The Official Car Care Thread

nemesis

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby nemesis » December 24th, 2012, 7:29 pm

For now, I changed the products I'm using on my vehicle. Will try the HD again sometime. Probably before the next time I polish in case I need to remove it again. :)
Oh, I also tried it with various bases including nothing..and I tried it with the car warm also since it was suggested to me it might be moisture below the wax..which I thought unlikely, but still tried by heating the surface first. Curious to find out the real problem still though.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 24th, 2012, 8:13 pm

Gave the truck a Christmas wash down today. Tried polishing my rim but the product failed so will tackle again another time

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2012, 8:16 pm

What you used?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 24th, 2012, 8:33 pm

I fraid to say the product hahaha

Check your iMessage

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 24th, 2012, 10:48 pm

pioneer wrote:Guys I tried out HD wax, followed instructions did a thin layer using the moist pad provided...occasionally spirtzing with water...left for 15 mins....used the red microfiber to remove but I find it leaves a kinda oiley residue that REAL hard to remove...

Was done out of the sun, under a garage.

I am kinda dissapointed here, cuz I have oiley streaks/swirls all over my hood :(

The shine SRP created looks kinda dull now because of the streaks/swirls

What did I do wrong?

You are either using to much water or to much product.

crazychinee wrote:I Like the blackfire wheel cleaner on my car vs the Trix. THe rims looked like when you just detailed in karim.
Is the trix safe for my rims karim?(painted right?)
The carpro iron X wash didn't show any purple on my car at all..I guess that's a good thing.

I used the trix on my rav4 rims, turns all kind of wierd colors including purple and green(I would guess that's a iron 2 complex.)

Yes the trix should be safe on your rims. I would recommend you use the wheel cleaner and if you have any tar on your rims use the trix.

The reason you are not seeing any purple on your car when u use the iron x soap is that i already decontaminated the paint and remove all the iron deposits when i last detailed it. Also you have on a very high end wax that protects the paint from contamination.

On some rims the Trix do turn purple and green its a normal thing as you can see from the pics

nemesis wrote:Thanks. And well said. I totally agree. And with car detailing it's something you see all the time actually. People want the shine, want to say they did it themselves but then want to finish the whole car in 2 hours.

Thank you very much Nemesis

nemesis wrote:Keep in mind I've had the same problem with that product before on my personal vehicle. My current pot of HDWax I've used on about 5 vehicles and yet mine keeps hazing up while none of the others did. And I've tried many things. The 'spit shine' method, machine application, drying times varying from 1min to 40mins, rapid detailer after waxing, sealant under the wax the day before in case it's very porous paint.. all kinds of stuff, and on my vehicle, it just hazes like no other after. Not sure why it happens, but I'm sure I'll give it a go again sometime just in the interest of learning. If you get yours to work, let me know, maybe it's the same issue. :)

Try removing all the wax on the car and reapplying. Try this and see if it will assist with your hazing issue. It could be the other products on the surface that may be causing this reaction, but your best bet is starting over with a clean and fresh surface.

Aaron 2NR wrote:Gave the truck a Christmas wash down today. Tried polishing my rim but the product failed so will tackle again another time

Aaron if you may tell us a bit on how the product failed and let me see if i can help. You dont need to mention the brand or name of the product.

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2012, 10:54 pm

Yeah cuz I used the same smart product with nice results man

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » December 25th, 2012, 12:12 am

can anyone tell me whats a good way to get paint fumes out? body of car and windshield?

Postby pioneer » December 25th, 2012, 12:32 am

claybar that bish

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 25th, 2012, 2:56 am

Karim Khan wrote:
nemesis wrote:Keep in mind I've had the same problem with that product before on my personal vehicle. My current pot of HDWax I've used on about 5 vehicles and yet mine keeps hazing up while none of the others did. And I've tried many things. The 'spit shine' method, machine application, drying times varying from 1min to 40mins, rapid detailer after waxing, sealant under the wax the day before in case it's very porous paint.. all kinds of stuff, and on my vehicle, it just hazes like no other after. Not sure why it happens, but I'm sure I'll give it a go again sometime just in the interest of learning. If you get yours to work, let me know, maybe it's the same issue. :)

Try removing all the wax on the car and reapplying. Try this and see if it will assist with your hazing issue. It could be the other products on the surface that may be causing this reaction, but your best bet is starting over with a clean and fresh surface.

Have done that. Used more than one cleaner fluid with it. And tried it on a bare polished surface with a prewax alcohol wipedown. I'll try it with the pad dry and see if that helps. Thinnest I could get was to wipe some on a pad and machine it on and still had the hazing.

Aaron/Pioneer... when you say the product 'failed' on polishing the rims. In what way? And what are you trying to achieve on the wheels?

kaushalsingh

Postby kaushalsingh » December 25th, 2012, 3:37 am

I use Mettalic polish for my car...

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 25th, 2012, 6:11 am

I have black wheels and I started getting a lot of stains and what looks like oxidation. When I used the product the rim started looking very cloudy....

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » December 25th, 2012, 9:32 am

Anyone want a Trix to buy? :D

The brush that came with the blackfire kit is also really good; gets all over surprisingly.

I got some samples of the wolfgang sealant, I'll try it out on a dry day!

Postby DVSTT » December 25th, 2012, 9:35 am

Guys! Merry Christmas! Have a safe and memorable one!

Karim, that black rim, what car does it belong to?

Also, can I steam clean leather seats if I condition them after?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 25th, 2012, 9:46 am

Merry Christmas to everyone

DVSTT check out the link http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=470735

IF it is real leather, i would not recommend steaming only if you really need to. If its Pleather, you can.

Postby DVSTT » December 25th, 2012, 10:20 am

Karim Khan wrote:Merry Christmas to everyone

DVSTT check out the link http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=470735

IF it is real leather, i would not recommend steaming only if you really need to. If its Pleather, you can.

A Cefiro And a Triton, Pleather?

And I thought it was that, Switzer GTR has similar brakes to those since the stock brakes aren't seen as capable to handle 1100HP. The mine's ever got dynoed?

Postby pioneer » December 25th, 2012, 11:01 am

Nemesis i had success with le product

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 25th, 2012, 11:12 am

crazychinee wrote:Anyone want a Trix to buy? :D

The brush that came with the blackfire kit is also really good; gets all over surprisingly.

I got some samples of the wolfgang sealant, I'll try it out on a dry day!

Keep the trix and use it to clean the external surfaces of your stove, fridge. Your wife will love yuh.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 25th, 2012, 5:29 pm

Merry Christmas everyone!

DVSTT : Been in Cefiro's. Real leather, just not very high quality. Don't steam. Use proper cleaner/conditioner.

Pioneer : what you did differently this time?

Postby DVSTT » December 25th, 2012, 6:37 pm

nemesis wrote:Merry Christmas everyone!

DVSTT : Been in Cefiro's. Real leather, just not very high quality. Don't steam. Use proper cleaner/conditioner.

Pioneer : what you did differently this time?

The cefiro from massey is real leather, all these years i taut it was faux. But I use mothers and meguiars normally, wanted to see if I could have steamed as well.

Postby equipped2ripp » December 26th, 2012, 12:14 am

DO NOT steam the leather. It would weaken it and damage the dye and the finish. Also, it doesn't make sense steaming it because you cannot draw steam through the leather as you can with fabric.

You can use a warm damp microfiber rag and clean it with leather cleaner, then follow it up with a dry microfiber rag or a sponge with leather conditioner.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 26th, 2012, 9:25 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:I have black wheels and I started getting a lot of stains and what looks like oxidation. When I used the product the rim started looking very cloudy....

Probably a metal polish that didn't work so well on your painted wheels. Try something simple like a good sealant on your wheels instead. Maybe SRP to clean off old product, then EGP.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 26th, 2012, 9:48 am

Aaron contact me and send me the product and would like to try it out to determine what can be the problem. Also to the distributors also contact me and send me a sample of the same product. I want to test Aaron and they one you will be sending to be side by side to determine what the issue can be.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 26th, 2012, 10:07 am

Lol wonder if the garbage went out yet lol

Postby pioneer » December 26th, 2012, 5:38 pm

hmmm i tempted to try EGP on my wheels...seeing I have no use for it :|

Although I woulda like to use the EGP then HD wax but I saw Autoglym advise not to do it

Anyone ever tried a synthetic sealant/wax then carnauba ontop of it?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 26th, 2012, 7:58 pm

pioneer wrote:hmmm i tempted to try EGP on my wheels...seeing I have no use for it :|

Although I woulda like to use the EGP then HD wax but I saw Autoglym advise not to do it

Anyone ever tried a synthetic sealant/wax then carnauba ontop of it?

Yes i do often

To give you an idea check out the pic below

Postby pioneer » December 26th, 2012, 8:30 pm

EGP then HD?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 26th, 2012, 9:12 pm

I used a different sealant and then topped it off with HD wax.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » December 27th, 2012, 7:29 am

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356607510.646655.jpg

Used some Mothers Brazilian Carnauba wax and that's the outcome

Postby noshownogo » December 27th, 2012, 8:15 am

Good job Dion, what tire treatment you used?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » December 27th, 2012, 7:22 pm

noshownogo wrote:Good job Dion, what tire treatment you used?

HS spray on tire shine