T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

PapaC

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby PapaC » June 30th, 2013, 11:05 pm

Last time the BMW X1 was on show by Price plaza, guy said there was a special on and it was about $340k. Haven't seen that option considered, but that's definitely a 'money oye' look as you say.

neexis

Postby neexis » June 30th, 2013, 11:23 pm

nemesis wrote:Would still prefer the E250. :)

btw, those V6 Accords run on 3 cylinders below 20kmph. So they're insanely slow just off the line.
Due to the price and what you're looking for though, yes, consider the Accord and Camry.

Whats the engine on the local camry? 2.4 VVT-i? I drove one in the US last yr... decent ride. But at 400k in Trinidad, that didn't make sense considering what you were getting... and insurance for that. Meh

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 30th, 2013, 11:58 pm

Would have to wait on a serious special again to get the X1 at that price. Believe they're 485k now. Or you could drop some options to bring it down a bit.

Local camry is the 2.4 I believe. Also drove it in the US. It's ok, but as you said, in that price range in trini, unless you really really want a Toyota, it doesn't make sense.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 1st, 2013, 5:49 am

Nemesis, is that a typo you made with the price of the X1?.... You meant to say $385K, not $485K right.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 1st, 2013, 5:52 am

At $485K, I can have a Q5 base model...and those 2 vehicles aren't in the same class

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 1st, 2013, 7:34 am

Renaldo25 wrote:
acesinghit wrote:Honda Accord badd damn!! If it's not the 3.5 VTEC V6 version then I can't see myself driving it. As for the Camry, same thing. If it aint the 3.5 dual VVT-I V6 then it doh make sense. Of course they both would probably be in $500k territory. I would be offended to get my $675k E250 with AMG kit (if I had one) embarrassed by a $500k V6 Accord!

is that even possible? :?: in that range not many euros will get beaten by anything jap or korean unless u talking wrx sti's or evo's...

E250 1.8 turbo 201hp; 310Nm torque 0-100kmph in 7.4s
Accord V6 278hp; 342Nm torque 0-96kmph in 5.6s

so yeah straight line goes to the accord. Everything else is probably e250.

btw, those V6 Accords run on 3 cylinders below 20kmph. So they're insanely slow just off the line.
Due to the price and what you're looking for though, yes, consider the Accord and Camry.

nah man refer to the above...anything under 6s to 100kmph in fast IMO.

neexis wrote:

Whats the engine on the local camry? 2.4 VVT-i? I drove one in the US last yr... decent ride. But at 400k in Trinidad, that didn't make sense considering what you were getting... and insurance for that. Meh

well the new local camry's got the 2.5 2AR-FE motor versus the previous model which had the older 2AZ-FE 2.4 motor.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 1st, 2013, 7:46 am

the forester ?

Hdmivision

Postby Hdmivision » July 1st, 2013, 11:44 am

It supposed to be but car prices just keep going up.. Smh

dogichi

Postby dogichi » July 1st, 2013, 3:57 pm

Acesinghit, anything under 6 secs is special...under 5 secs is phenomenal ....under 4 secs is a blur....lol

aidan

Postby aidan » July 1st, 2013, 5:55 pm

Hey guys, anyone know if we will be getting the new VW polo sedan? The sales guy at BA told me they will be getting the polo hatch later this year (Sept i think).

I had a 6 spd manual, 1.2 TSI polo 3 door for a week in the UK and I found it was amazing,not to mention amazing fuel economy. Wouldn't mind getting me one of those locally. I like small cars, don't need much space for everyday use.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » July 1st, 2013, 6:11 pm

For sure, under 6s is more than fast enough. But I think the Accord is 6.5s, not 5.6s. I'd find that 5.6s very hard to believe. Especially since that's close to 335/S4 territory, and having driven the V6 Accord, I know it doesn't feel nearly as fast.

http://www.automobile-catalog.com/car/2 ... sedan.html

Click on performance data at the bottom for more detailed info.

In fact, even 7s is quite driveable in Trini. You quoted the correct 0-60 time for the E250, but wrong specs. They're 350Nm now, and are 2.0L.

Dogichi, last I checked the X1 was 485k, not 385. You could call them and find out though. Maybe i heard wrong.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 1st, 2013, 7:17 pm

LoL ... He said even 7 seconds is drivable in Trinidad ...

Anything under 10 seconds is drivable in trinidad ... We have horrible road conditions, very bad drivers and the majority of cars are in the 10 to 12 second range. You only need so much power to overtake a nissan b13 ... or a toyota corolla

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 1st, 2013, 7:47 pm

nemesis wrote:For sure, under 6s is more than fast enough. But I think the Accord is 6.5s, not 5.6s. I'd find that 5.6s very hard to believe. Especially since that's close to 335/S4 territory, and having driven the V6 Accord, I know it doesn't feel nearly as fast.

http://www.automobile-catalog.com/car/2 ... sedan.html

Click on performance data at the bottom for more detailed info.

In fact, even 7s is quite driveable in Trini. You quoted the correct 0-60 time for the E250, but wrong specs. They're 350Nm now, and are 2.0L.

Dogichi, last I checked the X1 was 485k, not 385. You could call them and find out though. Maybe i heard wrong.

check the link below:
http://www.caranddriver.com/reviews/201 ... est-review

thanks for the updated e250 specs btw I guess that explains why the car went from 575k to 645k

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 1st, 2013, 9:04 pm

drchaos wrote:LoL ... He said even 7 seconds is drivable in Trinidad ...

Anything under 10 seconds is drivable in trinidad ... We have horrible road conditions, very bad drivers and the majority of cars are in the 10 to 12 second range. You only need so much power to overtake a nissan b13 ... or a toyota corolla

I done fed up with 8. I want lower. 1cry.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 1st, 2013, 10:21 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

I am sure you can make the faster than 8 seconds for free ... Start dropping weight!
-Dump out the spear tires
-Replace the bonnet with carbon fiber (Don't just paint it black)
-Get rid of your rims and put a lighter hub cap with the black metal inner rim
-toss out the back seats
-run the car with 1/4 tank of gas
-rip out the touch screen and speakers!
-Lastly lose a few pounds :P

That should take it down to the 7 second range

alan1991

Postby alan1991 » July 2nd, 2013, 12:53 am

does anybody know anything about the new focus? thinking of buying one new soon, ansa has a package with 5 years free service and warranty including parts and 5 years free full comp insurance. all inclusive @ $209000. does anybody have any expierience with this car?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » July 2nd, 2013, 3:26 am

drchaos wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

I am sure you can make the faster than 8 seconds for free ... Start dropping weight!
-Dump out the spear tires
-Replace the bonnet with carbon fiber (Don't just paint it black)
-Get rid of your rims and put a lighter hub cap with the black metal inner rim
-toss out the back seats
-run the car with 1/4 tank of gas
-rip out the touch screen and speakers!
-Lastly lose a few pounds :P

That should take it down to the 7 second range

Believe you mean spare. And yes I agree that even slower is driveable. But if people asking for sub 6, then definitely 9s to 60mph cars wouldn't be acceptable to them.

quote="acesinghit"]

check the link below:
http://www.caranddriver.com/reviews/201 ... est-review

thanks for the updated e250 specs btw I guess that explains why the car went from 575k to 645k[/quote]

They also tested the stock 335i at 4.8s to 60mph. I don't believe that either really. Sometimes their testing just doesn't agree with what many others get.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 2nd, 2013, 9:03 am

alan1991 wrote:does anybody know anything about the new focus? thinking of buying one new soon, ansa has a package with 5 years free service and warranty including parts and 5 years free full comp insurance. all inclusive @ $209000. does anybody have any expierience with this car?

It will suffer the fate of the 4(?) other generations of ford focuses in trinidad. Nice cars, but parts and maintenance is a killer. Dont worry though, when you buy it for 209k, 2-3years from now youll prolly get like 90k for it.

alan1991

Postby alan1991 » July 2nd, 2013, 12:30 pm

yeh but if im getting free parts and service for 5 years i shouldnt have anything to worry about

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 2nd, 2013, 1:11 pm

alan1991 wrote:yeh but if im getting free parts and service for 5 years i shouldnt have anything to worry about

He also pointed out resale value.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 2nd, 2013, 2:57 pm

Current resale as seen on trinicasforsale.com:

2010 Hyundai Elantra 1.6L 39,563kms - $125k
2010 Toyota Corolla 1.5L 38,000kms - $140k (sold)
2010 Nissan Bluebird Sylphy 1.5 47,000kms - $130k
2010 Mazda 3 1.6L 64,000kms - $120k (sold)
2010 Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5 58,000kms - $135k
2010 Honda Civic 1.6L 48,000kms - $175k
2010 Kia Cerato 1.6 78,000kms - $118k

2010 Showroom purchase prices:

Elantra - $155k.
Corolla - $172k + accessories (rims and spoiler) = $7,000 extra for the least. (total = $179k)
Bluebird Sylphy - $170k
3 - $165k
Lancer - $180k
Civic - $225k
Cerato - $170k

Money lost (figures subject to increase based on negotiated sale price):
Elantra - $30k
Corolla - $39k
Bluebird Sylphy - $40k
3 - $45k
Lancer - $45k
Civic - $50k
Cerato - $52k

The 2 Korean cars did not do too bad at all considering the mileage. So I guess resale value perception is changing.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 2nd, 2013, 3:14 pm

Some cars just don't make sense to own in trinidad, because of the hassle and inconvenience of trying to get simple parts or service from these same dealers. Car Stealerships in trinidad are the worst of the worst.

Postby cinco » July 2nd, 2013, 3:43 pm

trini mk5 wrote:Some cars just don't make sense to own in trinidad, because of the hassle and inconvenience of trying to get simple parts or service from these same dealers. Car Stealerships in trinidad are the worst of the worst.

dunno if u heard of this thing called the internet
but its like this series of tubes where u can get almost anything you want

Postby equipped2ripp » July 2nd, 2013, 6:03 pm

^ not everyone is able to source parts off the internet.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » July 2nd, 2013, 8:11 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:^ not everyone is able to source parts off the internet.

very true

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » July 2nd, 2013, 8:15 pm

very true

Postby cinco » July 2nd, 2013, 9:43 pm

wait what?
if you on tuner you can source your own parts...
if u dont have a CC u can get a VTM card
there is nothing holding you back

Postby equipped2ripp » July 2nd, 2013, 9:50 pm

ok and what about people who don't know how to shop online or don't have a credit card or VTM card.... there is life outside of trinituner you know.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 3rd, 2013, 8:22 am

it have idiots out there who bought local new nissans and they feeding their cars garbage parts from the bamboo. You would be surprised to find out how much people who actually purchased brand new nissans within recent years who carry their cars back to NM to service (customer retention for service is low). When bamboo mentality people can afford a new car, its usually a "high resale value" unit which eventually will get service and parts from you guessed it....the bamboo!

What about the Skoda Octavia owner? Parts you say? It services in the Company and if the part is too much he can simply buy it online and ship to skybox. That is what I did with the Jetta when a taxi man cleared away my l/s rear view mirror.

Do not support the local racket. Buy new, buy non Japanese cars!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 3rd, 2013, 10:39 am

He clear away your rear view mirror you say?
How he get inside your car to do that?