Is the Diesel Engine B14 a good buy?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 30th, 2011, 11:01 pm

Was wondering is there a big difference with a Original B14 diesel and a swap one?

cause I might be buying a next car in a few months and my number 1 car on my list is a B14

Honestly I eh want a car with no ECU and Distributor and all that drama cause I had bad experience with it already.

Someone was telling me that a diesel would be the best bet since diesel doh have none of that.

zcarz

Re: Is the Diesel Engine B14 a good buy?

Postby zcarz » August 30th, 2011, 11:04 pm

didn't know the b14 ever came with diesel engines

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 30th, 2011, 11:58 pm

I heard that there are B14 with Original Diesel from the factory. I seen some advertising in the newspaper also.

Can anyone confirm if this is true? I did find it hard to believe that there are Original diesel model B14

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 31st, 2011, 12:16 am

^ i kno some b15's came with nissan diesel engines.. not the b14's

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 31st, 2011, 9:20 am

If it is the same model I think of, I think parts are notoriously hard to get.
Body parts will obviously work, but i heard that some suspension parts are different and I dont even know what engine it has....

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 31st, 2011, 10:22 am

Yes some came diesel but the only ones you'll find originally diesel would've been registered as Taxis at one point. (as per importation/registration regulations)
I guess this one isn't and probably has a CD17/20/turbo diesel engine swap. I hope this one isn't done as half assed as some I've seen. The GA engine is so good on gas when maintained I don't understand what the cost savings will be ripping out that engine and dropping 3k or more into the swap and gaining heat soak and vibration.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » August 31st, 2011, 1:10 pm

My brother-in-law has a b14 with a diesel engine. Its a taxi and he bought it with the engine.
I am not sure if its original
I will ask him about its history

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 1st, 2011, 11:53 am

So wait nah, Diesel Engines on the whole, parts does be hard to find for all of them?

A diesel B14 might be a bad buy since most of them will be taxi. I could imagine the licks them get.

Meh might just be better off buying ah gas B14 from a family man with a good Job so hopefully it will be a good buy.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 1st, 2011, 12:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So wait nah, Diesel Engines on the whole, parts does be hard to find for all of them?

no. since the majority of these cars came with the gas engines, that's what suppliers will stock up on.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
A diesel B14 might be a bad buy since most of them will be taxi. I could imagine the licks them get.

Meh might just be better off buying ah gas B14 from a family man with a good Job so hopefully it will be a good buy.

these cars are getting up in age, and I honestly think it might be very difficult to source one that hasn't been a taxi at one point or the other :lol:
good luck though; I'd get the regular GA16, and invest in a decent alarm system/ car search 8-)

Postby sliderz1 » September 1st, 2011, 11:40 pm

no ECU and Distributor..................dont let paranoia get the best of u
B14's are great, durablity, parts and they have maintained a 'modern' look
GA15 work quite well

those 'CD' series diesels are pretty old and i'd stay away

TD and QD Nissan Diesels are newer, higher displacement very popular because of bus/pickup market but heavier

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 2nd, 2011, 3:19 am

kk well ah will go with the gas.

I assume parts for B14 is very easy to get considering they selling for more money than B15.

Postby sliderz1 » September 2nd, 2011, 9:38 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I assume parts for B14 is very easy to get

you've answered your question :lol:

Postby black start » September 10th, 2011, 9:55 pm

sliderz1 wrote:no ECU and Distributor..................dont let paranoia get the best of u
B14's are great, durablity, parts and they have maintained a 'modern' look
GA15 work quite well

those 'CD' series diesels are pretty old and i'd stay away

TD and QD Nissan Diesels are newer, higher displacement very popular because of bus/pickup market but heavier

dan u know td an qd is rwd and well talking fwd rite?first off all, i have a cd20 diesel b13. now to clear up any questions, parts are not hard to find but are slightly more costly. there are different model cd20 engines, some new, some old...so u hada be able to distinguish. engines are reliable and very very very good in terms of consumption and well is not as quick as ah ga15de but still holds is own well...also, there are many people that have diesel or diesel swapped vehicles that dont use them for taxi purpose but just for normal everyday driving so doh take no chain....if u have anymore technical question feel free to ask....

swaggermaster868

Postby swaggermaster868 » February 15th, 2014, 8:08 pm

tunerz was d price for a cd17 engine block