The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby pioneer » February 18th, 2013, 6:49 pm

neexis wrote:
neexis wrote:so.. finally started work on the black car.
AG Shampoo, followed by clay and SRP. Didn't get to apply the Extreme Gloss Protection cuz of time

still seeing small swirls when i hold a light to it. would the sealant have made a difference with them? or do i need to add another step to the mix somewhere?

not a bad start... only had time to clay a few areas, and SRP on the whole thing. when i have time again, will re-clay entire thing, remove swirls, SRP and seal.

fcukin sweeet

Postby Ted_v2 » February 18th, 2013, 6:52 pm

neexis

Postby neexis » February 18th, 2013, 7:44 pm

thanks

nemesis: that's actually megs endurance tyre gel on there. it's got a lil sheen... but not ridiculously shiny.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 18th, 2013, 8:05 pm

Cool. Can't really see the pics anyway. Blocked from here.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 18th, 2013, 8:48 pm

Did some work on the van last night.... finished around 10 :?
wash, clay, removed some scratches, polished

didn't have any compound or wax.. and well time wasnt all that great.
want to try the autoglym EGP

Still has a couple fine swirls... the polish removed alot.
also didnt have the tire shine home. normally used one of the H5 tire products, will get the name tomorrow.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 18th, 2013, 8:58 pm

The elantra looking sweeeeet... good work there man

neexis

Postby neexis » February 18th, 2013, 10:39 pm

thanks... never worked on a black vehicle before. but i see you're familiar with the problems in keeping them clean!

what polish you used on the hilux?

neexis

Postby neexis » February 18th, 2013, 10:47 pm

nemesis wrote:Cool. Can't really see the pics anyway. Blocked from here.

problems with dropbox.... re-uploaded them

Postby DVSTT » February 18th, 2013, 11:47 pm

After Megs Wash and Wax

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 19th, 2013, 12:29 am

neexis wrote:
nemesis wrote:Cool. Can't really see the pics anyway. Blocked from here.

problems with dropbox.... re-uploaded them

More likely a problem with my location and connection. Don't worry bout it. Will see it next week I guess. :)

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 19th, 2013, 10:57 am

neexis wrote:thanks... never worked on a black vehicle before. but i see you're familiar with the problems in keeping them clean!

what polish you used on the hilux?

Megs ultimate polish... this week I have to get a good wax lol
Black vehicles takes real maintenance but it defiantly turns heads

Postby pioneer » February 19th, 2013, 7:00 pm

neexis

Postby neexis » February 19th, 2013, 8:44 pm

i think a shower of poop from passing birds would be worse

chucky

Postby chucky » February 20th, 2013, 8:55 am

Look at the depth of reflection

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 20th, 2013, 10:00 am

Not bad. In fact quite good. Seems to be quite a good paint job too.
I'd try to not place the product bottles directly on the finish though. Might get some little scratches.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 20th, 2013, 10:25 am

chucky, nice work!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 20th, 2013, 8:13 pm

The Key

The Snow

The Equipment

The Man Behind the Machine

The Finished Product

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 21st, 2013, 5:19 pm

got some time to Clay, SRP , and EGP.

I did 2 doors with Clay, SRP and the carnuba wax only.

Today while washing, you could see the difference in sheeting, like night and day. Even with the panel where I used the clay, sr, egp and the layered the carnuba, the EGP without the Carnuba had really good Sheeting.

One door took about 2-3 seconds for everything to sheet cleanly off, the pinnacle carnuba wax door was still sheeting slowly after 6 seconds.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 21st, 2013, 6:45 pm

Auto glym gonna be my next set of products yes... lol getting great results with my megs but damn... AG looking better

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 21st, 2013, 7:14 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Auto glym gonna be my next set of products yes... lol getting great results with my megs but damn... AG looking better

I dont know if I was using megs wrong, but it was really hard for me to use.

With the autoglym line I was done really quickly, and my arms didn't even hurt after. :lol: :lol:

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 21st, 2013, 7:20 pm

I felt it hard to remove the polish... but turns out I was leaving it for too long on the vehicle.
Either way... Auto Glym will be my next set if products.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 21st, 2013, 8:10 pm

i only ever used Mothers before... but the SRP's application and buffing really are easier. finished all the body panels on the car (minus the bumpers) in less than half hour
and the results speak for themselves

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 21st, 2013, 8:51 pm

what's a good tape to use to make sure I dont get gunk in places..it's nt supposed to be.

Postby Rooki3 » February 21st, 2013, 8:52 pm

painters tape

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 21st, 2013, 11:07 pm

3M painters tape.

Chinee yuh looking good there. That's the finish you were hoping for? You prefer how the waxed or sealed surface looks? Beading aside that is. You told me you wanted glassy, so I guess you got that from the sealant? Does it look any brighter than the waxed area?

Agreed on the SRP, again. Haven't come across much competition for it. Which of the Meg's product you used? I remem at the Meguiar's car crazy they told me to wipe off the ultimate products immediately.

Postby pioneer » February 23rd, 2013, 10:24 pm

Act quick guys - Griots 6" DA polisher - $111.48 (25 foot cord too)

http://www.amazon.com/Griots-Garage-107 ... im_auto_57

Usual price is $144.99

Yes it's the older model but does the same damn thing as the new model, for the price it can't be beat.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 24th, 2013, 9:23 am

nemesis wrote:3M painters tape.

Chinee yuh looking good there. That's the finish you were hoping for? You prefer how the waxed or sealed surface looks? Beading aside that is. You told me you wanted glassy, so I guess you got that from the sealant? Does it look any brighter than the waxed area?

Agreed on the SRP, again. Haven't come across much competition for it. Which of the Meg's product you used? I remem at the Meguiar's car crazy they told me to wipe off the ultimate products immediately.

The DA polisher not better pios?

I'm going to be honest, by the time I was finished the EGP and the Pinnacle wax surfaces look about the same to me...Maybe I was doing it wrong?
I left the EGP on for about 45 mins, and then wiped off. The wax I basically applied, and wiped off immediately.
Maybe I'll try a different carnuba wax when this one is done, like a SwissVax and see.

trvs

Postby trvs » February 24th, 2013, 2:09 pm

Good deal on the gen 2 griots rop there.

What's your favorite pad + product combos?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 25th, 2013, 12:37 pm

Fav pad and product combo for what? heavy cutting/finishing???

chinee that happens a lot with top products.. some are very hard, if not impossible to tell the difference between.
If you're going swissvax buy a starter kit and see if you think it's worth it. They're good products no doubt, but you might find the price isn't justified sometimes. Especially if you like the sealant finish already, it really might not make enough difference to you to be worth it. I'm not saying don't buy it, because many of us have tried it, but still...think it through first.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 25th, 2013, 2:13 pm

crazychinee, you can also look into the AG HD wax or collinite waxes.