Any advice for a first-time used car buyer?

Humes

Any advice for a first-time used car buyer?

Postby Humes » February 25th, 2014, 4:33 am

I intend to buy a used car for myself within the next few months, and I wanted to get any advice the knowledgeable gearheads can share.

I don't want to spend (much) more than 70K. I have a preference for smaller cars, and to be real honest, what I want to buy is a Swift GLX. I bought one new a few years ago, it's what I've been driving all this time, and I feel really comfortable in it. But a shift in work location and schedules means the wife uses it primarily now.

That said, if there's a good reason I should be looking at other brands or models, I'd like to hear.

I've read up on the financial part, so I understand that. What I want to know is whether I should buy from an owner or a RORO business. Also, what are some reputable RORO sellers?

I will read this sticky thread in the mean time, but I'm looking forward to your replies.

Humes

Re: Any advice for a first-time used car buyer?

Postby Humes » February 25th, 2014, 4:40 am

One of my main questions is: Assuming the car is in proper condition, how do I know that the price the seller is calling is reasonable? Should I consult with a trusted mechanic?

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2014, 2:48 pm

always have a competent mechanic check the car properly, run compression test etc, put it on a lift and have a peek, check to make sure EVERY electrical component is working, look for signs of collision damage / repair, verify engine / chassis numbers match certified copy, verify that seller is the current owner (NEVER take it for granted)..do not trust a certified copy that isn't recent

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » February 25th, 2014, 5:20 pm

MG Man wrote:always have a competent mechanic check the car properly, run compression test etc, put it on a lift and have a peek, check to make sure EVERY electrical component is working, look for signs of collision damage / repair, verify engine / chassis numbers match certified copy, verify that seller is the current owner (NEVER take it for granted)..do not trust a certified copy that isn't recent

^^^What he said

He have a boss Telstar plus he real know bout ole cars!

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 25th, 2014, 8:23 pm

After seeing the level of dishonesty with the RORO market, I'll prefer a single owner local used with full service history.

Postby nervewrecker » February 25th, 2014, 8:43 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:After seeing the level of dishonesty with the RORO market, I'll prefer a single owner local used with full service history.

Even that I'm skeptical about.

On this very forum I learn about throwing brake fluid in transmission and transmission oil in the engine.

I have heard about the popular practice of throwing transmission oil in the gas or a little kerosene to clean injectors.

Heard about running kerosene in diesel vehicles because its cleaner and makes it go faster (like premium gas to super).

Don't get me started on engine wash with corrosive chemicals and again, kerosene that shortens the lifespan of rubbers

Postby cinco » February 25th, 2014, 9:19 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:After seeing the level of dishonesty with the RORO market, I'll prefer a single owner local used with full service history.

On this very forum I learn about throwing brake fluid in transmission and transmission oil in the engine.

I have heard about the popular practice of throwing transmission oil in the gas or a little kerosene to clean injectors.

Heard about running kerosene in diesel vehicles because its cleaner and makes it go faster (like premium gas to super).

Don't get me started on engine wash with corrosive chemicals and again, kerosene that shortens the lifespan of rubbers

You dont think this occurs in japan and singapore also?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 26th, 2014, 8:47 am

MG advice plus this.....solid!!!!

moti

Postby moti » February 26th, 2014, 8:52 am

Meh, go brand new.

Worth it in my opinion.

Postby MG Man » February 26th, 2014, 12:49 pm

Shuddup moti

moti

Postby moti » February 26th, 2014, 12:53 pm

^^ If I do that, you will die of suffocation.

Humes

Postby Humes » February 26th, 2014, 1:49 pm

All points noted.

Any reputable RORO dealers or good spots to look for local used (other than Tuner classifieds)?

Postby MG Man » February 26th, 2014, 1:51 pm

it's a sacrifice I am willing to make
The only reason I can see to justify a new car is because of the gap between new and 2-3 year old local used cars, which is why wifey currently shopping for a new car...I personally prefer local used to foreign used, as I like to look over whatever car we're buying...both her previous cars were local used 3-year old corollas. Back then, the price gap to new was pretty large. Now when she scans the papers for anything under 3 years old, she just shrugs and says better to put the extra and buy a new car

Postby nervewrecker » February 26th, 2014, 5:17 pm

cinco wrote:

You dont think this occurs in japan and singapore also?

I'm actually wondering if they could give us competition:

viewtopic.php?p=7816958#p7816958

Humes

Postby Humes » February 26th, 2014, 6:56 pm

MG Man wrote:it's a sacrifice I am willing to make
The only reason I can see to justify a new car is because of the gap between new and 2-3 year old local used cars, which is why wifey currently shopping for a new car...I personally prefer local used to foreign used, as I like to look over whatever car we're buying...both her previous cars were local used 3-year old corollas. Back then, the price gap to new was pretty large. Now when she scans the papers for anything under 3 years old, she just shrugs and says better to put the extra and buy a new car

I'm cool with something 5 -7 years old. It's going to be a long time until I feel the need to buy a new car again.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 26th, 2014, 7:58 pm

when you eventually narrow down what you want to get, I would suggest making a thread in one of the relevant "manufacturer specific" sections on here, and ask about areas of concern, and what you should look out for during your inspection. wrt pricing, do some research online and on the papers to gauge the typical price it's going for; at the end of the day any item is only worth as much as what people are willing to pay for it.