The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

moti

Re: The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby moti » September 30th, 2013, 8:38 am

nismoid wrote:
MG Man wrote:Five he sellin the yaaaag?
And the other fella, why not a 2nd gen ?
'Old school' is a relative term. I have a magazine somewhere that considers the vr4 galant as old school

relative to a new car i agree but hardly what is generally considered in this thread as old school, 2nd gen ran from 86-91, the model pictured is the latter.
and if a 2nd gen, why not a 3rd gen and scrap the whole idea of old school cause its only one year older(1992) than a 2nd gen. but i guess anything goes

Problem is terms like old school, vintage, classic etc are relative terms. There are guys who think anything after 1950 is not old school either.
Maybe we could define it as cars with carbs, or at best , mechanical fuel injection. That would rule out the. 'New' stuff with electronics

With me being the jackass that I am, you mean cars that came from the factory with the carbs right?
Cause there are a lot of old cars now with EFI.

Postby dougla_boy » September 30th, 2013, 9:38 am

so the 2nd gen is nuh ole school?

Postby MG Man » September 30th, 2013, 12:12 pm

dougla_boy wrote:so the 2nd gen is nuh ole school?

no yuh tuntun, is ah Mazda

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » September 30th, 2013, 1:40 pm

cinco wrote:
trinibuggy wrote:volvo is actually a parts donor and well as cinco said the jag is rotting but only the trunk and that part where the tail pipes used to be. car cover to be bought for it soon :(

lol i see the P plate volvo there the other day too

:D once i get permission from my pops i will create a thread for the build in process of the p plate :evil:

Postby Monk BANzai » September 30th, 2013, 1:42 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:. . .according to wiki. . .

:| You have just nullified your argument there.

For your information, on the local market the 260C which was sold from registration series PU to PX did not have the chrome trim around the taillights. The 280C which was sold from registration series PY to PAC did have the chrome trim around the taillights.

So I reiterate, for a PW registration series 260C as shown in the photo, the taillights are period incorrect.

Accurately said.
Well done!

WR..you tekkin thah beat dong jusso boi?... :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » September 30th, 2013, 5:45 pm

Postby Monk BANzai » September 30th, 2013, 9:17 pm

wait nah....is pictah with trim that we (trinidad) nevea see/get yuh post up dey?.......OHHHHHHHHHHHH RORY PHOLORIE!! ITS ORN NAO!!!

*yes i am clearly idle.....

Postby wagonrunner » September 30th, 2013, 9:53 pm

Ent local dealers always bought in ALL the models, including higher trim ones before FU? right?
hell, not like they would even remove such items (radios / trim / etc) and sell them as options? RIGHT??!!

Postby Monk BANzai » September 30th, 2013, 9:59 pm

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 1st, 2013, 7:08 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Ent local dealers always bought in ALL the models, including higher trim ones before FU? right?
hell, not like they would even remove such items (radios / trim / etc) and sell them as options? RIGHT??!!

:| What does any of that have to do with a PW registered Datsun 260C having the incorrect taillights? The 260C and 280C on the 330 chassis were not sold at the same time on the local market. That is why I said that the taillights, based on the registration plate, are period incorrect.

Centric

Postby Centric » October 1st, 2013, 7:57 pm

Dude just got parked

Postby wagonrunner » October 1st, 2013, 8:41 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote: :| What does any of that have to do with a PW registered Datsun 260C having the incorrect taillights? The 260C and 280C on the 330 chassis were not sold at the same time on the local market. That is why I said that the taillights, based on the registration plate, are period incorrect.

It seems to be the same car.
which you are defining as 2 different models based on local marketing.
Your period correctness is defined by N&M then options, not what the manufacturer had available.
You gonna really opt for the shake down, when the higher spec is available so a few can pass judgement independent of the manufacturer?

you know what, you're right.
He has the better trim available for the same car, so it's the wrong trim for the car. OK

Postby eliteauto » October 2nd, 2013, 6:02 am

oddly this reminds me of the tuners who insisted my PAZ AE101 did not come from TTTL (Amar) with fuel injection and rear disc brakes cause they only came injected from PBA and never came with rear disc locally :lol:

SiRMX

Postby SiRMX » October 2nd, 2013, 9:31 am

My two cents...Actually Wikipedia's!

The 330 series Cedric was produced from 1976 through 1979. Again, it was sold as the Gloria as well in the domestic Japanese market; in the export it was marketed as the 200C, 220C, 260C, and 280C (after 1978).
The diesel engine returned, mainly for taxi usage. For the same purpose, there was a version of the four-cylinder "H20" petrol engine which ran on LPG. The engines were further modified as emission control regulations were again adjusted in 1976, using the moniker Nissan NAPS.
Trim levels offered were the Deluxe, Custom Deluxe, GL, GL-E, SGL, SGL-E, 2800SGL, and 2800SGL-E. The SG Brougham also first appeared in this generation. The "SG" designation stands for Senior Grade, and the "E" represents fuel injection.
October 1977 saw 1 million Cedrics produced.
Halogen headlights were added in June 1976.

Postby MG Man » October 2nd, 2013, 9:36 am

you guys sound like a bunch of british farts arguing over old british cars
very unbecoming :-/

shocksub

Postby shocksub » October 2nd, 2013, 1:30 pm

More like wigs and handbags are being thrown at a crochet gig in Surrey.

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2013, 2:13 pm

:lol: when talking about Mg's you'd also have to include lace gloves and scarves.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 2nd, 2013, 3:20 pm

Kevin,in a Fausse attaque fashion, always gets 'em

shocksub

Postby shocksub » October 3rd, 2013, 12:40 pm

back to old cars again.....

Saw this Facebook deal - Motor Sport Caribbean History which is a Bajan host but has some really great pics of Trinidadian sports cars rally/circuit and otherwise.

My thing is where are all these cars now...RIP, hidden..exported???

I copied a few pics here to get the ball rolling
1233981_409887649112111_203363604_n.jpg
1383702_410016575765885_645316029_n.jpg
416935_288921617875382_1361513120_n.jpg
578362_288447061256171_254647979_n.jpg
1379624_410431345724408_1296506676_n.jpg

Dragist

Postby Dragist » October 3rd, 2013, 3:57 pm

^^^ Cool stuff , good ole days .

Postby eliteauto » October 3rd, 2013, 4:31 pm

PL7779............ beautiful shot! my word car looks lovely!

Postby dougla_boy » October 3rd, 2013, 5:31 pm

trinibuggy wrote:
cinco wrote:
trinibuggy wrote:volvo is actually a parts donor and well as cinco said the jag is rotting but only the trunk and that part where the tail pipes used to be. car cover to be bought for it soon :(

:D once i get permission from my pops i will create a thread for the build in process of the p plate :evil:

Still cyar believe u call me dat

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 3rd, 2013, 7:03 pm

Dragist wrote:^^^ Cool stuff , good ole days .

nah "great ole days"

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » October 3rd, 2013, 8:25 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
trinibuggy wrote:
cinco wrote:

Still cyar believe u call me dat

call you what?

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » October 5th, 2013, 2:49 pm

moti

Postby moti » October 15th, 2013, 3:02 pm

Not sure where to put this.

They do seem to like this color combo though.

IMG-20131015-00651.jpg

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2013, 3:32 pm

diz de lambogheeeny ventydoor?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 15th, 2013, 4:40 pm

moti wrote:Not sure where to put this.

They do seem to like this color combo though.

IMG-20131015-00651.jpg

looked hideous from the road when i passed

moti

Postby moti » October 15th, 2013, 6:27 pm

Yup, not my cup o tea.

For some reason I think that garage has/had a third gen RX7 in the same color scheme so they look like they like the orange & black theme.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » October 16th, 2013, 12:38 pm

Almost done.. JZ inside :twisted: