T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

tourniquet

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby tourniquet » March 29th, 2014, 1:58 pm

Best Auto will really have to come good with the trim level and pricing on the Amarok. I can be dead wrong, but it doesn't appear that the Chevy Colorado has been a smashing success for Lifestyle. I'm not sure what Sterling's stance is with the SSangyong pickup either.
Either way, more competition and more options for the consumer is always a good thing :)

Postby Gladiator » March 29th, 2014, 7:24 pm

Finally a "High End" pickup... no matter how much bling the Navara and Hilux come with they still feel cheap and commercial grade.

If the Amarok comes with the level trim like the Passat, it will appeal to many...

jairaj0070

Postby jairaj0070 » March 29th, 2014, 8:37 pm

Can anyone tell me the price for a brand new Nissan Navara SE automatic and manual 5wd.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 29th, 2014, 10:01 pm

I don't believe we have an SE automatic Nav... Their are different specs on the SE but I believe it topped out at $206000 when last I checked

trini76ster

Postby trini76ster » March 29th, 2014, 10:17 pm

SE is about $180K and it is manual

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » March 30th, 2014, 12:56 am

Prices received last week

Navara - dr-1316
4x4 d/cab 2.5l turbo 5at with leather le grade = $265,000 VI

Navara - dr-1315
4x4 d/cab 2.5l turbo 5at with fabric le grade = $255,000 VI

Navara - dr-1314a
4x4 d/cab 2.5l turbo 5mt with leather = $220,000 VI

Navara - dr-1313a
4x4 d/cab 2.5l turbo 5mt with fabric le grade = $215,000 VI

Navara - dr-1306
4x2 d/cab 2.5l turbo 6mt with fabric le grade = $195,000 VI

Navara - dr-1305
4x2 d/cab 2.5l turbo 5mt with fabric se grade = $183,000 VI

Navara - dr-1303
4x2 manual basic d/cab= $168,000 VI

P.s navara leather is real crap. It feels just like plastic

Mazda bt 50 manual, 2.2l 4x4 = $250,268

Mazda bt 50 automatic 2.2l 4x4 = $282,065

Hilux 4x4 double cab, 2.5l turbo manual= $234,000

Hilux 4x4 double cab, 2.5l auto = $257,000

Hilux 4x4 double cab auto 3.0L = $282,000

Ford ranger 4x2 manual $212,000
Ford ranger 4x2 auto $269,000
ford ranger 4x4 manual $249,000
Ford ranger 4x4 auto $289,000
( not sure of engine size for ranger)

trini76ster

Postby trini76ster » March 30th, 2014, 6:26 pm

all of those Rangers are 2.2 L based on the quote I received.

The following Rangers are 3.2L:

4x4 manual $279,000

4x4 auto $ 299,000

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 31st, 2014, 7:56 am

that's a hell of a special on the 3.2L auto, when compared to the other Ranger prices :) . Well that, or the lower spec'd models are overpriced :lol:

trini76ster

Postby trini76ster » March 31st, 2014, 9:45 am

yeah found it weird as well! But those are the prices they gave along with the
brochure!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 31st, 2014, 11:40 am

A navara is really a 4wd b13...in fact the interior of said b13 maybe more 'posh'

Navara leather feels like a thin vinyl wrap available from a supplier in princes town

The back seat is a little bench they pull from a 200sx because sitting comfortable in one is an urban legend

Lastly a navara is a fast van obviously observed by the sea of roro tiida and wingroad owners on this forum

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 31st, 2014, 12:17 pm

acesinghit wrote:A navara is really a 4wd b13...in fact the interior of said b13 maybe more 'posh'

Navara leather feels like a thin vinyl wrap available from a supplier in princes town

The back seat is a little bench they pull from a 200sx because sitting comfortable in one is an urban legend

Lastly a navara is a fast van obviously observed by the sea of roro tiida and wingroad owners on this forum

Now that's a bit harsh....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 31st, 2014, 12:59 pm

Dunno why men expect a van to be luxurious. Who cares about the interior of a van if it's a workhorse?? That sheit should be plain and simple and easy to clean.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 31st, 2014, 1:17 pm

Exactly. If it was a workhorse.
But people don't but them for that. They buy them for bling, XL chrome rims the "I has a van" look.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 31st, 2014, 2:15 pm

Yeah but you cyah get vex with Nissan for that. They make it to be a workhorse and put an interior to match. If chrome spinners going on it after that is a separate thing imo.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 31st, 2014, 2:48 pm

I bought my navara because it's diesel ,reliable and im hoping headache free.
My short list was ford ranger, vw jetta, or used evo viii.
The ranger was actually top of my list but i considered what my gf would say as she is better as saving money than i am,
so i went for the cheaper vehicle that does pretty much the same thing.
I really loved the jetta when i test drive it but i just couldn't go back with premium gas and the uncertainty of reliability.
Ive now had my navara for 3 months and i am very impressed by it and diesel is the bomb.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 31st, 2014, 2:49 pm

Still lust after the ranger though lol

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 31st, 2014, 3:11 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Dunno why men expect a van to be luxurious. Who cares about the interior of a van if it's a workhorse?? That sheit should be plain and simple and easy to clean.

If you paying 300k for one because of fake plastic wood trim, chrome add-ons that's enuf for nasa satellites to identify u in space plus DVD deck and reverse cam with fake leather it definitely qualifies by modern day injun standards as a luxury van.

If u referring to the 165k basic box from nm then hell no there's enuf luxury in that to make a 280c blush

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 31st, 2014, 3:15 pm

Well I pity anyone buying a van looking for luxury because you will always be behind in that aspect compared to a car of equal or even slightly lower price.

karl

Postby karl » March 31st, 2014, 3:32 pm

Trinis try to convert a leaf spring mini truck into a range .be happy guys , once the demand for that is high we should get used luxury cars for a lot less. How many times you see a van with the tray full of water melons or coconuts on the road ? I bet you could count the number of times on your hand. Instead men polishing their trays and have hydraulic covers lol

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 31st, 2014, 4:07 pm

I honestly don't blame them, its government policy. You can have these diesel vans that very reliable, cheap to buy, own and run.
Its really dumb for any country to have a policy where the cheapest to own vehicles are massive polluting pick ups that most people use for daily commuting.

Where the small diesels? the 1.2 to 1.4L and ting that does get 80 mpg?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » March 31st, 2014, 4:21 pm

I've never met a 300K+ pickup owner who described the truck as a "luxury vehicle." Most of these people seem to buy these trucks as an alternative to a SUV; they get the space, higher ride height, and cheap fuel, at a price that's cheaper than most, if not all, similarly sized diesel SUVs.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 31st, 2014, 4:26 pm

drchaos wrote:Where the small diesels? the 1.2 to 1.4L and ting that does get 80 mpg?

US gallons or Imperial gallons?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 31st, 2014, 4:32 pm

Who makes 1.2 and 1.4 litre diesel vehicles en masse anyway?

The policy on cheap diesel wasn't geared towards having blingy vans. It was designed to counteract inflation due to transport vehicles mainly using diesel. The van scene is a side effect of that.

shade360

Postby shade360 » March 31st, 2014, 10:55 pm

So went to check out one of the South New Cars Dealers on Sat. Saw a Nissan Navara Sports Edition covered with every imaginable piece of decoration you can have. Guy said around about 260-265k for it stock "no deco" and "manual". Leaning towards that purchase.

What do you guys think price-wise?
Apart from the facelift and minor changes to the interior, any thing different re: suspension, engine?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 31st, 2014, 11:33 pm

The Fiesta diesel models are even more efficient – there’s a choice of a new 74bhp 1.5-litre TDCi and a 94bhp 1.6 TDCi. The 1.6-litre promises 85.6mpg economy and 87g/km emissions when fitted to the super-green Fiesta ECOnetic. A choice of manual of Powershift automatic gearboxes complete the line-up.

Read more: http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/ford/fiesta#ixzz2xbMIdLjn

They are producing these engines for europe and other markets. All we need is policy change especially on giving us cleaner diesel.

Imperial gallons ofc.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » April 1st, 2014, 10:41 am

shade360 wrote:So went to check out one of the South New Cars Dealers on Sat. Saw a Nissan Navara Sports Edition covered with every imaginable piece of decoration you can have. Guy said around about 260-265k for it stock "no deco" and "manual". Leaning towards that purchase.

What do you guys think price-wise?
Apart from the facelift and minor changes to the interior, any thing different re: suspension, engine?

We discussed this a little earlier in the thread here is a link to the discussion in the Trucks and Pickup Forum viewtopic.php?f=41&t=515114&hilit=rampersad+m.+rampersad

Currently a Sport Version is in my stable and there's a difference from the local. People argue when I tell them it is in no way luxurious but what do you expect most folks think when you fork out X amount of cash its a luxury vehicle not a workhorse. :?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 1st, 2014, 11:20 am

An efficient gas car price for price is a better buy than a diesel. . Esp the diesel trucks..I have a nav. . But looking back at it. . It was a waste to buy such a vehicle new much less fir comfort etc.
Yes diesel is cheaper at the pump..but the diff in cost between a gas vs diesel would mean the ROI could never be achieved
Diesel only seems cheaper. .. do the math and u will see is better to get a fuel efficient car or even suv

Postby RASC » April 1st, 2014, 11:46 am

jhonnieblue wrote:An efficient gas car price for price is a better buy than a diesel. . Esp the diesel trucks..I have a nav. . But looking back at it. . It was a waste to buy such a vehicle new much less fir comfort etc.
Yes diesel is cheaper at the pump..but the diff in cost between a gas vs diesel would mean the ROI could never be achieved
Diesel only seems cheaper. .. do the math and u will see is better to get a fuel efficient car or even suv

Give some explicit reasons why nuh....are you referring to maintaince costs?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 1st, 2014, 12:47 pm

No...simple cal
Tske diff in price of both vehicles....Straight forward say diff for crdi vs gas engine ..for same vehicle...Cal the consumption diff for rated efficiency and cal the time it would take as a result to make up the diff in gas vs diesel usage.
Rough cal states the time to make up the diff in cost exceeds that of typical lifetime vehicle usage
Around 7 ro 8 yrs
U can apply the same cal to diff vehicle types
Gas vehicles being cheaper regardless of greater cost of gas at pump would be cheaper to user over useful lifetime of vehicle
If ure planning on keeping a diesel for 10 yr plus then great

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 1st, 2014, 1:21 pm

these are considered the best diesel cars in their class, cheap to maintain and seriously long-range. Do you think it'll be successful in T&T if brought down?

I don't mind owning either, whichever is available first.