T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby gastly369 » June 29th, 2013, 6:45 pm

was considering the chevy cruze FLDED untill i saw this
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=504144

tho styling is nice fully loaded you getting a bluetooth headset free with purchase :S not built in

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 29th, 2013, 6:45 pm

If you go by dealer stories you will always hear negative things no matter which one locally. I have heard very negative things about southern sales but I don't have first hand experience. I can say best auto hasn't given me bad servicing treatment but I haven't had any major issues with my vehicle that needed any special service. Others have reported that best auto is the most atrocious dealer so go figure.

Have you considered a *high grade* VW? :lol:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 29th, 2013, 8:18 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:@ christopherwilliams2
$300k on the road
has backup camera built into the auto dimming rear view mirror also rear sensors
got use to it .. then again coming from a A33 didn't take much of a adjustment in driving it
trunk space is massive! sure to transport all the kiddies stuff easily

thanks man. looks interesting but may be a little too flashy for me.

A stock optima with DRLs off is not flashy IMHO.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 29th, 2013, 8:19 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:If you go by dealer stories you will always hear negative things no matter which one locally. I have heard very negative things about southern sales but I don't have first hand experience. I can say best auto hasn't given me bad servicing treatment but I haven't had any major issues with my vehicle that needed any special service. Others have reported that best auto is the most atrocious dealer so go figure.

Ah, I understand you on the issue with the dealerships.

Such as?
Not the CC, the sloping roof at the back is tough on rear passengers.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 29th, 2013, 8:21 pm

DJ Q wrote:
gastly369 wrote:@ christopherwilliams2
$300k on the road
has backup camera built into the auto dimming rear view mirror also rear sensors
got use to it .. then again coming from a A33 didn't take much of a adjustment in driving it
trunk space is massive! sure to transport all the kiddies stuff easily

thanks man. looks interesting but may be a little too flashy for me.

A stock optima with DRLs off is not flashy IMHO.

Hmmm i see.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 29th, 2013, 8:45 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:If you go by dealer stories you will always hear negative things no matter which one locally. I have heard very negative things about southern sales but I don't have first hand experience. I can say best auto hasn't given me bad servicing treatment but I haven't had any major issues with my vehicle that needed any special service. Others have reported that best auto is the most atrocious dealer so go figure.

Ah, I understand you on the issue with the dealerships.

Such as?
Not the CC, the sloping roof at the back is tough on rear passengers.

I was joking about VW. High grade was a reference to the weed in d best auto container found on the port recently.

If I had to recommend a VW meeting most of your requirements I'd say the Passat but with the 2.0T configuration with the 6 speed dsg. Not super flashy. Not high on theft lists. Good space. It unfortunately is probably over the 400k price point I think. The 1.8t passat fits your criteria as well perfectly but I am taking a wait and see approach with the 7 speed dsg for now as the tranny is new in Trinidad and there have been issues abroad. Granted no issues with mine but I'd want to give it a couple more years before I really recommend it.

Take a look at the new Mazda 6 while you are at it.

neexis

Postby neexis » June 29th, 2013, 9:12 pm

The Highline Passat will run you around 340k.... if you request the 2.0T engine with the DSG6, you can tack on a 25k again.... still within budget.
The 2.0T diesel with the same DSG6 may cost around the same

The car is solid, roomy in the back seat, and trunk space is ridiculous.

Can't say I've had any issues with the dealer really... they've actually treated me quite well, and the experience has been generally positive so far.

Checkout the Passat posts in the "EURO" section for actual owner feedback.

300k for the Optima.... really? That's more than the Comfortline Passat....
Kia.... meh

neexis

Postby neexis » June 29th, 2013, 9:20 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Have you considered a *high grade* VW? :lol:

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 30th, 2013, 1:00 am

lol :D

Hdmivision

Postby Hdmivision » June 30th, 2013, 1:18 am

Oh god man !!! Robbery again why the hell are those Lexus so flicking expensive ??? It's about 3 times the US PRICE!! They are very nice cars but come on Toyota trinidad are you crazy ??

Postby equipped2ripp » June 30th, 2013, 1:35 am

A diesel engine Passat would cost way more than a gasoline one.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 30th, 2013, 5:48 am

equipped2ripp wrote:A diesel engine Passat would cost way more than a gasoline one.

Was told it was at 350k presently.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 30th, 2013, 9:41 am

Hdmivision wrote:Oh god man !!! Robbery again why the hell are those Lexus so flicking expensive ??? It's about 3 times the US PRICE!! They are very nice cars but come on Toyota trinidad are you crazy ??

Go buy one in the US then :|

Forza_Milano

Postby Forza_Milano » June 30th, 2013, 10:14 am

I've been hearing the following with regards to Neal & Massy:

1 - New Nissan Pathfinder - expected in September 2013 - can anyone confirm?
2 - New Nissan Navara - expected to be larger than the current model - to compete with he Ranger and Mazda - can anyone confirm?

Hdmivision

Postby Hdmivision » June 30th, 2013, 12:57 pm

If you buy it anywhere else in the world and ship it here and pay all the taxes it still wouldn't add up to $835,000 muffler bearing! Stupid trinis , will pay $10 for something worth $2 ...

Postby gastly369 » June 30th, 2013, 1:08 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:A diesel engine Passat would cost way more than a gasoline one.

the "diesel oil" locally making these high end diesel vehicles maintenance cost skyrocket

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 30th, 2013, 3:42 pm

Hdmivision wrote:If you buy it anywhere else in the world and ship it here and pay all the taxes it still wouldn't add up to $835,000 muffler bearing! Stupid trinis , will pay $10 for something worth $2 ...

Point noted and agreed. But this is the reality of it. Trini ppl will continue to buy at ridiculous prices. *shrug
Btw, correct me if I'm wrong but weren't car prices supposed to somehow drop after some of the fuel subsidy was lifted?

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 30th, 2013, 3:44 pm

Yeah gastly, I hear it messing up the filters. An Audi rep told me they stopped bringing the diesel Q7, because of that same reason. So the benefit of cheap fuel, is costing you more in the long run with expensive maintenance..makes you wonder. This 3rd world country is driving me crazy.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 30th, 2013, 3:48 pm

We will soon be the only country in the world with expensive gas and expensive cars. We don't get the benefits of decreased prices down here. There is always some excuse or reason for us not getting a break with lower costing of goods and services. If this keeps up I going either Denmark or Switzerland and live

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 30th, 2013, 3:54 pm

dogichi wrote:Yeah gastly, I hear it messing up the filters. An Audi rep told me they stopped bringing the diesel Q7, because of that same reason. So the benefit of cheap fuel, is costing you more in the long run with expensive maintenance..makes you wonder. This 3rd world country is driving me crazy.

Ahhhh.... this is why I brought my request to the forums. Some things you would only hear about in here to help you with a decision. I was interested in the diesel passat but now I am certainly rethinking that decision. The VW rep I spoke with was a bit clueless on why the diesel passats weren't flying out the door as they may have expected. This could be one of the reasons.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 30th, 2013, 3:55 pm

Trinis mentality will always send up the prices of stuff, those who have will buy anyway....while those who don't have to learn to do without or sacrifice to have it. As much as there are poor people here, there are alot of Trinis with money, just look at the the real estate market, and the expensive vehicles people buying

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 30th, 2013, 6:27 pm

Y'all make it sound like things so hard here for you to buy and drive expensive luxury cars. Trinidad and Tobago isn't as bad as the doom and gloom spewed in this thread.

Anyways ultra low sulphur diesel will be sold here from next year so you will be able to buy your expensive luxury audi, BMW, Benz, VW, Lexus etc.

Postby gastly369 » June 30th, 2013, 7:36 pm

^^ yep suppose to be world class
and well obviously the price is going to go up but prob still be cheaper than super?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 30th, 2013, 7:56 pm

Price will go up. When? I'm not sure. Definitely lower than super. Can't raise diesel prices much or inflation would be a killer to those who already almost can't afford.

dogichi

Postby dogichi » June 30th, 2013, 8:14 pm

When diesel goes up...taxi and maxi fares going to increase, groceries going to go up....we will be screwed all round. Cheaper than super...yes....but everybody will feel it

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 30th, 2013, 8:44 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:I would like your esteemed input tuners on what vehicle you suggest I should go for. Here are some details.

1. Budget 200 to 400k.
2. family of 4 (two kids under 5) may turn to family of five.
3. Not into popularity for bandits so I am leaning towards euro American etc.
4. Space in passenger seats important.
5. Want something understated and doesn't shout " money oye".. ie no...Mercedes, Audi BMW.
6. Safety features... It'll be on the road everyday (500km per week) so reliability and crash safety are tops too.
7. Prefer sedan to SUV.

Hopes I can get some help cause i know this list is long. The passat seems to be the option people are advising me towards.

that is a wide budget. what can I possibly recommend that has not been identified and discussed before? Get the cruze/focus/jetta/elantra/cerato for the 200k thereabouts budget. For the 300k budget it is obviously an optima/Passat/mazda6. When you hitting the 400k class its Passat CC/CLA/316i/A4 1.8T/C180/S60 1.6T

My brother in law owns a new cruze 1.8LT and it is a blast to drive. Very stable car and very heavy. I test drove the focus and afer owning a jetta, the elantra and cerato are light years behind those 3 in overall driving dynamics/composure.

The Passat remains my mid-size favorite since in Highline trim it is actually a bargain and very close to the deliverables of the 400k class.

As for the 400k class? You already know my answer.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 30th, 2013, 8:54 pm

acesinghit wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:I would like your esteemed input tuners on what vehicle you suggest I should go for. Here are some details.

1. Budget 200 to 400k.
2. family of 4 (two kids under 5) may turn to family of five.
3. Not into popularity for bandits so I am leaning towards euro American etc.
4. Space in passenger seats important.
5. Want something understated and doesn't shout " money oye".. ie no...Mercedes, Audi BMW.
6. Safety features... It'll be on the road everyday (500km per week) so reliability and crash safety are tops too.
7. Prefer sedan to SUV.

Hopes I can get some help cause i know this list is long. The passat seems to be the option people are advising me towards.

that is a wide budget. what can I possibly recommend that has not been identified and discussed before? Get the cruze/focus/jetta/elantra/cerato for the 200k thereabouts budget. For the 300k budget it is obviously an optima/Passat/mazda6. When you hitting the 400k class its Passat CC/CLA/316i/A4 1.8T/C180/S60 1.6T

My brother in law owns a new cruze 1.8LT and it is a blast to drive. Very stable car and very heavy. I test drove the focus and afer owning a jetta, the elantra and cerato are light years behind those 3 in overall driving dynamics/composure.

The Passat remains my mid-size favorite since in Highline trim it is actually a bargain and very close to the deliverables of the 400k class.

As for the 400k class? You already know my answer.

Cool thanks , yes I know it is a wide budget but I was just identifying my low and top end.
Right now from what I have gathered it seems as though the passat is still on top. After 3 years, the VW badge will still be more desirable and hold more value than the Chevrolet, Kia, Hyundai and Ford. So that is something I may want to consider even though they may have their advantages in servicing costs.
But I want to throw in another thought I may not have considered before... Should I be considering the Honda Accord and the Toyota Camry?

Now don't get me wrong, I have heard the legend of reliability of these vehicles and I don't believe that the VW reaches that standard. However, one of the problems I have is that I will be usually transporting my family and I really want to reduce that bandit element. Yes I know they can come for any car but they have their favorites too. That 2013 accord nice but are these two models ( camry and accord) really that targeted, in your humble opinions?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 30th, 2013, 9:23 pm

Honda Accord badd damn!! If it's not the 3.5 VTEC V6 version then I can't see myself driving it. As for the Camry, same thing. If it aint the 3.5 dual VVT-I V6 then it doh make sense. Of course they both would probably be in $500k territory. I would be offended to get my $675k E250 with AMG kit (if I had one) embarrassed by a $500k V6 Accord!

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 30th, 2013, 10:39 pm

acesinghit wrote:Honda Accord badd damn!! If it's not the 3.5 VTEC V6 version then I can't see myself driving it. As for the Camry, same thing. If it aint the 3.5 dual VVT-I V6 then it doh make sense. Of course they both would probably be in $500k territory. I would be offended to get my $675k E250 with AMG kit (if I had one) embarrassed by a $500k V6 Accord!

is that even possible? :?: in that range not many euros will get beaten by anything jap or korean unless u talking wrx sti's or evo's...

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 30th, 2013, 10:42 pm

Would still prefer the E250. :)

btw, those V6 Accords run on 3 cylinders below 20kmph. So they're insanely slow just off the line.
Due to the price and what you're looking for though, yes, consider the Accord and Camry.