euro competitors they need to go higher than 2.5L. Its so bad that BMW already putting two turbo's and Lexus struggling to put 1. this results in the MVT going sky high.
I agree they are not bad cars at all, just a little behind the tech which should also make them more reliable.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » May 28th, 2014, 2:56 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Nope. It's arriving "soon" so no official quote was given.
Was also told that the 1.2 tsi hatchback a3 is for 265k. Whoever updating the prices can add that.

I wonder why they are going for the 1.2TFSI instead of the 1.4TFSI. Never the less a good price (for our market anyway).

ek4ever wrote:Let me know when the Germans ever match the Japanese for quality and reliability. If we look at the US market the Japanese through Lexus, Infiniti and Acura are right up there with the best Germany has to offer.....keeping in mind they don't compete in every market segment.

God hope the Germans never try to match the Japanese for interior quality...or engines.... or the lack of german door thud :mrgreen: .

Reliability... yes I'm not going to refute that Euro cars can be a little more finicky. But really in a cars first 5 years it isn't going to be plagued with reliability and mechanical problems. Euro cars like to be serviced which a lot of people delay and wonder why their car breaks down. One person I know didn't service their car for about 2 years/give or take 30,000km....and they are the first person to complain about reliability.

Just a side note: If Lexus was a little cheaper locally I would consider them a luxury alternative but value for money atm isn't so hot.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » May 28th, 2014, 6:38 pm

The Germans get my nod....BMW, Mercedes, Audi and Porsche ......in a close 2nd the Lexus. Probably a Jaguar in between there.

oogan

Postby oogan » May 28th, 2014, 8:59 pm

New 2014/15 Nissan Qashqai:

2.0 4x2 Advanced CVT - $255,000.00
2.0 4x4 AWD Exclusive CVT - $295,000.00

Reviews look really good so far...nice balanced look. Good quality materials. Seems like a good buy. What you all think?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » May 28th, 2014, 9:13 pm

drchaos wrote:
kg494EJ-1 wrote:

Yes the price of the top end RAV 4 close to the Q5 but thats the top end, the RAV 4 starts at over 200K less ... The main thing that people do overlook in this country is the cost of ownership and maintenance. I assure you the cost to maintain a Q5 is way more expensive than the cost to maintain a RAV 4. Basic oil changes, air filters, brake pads and service charges will be lower in the normel segment vs luxury segment. Also fuel will cost something near 6K a year with a RAV 4 where it can cost 12 to 14K with a Q5.

So cost to buy a larger normal segment car is cheaper, cost of ownership (maintenance, parts and fuel) is cheaper and lastly the resale value will be higher for your normel segments vs Luxury segments after you beat up the car on trini roads for 5 years.
So for me that's what I call value ...

The thing is, i don't think you talking bout value even tho you mention it as your defining statement.
I think you talking bout comfort, luxury and the look at me everyone I have an AUDI mentality
which there is nothing wrong with but don't call it value .....
Your Welcome :mrgreen:

I have stated before in this thread that I was one of those persons that believed an Euro would have been ridiculous to maintain, having however owning a few for just about a decade I have to say that I was wrong, at least in my experience.

Yes I agree fuel will cost you more (tuning can remedy that somewhat) but in the long run my maintenance bills have actually been lower than the Jap vehicles we own, it is what I have observed. The only time it gets pricey is if something majors happens but that is for just about any vehicle eg. A Steering Rack for a Hyundai Tucson is 13k+ labour.

I'm even proud to say we have kept a B7 A4 for just about 7 years and its the first time I will be changing shocks, service had to check the records because they didn't believe it was the first change, as it still rides perfectly on our lovely road surfaces,and I drive that car everywhere.

The reason for my opinion is the experience I have had with quite a cross-section of vehicles and I stick to my opinion, I may have also just been lucky. As stated I'm not just talking for talking stake but sharing my experience and observations with the local market.

Postby gastly369 » May 28th, 2014, 10:17 pm

drchaos wrote:Ent toyota is the number one selling car brand in the world? That sounds like it could qualify for "world class" status.

first min of video..

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » May 28th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Sorry I could be wrong with my statement guys ,by saying Toyota ain't world class , cause the Lexus has Toyota parts , but the real truth here is the cars built for our region is third world quality , and the us and some other places ,because of their high standards has first world designs and better quality in the same brands and models. So , we can't watch what the euro market has , cause its still 1 notch higher than the standards we accept in our country , tell me if am correct ,!!

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » May 29th, 2014, 6:41 am

spaceman24 wrote:Sorry I could be wrong with my statement guys ,by saying Toyota ain't world class , cause the Lexus has Toyota parts , but the real truth here is the cars built for our region is third world quality , and the us and some other places ,because of their high standards has first world designs and better quality in the same brands and models. So , we can't watch what the euro market has , cause its still 1 notch higher than the standards we accept in our country , tell me if am correct ,!!

Disagree with the notion of a reduced build quality for 3rd world. You can say cars built for countries like ours may have technical differences like suspension and engine specifications, after which it's the responsibility of the local dealer to determine what trim levels they wish to import which may be dependent on local market conditions and competitive pricing.