The *Official* Trinidad Spotters Thread!

paparazzi

Official Trinidad Spotters Thread!

Postby paparazzi » July 21st, 2013, 7:35 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Don't they use water when applying the vinyl?

And the many stickers on vehicles all over should suffer this adverse effect not so?

I'm not an expert but wraps are usually applied with heat.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

Re: Official Trinidad Spotters Thread!

Postby Morpheus » July 21st, 2013, 7:39 pm

Applied to a dry surface. The heat is used to help the vinyl conform to the contours properly and for air pockets. Other than that, you wouldn't need to apply heat.

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » July 21st, 2013, 7:41 pm

I personally think we have enough technology to compensate for said humidity just saying

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2013, 7:51 pm

I am no expert either but I think a fluid is used to keep the material from sticking upon contact with the surface.

A squeegie is used to push out the fluid from under the surface together with any bubbles etc. This gives the installer time to heat the material so it can stretch and bend to take the shape if the surface.

Postby Morpheus » July 21st, 2013, 8:26 pm

I think it's similar to tinting if I can recall correctly.

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2013, 8:55 pm

With tint you shrink before peeling off the clear plastic.

Vinyl you peel, apply and then shrink. If the paper on the back gets wet it can't come off easy.

I worked in a sign shop pre 06 and worked on a few wraps that are still around till this date. My concern was when someone mention possible issues vehicles may have as I'm considering wrapping my car. It's the first time I have heard of it though.

Postby rspann » July 21st, 2013, 9:03 pm

Talk to the tint man in penal,Navin. He did the orange, he could probably give advice.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 21st, 2013, 9:05 pm

What can cause a wrap to fail or fall off over time?
In most cases of vinyl lifting, if it is a materials problem the lifting will present itself in the first few weeks after the initial installation. In most cases it is advised that the vehicle wrap be fixed so that the vinyl does not continue to peal back and become contaminated. It is not uncommon to see small areas of the wrap lifting soon after the installation is complete.
Several factors can effect the vinyls' adhesives ability to stick to the vehicle surface. Here are a few..
If the surface is not prepared properly before the wrap then the adhesive can fail to stick overtime.
Extreme temperatures can effect the vinyl adhesive. Very Cold or Very Hot temperatures.
Extreme humidity in the air during installation can effect the adhesive.
Dust in the air during installation.
Improper installation procedures such as stretching the vinyl beyond its limits during installation.
Improper heating of the material during the installation.

http://www.bigideawraps.com/faqs.html

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2013, 9:14 pm

Interesting...

I know of the other issues, never heard of humidity. Never had any of the vehicles return with problems to be quite honest.

Thanks for the info though, I appreciate it alot.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 21st, 2013, 9:18 pm

personally for me, if i decided to change the color of a vehicle, i would paint. lets say u get a scratch etc, you can polish it off....you cant do that with vinyl....

Postby Chimera » July 21st, 2013, 9:20 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I am no expert either but I think a fluid is used to keep the material from sticking upon contact with the surface.

A squeegie is used to push out the fluid from under the surface together with any bubbles etc. This gives the installer time to heat the material so it can stretch and bend to take the shape if the surface.

the higher quality wraps can easily be removed and re positioned without having any soap/liquid on the car

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2013, 9:21 pm

I agree but was eyeing the matte green sometime now. I have two minds about it as its rather close to what our Army uses.

Material is just over $2k and I would be doing it myself. Comes up cheaper and I don't really go anywhere to get digs or scratches. It's just the color. :(

Postby cinco » July 21st, 2013, 10:16 pm

3m wraps are not the same as vinyl
they dont need to be heated to apply
i figure by time they see adverse effects on the vinyl the owner will want a new colour by then win win as far as i can see
btw
you can also buy plastidip and spray your whole car and peel it off when u are ready

Postby Ted_v2 » July 21st, 2013, 11:07 pm

Plastidip. Cost like 2k from what I understand

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » July 21st, 2013, 11:16 pm

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » July 22nd, 2013, 7:57 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:personally for me, if i decided to change the color of a vehicle, i would paint. lets say u get a scratch etc, you can polish it off....you cant do that with vinyl....

I'm with Aaron. If I had to change colour I would paint, not wrap.

As an alternative I like plastidip.

Postby cinco » July 22nd, 2013, 10:27 am

paparazzi wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:personally for me, if i decided to change the color of a vehicle, i would paint. lets say u get a scratch etc, you can polish it off....you cant do that with vinyl....

why dip if you gonna mask and spray that just paint
wrap is a cool idea if it was more cost effective locally

paparazzi

Official Trinidad Spotters Thread!

Postby paparazzi » July 22nd, 2013, 10:48 am

cinco wrote:
paparazzi wrote:

why dip if you gonna mask and spray that just paint
wrap is a cool idea if it was more cost effective locally

Application of the plastidip is so much easier and cheaper than a wrap. Less risk too. When you wrap you run the risk of knife marks on your paintwork.

Removing a wrap from clearcoat that has not been properly cured will also remove the clearcoat.

I wouldn't apply a wrap to non -factory paintwork. But that's just me.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » July 22nd, 2013, 1:25 pm

Anyone knows if they sell Plasti Dip in Trinidad? Thanks

krisjoseph_2000

Postby krisjoseph_2000 » July 22nd, 2013, 1:39 pm

This is a spot for me...I dont know about everyone else ImageImage

Postby Morpheus » July 22nd, 2013, 2:28 pm

Whey dem get that. US Galant

Postby MG Man » July 22nd, 2013, 2:45 pm

@krisjoseph
fella, best you retire yuh camera and stop spottin chit

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2013, 2:48 pm

MG Man wrote:@krisjoseph
fella, best you retire yuh camera and stop spottin chit

Agreed.

Postby 16 cycles » July 22nd, 2013, 2:58 pm

Postby MG Man » July 22nd, 2013, 3:06 pm

teh secks!

javan

Postby javan » July 22nd, 2013, 4:10 pm

rspann wrote:Talk to the tint man in penal,Navin. He did the orange, he could probably give advice.

whats navin contact number please

I have used plasti dip its easy to use but you also need a Glossifier

if you wish to get a gloss finish

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » July 22nd, 2013, 4:34 pm

s2.jpg

s1.jpg

Teh seks